DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the filing of the application on 07/22/24. Since the initial filing, no claims have been amended, added, or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The originally filed disclosures of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 16/905,564 and 18/180,942, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claim 1 recites the term “liquid” while claims 9 and 11 recite the term “fluid.” Both terms are not present in the previous applications’ specification, which only recites “water.” Accordingly, claims 1-13 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application. Therefore, 7/22/2024 will be treated as the effective filing date.
Specification
4. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because line 1 recites “a chair is disclosed for providing,” it is suggested to replace this with –A chair for providing--. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
5. Claims 1, 2, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “without exposed seams or stitching.” In line 5. It is suggested to change this to –without exposed seams or stitching;-- to clarify that the limitations following the period are part of the first claim.
Similarly, claim 1 recites “devices.” in line 19. It is suggested to change this to –devices;-- to clarify that the limitations following the period are part of the first claim.
Claim 2 recites “The therapeutic chair of Claim 2” in line 1. The claim is being interpreted as –The therapeutic chair of claim 1—to avoid issues regarding improper dependency. Claims 3-8 are interpreted as being dependent upon claim 2.
Claim 10 recites “The therapeutic chair of Claim 10” in line 1. The claim is being interpreted as –The therapeutic chair of claim 9—to avoid issues regarding improper dependency. Claims 11-13 are interpreted as being dependent upon claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
8. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“fluid temperature control system” in claim 11 lines 1-2. The exact term is not recited in the specification. For the purposes of examining, the “fluid temperature control system” is interpreted as a heat tank, cool tank, pumps, electrical box, chiller, and valves as described in specification paragraph [0040] or the like. It is noted that the “liquid temperature control system” recited in claim 1 line 14 is not interpreted under 112f because it is modified with adequate structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “a fluid temperature control system configured to heat or cool the fluid in said fluid filled inserts” is not described in the specification. The “water temperature control system” in paragraph [0040] and figure 6 references changing the temperature of a water pad, but not the “fluid filled inserts” as claimed or “water filled inserts” as described by the specification in paragraph [0038] and figs. 4A and 4B, inserts 42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
13. Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Howe (US 2021/0007928).
Regarding claim 1, Howe discloses a therapeutic chair (see claim 2), comprising:
a) A chair body having a chair back, a chair seat (fig. 1, chair 10), and a leg section ([0036]), said chair body having a surface, wherein said surface is smooth, moisture proof, and treated with an anti-bacterial additive, and wherein said surface is configured to receive a body of a user, said surface being without exposed seams or stitching ([0035]).
b) A programmable roller system located within the chair body and comprising a plurality of massaging rollers ([0032]), wherein each massaging roller of the plurality of massaging rollers comprises:
1) An inner roller ([0038]);
2) A plurality of liquid-filled inserts situated around the exterior perimeter of an
inner roller ([0038]); and
3) An outer ring positioned around the exterior of the plurality of liquid-filled
Inserts ([0038]);
c) A liquid temperature control system ([0041]), said liquid temperature control system
comprising:
1) at least one liquid pad within the massage chair wherein the liquid of said pad
can be heated or cooled ([0040]);
2) at least one pump configured to circulate liquid through heating and cooling
Devices ([0041]).
3) at least one valve configured to regulate the circulation of liquid through the
heating and cooling system ([0041]);
4) at least one drain configured to expel excess liquid from said heating and
cooling system ([0041]); and
d) a control panel to present options for user to customize therapeutic chair and to enable the customization of therapeutic massage based on user inputs ([0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Howe further discloses at least one adjustable air bladder positioned within said chair back, wherein said at least one adjustable air bladder
within said chair back is configured to be inflated or deflated ([0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Howe further discloses wherein said therapeutic chair is configured to recline at various degrees ([0045] states the chair can recline fully, which encompasses multiple degrees).
Regarding claim 4, Howe further discloses wherein said leg section includes at least one massaging roller, wherein said at least one massaging roller is configured to provide massaging pressure to the legs of the user (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 5, Howe further discloses wherein said control panel comprises a screen wherein said screen is configured to display various massage types ([0047] states the touchscreen can have areas to adjust the massage such as water, air, and pressure control).
Regarding claim 6, Howe further discloses wherein said control panel comprises a screen, wherein said control panel is configured to display options to the user, wherein said options enables customization of temperature, roller position, massage type, pressure intensity, and degree of reclination of said therapeutic chair (see claim 7).
