DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The description of the arrangement direction the first frame 32 and the second frame 33 being arranged in direction D1 seems to contradict Figure 4 in which the first and second frames seem to be arranged in direction D2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toya et al. (2022/0258470) (hereinafter Toya et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Toya et al. teaches a recording device (11, Fig. 1) comprising: a recording section (29, Fig. 1) extending in one direction intersecting the vertical direction, the recording section (29) configured to eject liquid across an entire width of a medium (13, Fig. 1) [Paragraph 0026]; a mounting section (43, Fig. 1) on which a container (35, Fig. 1) containing a liquid is mounted [Paragraphs 0028-0029]; a flow path (42, 47 Fig. 1) coupled to the recording section (29) and the mounting section (43) [Paragraphs 0028-0030, 0071]; and a housing (12, Fig. 1) that houses the recording section (29), the mounting section (43), and the flow path (42, 47) [Paragraphs 0022 and 0026-0030], wherein the housing (12) defines a discharge space (18, Fig. 1) to which the medium (13) recorded by the recording section (29) is discharged, the discharge space (18) is a space outside the housing (12), and the flow path (42, 47) overlaps with the discharge space (18) when viewed from the one direction [Paragraphs 0022 and 0070].
Recording Claim 2, Toya et al. teaches the recording device (11), wherein the recording section (29) is positioned below the discharge space (18) [See Fig. 1].
Recording Claim 3, Toya et al. teaches the recording device (11), wherein the flow path (42, 47) includes a first end portion (see Fig. 1) coupled to the mounting section (43) and a second end portion (see Fig. 1) coupled to the recording section (29) [Paragraphs 0027-0030] and when viewed from the one direction, a center of the mounting section (43) in the horizontal direction is located between the first end portion (see Fig. 1) and the second end portion (see Fig. 1) [See Fig. 1].
Recording Claim 4, Toya et al. teaches the recording device (11), wherein the flow path (42, 47) overlaps with the mounting section (43) when viewed from the one direction [Paragraphs 0027-0030, see Figs. 1 and 4].
Recording Claim 5, Toya et al. teaches the recording device (11), further comprising: a support section (27, Fig. 1) facing the recording section (29), wherein the support section (27) supports a medium (13) and the recording section (29) is displaced between a recording position (see Fig. 1) at which liquid is ejected onto the medium (13) supported by the support section (27) and a retreat position (not shown in Figures) that is further away from the support section (27) than the recording position [Paragraphs 0025-0026, 0034-0036, 0064-0065, 0073, see Fig. 1 also].
Recording Claim 6, Toya et al. teaches the recording device (11), wherein the recording section (29) has an ejection surface (29a, Fig. 1) from which liquid is ejected [Paragraph 0026], the mounting section (43) includes a reserve section (not shown in Figures) configured to store the liquid supplied from the container (35), and the reserve section (not shown in Figures) stores the liquid so that a liquid level reaches a position lower than the ejection surface (29a) [Paragraph 0071].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of claims 7-16 is the inclusion of the limitation of a recording device that includes a flow path having an upper portion above a stacking surface of a stacking section, and the upper portion does not overlap the stacking surface when view from a vertical direction. It is these limitations found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/LISA SOLOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853