The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perovic (US 2010/0329497) considered with Wang (CN-209659590U, in view of the English Language Translation).
Perovic discloses a speaker assembly, comprising: a basket 30 including an opening having a rim, the rim including a plurality of posts 31 extending downwardly therefrom and spaced around the rim; and a magnet 20 including a plurality of channels extending therethrough between a top surface and a bottom surface of the magnet 20. The magnet 20 is attached with the basket 30 below the rim such that the plurality of posts 31 extend through the plurality of channels to mechanically couple the magnet 20 to the basket 30. Perovic discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the magnet 20 is insert molded with the basket 30.
Wang discloses a speaker assembly (see figs. 1, 4, and 5, for example), comprising a frame 1 including a post 10, and a magnet 7 including a channel extending therethrough between a top surface and a bottom surface of the magnet 7, wherein the magnet 7 is insert molded with the frame 1 such that the post 10 extends through the channel to mechanically couple the magnet 7 to the frame 1. See Wang, ELT, page 2, “a limiting post 10 integrally injection-molded with the basin frame 1 is provided, and a limiting block 11 having a diameter larger than the limiting post 10 is integrally injection-molded on the upper end of the limiting post 10, and the magnet cup 6 is provided in the position groove 9 so that the magnetic steel 7 is placed in the cavity of the magnetic cup 6, the plywood 8 is covered above the magnetic steel 7, and the limiting post 10 passes through the magnetic cup 6, the magnetic steel 7 and the plywood 8 in order from bottom to top”. Wang discloses such a speaker assembly with the magnet 7 insert molded with the frame 1, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of improving the structural integrity of the speaker assembly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Perovic, in view of Wang, such that the magnet 20 is insert molded with the basket 30. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of improving the structural integrity of the speaker assembly.
Regarding claim 18, a front plate is disposed within the basket 30 adjacent to the rim. See fig. 1, which teaches a front plate element attached to the upper surface of the magnet 20.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perovic (US 2010/0329497) considered with Wang (CN-209659590U, in view of the English Language Translation), as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Itano et al. (US 2014/0294228).
Perovic, as modified and applied to claim 16 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the magnet 20 comprises ferrite and is injection molded to form the plurality of channels. Itano discloses a speaker including a magnet 11, wherein the magnet 11 comprises ferrite and is injection molded to form the shape of the magnet 11, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of, “from the viewpoint of productivity, ease of installation of magnetically orientating equipment” (see para. 0066).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Perovic, in view of Itano, such that the magnet 20 comprises ferrite and is injection molded to form the plurality of channels. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of, from the viewpoint of productivity, ease of installation of magnetically orienting equipment.
Claims 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perovic (US 2010/0329497) considered with Wang (CN-209659590U, in view of the English Language Translation), as applied to claims 16 and 18 above, in further view of Kato et al. (US 4,591,672).
Perovic, as modified and applied to claims 16 and 18 above, discloses the invention as claimed, including that the top surface of the magnet 20 is attached to the bottom surface of the front plate and that the bottom surface of the magnet 20 is attached to a pole piece, wherein the pole piece extends through the magnet 20, but fails to specifically teach that the top surface of the magnet 20 is adhesively secured to the bottom surface of the front plate or that the pole piece is adhesively secured to the bottom surface of the magnet 20. Kato discloses a speaker (fig. 1) including a front plate 28, a magnet 26, and a pole piece 20 extending through the magnet 26, wherein the top surface of the magnet 26 is adhesively secured to the bottom surface of the front plate 28 (at surface B) and the pole piece 20 is adhesively secured to the bottom surface of the magnet 20 (at surface A), in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of securely attaching the front plate 28, the magnet 26, and the pole piece 20 together (see col. 11, line 63, through col. 12, line 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Perovic, in view of Kato, such that the top surface of the magnet 20 is adhesively secured to the bottom surface of the front plate and the pole piece is adhesively secured to the bottom surface of the magnet 20. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of securely attaching the front plate, the magnet 20, and the pole piece together.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perovic (US 2010/0329497) considered with Wang (CN-209659590U, in view of the English Language Translation), as applied to claim 16 above, in further view Keezer (US 4,158,756).
Perovic, as modified and applied to claim 16 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the basket 30 is constructed from a plastic material. Keezer discloses a speaker including a basket 11 (see figs. 1-2, for example), wherein the basket 11 is constructed from a plastic material, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of forming the basket out of a material which can be easily molded and is low cost to manufacturer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Perovic, in view of Keezer, such that the basket 30 is constructed from a plastic material. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose forming the basket out of a material which can be easily molded and is low cost to manufacturer.
/PAUL W HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
pwh
January 14, 2026