Regarding claim 7, Howe further discloses wherein the therapeutic chair is configured to be monitored and controlled through a smartphone or the internet ([0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Howe further discloses wherein each said massaging roller comprises
thermoplastic elastomer or silicone ([0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Howe discloses a massage apparatus comprising:
a) a chair body having a chair back, chair seat, and leg section;
b) massaging rollers located within said chair body;
c) fluid-filled inserts located within said massaging rollers (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 10, Howe further discloses at least one air bladder positioned within said chair back ([0043]).
Regarding claim 12, Howe further discloses a control panel, wherein said control panel enables the user to customize components of said massage apparatus (see claim 7).
Regarding claim 13, Howe further discloses wherein the functions of said massage apparatus can be controlled via a smartphone or the internet ([0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0170882) in view of Shields (US 2007/0287938) and Nagano et al. (US 2010/0137755).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses a massage apparatus (fig. 2, massage chair 10) comprising: a) a chair body having a chair back (fig. 2, the chair includes back support portion 100), chair seat (fig. 1, seat 200), and leg section (fig. 1, calf massage portion 400); b) massaging rollers located within said chair body (fig. 2, massage ball assembly 700), but does not disclose that c) fluid-filled inserts located within said massaging rollers.
However, Nagano teaches of a massaging head (fig. 1) that utilizes a heat source (fig. 1, 4) to heat a disc (fig. 1, 31) that heats the massaging head for the purpose of providing warmth ([0052]) thereby improving comfort of the device ([0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the massage ball assembly of Park with the massaging head as taught by Nagano for the purpose of providing a heated massage thereby improving comfort.
Further, Shields teaches of a back massager with replaceable massaging rollers (fig. 5) one of which includes a liquid insert (fig. 5, roller 25 includes cavity 25’ which is filled with gel 25’’) that can be heated in a microwave-oven to provide a soothing massage ([0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to provide the massaging heads of the modified apparatus of Park with the hollow cavity filled with gel as taught by Shields in order to retain heat).
The modified apparatus of Park reads on fluid-filled inserts (Shields fig. 5, roller 25 includes cavity 25’ which is filled with gel 25’’) located within said massaging rollers (Park fig. 2, shows multiple massage rollers in massage ball assembly 700 and therefore multiple fluid-filled inserts).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Park reads on claim 9 and reads on at least one air bladder positioned within said chair back (Park fig. 2, back airbags 102).
Regarding claim 11, the modified device of Park reads on claim 10 and further reads on wherein said apparatus has a fluid temperature control system (Nagano fig. 1, heat source 4, disc 31, and associated wiring and power as suggested by [0052] are considered a fluid temperature control system) configured to heat the fluid in said fluid-filled inserts (Nagano fig. 1, heat source 4 heats the disc 31 according to [0052] and would similarly head the Shields fig. 5, cavity 25’ filled with gel 25’’).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Park reads on claim 10 and further reads on a control panel (Park fig. 2, manipulation portion 600), wherein said control panel enables the user to customize components of said massage apparatus (Park [0014] states that manipulation portion 600 adjusts movements of the back support portion).
16. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Shields and Nagano as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Mizuguchi et al. (US 2016/0320924).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Park reads on claim 10, but does not expressly disclose that the function of the massage apparatus is controlled via a smartphone or the internet.
However, Mizuguchi teaches of a chair type massage machine (fig. 1, 100) that uses a controller (fig. 1, 1), and can also control the function of the massage chair via a smartphone ([0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified apparatus of Park with the program for connecting with a smartphone as taught by Mizuguchi for the purpose of increasing the convenience of use for a user by allowing them to alternatively use a smartphone.
Double Patenting
18. Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,602,482 hereinafter ‘482. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are broader in at least one aspect.
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, see the following highlights (underlined features of ‘482) for elements that have been excluded.
Instant Application 18/779,182
Patent 11,602,482
1. A therapeutic chair, comprising: a) A chair body having a chair back, a chair seat, and a leg section, said chair body having a surface, wherein said surface is smooth, moisture proof, and treated with an anti-bacterial additive, and wherein said surface is configured to receive a body of a user, said surface being without exposed seams or stitching. b) A programmable roller system located within the chair body and comprising a plurality of massaging rollers, wherein each massaging roller of the plurality of massaging rollers comprises: 1) An inner roller; 2) A plurality of liquid-filled inserts situated around the exterior perimeter of an inner roller; and 3) An outer ring positioned around the exterior of the plurality of liquid-filled inserts; c) A liquid temperature control system, said liquid temperature control system comprising: 1) at least one liquid pad within the massage chair wherein the liquid of said pad can be heated or cooled; 2) at least one pump configured to circulate liquid through heating and cooling devices. 3) at least one valve configured to regulate the circulation of liquid through the heating and cooling system; 4) at least one drain configured to expel excess liquid from said heating and cooling system; and d) a control panel to present options for user to customize therapeutic chair and to enable the customization of therapeutic massage based on user inputs.
