DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following grammatical informality: “a pipe which provided so as to extend…” should be corrected to “a pipe which is provided so as to extend…” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Applicant is advised that the clarity of the specification (and therefore the claims) may be improved by renaming the “guide member 620” (specification ¶0057) as it is not the “guide member” being referred to in Claims 11 and 12 and therefore is inconsistent with the claims. In an effort to advance prosecution of the application, the examiner is interpreting the “guide member” referred to in Claims 11 and 12 as the ribs 802 which “function as a guide member” (specification ¶0072) based on the context of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Komatsu et al. (JP2019202464A; herein referred to as “Komatsu”).
With respect to Claim 1, Komatsu teaches a printing apparatus (i.e., “ink jet printer”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”) comprising:
a printing unit that performs printing on a print medium by ejecting a printing agent to the print medium (i.e., “ink jet printer that performs recording by ejecting ink…onto a medium P”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”);
a liquid storage tank that stores the printing agent to be supplied to the printing unit (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”) and is capable of being supplied with the printing agent through a pipe provided to the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”) so as to extend in a first direction (i.e., “Z direction”; Komatsu Fig. 7, element “49”); and
a holder (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”) that includes
a hole portion (i.e., “recesses”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “36”) in which to insert the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “49”) and
a cap (i.e., “cap member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶11 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “50”; Fig. 7, element “50”) which closes and opens the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit 49”; Komatsu: p.4, ¶11 highlighted section; Fig. 7 shows “open” state, elements “50” and “49”) inserted in the hole portion (i.e., “recesses”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “36”), and
that is positioned in the first direction relative to the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”) and fixed to the first direction (i.e., first direction is the z-direction; Fig. 5 & 7, elements “35”, “36”, “49”, “25”).
With respect to Claim 14, Komatsu teaches a liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”) comprising:
a storage chamber which is capable of storing a liquid (i.e., part of “ink tank 25”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; see annotated Fig. 11 below, element “25”);
a pipe which is provided so as to extend in a first direction (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”) and through which the liquid supplied from a container (i.e., “ink refill container”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “62”) is introduced;
a channel which guides the liquid introduced through the pipe to the storage chamber (i.e., part of “ink tank 25”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; see annotated Fig. 11 below, including drawn pathway of ink travelling from pipe to storage chamber); and
a positioning unit (see annotated Komatsu fig. 4 below) which enables a holder (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”) to be positioned in the first direction (i.e., z-direction; see annotated Komatsu fig. 4 below) and mounted (Komatsu: Fig. 11, holder “35” positioned with respect to liquid storage tank “25” and mounted to the printer); also see annotated Komatsu fig. 4 below),
the holder (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”) including a cap (i.e., “cap member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶11 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “50”; Fig. 7, element “50”) that closes and opens the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit 49”; Komatsu: p.4, ¶11 highlighted section; Fig. 7 shows “open” state, elements “50” and “49”).
An annotated version of Komatsu Fig. 11 (i.e., a partial schematic diagram of the liquid storage tank; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section) has been included to further illustrate the discussion above. Note that the storage chamber (i.e., “ink tank 25”) is only partially depicted and therefore the drawn ink pathway is partially “out of frame” to enhance the illustration.
An annotated version of Komatsu Fig. 4 has also been included to further illustrate the discussion above:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu in view of Kawagoe et al. (US20180345675A1; herein referred to as “Kawagoe”) and further in view of Ruhe & Mo (US20050018215A1; herein referred to as “Ruhe”).
With respect to Claim 2, Komatsu teaches the printing apparatus (i.e., “ink jet printer”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”) according to Claim 1, the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”), and the holder (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”).
Komatsu is silent on wherein the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”) includes
a claw member and
an abutment portion provided at different positions in the first direction on a surface of the liquid storage tank where the pipe is provided,
the claw member being provided upright,
the abutment portion being a portion with which to bring the holder into abutment, and
the holder is positioned in the first direction by being nipped by a barb portion provided on the claw member and the abutment portion.
Kawagoe teaches wherein the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tanks”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 9, element “100”) includes
a claw member (i.e., “protrusion”; Kawagoe: ¶0113; Fig. 9, element “108”) and an abutment portion (i.e., “protrusions”; Kawagoe: ¶0110; Fig. 6, element “130”; Fig. 7A, element “68”) provided at different positions in the first direction (i.e., “up-down” direction; Kawagoe: Fig. 6; “130” in relation to “108”, with the claw member “108” positioned to be higher/taller in the “up-down” direction compared to the abutment portion “130”) on a surface of the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tanks”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 9, element “100”) where the pipe is provided.
