DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togashi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 6152558 A, hereinafter “Togashi”) in view of Shimada et al (U.S. Patent Application 20220032633 A1, hereinafter “Shimada”).
Regarding Claim 1, Togashi teaches a printing apparatus (col 1 lines 5,50-60 Fig 10 printer) comprising:
a conveyance unit configured to convey a print medium in a first direction (col 1 lines 10-20 Fig 10 as the printheads are reciprocated side to side in a carriage shaft direction and thus print lines during printing, printing a media page inherently requires a medium to be conveyed, by a conveyer, in the printer front to back or back to front direction; such is well known to one of skill in the art, see e.g. Shimada 20220032633 A1 par 0030 Figs 3,5A by discharging ink from the printing unit/printhead 9 to the print medium P [conveyed by the conveying unit 7] in a process of moving the carriage 2, an image is printed);
a printing unit configured to perform printing by ejecting ink onto the print medium conveyed by the conveyance unit (col 1 lines 26-28 Fig 10 by ejecting ink from the printing unit/printhead 14 to the print medium [conveyed by the conveyer] in a process of moving the carriage 2, an image is printed);
a first tank configured to store ink to be supplied to the printing unit (col 4 lines 5-6, 40-42 Fig 3 first tank 255C supplies cyan ink to the corresponding printhead); and
a second tank configured to be installed side by side with the first tank in a second direction intersecting the first direction (col 4 lines 41-44 Fig 3 second tank 255B configured to be installed side by side with the first tank 255C in a second printer side to side direction intersecting the first printer back to front D2 direction), and to be formed so that a storage chamber that stores ink to be supplied to the printing unit overlaps with the first tank as viewed from the first direction (col 3 lines 35-38 Fig 3 as the black second tank is L shaped, it comprises a horizontal storage chamber combination of P2 and portions 255g [col 4 lines 49-50 the ink tank 255B has three lateral projections 255g; col 4 lines 55-56 which are received into the stepped portions 255a of first tank 255C] that store ink to be supplied to the printing unit and overlap with the first tank 255C as viewed from the first printer front to back D2 direction), wherein
the storage chamber overlaps with the first tank as viewed from a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (col 3 lines 35-38 Fig 3 as the black second tank is L shaped, horizontal storage chamber combination of P2 and portions 255g overlaps with the first tank 255C as viewed from a third printer top to bottom H2 direction intersecting the first direction D2 and the second printer side to side direction).
Togashi and Shimada are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi with the inclusion of the conveyance unit of Shimada. The motivation would have been in order to provide a line by line, full page ink jet printing apparatus.
Regarding Claim 2, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein,
in an upper side of the storage chamber, the second tank is further provided with a second chamber configured to store ink flowed from the storage chamber (Shimada par 0048 Fig 6A first ink tank 6B includes the storage chamber 26 storing ink on the side of the bottom portion 6e, and includes buffer chambers 29a to 29e on the side of the top portion 6d; the storage chamber 26 communicates with the air communicating portion 23 via the buffer chambers 29a to 29e; the buffer chambers 29a to 29e [store ink flowed from the storage chamber and thus] prevent the ink from flowing from the storage chamber 26 to the air communicating portion 23 to leak outside the liquid storing container 6B).
Togashi and Shimada are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi with the inclusion of the ink tank with an injection port of Shimada. The motivation would have been in order to provide that Ink injected from the injection portion 21 flows into the storage chamber 26 via the injection path 28, and is stored (Shimada par 0050).
Regarding Claim 3, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the second chamber overlaps with the first tank as viewed from the first direction (Shimada par 0048 Fig 6A second buffer chambers 29a to 29e overlap with the first tank combination of 26/28 as viewed from the first front of printer direction).
Togashi and Shimada are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi with the inclusion of the tank chamber arrangement of Shimada. The motivation would have been in order to prevent the ink from flowing from the storage chamber 26 to the air communicating portion 23 to leak outside the liquid storing container 6B when the printer is in different orientations (Shimada par 0048).