1. A massage chair, comprising: a) a chair body having a chair back, chair seat, and leg section, said chair body having a surface, wherein the surface is smooth, moisture proof, and treated with an anti-bacterial additive, and wherein said surface is configured to receive a body of a user, said surface being without exposed seams; b) a programmable roller system positioned within the chair body, said programmable roller system comprising a plurality of rollers, wherein each roller in the plurality of rollers comprises an inner roller, a plurality of water filled inserts positioned around an exterior of the inner roller, and an outer protective ring positioned around an exterior of the plurality of water filled inserts; c) a plurality of adjustable air bladders positioned within said chair back; d) a water temperature control system, said water temperature control system comprising: 1) at least one connected water pad within the massage chair, said water pad being configured to be rapidly heated or cooled, said rapid heating or cooling comprising increasing or decreasing a temperature of said water pad up to 40 degrees Fahrenheit within 60 seconds; 2) at least one pump configured to circulate water through separate heating and cooling tanks; 3) a plurality of valves configured to regulate the circulation of water through the water heating and cooling system; and 4) at least one drain configured to expel excess water from said heating and cooling system; and e) an attached display configured to provide details of a therapeutic massage session and to enable user customization of a massage.
2. The therapeutic chair of claim 2, further comprising at least one adjustable air bladder positioned within said chair back, wherein said at least one adjustable air bladder within said chair back is configured to be inflated or deflated.
4. The massage chair of claim 1, wherein said plurality of adjustable air bladders within said massage chair are configured to be inflated or deflated, said plurality of adjustable air bladders enabling support of the user's back.
3. The therapeutic chair of claim 2, wherein said therapeutic chair is configured to recline at various degrees.
5. The massage chair of claim 1, wherein said massage chair is configured to fully recline.
4. The therapeutic chair of claim 2, wherein said leg section includes at least one massaging roller, wherein said at least one massaging roller is configured to provide massaging pressure to the legs of the user.
2. The massage chair of claim 1, wherein said leg section includes one or more rollers in said plurality of rollers, wherein said one or more rollers are configured provide massaging to the legs of the user.
5. The therapeutic chair of claim 2, wherein said control panel comprises a screen wherein said screen is configured to display various massage types.
3. The massage chair of claim 1, wherein said attached display comprises a touch screen, wherein: a) the attached display is configured to present a menu to the user of the massage chair, wherein the menu enables customization of a massage type, b) the massage type includes a percussion, a wave, and a deep press massage.
6. The therapeutic chair of claim 2, wherein said control panel comprises a screen, wherein said control panel is configured to display options to the user, wherein said options enables customization of temperature, roller position, massage type, pressure intensity, and degree of reclination of said therapeutic chair.
6. The massage chair of claim 1, wherein said attached display comprises a touch screen, wherein the attached display is configured to present a menu to the user of the massage chair, wherein the menu enables customization of temperature, roller position, massage type, massage intensity, and reclination of said massage chair.
7. The therapeutic chair of claim 2, wherein the therapeutic chair is configured to be monitored and controlled through a smartphone or the internet.
11. The massage chair of claim 1, wherein the massage chair is configured to be monitored and controlled with a smartphone or a web-based portal.
8. The therapeutic chair of claim 2, wherein each said massaging roller comprises thermoplastic elastomer or silicone.
8. The massage chair of claim 1, wherein, for each of the plurality of rollers, the inner roller is made of thermoplastic elastomer or silicone.
9. A massage apparatus comprising: a) a chair body having a chair back, chair seat, and leg section; b) massaging rollers located within said chair body; c) fluid-filled inserts located within said massaging rollers.
1. A massage chair, comprising: a) a chair body having a chair back, chair seat, and leg section, said chair body having a surface, wherein the surface is smooth, moisture proof, and treated with an anti-bacterial additive, and wherein said surface is configured to receive a body of a user, said surface being without exposed seams; b) a programmable roller system positioned within the chair body, said programmable roller system comprising a plurality of rollers, wherein each roller in the plurality of rollers comprises an inner roller, a plurality of water filled inserts positioned around an exterior of the inner roller, and an outer protective ring positioned around an exterior of the plurality of water filled inserts; c) a plurality of adjustable air bladders positioned within said chair back; d) a water temperature control system, said water temperature control system comprising: 1) at least one connected water pad within the massage chair, said water pad being configured to be rapidly heated or cooled, said rapid heating or cooling comprising increasing or decreasing a temperature of said water pad up to 40 degrees Fahrenheit within 60 seconds; 2) at least one pump configured to circulate water through separate heating and cooling tanks; 3) a plurality of valves configured to regulate the circulation of water through the water heating and cooling system; and 4) at least one drain configured to expel excess water from said heating and cooling system; and e) an attached display configured to provide details of a therapeutic massage session and to enable user customization of a massage.