Using the teachings of Kawagoe, the liquid storage tank taught by Komatsu (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”) is modified by adding the claw member and abutment portion taught in Kawagoe to its upright surface, given they are both taught as facing upright on Kawagoe’s corresponding liquid storage tank. Given the upper surface of liquid storage tank taught in Komatsu is where the pipe is provided (Komatsu: Fig. 7, element “25” and “49”), this leads to the claw member and the abutment portion both being on the surface of the liquid storage tank where the pipe is provided.
the claw member being provided upright (i.e., “protrusion”; Kawagoe: ¶0113; Fig. 9, element “108”),
the abutment portion (i.e., “protrusions” which fit into “openings 68” within the holder; Kawagoe: ¶0110; Fig. 6, element “130”; Fig. 8B, element “68”) being a portion with which to bring the holder (i.e., “ink-tank holder”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 9, element “120”) into abutment (Kawagoe: ¶0110; Fig. 6, element “130”; Fig. 8B, element “68”), and
the holder (i.e., “ink-tank holder”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 8A & 9, element “120”) is positioned in the first direction by being nipped by the claw member (i.e., when attached to the holder at “79B”, the claw member “108” is restricting the movement of the holder “120” from moving in the up-down direction; Kawagoe: ¶0114; Fig. 9, elements “108” and “79B”) and the abutment portion (i.e., “protrusions” which fit into “openings 68” within the holder; Kawagoe: ¶0110; Fig. 6, element “130”; Fig. 8B, elements “68”).
Ruhe teaches a barb portion provided on the claw member (emphasis added; i.e., “barbed mounting hooks” with “barbs”; Ruhe: ¶0025; Fig. 10 & 12, elements “102” and “106”).
Ruhe teaches the positioning of multiple elements of a printing apparatus (i.e., “an inkjet printer”; Ruhe: ¶0016; Fig.1, element “10”) with respect to one another via the abutment of a barb portion on a claw member (i.e., “barbed mounting hooks” with “barbs”; Ruhe: ¶0025; Fig. 10 & 12, elements “102” and “106”) and another element of the printing apparatus (in this case, wall 104; Ruhe: ¶0025; Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holder taught in Komatsu (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”) with the holder taught in Kawagoe (i.e., “ink-tank holder”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 8A & 9, element “120”). The holder taught in Kawagoe encapsulates the ink tank on almost all sides (Kawagoe: Fig. 8A&B, element “120”) unlike the holder taught in Komatsu (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”). This increases the protection of the ink tanks as well as provides more surfaces on which the ink tanks can be positioned/affixed in order to better restrict the movement of the ink tanks within the printing apparatus.
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid storage tank in Komatsu with the features taught in Kawagoe (including a claw member, an abutment portion, and the positioning of the holder being nipped by the claw member and the abutment portion), as these elements enable the ink tank to have restricted movement within the printing apparatus (Kawagoe: ¶0114; Fig. 9, elements “100”, “108”, “79B”, & “120”). Limiting the movement of the ink tank within the printing apparatus is critical, especially given the ink tank has an opening wherein ink could be released into the printing apparatus (thereby contaminating it). This modification to Komatsu using the teachings of Kawagoe restricts the movement of the ink tank, thereby decreasing the risk of contaminating the printing apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claw member taught in Kawagoe with the features taught in Ruhe by adding a barb portion (i.e., “barbed mounting hooks” with “barbs”; Ruhe: ¶0025; Fig. 10 & 12, elements “102” and “106”) to the claw member (i.e., “protrusion”; Kawagoe: ¶0113; Fig. 9, element “108”). Kawagoe teaches a claw member which is required to be “bent downward when a force…is applied” (Kawagoe: ¶0064 & 0114; Fig. 9, element “108” & “79B”), teaching that the claw member is somewhat deformed (i.e., “bent”; Kawagoe: ¶0064 & 0114; Fig. 9, elements “108” & “79B”) whenever the abutment occurs between the holder and the claw member. The claw member with barbs taught by Ruhe (i.e., “barbed mounting hooks” with “barbs”; Ruhe: ¶0025; Fig. 10 & 12, elements “102” and “106”) does not require deformation and instead relies on the barbs of the claw member to position printing apparatus elements in relation to one another. Repeated deformation due to force can weaken a physical element and make it more prone to breakage. Replacing the deformable claw member taught in Kawagoe with the non-deformable, barbed claw member taught in Ruhe decreases the risk of the claw member breaking.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu in view of Kawagoe.
