DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim of priority from the Chinese patent application CN202311832199.X filed on 12/28/2023.
Drawings
The 21-page drawings have been considered and placed on record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (CN 111462451 A) in view of Edelman (US 2018/0058850 A1) and in further view of Higgins et al. (US 2024/0214527 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang teaches, A method for terrain-integrated ranging of straw burning (Jian, page 3, Background, ¶02: “straw burning monitoring method”) smoke images based on monocular Pan/Tilt/Zoom (PTZ), (Jiang, page 1, Abstract: “acquisition unit acquires real-time video information through a pan-tilt camera”) comprising the following steps: S1: capturing, by a camera, a highly identifiable scene view as a calibration image, (Jiang, page 5, ¶08: “the image of the scene at each visual angle is calibrated and set as a smoke-free area”) and capturing, by the camera, a test image; and sending the calibration image and the test image to a computer; (Jiang, page 4, ¶08: “collecting a data set, wherein the data set comprises an image with straw burning smoke and an image without smoke”). However, Jiang does not explicitly teach, S2: determining, by the computer, a pitch angle of a calibration position in the calibration image according to a calibration distance between the calibration position and a camera deployment position of the camera, an elevation value of the calibration position, an elevation value of the camera deployment position and a mounting height of the camera; and determining, by the computer, a pitch angle of a position of the test image according to the pitch angle of the calibration position; S3: calibrating, by the computer, the position of the test image based on the pitch angle of a position of the test image and natural terrain elevation information at the camera deployment position to obtain a position of an observed target; S4: sending, by the computer, the position of the observed target to an alarm device; and S5: sending, by the alarm device, an alarm comprising the position of the observed target to timely eliminate straw burning smoke in the position of the observed target.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Edelman teaches, S2: determining, by the computer, a pitch angle of a calibration position in the calibration image (Edelman, ¶0011: “roll and pitch angles of the target object are estimated by the procedure described above”; calibration position is interpreted as a position of a target object) according to a calibration distance between the calibration position and a camera deployment position of the camera, an elevation value of the calibration position, an elevation value of the camera deployment position and a mounting height of the camera; (Edelman, ¶0039: “an estimate of the distance between the target objects and the camera is made and an estimate of the height difference between the target objects and the camera is made”) and determining, by the computer, a pitch angle of a position of the test image (Edelman, ¶0047: “the single camera is set at a second known location (or point), each of the target object”; position of the test image is interpreted as the position of known target object) according to the pitch angle of the calibration position; S3: (Edelman, ¶0045: “known geometric properties of the target objects (e.g., the length, diameter, and the pitch and roll angles”) calibrating, by the computer, the position of the test image based on the pitch angle of a position of the test image and natural terrain elevation information at the camera deployment position to obtain a position of an observed target; (Edelman, ¶0047: “the position of the target object is determined using the known positions of the single camera and backsight, the computed angle from the backsight to the target object, and the computed distance and height difference from the camera to the target object”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang using the teachings of Edelman to introduce computing angular and height difference of the camera and the target object. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of estimating a location of the target object. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Jiang and Edelman to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Jiang and Edelman does not explicitly teach, S4: sending, by the computer, the position of the observed target to an alarm device; and S5: sending, by the alarm device, an alarm comprising the position of the observed target to timely eliminate straw burning smoke in the position of the observed target.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Higgins teaches, S4: sending, by the computer, the position of the observed target to an alarm device; and S5: sending, by the alarm device, an alarm comprising the position of the observed target (Higgins, ¶0066: “system uses elevation modeling or landmarks to determine the location of the object of interest. At 1025, a GPS location of the object of interest is determined. At 1030, the system sends an alert to relevant personnel including imagery of the object of interest and its location”) to timely eliminate straw burning smoke in the position of the observed target. (Higgins, ¶0067: “identification of an object of interest or the creation of an incident such as a new spot fire outside of a predetermined fire perimeter boundary, or the presence of smoke in a location where smoke is not normally present”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang using the teachings of Edelman to introduce computing angular and height difference of the camera and the target object. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of estimating a location of the target object. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Jiang, Edelman and Higgins to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, it recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited elements of system claim 5 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Jiang, Edelman and Higgins presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Additionally, Jiang further teaches, An outdoor smoke alarming and positioning system (Jiang, page 9, ¶06: “The smoke detection system adopting the smoke detection method comprises a candidate area generation unit, a smoke detection unit and a smoke alarm unit which are sequentially connected”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662