10. A massage apparatus of claim 10, wherein said apparatus has at least one air bladder positioned within said chair back.
4. The massage chair of claim 1, wherein said plurality of adjustable air bladders within said massage chair are configured to be inflated or deflated, said plurality of adjustable air bladders enabling support of the user's back.
11. A massage apparatus of claim 10, wherein said apparatus has a fluid temperature control system configured to heat or cool the fluid in said fluid-filled inserts.
1. A massage chair, comprising: a) a chair body having a chair back, chair seat, and leg section, said chair body having a surface, wherein the surface is smooth, moisture proof, and treated with an anti-bacterial additive, and wherein said surface is configured to receive a body of a user, said surface being without exposed seams; b) a programmable roller system positioned within the chair body, said programmable roller system comprising a plurality of rollers, wherein each roller in the plurality of rollers comprises an inner roller, a plurality of water filled inserts positioned around an exterior of the inner roller, and an outer protective ring positioned around an exterior of the plurality of water filled inserts; c) a plurality of adjustable air bladders positioned within said chair back; d) a water temperature control system, said water temperature control system comprising: 1) at least one connected water pad within the massage chair, said water pad being configured to be rapidly heated or cooled, said rapid heating or cooling comprising increasing or decreasing a temperature of said water pad up to 40 degrees Fahrenheit within 60 seconds; 2) at least one pump configured to circulate water through separate heating and cooling tanks; 3) a plurality of valves configured to regulate the circulation of water through the water heating and cooling system; and 4) at least one drain configured to expel excess water from said heating and cooling system; and e) an attached display configured to provide details of a therapeutic massage session and to enable user customization of a massage.
12. A massage apparatus of claim 10, comprising a control panel, wherein said control panel enables the user to customize components of said massage apparatus.
1. A massage chair, comprising: a) a chair body having a chair back, chair seat, and leg section, said chair body having a surface, wherein the surface is smooth, moisture proof, and treated with an anti-bacterial additive, and wherein said surface is configured to receive a body of a user, said surface being without exposed seams; b) a programmable roller system positioned within the chair body, said programmable roller system comprising a plurality of rollers, wherein each roller in the plurality of rollers comprises an inner roller, a plurality of water filled inserts positioned around an exterior of the inner roller, and an outer protective ring positioned around an exterior of the plurality of water filled inserts; c) a plurality of adjustable air bladders positioned within said chair back; d) a water temperature control system, said water temperature control system comprising: 1) at least one connected water pad within the massage chair, said water pad being configured to be rapidly heated or cooled, said rapid heating or cooling comprising increasing or decreasing a temperature of said water pad up to 40 degrees Fahrenheit within 60 seconds; 2) at least one pump configured to circulate water through separate heating and cooling tanks; 3) a plurality of valves configured to regulate the circulation of water through the water heating and cooling system; and 4) at least one drain configured to expel excess water from said heating and cooling system; and e) an attached display configured to provide details of a therapeutic massage session and to enable user customization of a massage.
13. A massage apparatus of claim 10, wherein the functions of said massage apparatus can be controlled via a smartphone or the internet.
11. The massage chair of claim 1, wherein the massage chair is configured to be monitored and controlled with a smartphone or a web-based portal.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that ‘482 claims 1-6, 8, and 11 includes features that are not in application claims 1-13. Following the rational in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claims 1-13 are anticipated by ‘482 claims 1-6, 8, and 11, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claims 1-13 are obvious over ‘482 claims 1-6, 8, and 11 with respect to the broadening aspect.
Regarding the present claims recitation of “liquid” and “fluid,” the claims of ‘482 recite “water” thereby anticipating the broader terms of “liquid” and “fluid.”
Regarding the limitation “without exposed seams or stitching” in claim 1 line 5, claim 1 of ‘482 recites “without exposed seams” thereby reading on the limitation of “seams or stitching.”
19. Claims 1-9 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,042,457 hereinafter ‘457. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims 9 and 12 are broader in at least one aspect and application claims 1-8 are narrower in at least on aspect.
Regarding the narrowing aspect of the application claims, see the following highlights (underlined features in claim 1) for elements that have been excluded.
Instant Application 18/779,182
Patent 12,042,457
9. A massage apparatus comprising: a) a chair body having a chair back, chair seat, and leg section; b) massaging rollers located within said chair body; c) fluid-filled inserts located within said massaging rollers.