With respect to Claim 3, Komatsu teaches the printing apparatus (i.e., “ink jet printer”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”) according to Claim 1, the holder (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”), the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”), and the first direction (i.e., “Z direction”; Komatsu Fig. 7, element “49”).
Komatsu is silent on the holder is further positioned in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction and a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction relative to the liquid storage tank and fixed to the liquid storage tank.
Kawagoe teaches the holder (i.e., “ink-tank holder”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 8A-B & 9, element “120”) is further positioned in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction and a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction relative to the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tanks”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 9, element “100”; holder positioned in the stated directions with respect to the liquid storage tank as shown in Kawagoe Fig. 10, elements “100” & “120”) and fixed to the liquid storage tank (i.e., the holder becomes affixed to the liquid storage tank using a claw member on the liquid storage tank; Kawagoe: Fig. 9, “108” & “79B”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holder taught in Komatsu (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”) with the holder taught in Kawagoe (i.e., “ink-tank holder”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 8A & 9, element “120”). The holder taught in Kawagoe encapsulates the ink tank on almost all sides (Kawagoe: Fig. 8A&B, element “120”) unlike the holder taught in Komatsu (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”). This increases the protection of the ink tanks as well as provides more surfaces on which the ink tanks can be positioned/affixed in order to better restrict the movement of the ink tanks within the printing apparatus.
With respect to Claim 4, Komatsu in view of Kawagoe teaches the printing apparatus according to Claim 3 (i.e., “ink jet printer”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”), wherein
the holder (i.e., “ink-tank holder”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 8A-B & 9, element “120”) is positioned by being fixed at two different positions (i.e., the first position is “protrusion 108” fixing the holder at “79B” and the second position is “protrusion 130” fixing the holder at “68”; Kawagoe: ¶0113 and ¶0110; Fig. 6, elements “108” & “130”; Fig. 9, elements “108”, “79B”, & “130”; Fig. 7A, element “68”) in the second direction (i.e., the “right-left” direction aka the x-direction; Kawagoe: ¶0113 and ¶0110; Fig. 6, elements “108” & “130”; Fig. 9, elements “108”, “79B”, & “130”; Fig. 7A, element “68”).
the holder (i.e., “ink-tank holder”; Kawagoe: ¶0101; Fig. 8A-B & 9, element “120”) being fixed at one of the two positions (i.e., the second position, as defined above, wherein “protrusion 130” is fixing the holder at “68”; Kawagoe: ¶0110; Fig. 6, element “130”; Fig. 7A, element “68”) so as to restrict movement in the third direction (i.e., “front-rear” aka y-direction; Kawagoe: ¶0110; Fig. 6, element “130”; Fig. 7A, element “68”). The second position (Kawagoe: ¶0110; Fig. 6, element “130”; Fig. 7A, element “68”) is fixed in both the second direction (i.e., “right-left” aka x-direction) and the third direction (i.e., “front-rear” aka y-direction). Note that the first direction was previously taught by Komatsu as the “Z direction” (Komatsu Fig. 7, element “49”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holder taught in Komatsu (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”) so it can be fixed in two positions in the second direction (as taught by Kawagoe: ¶0113 and ¶0110; Fig. 6, elements “108” & “130”; Fig. 9, elements “108”, “79B”, & “130”; Fig. 7A, element “68”), because maintaining the positioning of the ink storage tank in the second direction (i.e., the x-direction) is critical for enabling room for other ink storage tanks that may be added within the printing apparatus. Komatsu teaches multiple liquid storage tanks (and their related pipes “49”) are arranged to be side-by-side in the x-direction with their holder “35” (Komatsu: Fig. 5, elements “35” in relation to “49”). Modifying that holder to the one taught in Kawagoe, which fixes the holder in two positions in the x-direction (Kawagoe: ¶0113 and ¶0110; Fig. 6, elements “108” & “130”; Fig. 9, elements “108”, “79B”, & “130”; Fig. 7A, element “68”), ensures that the liquid storage tank housed within/positioned by the holder is not misaligned and blocking space where additional liquid storage tanks should be placed.
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holder taught in Komatsu (i.e., “key slot member”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “35”) so it can have restricted movement in the third direction (i.e., the y-direction). Restricting the movement of the holder in the third direction in addition to the second direction, ensures that the liquid storage tank housed within/positioned by the holder has restricted movement in both relevant directions during the refilling process (i.e., the liquid storage tank will not be lifted in the z-direction during the refilling process and therefore is less relevant than the x- and y-directions). This restriction of movement is beneficial during the refilling process, because it helps avoid the spilling of liquid due to a wobbling/mis-aligned liquid storage tank.
