DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2024, 02/05/2025 and 10/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Drawings the drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a pump” recited in claims 5, 9, 15 and 20; a temperature sensor in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claims 1-11, 13-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the term “refrigerant” in the phrase “expand refrigerant flowing” in lines 11-12 and 14, is same or different then “a refrigerant” of line 2. For examination purposes, it is considered as same and the line 4 limitation is being considered as -- expand the refrigerant flowing --.
Claim 12 recites the term “refrigerant” in the” in line 5, is same or different than “refrigerant” of line 5. For examination purposes, it is considered as same and the line 4 limitation is being considered as -- the refrigerant --.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase “so as to perform the second defrosting operation mode” in line 6 of the claim is indefinite as the second defrosting operation mode is not required of claim 12, from which claim 13 depends. Instead, the second defrosting operation mode is only optional in the claim, therefore the metes and bounds of claim 13 have not been made clear.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “the second defrosting operation mode” in lines 1-2 of the claim is indefinite as the second defrosting operation mode is not required of claim 12, from which claim 14 depends. Instead, the second defrosting operation mode is only optional in the claim, therefore the metes and bounds of claim 14 have not been made clear.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “the second defrosting operation mode” in lines 1-2 of the claim is indefinite as the second defrosting operation mode is not required of claim 12, from which claim 15 depends. Instead, the second defrosting operation mode is only optional in the claim, therefore the metes and bounds of claim 14 have not been made clear.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase “the second defrosting operation mode” in lines 2-3 of the claim is indefinite as the second defrosting operation mode is not required of claim 12, from which claim 16 depends. Instead, the second defrosting operation mode is only optional in the claim, therefore the metes and bounds of claim 14 have not been made clear.
Claim 19 recites the term “refrigerant” in the phrase “expand refrigerant flowing” in lines 13-14 and 16, is same or different then “a refrigerant” of line 2. For examination purposes, it is considered as same and the line 4 limitation is being considered as -- expand the refrigerant flowing --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
ITO et al. (US 2018/0252449) in view of HUANG et al. (CN214307714U, see attached
translation).
In regards to claim 1, ITO discloses a heat supplier (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 68-72), comprising: a compressor (2) that compresses a refrigerant; a first heat exchanger (4) that exchanges heat between air and the refrigerant; a second heat exchanger (6) that exchanges heat between a fluid (water in a water circuit 16 water 16) and the refrigerant; a switching valve (switching apparatus 3) that directs the refrigerant discharged from the compressor (2) into the first heat exchanger (4) or the second heat exchanger (6); a first liquid pipe (pipe having the component 5) that connects the first heat exchanger (4) and the second heat exchanger (6); a second liquid pipe (pipe having the components 13-15) connected in parallel to the first liquid pipe so as to connect the first heat exchanger (4) and the second heat exchanger (6); a first expansion valve (a decompressing apparatus 5) disposed at the first liquid pipe (pipe having the component 5) and configured to expand refrigerant flowing therethrough; and a second expansion valve (a flow rate regulation apparatus 13) disposed at the second liquid pipe (pipe having the components 13-15) and configured to expand refrigerant flowing therethrough, but fails to explicitly teach wherein a size of an aperture of the second expansion valve is greater than a size of an aperture of the first expansion valve.
HUANG teaches a refrigeration system (Fig. 1) wherein a size of an aperture of the second expansion valve (32) is greater than a size of an aperture of the first expansion valve (22), (refer to par. 44).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat supplier of ITO such that a size of an aperture of the second expansion valve is greater than a size of an aperture of the first expansion valve as taught by HUANG in order to open to the required position, and using their throttling and pressure reduction principle to maintain the required liquid supply and refrigerant temperature (refer to par. 45 of HUANG).
