DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11-12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210329546 A1 to Wang et al. (hereinafter “Wang”).
As per claim 1, Wang discloses a baseband processor (Wang Fig. 13 and [0278]), comprising: a memory configured to store instructions (Wang Fig. 13 and [0278]); and a processing circuitry coupled to the memory and, when executing the instructions (Wang Fig. 13 and [0278]), configured to: receive a secondary cell activation command (Wang Fig. 4 and [0185] The network device sends the activation signaling including the first quasi co-location indication information to the terminal device. The activation signaling may be implemented by the network device by sending the MAC CE to the terminal device by using a primary cell. [0186] Optionally, before the terminal device receives the activation signaling of the secondary cell generated by the network device, the terminal device receives first indication information sent by the network device, where the first indication information is used to indicate that downlink timing of the primary cell is the same as that of the secondary cell, or that a timing advance group TAG of the primary cell is the same as that of the secondary cell. [0127] It should be noted that the cell may be an area within coverage of a wireless network of a network device. In the embodiments of this application, different cells may correspond to different network devices. For example, a network device in a cell #1 and a network device in a cell #2 may be different network devices such as base stations. That is, the cell #1 and the cell #2 may be managed by different base stations. In this case, in other words, the cell #1 and the cell #2 are co-sited or co-sited. The network device in the cell #1 and the network device in the cell #2 may alternatively be different radio frequency processing units, for example, radio remote units (RRU), of a same base station. In other words, the cell #1 and the cell #2 may be managed by a same base station that has a same baseband processing unit and a same intermediate frequency processing unit, but has different radio frequency processing units. This is not specifically limited in this application. [0205] S830: The network device generates activation signaling of the secondary cell, where the activation signaling includes at least one piece of first quasi co-location indication information.); and activate, in response to the secondary cell activation command, a secondary cell with a time delay based on timing of an aperiodic user equipment (UE) specific reference signal (Wang [0154] When data transmission needs to be performed at the high frequency, the base station delivers activation signaling of a secondary cell by using MAC CE signaling. After receiving the activation signaling, the base station configures an SSB machine type communication (MT) configuration based on a radio resource RRC, and detects an SSB signal in a corresponding time detection window. FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a format of activation signaling of a MAC CE secondary cell in a current technology. As shown in the figure, an octet (Oct) in the figure represents a byte (byte) including eight bits (bits). R is a reserved bit. C.sub.i is activation indication information, and corresponds to a component carrier (CC) index in the RRC configuration. When a value of C.sub.i is 1, it indicates that a corresponding CC is activated; when a value of C.sub.i is 0, it indicates that a corresponding CC is deactivated, where i=0, 2, . . . 7. [0197-0198]).
As per claim 2, Wang discloses the baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the aperiodic UE specific reference signal is an aperiodic tracking reference signal (ATRS) (Wang [0102,0206] and [0198] In the current technology, initial access of a terminal device is mainly performed by detecting and receiving an SSB signal. To reduce overheads of the terminal device, an SSB signal periodicity is usually set to be relatively long. During beam scanning, if a periodicity is not over, a next time of beam scanning can be performed only when the second period starts. As a result, beam scanning takes excessively long time. Therefore, during activation of the secondary cell, another reference signal may be detected and received instead of detecting and receiving the SSB signal with a relatively long detection periodicity, to complete activation of the secondary cell, thereby reducing the activation delay of the secondary cell, reducing detection power consumption of the terminal device, and improving communication quality and reliability.).
As per claim 3, Wang discloses the baseband processor of claim 1, the processing circuitry further configured to receive a reference signal configuration configuring the aperiodic UE specific reference signal (Wang [0102,0206] and [0198] In the current technology, initial access of a terminal device is mainly performed by detecting and receiving an SSB signal. To reduce overheads of the terminal device, an SSB signal periodicity is usually set to be relatively long. During beam scanning, if a periodicity is not over, a next time of beam scanning can be performed only when the second period starts. As a result, beam scanning takes excessively long time. Therefore, during activation of the secondary cell, another reference signal may be detected and received instead of detecting and receiving the SSB signal with a relatively long detection periodicity, to complete activation of the secondary cell, thereby reducing the activation delay of the secondary cell, reducing detection power consumption of the terminal device, and improving communication quality and reliability.).
As per claim 4, Wang discloses the baseband processor of claim 3, the processing circuitry further configured to: receive the reference signal configuration from a primary cell during a radio resource control (RRC) procedure (Wang [0024,0028,0154,0230]).
As per claim 7, Wang discloses the baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the aperiodic UE specific reference signal is used to perform a fine time tracking (Wang [0070,0102,0149,0206]).
As per claim 11, Wang discloses the baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the activation of the secondary cell is based on the aperiodic UE specific reference signal when a reference signal configuration indicating the aperiodic UE specific reference signal is received (Wang [0102,0198,0206]), and is based on a cell-specific reference signal when the reference signal configuration is not received.