1. A therapeutic chair, comprising: a chair body having a chair back, a chair seat, and a leg section; a programmable roller system disposed within the chair body and comprising a plurality of massaging rollers, wherein each massaging roller of the plurality of massaging rollers comprises: an inner roller, a plurality of liquid-filled inserts positioned around an exterior of the inner roller, and a protective ring positioned around the plurality of liquid-filled inserts; and a display configured to present control options to a user for operating the programmable roller system and to control the programmable roller system based on inputs received from the user.
12. A massage apparatus of claim 10, comprising a control panel, wherein said control panel enables the user to customize components of said massage apparatus.
1. A therapeutic chair, comprising: a chair body having a chair back, a chair seat, and a leg section; a programmable roller system disposed within the chair body and comprising a plurality of massaging rollers, wherein each massaging roller of the plurality of massaging rollers comprises: an inner roller, a plurality of liquid-filled inserts positioned around an exterior of the inner roller, and a protective ring positioned around the plurality of liquid-filled inserts; and a display configured to present control options to a user for operating the programmable roller system and to control the programmable roller system based on inputs received from the user.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between claims 1-8 of the current application and claim 1 of ‘457 lies in the fact that the instant application claims include more elements are is thus more specific. Thus, the invention of claim ‘457 of the instant application is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of ‘457. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, cited above. Since claim 1 of ‘457 is anticipated by claims 1-8 of the instant invention, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1-8 of the instant application.
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, see the following highlights (underlined features of ‘457) for elements that have been excluded.
Instant Application 18/779,182
Patent 12,042,457
9. A massage apparatus comprising: a) a chair body having a chair back, chair seat, and leg section; b) massaging rollers located within said chair body; c) fluid-filled inserts located within said massaging rollers.
1. A therapeutic chair, comprising: a chair body having a chair back, a chair seat, and a leg section; a programmable roller system disposed within the chair body and comprising a plurality of massaging rollers, wherein each massaging roller of the plurality of massaging rollers comprises: an inner roller, a plurality of liquid-filled inserts positioned around an exterior of the inner roller, and a protective ring positioned around the plurality of liquid-filled inserts; and a display configured to present control options to a user for operating the programmable roller system and to control the programmable roller system based on inputs received from the user.
12. A massage apparatus of claim 10, comprising a control panel, wherein said control panel enables the user to customize components of said massage apparatus.
1. A therapeutic chair, comprising: a chair body having a chair back, a chair seat, and a leg section; a programmable roller system disposed within the chair body and comprising a plurality of massaging rollers, wherein each massaging roller of the plurality of massaging rollers comprises: an inner roller, a plurality of liquid-filled inserts positioned around an exterior of the inner roller, and a protective ring positioned around the plurality of liquid-filled inserts; and a display configured to present control options to a user for operating the programmable roller system and to control the programmable roller system based on inputs received from the user.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that ‘457 claim 1 includes features that are not in application claims 9 and 12. Following the rational in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claims 9 and 12 are anticipated by ‘457 claim 1, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claims 9 and 12 are obvious over ‘457 claim 1 with respect to the broadening aspect.
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claims 1-8 would be allowed if a Terminal Disclaimer is filed to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejection, amendments are made regarding current claim objections, and benefit to the prior applications 16/905,564 and 18/180,942 are restored by replacing instances of “liquid” and “fluid” in the claims with –water--.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior are of record fails to disclose the specific structural and functional limitations and recited in the claims. In independent claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose each massaging roller of a plurality of massaging rollers comprises: 1) and inner roller; 2) a plurality of liquid-filled inserts situated around the exterior perimeter of an inner roller; and 3) an outer ring positioned around the exterior of the plurality of liquid-fille inserts in combination with the remaining claim limitations.
The closest prior art of record is Shields.
While Shields discloses a thermo-roller (fig. 5, 25) that uses a cavity filled with a thermo-gel to retain heat and apply it to a user’s back during a massage. The roller of Shields does not disclose a plurality of liquid-filled inserts situated around the exterior perimeter of an inner roller.
Conclusion
21. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alequin et al. (US 2019/0299830) discloses a system a vehicle chair that provides a massage via liquid filled elements. L’Homme et al. (US 2011/0245741) discloses a massage roller that uses wheels that can be filled with a hot or cold liquid. Pepera (US 6,793,636) discloses a foot device which is filled with a gel that can be heated or cooled to treat certain pathologies. Lower et al. (US 2019/0328576) discloses a rapid contrast therapy system that uses a hot and cold tank to control the temperature of a therapy wrap.
/THOMAS Z CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785