In regards to claim 2, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, ITO teaches wherein the heat supplier operates in a cooling mode (refer to pars. 13, 44 and 67; as shown in Fig. 5) in which the refrigerant discharged from the compressor (2) is delivered to the first heat exchanger (4) or in a heating mode (refer to pars. 17, 44 and 76; as shown in Fig. 9) in which the refrigerant discharged from the compressor (2) is delivered to the second heat exchanger (6), and wherein the first liquid pipe and the second liquid pipe are selectively opened in the cooling mode and the heating mode (as can be seen in Figs. 5 and 9).
In regards to claim 3, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 2. Further, ITO teaches wherein, in the cooling mode (Fig. 5), the second expansion valve (13) closes the second liquid pipe, and the first expansion valve (5) opens the first liquid pipe (as can be seen in Fig. 5).
In regards to claim 4, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 2. Further, ITO teaches wherein, in the heating mode, the first expansion valve (5) closes the first liquid pipe, and the second expansion valve (13) opens the second liquid pipe (as can be seen in Fig. 9).
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
ITO et al. (US 2018/0252449) in view of HUANG et al. (CN214307714U, see attached
translation), further in view of Tamaki et al. (US 2014/0345310).
In regards to claim 5, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising a pump that pumps the fluid through the second heat exchanger, wherein operation of the pump is stopped when both the first liquid pipe and the second liquid pipe are opened.
Tamaki does however teach wherein, further comprising a pump (13/24) that pumps the fluid to the second heat exchanger (water heat exchanger 12) and wherein operation of a pump (13/24) is controlled (refer to pars. 41, 52, 154 and 156) when both the first liquid pipe (corresponding to indoor-side liquid extension pipe 7) and the second liquid pipe (corresponding to water side liquid extension pipe 15) are controlled. Therefore, the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is capable of variably controlling the rotation speed or may be maintained at a constant speed (refer to pars. 41, 52, 154 and 156). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger to be controlled, were disclosed in the prior art by Tamaki, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify ITO, by setting further comprising a pump that pumps the fluid through the second heat exchanger, wherein operation of the pump to be stopped when both the first liquid pipe and the second liquid pipe to be opened.
In regards to claim 6, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein, in case in which a temperature of the first heat exchanger is less than or equal to a predetermined temperature, the switching valve is adjusted to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to flow into the first heat exchanger, and the first expansion valve is opened.
Tamaki does however teach wherein, in case in which a temperature (measured via temperature sensor 203) of the first heat exchanger (heat source side heat exchanger 4) and the switching valve (four-way valve 3 with discharge solenoid valve 2a) is adjusted to allow the refrigerant discharged (via discharge-side pipe 30) from the compressor (1) to flow into the first heat exchanger (4), and the first expansion valve (second expansion valve 6) is controlled (refer to par. 32; Fig. 2). Therefore, a temperature of the first heat exchanger, the switching valve to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to flow into the first heat exchanger, and the first expansion valve is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is capable of variably controlling the rotation speed or may be maintained at a constant speed (refer to pars. 41, 52, 154 and 156). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger to be controlled, were disclosed in the prior art by Tamaki, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify ITO, by setting in case in which a temperature of the first heat exchanger is less than or equal to a predetermined temperature, the switching valve is adjusted to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to flow into the first heat exchanger, and the first expansion valve is opened.
In regards to claim 7, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 6, but fails to explicitly teach wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the first heat exchanger is less than or equal to the predetermined temperature, operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger is stopped.
Tamaki does however teach wherein, in a case in which the temperature (measured via temperature sensor 203) of the first heat exchanger (heat source side heat exchanger 4) and, operation of a heat exchanger fan (24), (refer to pars. 41, 52 and 154) that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger (4) is controlled (refer to pars. 41, 52 and 154). Therefore, the temperature of the first heat exchanger and, operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is utilizing for controlling the actuators (pars. 41, 52 and 154). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger to be controlled, were disclosed in the prior art by Tamaki, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify ITO, by setting in a case in which the temperature of the first heat exchanger is less than or equal to the predetermined temperature, operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger is stopped.