Regarding Claim 4, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the second tank is further provided with an inflow chamber into which ink in the storage chamber flows (Shimada par 0048 Fig 6A second buffer chambers 29a to 29e act as inflow chambers into which ink in the storage chamber 26 flows in certain orientations of the printer, Figs 10B,10C), and wherein
the inflow chamber includes a communication port that flows the flowed-in ink to the second chamber in a case where a pressure change occurs (par 0048 Fig 6A storage chamber 26 communicates with the air communicating portion 23 via the buffer chambers 29a to 29e when flowing the ink into them, par 0095 in the case of pressure changes).
Togashi and Shimada are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi with the inclusion of the tank chamber arrangement of Shimada. The motivation would have been in order to prevent the ink from flowing from the storage chamber 26 to the air communicating portion 23 to leak outside the liquid storing container 6B when the printer is in different orientations (Shimada par 0048).
Regarding Claim 6, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein
the communication port is positioned at the center of the inner volume of the storage chamber in the first direction (Shimada par 0045 Fig 6A,B air communication port 23 is positioned at the center of the inner volume of the storage chamber 26 in the first front of front to back direction).
Togashi and Shimada are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi with the inclusion of the air communication port arrangement of Shimada. The motivation would have been in order to prevent the ink from flowing from the storage chamber 26 to the air communicating portion 23 to leak outside the liquid storing container 6B when the printer is in different orientations (Shimada par 0048).
Regarding Claim 16, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the second tank is further provided with an injection port for injecting ink into the storage chamber (Shimada par 0050 Fig 6A tanks are formed with an injection path 28 as a space above the peripheral wall portion 26d in a communicating portion 26d′ (see FIG. 7B), and the injection path 28 communicates with the injection port 21).
Togashi and Shimada are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi with the inclusion of the ink tank with an injection port of Shimada. The motivation would have been in order to provide that Ink injected from the injection portion 21 flows into the storage chamber 26 via the injection path 28, and is stored (Shimada par 0050).
Regarding Claim 17, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 16, further comprising
a moving unit configured to move the printing unit in the second direction (Togashi col 2 lines 1-2, col 4 lines 63-65 Fig 3 a carriage 252 is slidably supported on a carriage shaft 260 and reciprocated along the carriage shaft 260; col 3 line 8 carriage 152/252 carries printheads Fig 2 114), wherein
the first tank and the second tank are mounted to the moving unit (Togashi col 4 lines 63-65 Fig 3 the second ink tank 255B is inserted into the carriage 252 after the ink tanks 255Y, 255M, and first in tank 255C have been attached).
Regarding Claim 18, Togashi teaches a printing apparatus (col 1 lines 5,50-60 Fig 10 printer) comprising:
a conveyance unit configured to convey a print medium in a first direction (col 1 lines 10-20 Fig 10 as the printheads are reciprocated side to side in a carriage shaft direction and thus print lines during printing, printing a media page inherently requires a medium to be conveyed, by a conveyer, in the printer front to back or back to front direction; such is well known to one of skill in the art, see e.g. Shimada 20220032633 A1 par 0030 Figs 3,5A by discharging ink from the printing unit/printhead 9 to the print medium P [conveyed by the conveying unit 7] in a process of moving the carriage 2, an image is printed);
a printing unit configured to perform printing by ejecting ink onto the print medium conveyed by the conveyance unit (col 1 lines 26-28 Fig 10 by ejecting ink from the printing unit/printhead 14 to the print medium [conveyed by the conveyer] in a process of moving the carriage 2, an image is printed);
a first tank configured to store ink to be supplied to the printing unit (col 4 lines 5-6, 40-42 Fig 3 first tank 255C supplies cyan ink to the corresponding printhead); and
a second tank configured to be installed side by side with the first tank in a second direction intersecting the first direction (col 4 lines 41-44 Fig 3 second tank 255B configured to be installed side by side with the first tank 255C in a second printer side to side direction intersecting the first printer back to front D2 direction), and to be formed so that a storage chamber that stores ink to be supplied to the printing unit overlaps with the first tank as viewed from a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (col 3 lines 35-38 Fig 3 as the black second tank is L shaped, horizontal storage chamber combination of P2 and portions 255g overlaps with the first tank 255C as viewed from a third printer top to bottom H2 direction intersecting the first direction D2 and the second printer side to side direction).
