DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 22-42 are pending in the application. Claims 1-21 have been previously cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobberphul et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0284230 A1), hereinafter “Dobberphul”, in view of Hulten et al. (US PG Pub No. 2016/0272197 A1), hereinafter “Hulten”.
Regarding claim 22, Dobberphul discloses a power assisted steering system for a vehicle (Abstract), comprising: a steering arrangement (Abstract), a steering shaft connected to the steering arrangement (Abstract; paragraphs 33-36), steering elements (Abstract; paragraphs 9 & 14), at least one of the which steering elements being steerable, a controllable (Abstract; paragraphs 9, 14, 59 & 60), steering actuator connected to one or more of the steering elements (Abstract; paragraphs 9 & 14), at least one steering arrangement actuator connected to the steering arrangement controlling feedback to the steering arrangement, an Electronic Control Unit, ECU (Abstract; paragraphs 31-40), arrangement comprising at least one ECU controlling the steering actuator and the steering arrangement actuator (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), said ECU arrangement comprising a sensor and signal interface and a transformation unit for performing a transfer between an angle of the steering arrangement and angle(s) of steered steering elements (paragraphs 31-45), a number of sensors collecting information allowing determination of at least one or more of vehicle velocity (Abstract; paragraphs 39-45), steering torque and/or steering angle of the steering arrangement and steering element angle (paragraphs 39-45), said sensor and signal interface is arranged to receive at least information regarding, or allowing calculation of, one or more of a vehicle state, a subsystem state and driver input (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), said information at least comprising information regarding, or allowing calculation of vehicle velocity, steering arrangement steering torque and/or steering angle, steering element angle(s), from one or more of the sensors connected via connections to said sensor and signal interface (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), said ECU arrangement comprises a steering feel control function, SFC, and a steering position control function, SPC, said ECU arrangement being arranged to provide said received input information to the transformation unit (paragraphs 31-45, 68 & 69), the transformation unit is arranged to, by means of processing means, transform the received input information to steering feel control commands and to steering position control commands (paragraphs 31-47, 68 & 69), and to provide the steering feel control commands to the steering feel control function, SFC, and to provide the steering position commands to the steering position control function, SPC (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 68 & 69), the steering feel control function, SFC, is adapted to execute the received commands and to provide the executed commands as actuator activation signals to the steering arrangement actuator to provide an extended feedback (paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69) and the steering position control function, SPC, is adapted to execute the received commands and to provide the executed commands as actuator activation signals to one or more steering actuators, to provide steering effects (paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69).
Dobberphul fails to disclose that the SFC controls steering-wheel torque that a driver feels; and wherein the SPC controls road wheel angles.
However, Hulten discloses that the SFC controls steering-wheel torque that a driver feels (Hulten (Abstract; paragraphs 9, 12)); and that the SPC controls road wheel angles (Hulten (paragraphs 36)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Dobberphul by incorporating the teachings of Hulten in order to control the vehicle behavior in a manner that keeps the stability of the vehicle in a desirable state.
Regarding claim 23, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein the at least some steering elements comprise steerable wheels, and that said at least one steering actuator is directly or indirectly connected to one or more steerable wheels (paragraphs 31-47).