In regards to claim 8, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger, wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger is less than or equal to a predetermined temperature, the switching valve is adjusted to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to flow into the second heat exchanger, and both the first expansion valve and the second expansion valve are opened.
Tamaki does however teach further comprising a temperature sensor (205) that detects a temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger (water heat exchanger 12) wherein, in case in which the temperature (measured via temperature sensor 205) of the second heat exchanger (12) and the switching valve (four-way valve 3 with discharge solenoid valve 2a) is adjusted to allow the refrigerant discharged (via discharge-side pipe 30) from the compressor (1) to flow into the second heat exchanger (12), and the first expansion valve (second expansion valve 6) and the second expansion valve (third expansion valve 16) is controlled (refer to par. 32; Fig. 2). Therefore, a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger, the switching valve to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to flow into the second heat exchanger, and both the first expansion valve and the second expansion valve is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is capable of variably controlling the rotation speed or may be maintained at a constant speed (refer to pars. 41, 52, 154 and 156). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger to be controlled, were disclosed in the prior art by Tamaki, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify ITO, by setting a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger, wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger to be less than or equal to a predetermined temperature, the switching valve is adjusted to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to flow into the second heat exchanger, and both the first expansion valve and the second expansion valve to be opened.
In regards to claim 9, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 8, but fails to explicitly teach wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger is less than or equal to the predetermined temperature, operation of a pump that supplies the fluid to the second heat exchanger is stopped.
Tamaki does however teach wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the fluid (measured via temperature sensor 206) introduced into the second heat exchanger (water heat exchanger 12) and operation of a pump (13/24) that supplies the fluid to the second heat exchanger (12) is controlled (refer to pars. 41, 52 and 154). Therefore, the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a pump that supplies the fluid to the second heat exchanger is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is capable of variably controlling the rotation speed or may be maintained at a constant speed (pars. 41 and 154). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger to be controlled, were disclosed in the prior art by Tamaki, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify ITO, by setting in a case in which the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger is less than or equal to the predetermined temperature, operation of a pump that supplies the fluid to the second heat exchanger is stopped.
In regards to claim 10, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 9, but fails to explicitly teach wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger is less than or equal to the predetermined temperature, operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger is stopped.
Tamaki does however teach wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the fluid (measured via temperature sensor 206) introduced into the second heat exchanger (water heat exchanger 12) varies, operation of a heat exchanger fan (24), (refer to pars. 41, 52 and 154) that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger (heat source side heat exchanger 4) is controlled (refer to pars. 41, 52 and 154). Therefore, the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is utilizing for controlling the actuators (pars. 41, 52 and 154). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger to be controlled, were disclosed in the prior art by Tamaki, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify ITO, by setting in a case in which the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger to be less than or equal to the predetermined temperature, operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger to be stopped.
In regards to claim 11, ITO as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein a flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through the second expansion valve is 1.2 times to 2 times greater than a flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through the first expansion valve.
Tamaki does however teach the second expansion valve (corresponding to second expansion valve 16) and a flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through the first expansion valve (corresponding to third expansion valve 6) is variably controlled to, in turn, control the flow rate of refrigerant (refer to par. 37). Therefore, the flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through the second expansion valve and the flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through the first expansion valve is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is the controlling to have a desired opening degree (par. 155). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through the second expansion valve and the flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through the first expansion valve to be controlled, were disclosed in the prior art by Tamaki, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify ITO, by setting the flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through the second expansion valve to be 1.2 times to 2 times greater than the flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through the first expansion valve.
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
SHIRAI et al. (JP2015/021680A, see attached translation) in view of ITO et al. (US
2018/0252449).