Claims 5-6 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu in view of Shimada et al. (US20220032633A1; herein referred to as “Shimada”).
With respect to Claim 5, Komatsu teaches the printing apparatus (i.e., “ink jet printer”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”) according to Claim 1 as well as the following:
the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”)
a container for supplying the liquid storage tank with the printing agent to be housed therein (i.e., “an ink replenishing container”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶6 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “62”) through the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”)
a case where the container (i.e., “an ink replenishing container”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶6 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “62”) is inserted into the hole portion (i.e., “recesses”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “36”).
Komatsu is silent on wherein the liquid storage tank further has an abutment portion with which a container for supplying the liquid storage tank with the printing agent is brought into abutment around the pipe in a case where the container is inserted into the hole portion (emphasis added).
Shimada teaches wherein the liquid storage tank (i.e., “liquid storage container”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, element “6B”)
further has an abutment portion (i.e., portion of “groove 21a” which surrounds the pipe “21”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a” and “21”) with which a container for supplying the liquid storage tank with the printing agent is brought into abutment around the pipe (i.e., container is brought into abutment between the portion of “groove 21a” which surrounds the pipe “21” and the pipe itself; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a” and “21”)
in a case where the container is inserted into the hole portion (i.e., “ink is injected from the injection portion 21”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a” and “21”). Shimada teaches that the container enters the pipe but is silent on the hole portion already taught in Komatsu (“recesses”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 5, element “36”). The structure in Komatsu can be modified as including the abutment portion taught by Shimada (i.e., “groove 21a”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a”) and that abutment portion is positioned so as to surround the pipe taught in Komatsu (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”). Komatsu has already taught when replenishing the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”), the container (i.e., “an ink replenishing container”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶6 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “62”) is inserted into the hole portion (i.e., “recesses”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶3-4 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “36”) in order to replenish ink via the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure taught in Komatsu as including the abutment portion (i.e., “groove 21a”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a”) taught by Shimada and adding it to surround the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”), because it would decrease contamination within the printing apparatus since the abutment portion (i.e., “groove 21a”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a”) would “receives ink dropping outside the injection portion 21 at the time of ink refill” (i.e., Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21” and “21a”). The ink droppings are likely to be received by the abutment portion (i.e., “groove 21a”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a”) because the abutment portion is restricting the movement of the container (“an ink replenishing container”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶6 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “62”) with respect to the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”), generally limiting the range where the ink droppings could fall to within the abutment portion.
With respect to Claim 6, the printing apparatus (i.e., “ink jet printer”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”) according to Claim 5, wherein the abutment portion is a rib and provided so as to be spaced from the pipe (i.e., walls of “groove 21a” which surrounds the pipe “21” with space in between the walls and the pipe in which it “receives ink dropping outside the injection portion 21 at the time of ink refill”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a” and “21”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printing apparatus taught in Komatsu (i.e., “ink jet printer”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”) as including an abutment portion which is a rib (i.e., “groove 21a”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a”) taught by Shimada and adding it to be spaced from the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”). Doing so would decrease contamination within the printing apparatus since the ribbed abutment portion (i.e., “groove 21a”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a”) would “receives ink dropping outside the injection portion 21 at the time of ink refill” (i.e., Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21” and “21a”) and be able to contain that spilled ink within its walls. The ink droppings are likely to be received by the abutment portion (i.e., “groove 21a”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a”) and stored within the space between its walls and the pipe because the abutment portion is restricting the movement of the container (“an ink replenishing container”; Komatsu: p. 4, ¶6 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “62”) with respect to the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”), generally limiting the range where the ink droppings could fall to within that space between the ribbed abutment portion’s walls and the pipe.
With respect to Claim 8, Komatsu in view of Shimada teaches the printing apparatus (i.e., “ink jet printer”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”) according to Claim 5, wherein the abutment portion is a flat surface on which the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”) is provided upright (Komatsu: Fig. 7, see flat surface on which element “49” is provided upright).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu in view of Shimada, further in view of Mizutani et al. (US20190299624A1; herein referred to as “Mizutani”).