Regarding claim 24, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein at least two steering actuators are connected to different steering elements, steerable and/or non-steerable (paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 25, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein the input signals from one or more of the sensors comprise directly via the sensors sensed values and/or calculated and/or modelled data for transformation, by means of calculations and/or lookup tables in the transformation unit, to provide command signals for execution in the steering feel control function, SFC, and/or in the steering position control function, SPC (paragraphs 7, 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 26, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein the system further comprises a link arrangement connected to one or more steering elements and in that the at least one steering actuator is arranged on or connected to said link arrangement for controlling said steering elements (paragraphs 31-47, 58, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 27, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 26, wherein the link arrangement comprises a track rod arrangement or a steering rack via steering rods connected to the steering elements (paragraphs 31-47, 58, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 28, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein said sensor and signal interface is arranged to receive at least information regarding, or allowing calculation of at least one vehicle state, the at least one vehicle state comprising at least one or more of steering element, speed, vehicle angular speed around an axis in yaw, pitch or roll direction, acceleration in longitudinal direction relating to a vehicle axis in the horizontal plane and in the forward direction of travel, in lateral direction in the horizontal plane, perpendicular to the longitudinal direction or vertical direction pointing upward from the horizontal plane, and/or vehicle position (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 58, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 29, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein the at least one subsystem state comprises at least one or more of a steering element position and/or a steering element angle and/or a steering element velocity, steering actuator position, brake pedal position and/or brake pedal force, and/or brake pedal pressure, steering arrangement angle and/or steering arrangement (steering wheel) torque, clutch pedal position and/or a clutch pedal force, accelerator pedal position and/or force (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 58, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 30, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein the driver input information comprises at least one or more of information relating to steering arrangement torque and/or angle, brake pedal position, brake pedal pressure, accelerator pedal position, and/or clutch pedal position (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45).
Regarding claim 31, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 28, wherein the systems comprises one or more of a steering arrangement torque and/or angle sensor, an ABS sensor or wheel speed sensor, a rate gyro sensor, an acceleration sensor, a position sensor, a GPS, a brake pedal sensor, a brake pressure sensor, an accelerator pedal sensor, a clutch pedal sensor and steering gear sensors comprising angle and/or current sensors for sensing and monitoring one or more of the vehicle states, subsystem states and driver input (paragraphs 31-47, 59, 60 & 78).
Regarding claim 32, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein the transformation unit comprises software with algorithms, for, using available or modelled, calculated or measured data input or sensor signals, for via the command signals to SPC and SFC functions create and/or shape steer effects and extended feedback hence allowing provisioning of desired additional steer effects, also allowing for partial or even a total cancellation of steer effects, and steer effects can be given opposite values and/or extended feedback depending on algorithms and available information (paragraphs 31-47, 58, 60, 83 & 92).
Regarding claim 33, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, further comprising a common ECU comprising the SPC functions as well as the SFC function (paragraphs 31-47, 54, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 34, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, further comprising at least two ECUs, one of the ECUs comprising the SPC function and another ECU comprising the SFC function (paragraphs 31-47, 54, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 35, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein the steering arrangement comprises a steering wheel (Fig. 1 (24)).
Regarding claim 36, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein the steering arrangement comprises a joystick, a yoke or any other appropriate input device (paragraphs 39, 43 & 46).
Regarding claim 37, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the power assisted steering system according to claim 22, wherein it comprises a steer-by-wire steering system or a wireless steering system (Abstract).
Regarding claim 38, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses a steering system arrangement for a power assisted vehicle steering system (Abstract) comprising: a steering arrangement (Abstract), a steering shaft connected to the steering arrangement (Abstract; paragraphs 33-36), a controllable, steering actuator for controlling steering elements (Abstract; paragraphs 9 & 14), a steering arrangement actuator (Abstract; paragraphs 9 & 14) connected to the steering arrangement, an Electronic Control Unit (Abstract; paragraphs 31-40), ECU, arrangement comprising at least one ECU for controlling the steering actuator and the steering arrangement actuator which are connected to the ECU arrangement via one or more connections (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), the ECU arrangement comprising a sensor and signal interface and a transformation unit (paragraphs 31-45), the sensor and signal interface is arranged to receive information from one or more sensors at least regarding (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), or allowing calculation of one or more of a vehicle state, a subsystem state and driver input (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), said information at least comprising information regarding, or allowing calculation of vehicle velocity, steering arrangement steering torque and/or steering angle, steering element angle(s) (Abstract; paragraphs 39-45), said ECU arrangement comprises a steering feel control function, SFC, and a steering position control function, SPC, and is arranged to, in a transformation unit transform the received input information to steering feel control commands and to steering position control commands (Abstracts; paragraphs 31-45, 68 & 69), and to provide the steering feel control commands to the steering feel control function, SFC, and to provide the steering position commands to the steering position control function, SPC, the steering feel control function, SFC (paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69), is adapted to execute the received commands and to provide the executed commands as actuator activation signals to the steering arrangement actuator to provide an extended feedback (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69), wherein the SFC controls steering-wheel torque that a driver feels (Hulten (Abstract; paragraphs 9, 12)), and the steering position control function, SPC, is adapted to execute the received commands and to provide the executed commands as actuator activation signals to one or more steering actuators to provide, create, and/or tune created steering effects (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69), wherein the SPC controls road wheel angles (Hulten (paragraphs 36)).