However, Togashi appears not to expressly teach
the first tank configured with an injection port for injecting ink internally.
Shimada teaches
the first tank configured with an injection port for injecting ink internally (par 0050 Fig 6A tanks are formed with an injection path 28 as a space above the peripheral wall portion 26d in a communicating portion 26d′ (see FIG. 7B), and the injection path 28 communicates with the injection port 21).
Togashi and Shimada are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi with the inclusion of the ink tank with an injection port of Shimada. The motivation would have been in order to provide that Ink injected from the injection portion 21 flows into the storage chamber 26 via the injection path 28, and is stored (Shimada par 0050).
Regarding Claim 19, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 18, wherein
the second tank includes an injection port for injecting ink internally (Shimada par 0050 Fig 6A tanks are formed with an injection path 28 as a space above the peripheral wall portion 26d in a communicating portion 26d′ (see FIG. 7B), and the injection path 28 communicates with the injection port 21).
Togashi and Shimada are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi with the inclusion of the ink tank with an injection port of Shimada. The motivation would have been in order to provide that Ink injected from the injection portion 21 flows into the storage chamber 26 via the injection path 28, and is stored (Shimada par 0050).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togashi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 6152558 A, hereinafter “Togashi”) in view of Shimada et al (U.S. Patent Application 20220032633 A1, hereinafter “Shimada”) and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20180178512 A1, hereinafter “Kobayashi”).
Regarding Claim 5, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 4. However, Togashi as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the communication port has a size that allows ink stored in the storage chamber to form a meniscus.
Kobayashi teaches the communication port has a size that allows ink stored in the storage chamber to form a meniscus (par 0129 Figs 6,7 an inner diameter of the air communication port 96 is larger than an outer diameter of the rod 125; when the valve 97 is moved frontward and is separated from the air communication port 96, the storage chamber 32 is open to the atmosphere; par 0192 the state of the air communication ports 124 is switched to the first state after the recordation process is finished thereby preventing the meniscus of the ink stored in the chamber at the nozzles from being broken).
Togashi Shimada and Kobayashi are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi/Shimada with the inclusion of the ink meniscus arrangement of Kobayashi. The motivation would have been in order to provide that ink does not leak from the nozzles under normal conditions, and that ink drop ejection performs properly.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togashi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 6152558 A, hereinafter “Togashi”) in view of Shimada et al (U.S. Patent Application 20220032633 A1, hereinafter “Shimada”) and further in view of Kimura et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20160263905 A1, hereinafter “Kimura”).
Regarding Claim 7, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1. However, Togashi as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the second tank further includes a detection unit configured to detect the amount of liquid in the storage chamber and
a fixing unit configured to fix a substrate connected electrically to the detection unit.
Kimura teaches
the second tank further includes a detection unit configured to detect the amount of liquid in the storage chamber (par 0119 Fig 3 pair of electrode pins 140a and 140b that are used for detecting the ink IK are housed in the ink containing portion 120; par 0126 Fig 3 ink amount is detected) and
a fixing unit configured to fix a substrate connected electrically to the detection unit (par 0124 Fig 3 electrode pins 140a and 140b are connected to the ink detecting portion Fig 1 34 via the fixing connection of the connection circuit substrate 27).
Togashi Shimada and Kimura are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi/Shimada with the inclusion of the ink amount detection arrangement of Kimura. The motivation would have been in order to provide that the user can more correctly understand the amount of remaining liquid contained in these tanks regardless of various conditions (Kimura par 0005).
Regarding Claim 10, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein
the detection unit is arranged at or in the vicinity of the center of the storage chamber in the first direction (Kimura par 0124 Figs 1-3 electrode pins 140a and 140b are arranged at or in the vicinity of the center of the storage chamber 120 when viewed from the first Y direction).