With respect to Claim 7, Komatsu in view of Shimada teaches the printing apparatus (i.e., “ink jet printer”; Komatsu: p. 2, highlighted section; Fig. 1, element “10”) according to Claim 6 as well as the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶0008 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “49”) and the abutment portion (i.e., portion of “groove 21a” which surrounds the pipe “21”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a” and “21”).
Komatsu in view of Shimada is silent on:
an absorber disposed around the pipe inside the abutment portion,
the absorber being capable of absorbing the printing agent.
Mizutani teaches:
an absorber (“ink absorber”; Mizutani: ¶0182; Fig. 35, element “89”) disposed around the pipe (i.e., a “needle”; Mizutani: ¶0078; Fig. 35, element “56”) inside the abutment portion (i.e., “absorber 89” in relation to “needle 56” and structural walls “61”; Mizutani: Fig. 35, elements “89”, “56”, & “61”). Note that, as stated in the discussion of Claim 6, Komatsu in view of Shimada teaches the abutment portion is a rib and provided so as to be spaced from the pipe (i.e., walls of “groove 21a” which surrounds the pipe “21” with space in between the walls and the pipe in which it “receives ink dropping outside the injection portion 21 at the time of ink refill”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a” and “21”). As taught by Mizutani, the absorber (“ink absorber”; Mizutani: ¶0182; Fig. 35, element “89”) is disposed around as pipe (i.e., a “needle”; Mizutani: ¶0078; Fig. 35, element “56”) and inside some structural walls (Mizutani: Fig. 35, element “61”) of the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tank”; Mizutani: ¶0075; Fig. 35, “41”). The printing apparatus taught by Komatsu in view of Shimada is modified by Mizutani by placing the absorber taught by Mizutani (i.e., “ink absorber”; Mizutani: ¶0182; Fig. 35, element “89”) between the pipe and structural walls taught by Komatsu in view of Shimada (i.e., walls of “groove 21a” which surrounds the pipe “21”; Shimada: ¶0043; Fig. 6A, elements “21a” and “21”).
the absorber (i.e., “ink absorber”; Mizutani: ¶0182; Fig. 35, element “89”) being capable of absorbing the printing agent (i.e., “ink”; Mizutani: ¶0182; Fig. 35, element “89”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printing apparatus taught by Komatsu in view of Shimada by incorporating an absorber with the specifications stated above (as taught by Mizutani), because “[a]bsorption of ink by the ink absorber 89 reduces dripping or spatter of ink when the ink refill container 63 is dismounted” (Mizutani: ¶0184). Moreover, the positioning of the absorber around the pipe (which, as taught by Komatsu in view of Shimada, is inside the abutment portion) is beneficial because “[t]he ink absorber 89 relieves the impact when the positioning surface 84 of the ink refill container 63 abuts on part of the ink tank 41 (42 to 45)” (Mizutani: ¶0184).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu in view of Okude et al. (US20170326882A1; herein referred to as “Okude”).
With respect to Claim 15, Komatsu teaches the liquid storage tank (i.e., “ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶7 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “25”) according to Claim 14, further comprising the container (i.e., “ink refill container”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “62”) being a container into which to insert the pipe (i.e., “ink inlet conduit 49” inserted into “ink refill container 62”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, elements “49” and “62”).
Komatsu is silent regarding:
an abutment portion around the pipe
the abutment portion being a portion with which to bring the container into abutment
Okude teaches:
an abutment portion (i.e., “a cylindrical mouth portion 164 protruding outward from an outer surface of the ink tank 160”; Okude: ¶0065; Fig. 13A-13C, element “164”) around the pipe. Okude teaches that the abutment portion (i.e., the “cylindrical mouth portion 164”; Okude: ¶0065; Fig. 13A-13C, element “164”) is “formed around the ink injection port 161” (Okude: ¶0056; Fig. 14A-C, element “161”). Komatsu, which teaches a pipe as the equivalent of an ink injection port (i.e., “ink inlet conduit 49” used for “refilling ink into the ink tank”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, elements “49”) and can be modified by Okude to teach the abutment portion is around the equivalent of the ink injection port (i.e., the pipe).