In regards to claim 12, SHIRAI discloses a method for controlling a heat supplier (Fig. 1), the method comprising: detecting a temperature (temperature measured via sensor 39) of a first heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchanger 11) configured to exchange heat between air and refrigerant (Fig. 1); detecting a temperature (temperature measured via sensor 43) of a fluid (water) introduced into a second heat exchanger (water-refrigerant heat exchanger 15) configured to exchange heat between the fluid and refrigerant (Fig. 1); and performing, based on the temperature detected in the first heat exchanger (11) and the temperature detected in the second heat exchanger (15), a first defrosting operation mode (defrosting operation; par. 15) in which a refrigerant discharged from a compressor (9) is delivered to the first heat exchanger (11), (refer to par. 15) or a second defrosting operation mode in which the refrigerant discharged from the compressor is delivered to the second heat exchanger.
SHIRAI fails to explicitly teach the first defrosting operation mode being performing, based on the temperature detected in the first heat exchanger and the temperature detected in the second heat exchanger.
ITO teaches the first defrosting operation mode being performing, based on the temperature detected in the first heat exchanger (4) and the temperature detected in the second heat exchanger (6), (refer to pars. 81-85).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat supplier of ITO such that the first defrosting operation mode being performing, based on the temperature detected in the first heat exchanger and the temperature detected in the second heat exchanger as taught by ITO in order to melt the frost that adheres (refer to par. 82 of ITO).
In regards to claim 13, SHIRAI as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 12. Further, SHIRAI teaches wherein, in a case in which the temperature detected in the first heat exchanger (11) is less than or equal to a first predetermined temperature and the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger (15) is less than or equal to a second predetermined temperature, a switching valve (10) is adjusted to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor (9) to flow into the second heat exchanger (15), so as to perform the second defrosting operation mode (as shown in solid arrow of Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 14, SHIRAI as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 13. Further, SHIRAI teaches wherein the performing of the second defrosting operation mode comprises adjusting a first expansion valve (29) disposed at a first liquid pipe (refrigerant piping 25) and a second expansion valve (30) disposed at a second liquid pipe (branch pipe 26), such that the first liquid pipe (25) and the second liquid pipe (26), which connect the first heat exchanger (11) and the second heat exchanger (15) in parallel, are opened.
In regards to claim 15, SHIRAI as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 14. Further, SHIRAI teaches wherein the performing of the second defrosting operation mode comprises stopping operation of a pump (stops the circulation pump) that supplies the fluid to the second heat exchanger (15) and stopping operation of a heat exchanger fan (13) that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger (11).
In regards to claim 16, SHIRAI as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 13. Further, SHIRAI teaches further comprising determining whether a condition to exit the second defrosting operation mode is satisfied to end the second defrosting operation mode (refer to pars. 15-17), wherein whether the condition to exit the second defrosting operation mode is satisfied is determined based on a temperature (via sensor 39) at an outlet side of the first heat exchanger (11) in a direction of the refrigerant flowing through the first heat exchanger (11).
In regards to claim 17, SHIRAI as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 12. Further, SHIRAI teaches wherein, in a case in which the temperature detected (temperature measured via sensor 39) in the first heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchanger 11) is less than or equal to a first predetermined temperature and the temperature (temperature measured via sensor 43) of fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger (15) exceeds a second predetermined temperature, a switching valve (10) is adjusted to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor (9) to flow into the first heat exchanger (11), so as to perform the first defrosting operation mode (refer to pars. 23 and 15), and wherein the performing of the first defrosting operation mode comprises stopping operation of a heat exchanger fan (13) that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger (11).
In regards to claim 18, SHIRAI as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 17. Further, SHIRAI teaches wherein the performing of the first defrosting operation mode (par. 15) comprises adjusting a first expansion valve (29) disposed at a first liquid pipe (refrigerant piping 25) and a second expansion valve (30) disposed at a second liquid pipe (branch pipe 26), such that only one of the first liquid pipe (25) and the second liquid pipe (26), which connect the first heat exchanger (11) and the second heat exchanger (15) in parallel, is opened (refer to par. 15 and 23).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
ITO et al. (US 2018/0252449) in view of Tamaki et al. (US 2014/0345310).