Togashi Shimada and Kimura are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi/Shimada with the inclusion of the ink amount detection arrangement of Kimura. The motivation would have been in order to provide that in the liquid container, a position of a liquid surface of the liquid in the liquid containing portion may lower toward the lower end area as the liquid is consumed, and with the liquid ejection apparatus in this mode [and the positioning of the electrode pins], the accuracy of detection of the amount of remaining liquid in the liquid containing portion is increased (Kimura par 0041).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togashi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 6152558 A, hereinafter “Togashi”) in view of Shimada et al (U.S. Patent Application 20220032633 A1, hereinafter “Shimada”) and further in view of Kimura et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20160263905 A1, hereinafter “Kimura”) and Van Hoff (U.S. Patent Application 20030082851 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 7. However, Togashi as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the fixing unit is provided with a biasing member that biases the substrate in a predetermined direction and
a regulating member that regulates movement of the substrate toward the predetermined direction caused by the biasing member.
Van Hoff teaches
the fixing unit is provided with a biasing member that biases the substrate in a predetermined direction (par 0061 Fig 24 the fixing unit [at least 146/130] is provided with a biasing member 146 that biases the substrate 100 in a predetermined upward [in the figure] direction) and
a regulating member that regulates movement of the substrate toward the predetermined direction caused by the biasing member (par 0061 Fig 24 a regulating member 130 that regulates movement of the substrate toward the predetermined upward direction caused by the biasing member 146).
Togashi Shimada Kimura and Van Hoff are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus of Togashi/Shimada/Kimura with the inclusion of the fixing unit of Van Hoff. The motivation would have been in order to provide bonding and sealing of the back-side 104 of the die 100 to the die carrier 120 (Van Hoff par 0061).
Regarding Claim 9, Togashi as modified teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein
the biasing member is configured of conductive material and electrically connects the die carrier and the substrate (Van Hoff par 0061 Fig 24 the biasing member 146 is configured of conductive material and electrically connects the die carrier and the substrate).
Togashi Shimada Kimura and Van Hoff are analogous art as they each pertain to printing apparatuses with ink tanks. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the printing apparatus with a substrate to detection unit connection of Togashi/Shimada/Kimura with the inclusion of the spring and regulator fixing unit of Van Hoff to provide the biasing member is configured of conductive material and electrically connects the detection unit and the substrate. The motivation would have been in order to provide bonding and sealing of a board substrate to the detection unit that is protective from corrosive ink on the connections (Van Hoff par 0063).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 11:
While closest prior art Togashi (6152558 A), Shimada (20220032633 A1), Kimura (20160263905 A1), and Van Hoff (20030082851 A1) teach portions of the limitations of Claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the particular limitations of Claim 11, namely "the regulating member is provided with a returning portion that is formed widening toward the opposite direction of the predetermined direction, wherein the returning portion flexes toward the center of the regulating member in a case of being inserted into a hole portion of the substrate moving in the opposite direction, thereby allowing the insertion into the hole portion and, wherein,
after the insertion into the hole portion, the returning portion flexes in a direction away from the center of the regulating member, thereby regulating movement of the substrate in the predetermined direction whereas the substrate is biased in the predetermined direction by the biasing member" in combination with all other limitations of the claim and of claims on which the claim depends.
Claim 13:
While closest prior art Togashi (6152558 A), Shimada (20220032633 A1), Kimura (20160263905 A1), and Van Hoff (20030082851 A1) teach portions of the limitations of Claim 13, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the particular limitations of Claim 13, namely "the regulating member is provided with a claw portion supported by a supporting member and formed to extend away from the supporting member toward the opposite direction of the predetermined direction, wherein the claw portion flexes toward the supporting member, thereby allowing the substrate to move in the opposite direction, and wherein, after the movement, the claw portion flexes in a direction away from the supporting member, thereby regulating movement of the substrate in the predetermined direction whereas the substrate is biased in the predetermined direction by the biasing member" in combination with all other limitations of the claim and of claims on which the claim depends.
Claims 12 and 14-15 would be allowable dependent on the allowability of the claims on which the depend.
Conclusion
/MARK EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624