the abutment portion being a portion with which to bring the container (i.e., the “ink refilling container”; Okude: ¶0065; Fig. 13A-C, element “200”) into abutment (i.e., the protruding portions “212” & “213” of the container “200” is abutting the grooves “162” & “163” within the abutment portion “164”; Okude: ¶0066-0067; Fig. 13A-C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid storage tank taught by Komatsu by incorporating the abutment portion (i.e., “a cylindrical mouth portion 164 protruding outward from an outer surface of the ink tank 160”; Okude: ¶0065; Fig. 13A-13C, element “164”) taught by Okude, because Okude teaches a method that prevents the ink in the container to be released into the liquid storage tank unless it is an approved ink container (i.e., a container whose protruding portions “212” & “213” match the grooves “162” and “163” of the liquid storage tank, in a mechanism similar to a key in a lock; Okude: ¶0065-0068; Fig. 13A-C, elements “200”, “212”, “213”, “164”, “162”, “163”). This avoids the potential for mixing inks incorrectly, as Okude teaches: “Even in a case where an erroneous attempt is made to refill the ink tank 160 with a different type of ink, no ink flows out from the ink refilling container 200, allowing prevention of possible mis-injection of ink into the ink tank 160. This inhibits color mixture in the ink tank 160” (Okude: ¶0069). Note that Okude teaches these key-lock abutments between the container and the abutment portion are specifically designed to control the distance between the film sealing the opening of the container and a boss which can penetrate the film, thereby allowing ink in the container to flow into the liquid storage tank (Okude: ¶0067; Fig. 13A-C, elements “200”, “212”, “213”, “164”, “162”, “163”, “164”, & “167”). Note that, when modifying Komatsu with Okude, the pipe taught in Komatsu as being inserted into the container (i.e., “ink inlet conduit 49” inserted into “ink refill container 62”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, elements “49” and “62”) is the equivalent of the boss that penetrates the film. In the modified printing apparatus, the key-lock abutment portion taught in Okude is used to control the distance between the film in the container taught in Komatsu (i.e., “ink refill container”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, element “62”) and the pipe taught in Komatsu (i.e., “ink inlet conduit 49” inserted into “ink refill container 62”; Komatsu: p. 3, ¶8 highlighted section; Fig. 7, elements “49” and “62”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 & 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following are statements of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for each claim:
With respect to Claim 9, Komatsu teaches the printing apparatus according to Claim 1, the liquid storage tank, a container for supplying the liquid storage tank with the printing agent to be housed therein, the pipe, and a case where the container is inserted into the hole portion.
Shimada teaches the liquid storage tank has a first rib with which a container for supplying the liquid storage tank with the printing agent to be housed therein through the pipe is brought into abutment around the pipe in a case where the container is inserted into the hole portion, and a second rib which is formed so as to surround a predetermined region connected to a region surrounded by the first rib.
Mizutani teaches an absorber capable of absorbing the printing agent.
However, Komatsu in combination with the other prior art of record does not reasonably teach or suggest the feature of the printing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein
the liquid storage tank has
a first rib with which a container for supplying the liquid storage tank with the printing agent to be housed therein through the pipe is brought into abutment around the pipe in a case where the container is inserted into the hole portion, and
a second rib which is formed so as to surround a predetermined region connected to a region surrounded by the first rib, and
an absorber capable of absorbing the printing agent is disposed in the predetermined region.
It is these limitations, expressed in the claimed combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
With respect to Claims 10-12, these claims are dependent on Claim 9, a claim which would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 13, Komatsu the printing apparatus according to Claim 1, the liquid storage tank, the pipe, and a container for supplying the liquid storage tank with the printing agent to be housed therein, and a case where the container is inserted into the hole portion.
Shimada teaches a liquid storage tank with:
a first rib formed so as to surround a region around the pipe, and
a second rib formed so as to surround a predetermined region connected to a region surrounded by the first rib,
the first rib is provided so as to extend from the region around the pipe to the predetermined region
Mizutani teaches an absorber capable of absorbing the printing agent.
Okude teaches formed to be long in the first direction at a portion of the region around the pipe such that a container for supplying the liquid storage tank with the printing agent to be housed therein through the pipe is brought into abutment with the portion in a case where the container is inserted into the hole portion.
However, Komatsu in combination with the other prior art of record does not reasonably teach or suggest the feature of the printing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein
the liquid storage tank has
a first rib formed so as to surround a region around the pipe, and
a second rib formed so as to surround a predetermined region connected to a region surrounded by the first rib,
an absorber capable of absorbing the printing agent is disposed in the predetermined region, and
the first rib is
provided so as to extend from the region around the pipe to the predetermined region to guide the printing agent to the predetermined region by utilizing a capillary phenomenon, and
formed to be long in the first direction at a portion of the region around the pipe such that a container for supplying the liquid storage tank with the printing agent to be housed therein through the pipe is brought into abutment with the portion in a case where the container is inserted into the hole portion.
It is these limitations, expressed in the claimed combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853