Regarding claim 39, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the steering system arrangement according to claim 38, wherein a number of steering elements, at least some of which being steerable, and at least some of which being connected to the steering actuator (Actuator; paragraphs 31-47).
Regarding claim 40, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses the steering system arrangement according to claim 38, wherein the steering system is adapted for providing extended feedback and/or at least steering effects in a steer-by-wire steering system or a wireless steering system (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 41, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses a method in a steer by wire or wireless power assisted steering system for a vehicle (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69) comprising: a steering arrangement (Abstract), a steering shaft connected to the steering arrangement (Abstract; paragraphs 33-36), steering elements (Abstract; paragraphs 9 & 14), at least some of which steering elements being steerable, a controllable steering actuator connected to one or more of the steering elements (Abstract; paragraphs 9, 14, 59 & 60), at least one steering arrangement actuator connected to the steering arrangement and controlling feedback to the steering arrangement, an Electronic Control Unit, ECU (Abstract; paragraphs 31-40), arrangement comprising at least one ECU controlling the steering actuator and the steering arrangement actuator (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), said ECU arrangement comprising a sensor and signal interface and a transformation unit for performing a transfer between an angle of the steering arrangement and angle(s) of steered steering elements (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), a number of sensors collecting information allowing determination of at least one or more of vehicle velocity (Abstract; paragraphs 39-45), steering torque and/or steering angle of the steering arrangement and steering element angle (paragraphs 39-45), the method comprising the steps of: receiving or collecting information via the sensor and signal interface regarding, or allowing calculation of, one or more of a vehicle state, a subsystem state and driver input (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), said information at least comprising information regarding, or allowing calculation of vehicle velocity, steering arrangement steering torque and/or steering angle, steering element angle(s) (Abstract; paragraphs 31-45), from one or more of the sensors providing said received and/or collected information to the transformation unit (paragraphs 31-45, 68 & 69), transforming, by means of processing means, received or collected information and/or calculated information in the transformation unit to steering feel control and/or steering position control command signals (paragraphs 31-47, 68 & 69), providing steering feel control commands to a steering feel control function, SFC, in the ECU arrangement (Abstracts; paragraphs 31-45, 68 & 69), wherein the SFC controls steering-wheel torque that a driver feels (Hulten (Abstract; paragraphs 9, 12)), providing steering position control commands to a steering position control function, SPC, in the ECU arrangement (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69), wherein the SPC controls road wheel angles (Hulten (paragraphs 36)), executing the received steering feel control commands in the SFC, providing the executed steering feel control commands to the steering arrangement actuator to provide extended feedback (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69), executing the received steering position control commands in the SPC, and providing the executed steering position control commands to one or more steering actuator(s), to create steering effects and/or extended feedback and/or tune created steering effects and/or extended feedback (Abstract; paragraphs 31-47, 57, 60, 68 & 69).
Regarding claim 42, the modified invention of Dobberphul discloses a vehicle comprising a wired or wireless steering system according to claim 22, wherein the vehicle is a car, a bus, a truck, an aircraft, a boat, a remotely operable vehicle, a vehicle in a simulator or in a computer game (Abstract; paragraph 29).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ remarks filed on June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747