As per claim 12, Wang discloses a User Equipment (UE) (Wang Fig. 13 and [0278]) comprising: radio frequency (RF) circuitry configured to communicate with a wireless communication network (Wang Fig. 13 and [0278]); a memory device configured to store instructions (Wang Fig. 13 and [0278]); and one or more processors, connected to the RF circuitry and the memory device (Wang Fig. 13 and [0278]), and configured to execute the instructions to: receive, via the RF circuitry, a secondary cell activation command (Wang Fig. 4 and [0185] The network device sends the activation signaling including the first quasi co-location indication information to the terminal device. The activation signaling may be implemented by the network device by sending the MAC CE to the terminal device by using a primary cell. [0186] Optionally, before the terminal device receives the activation signaling of the secondary cell generated by the network device, the terminal device receives first indication information sent by the network device, where the first indication information is used to indicate that downlink timing of the primary cell is the same as that of the secondary cell, or that a timing advance group TAG of the primary cell is the same as that of the secondary cell. [0127] It should be noted that the cell may be an area within coverage of a wireless network of a network device. In the embodiments of this application, different cells may correspond to different network devices. For example, a network device in a cell #1 and a network device in a cell #2 may be different network devices such as base stations. That is, the cell #1 and the cell #2 may be managed by different base stations. In this case, in other words, the cell #1 and the cell #2 are co-sited or co-sited. The network device in the cell #1 and the network device in the cell #2 may alternatively be different radio frequency processing units, for example, radio remote units (RRU), of a same base station. In other words, the cell #1 and the cell #2 may be managed by a same base station that has a same baseband processing unit and a same intermediate frequency processing unit, but has different radio frequency processing units. This is not specifically limited in this application. [0205] S830: The network device generates activation signaling of the secondary cell, where the activation signaling includes at least one piece of first quasi co-location indication information.); and activate, in response to receiving the secondary cell activation command (Wang [0154] When data transmission needs to be performed at the high frequency, the base station delivers activation signaling of a secondary cell by using MAC CE signaling. After receiving the activation signaling, the base station configures an SSB machine type communication (MT) configuration based on a radio resource RRC, and detects an SSB signal in a corresponding time detection window. FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a format of activation signaling of a MAC CE secondary cell in a current technology. As shown in the figure, an octet (Oct) in the figure represents a byte (byte) including eight bits (bits). R is a reserved bit. C.sub.i is activation indication information, and corresponds to a component carrier (CC) index in the RRC configuration. When a value of C.sub.i is 1, it indicates that a corresponding CC is activated; when a value of C.sub.i is 0, it indicates that a corresponding CC is deactivated, where i=0, 2, . . . 7. [0197-0198]), a secondary cell based on an aperiodic tracking reference signal (ATRS) (Wang [0102,0206] and [0198] In the current technology, initial access of a terminal device is mainly performed by detecting and receiving an SSB signal. To reduce overheads of the terminal device, an SSB signal periodicity is usually set to be relatively long. During beam scanning, if a periodicity is not over, a next time of beam scanning can be performed only when the second period starts. As a result, beam scanning takes excessively long time. Therefore, during activation of the secondary cell, another reference signal may be detected and received instead of detecting and receiving the SSB signal with a relatively long detection periodicity, to complete activation of the secondary cell, thereby reducing the activation delay of the secondary cell, reducing detection power consumption of the terminal device, and improving communication quality and reliability.).
As per claim 20, Wang discloses a method, performed by a User Equipment (UE) (Wang Fig. 13 and [0278]), comprising: receiving, from a primary cell, a secondary cell activation command (Wang Fig. 4 and [0185] The network device sends the activation signaling including the first quasi co-location indication information to the terminal device. The activation signaling may be implemented by the network device by sending the MAC CE to the terminal device by using a primary cell. [0186] Optionally, before the terminal device receives the activation signaling of the secondary cell generated by the network device, the terminal device receives first indication information sent by the network device, where the first indication information is used to indicate that downlink timing of the primary cell is the same as that of the secondary cell, or that a timing advance group TAG of the primary cell is the same as that of the secondary cell. [0127] It should be noted that the cell may be an area within coverage of a wireless network of a network device. In the embodiments of this application, different cells may correspond to different network devices. For example, a network device in a cell #1 and a network device in a cell #2 may be different network devices such as base stations. That is, the cell #1 and the cell #2 may be managed by different base stations. In this case, in other words, the cell #1 and the cell #2 are co-sited or co-sited. The network device in the cell #1 and the network device in the cell #2 may alternatively be different radio frequency processing units, for example, radio remote units (RRU), of a same base station. In other words, the cell #1 and the cell #2 may be managed by a same base station that has a same baseband processing unit and a same intermediate frequency processing unit, but has different radio frequency processing units. This is not specifically limited in this application. [0205] S830: The network device generates activation signaling of the secondary cell, where the activation signaling includes at least one piece of first quasi co-location indication information.); and activating, in response to the secondary cell activation command (Wang [0154] When data transmission needs to be performed at the high frequency, the base station delivers activation signaling of a secondary cell by using MAC CE signaling. After receiving the activation signaling, the base station configures an SSB machine type communication (MT) configuration based on a radio resource RRC, and detects an SSB signal in a corresponding time detection window. FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a format of activation signaling of a MAC CE secondary cell in a current technology. As shown in the figure, an octet (Oct) in the figure represents a byte (byte) including eight bits (bits). R is a reserved bit. C.sub.i is activation indication information, and corresponds to a component carrier (CC) index in the RRC configuration. When a value of C.sub.i is 1, it indicates that a corresponding CC is activated; when a value of C.sub.i is 0, it indicates that a corresponding CC is deactivated, where i=0, 2, . . . 7. [0197-0198]), a secondary cell based on a UE-specific reference signal when a reference signal configuration indicating the UE-specific reference signal is received (Wang [0102,0198,0206]), and based on a cell-specific reference signal when the reference signal configuration is not received.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8-10, and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476