DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 2 discloses the limitation “a scaled or translated mechanism”. The term “scaled mechanism” does not have a known embodiment in the art and the specification does not provide a corresponding hardware or software embodiment.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear as to what is considered a “scaled mechanism” as the term does not have a known embodiment in the art and the specification does not provide a corresponding hardware or software embodiment
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the multiple degree of freedom serial chain mechanism" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutherland et al (2004/0111183) in view of Dong et al (2021/0007817).
Regarding claim 1, Sutherland et al disclose a hydraulic teleoperator for remote access inside an imaging scanner bore, comprising:
a base (wheeled base) from which is attached a multiple degree of freedom mechanism (each arm having a six of degrees of freedom of movement - abstract);
wherein the multiple degree of freedom mechanism is situated inside the imaging scanner bore (fig.10); and
wherein a teleoperator controls motions and forces of the multiple degree of freedom mechanism from a multiple degree of freedom control mechanism situated outside the imaging scanner bore (the workstation and control system has a pair of hand-controllers simultaneously manipulated by an operator to control movement of a respective one or both of the arms – abstract; fig.4; [0100]);
a single degree of freedom tool mechanism attached to a distal end of the multiple degree of freedom mechanism, wherein the single degree of freedom tool mechanism is situated inside the imaging scanner bore where the single degree of freedom tool mechanism controls a tool (collar at the actuator 149 which surrounds the tool and holds the tool along the axis of the actuator 148 – [0130]).
Sutherland et al fail to explicitly disclose wherein each degree of freedom of the multiple degree of freedom mechanism is controlled by hydraulic joints having chambers connected to a first set of hydraulic fluid lines, and wherein motions and forces of the single degree of freedom tool mechanism are controlled via second set of hydraulic fluid lines to an operator input that is outside the imaging scanner bore.
However, Dong et al teach in the same medical field of endeavor, control by hydraulic joints having chambers connected to a first set of hydraulic fluid lines , and control by a second set of hydraulic fluid lines to an operator input that is outside an imaging scanner bore (pair of piston-based cylinders (101, 102) being situated in a control room and an MRI room, respectively – [0068]; fig.1; plurality of tubes 103 - abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the multiple degree of freedom mechanism and single degree of freedom tool mechanism of Sutherland et al with hydraulic joints having chambers connected to a first set of hydraulic fluid lines and a second set of hydraulic fluid lines of Dong et al as it would provide an integrated fluid-powered transmission system for MRI-guided interventions (Dong et al – [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Sutherland et al disclose wherein the multiple degree of freedom control mechanism outside the imaging scanner bore is a translated mechanism of the multiple degree of freedom serial chain mechanism inside the imaging scanner bore ([0107]).
Regarding claim 3, Sutherland et al disclose wherein the multiple degree of freedom mechanism is a serial chain (fig.5), but fail to explicitly disclose with each degree of freedom being comprised of its own hydraulic joint connected to the first set of hydraulic lines.
However, Dong et al teach in the same medical field of endeavor, with each degree of freedom being comprised of its own hydraulic joint connected to a first set of hydraulic lines ([0072]; [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the serial chain of Sutherland et al with each degree of freedom being comprised of its own hydraulic joint connected to a first set of hydraulic lines as it would provide an integrated fluid-powered transmission system for MRI-guided interventions (Dong et al – [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Sutherland et al disclose wherein the multiple degree of freedom mechanism has six degrees of freedom, resulting in a total of seven degrees of freedom adding the single degree of freedom of the tool mechanism and as such enabling arbitrary positioning of the tool mechanism in all six degrees of a 3D space (each arm having a six degrees of freedom of movement…and an actuator which can slide along the axis - abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Sutherland et al disclose wherein the single degree of freedom tool mechanism is a biopsy needle insertion mechanism or an ablation needle insertion mechanism (needle driver – [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Sutherland et al disclose wherein the single degree of freedom tool mechanism has at a distal end a skin contact point with a lumen for guidance of the tool (mobile ring – [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Sutherland et al as modified by Dong et al disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the single degree of freedom tool mechanism has a pneumatic clutch for grip and release of a needle of the biopsy needle insertion mechanism or the ablation needle insertion mechanism.
However, Sutherland et al teaches prior art which includes a pneumatic gripper ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the single degree of freedom too mechanism gripping and releasing a needle of the biopsy needle insertion mechanism or the ablation needle insertion mechanism as it would provide a well-known and conventional fluid-powered transmission for controlling the device.
Regarding claim 9, Sutherland et al as modified by Dong et al disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Dong et al further teach in the same medical field of endeavor, wherein hydraulic fluid lines for each joint are crossed to achieve a one-to-one mapping of motion between the input and output (passive fluid transmission line – [0097]; fig.7. Examiner notes this language is disclosed to teach a passive device – [0021] of pgpub of the present application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teleoperator of Sutherland et al with the hydraulic fluid lines for each joint are crossed to achieve a one-to-one mapping of motion between the input and output as it would provide a well-known and conventional passive system.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Sutherland et al as modified by Dong et al disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Dong et al further teach in the same medical field of endeavor, wherein each chamber has a filling port and an exit port to mitigate trapped air in the hydraulic fluid lines and allowing fluid to be recycled during a filling process and wherein the filling ports house a one-way valve (fluid pipeline – fig.2; pressure regulating valve – [0129]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teleoperator of Sutherland et al with wherein each chamber has a filling port and an exit port to mitigate trapped air in the hydraulic fluid lines and allowing fluid to be recycled during a filling process as it would provide accurate pressurization of the system.
Regarding claim 12, Sutherland et al disclose wherein the imaging scanner bore is a Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) scanner bore (fig.10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROCHELLE D TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797