In regards to claim 19, ITO discloses a heat supplier, comprising: a compressor (2) that compresses a refrigerant; a first heat exchanger (4) that exchanges heat between air and the refrigerant; a second heat exchanger (6) configured to exchange heat between a fluid (water in a water circuit 16) and the refrigerant; a heat exchanger fan (fan 11) that generates an air flow into the first heat exchanger (4); a switching valve (switching apparatus 3) that directs the refrigerant discharged from the compressor (2) into the first heat exchanger (4) or the second heat exchanger (6); a first liquid pipe (pipe having the component 5) that connects the first heat exchanger (4) and the second heat exchanger (6); a second liquid pipe (pipe having the components 13-15) connected in parallel to the first liquid pipe so as to connect the first heat exchanger (4) and the second heat exchanger (6); a first expansion valve (a decompressing apparatus 5) disposed at the first liquid pipe and configured to expand refrigerant flowing therethrough; and a second expansion valve (a flow rate regulation apparatus 13) disposed at the second liquid pipe and configured to expand refrigerant flowing therethrough, but fails to explicitly teach wherein, in a case in which a temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger is less than or equal to a predetermined temperature, the first expansion valve and the second expansion valve are adjusted so that the refrigerant discharged from the compressor flows from the second heat exchanger to the first heat exchanger, and the refrigerant flowing from the second heat exchanger and the first heat exchanger flows, respectively, into the first liquid pipe and the second liquid pipe.
Tamaki does however teach wherein, in a case in which a temperature of the fluid into the second heat exchanger (water heat exchanger 12), the first expansion valve (second expansion valve 6) and the second expansion valve (third expansion valve 16) are adjusted so that the refrigerant discharged from the compressor (1) flows from the second heat exchanger (12) to the first heat exchanger (4), and the refrigerant flowing from the second heat exchanger (12) and the first heat exchanger (4) flows, respectively, into the first liquid pipe (indoor-side liquid extension pipe 7) and the second liquid pipe (water side liquid extension pipe 15). Therefore, the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger, the first expansion valve and the second expansion valve to be adjusted so that the refrigerant discharged from the compressor flows from the second heat exchanger to the first heat exchanger, and the refrigerant flowing from the second heat exchanger and the first heat exchanger flows, respectively, into the first liquid pipe and the second liquid piper is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is capable of variably controlling the rotation speed or may be maintained at a constant speed (refer to pars. 41, 52, 154 and 156). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger to be controlled, were disclosed in the prior art by Tamaki, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify ITO, by setting a temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger to be less than or equal to a predetermined temperature, the first expansion valve and the second expansion valve are adjusted so that the refrigerant discharged from the compressor flows from the second heat exchanger to the first heat exchanger, and the refrigerant flowing from the second heat exchanger and the first heat exchanger flows, respectively, into the first liquid pipe and the second liquid pipe.
In regards to claim 20, ITO meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 19, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising a pump that pumps the fluid to the second heat exchanger, wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger is less than or equal to the predetermined temperature, operation of the pump is stopped.
Tamaki does however teach further comprising a pump (13/24) that pumps the fluid to the second heat exchanger (water heat exchanger 12) wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the fluid (measured via temperature sensor 206) introduced into the second heat exchanger (12) and operation of the pump (13/24) is controlled (refer to pars. 41, 52 and 154). Therefore, the pump that pumps the fluid to the second heat exchanger, the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and, operation of the pump is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is capable of variably controlling the rotation speed or may be maintained at a constant speed (pars. 41 and 154). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger and operation of a heat exchanger fan that causes an air flow into the first heat exchanger to be controlled, were disclosed in the prior art by Tamaki, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify ITO, by setting further comprising a pump that pumps the fluid to the second heat exchanger, wherein, in a case in which the temperature of the fluid introduced into the second heat exchanger to be less than or equal to the predetermined temperature, operation of the pump to be stopped.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571 -273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.T/
Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763