DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/15/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for further examination.
Response to Argument
Applicant concerns that Lin does not teach or reasonably suggest “wherein the sequence of identical memory values is compressed when having lengths exceeding a threshold such that the sequence of identical memory values is replaced with a single instance of a memory value” as recited by claim 1, because Lin's content-aware data compression technique is fundamentally different from claim 1 as Lin's stores compression data blocks into HDD and inserts a new entry to a compression method look up table that is a separate data structure that includes an inode number, a block ID, a compression method, and location. Stated differently, Lin's metadata is in a separate table, not adjacent to the compressed value.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and submit that:
First, claim 1 does not require a particular compressed format layout.
Lin's lookup table is irrelevant because claim 1 says nothing about where the run length information is stored. Claim 1 only requires: "the sequence of identical memory values is compressed when having lengths exceeding a threshold such that the sequence of identical memory values is replaced with a single instance of a memory value"
Second, Lin [0042] teaches that (StringA, StringA, ..., StringA) → (StringA, n)
Thus, a sequence of identical memory value, e.g., String A, is replaced by one instance of memory value, e.g., StringA, accompanied by run length n
Lin [0045] teaches if average run length > Threshold4, use RLE, thus, StringA = value and n = metadata tag.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2015/0227540; hereinafter Lin).
Regarding independent claims 1, 8 and 15, taking claim 1 as exemplary analysis, Lin teaches An apparatus comprising processing circuitry to:
receive a data compression instruction for a memory segment; and compress based on the data compression instruction ([0038], In Step 0420, the storage system sends a compression request to the data block compression program 0272. A compression request includes the memory address of the raw data block 0278, the memory address of a compressed data block 0279, a current compression method 0520, and a detection flag 0530 (see FIG. 5) to indicate whether or not a property detection is needed) a sequence of identical memory values associated with the memory segment wherein the sequence of identical memory values is compressed when having lengths exceeding a threshold (
[0045], As shown in the example of FIG. 8, if the sample data is numeric instead… if the average run length is greater than Threshold4 or run length threshold, a RLE compression method will be used;
[0042], As shown in FIG. 8, if the sample data consists of strings, and the average run length of a string (defined as the continuously repeated time of a string) is larger than 10 (a predefined threshold, referred to as Threshold2 or run length threshold), then a Run Length Encoding (RLE) compression method will be used. In a RLE compression, if a string “StringA” continuously repeats n times, such as (StringA, StringA, . . . , StringA), it can be compressed as (StringA, n)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to incorporate Lin’s RLE compression process that is applied when run length (i.e., continuously repeated time of an identical item) is greater than a threshold as described in [0042] and Lin’s compression rule on a sequence of numeric data as described in [0045] so that a RLE compression will be used when run length n is greater than a threshold to replaces a sequence of identical memory values, such as (0x41, 0x41, …., 0x41) that is to be compressed as (0x41, n))
such that the sequence of identical memory value is replaced with a single instance of a memory value (
Lin [0042] teaches that (StringA, StringA, ..., StringA) → (StringA, n)
Thus, a sequence of identical memory value, e.g., String A, is replaced by one instance of memory value , e.g., StringA, accompanied by run length n
Lin [0045] teaches if average run length > Threshold4, use RLE, thus, StringA = value and n = metadata tag).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Lin further teaches wherein the threshold Fig. 8, run length of repeated String data is compared with Threshold2 whereas run length of repeated numeric data is compared with Threshold4) and capable of being adjusted in response to one or more changes associated with the operation condition ([0004], based on characteristics of data content and a compression rule, and then compresses data using the chosen compression method. The compression method can be changed, if the characteristics of data content change.
[0042], A compression rule 0274 can be defined by a system administrator, so that a compression goal 0273 (refer to FIG. 9) can be achieved by a storage system 0110 … that different compression rules 0274 can be defined for different compression goals 0273, based on the requirement on both compression ratio and performance;
[0062], The compression method can be changed, if the characteristics of data content changes and the compression ratio or performance is under a threshold value).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Lin further teaches wherein the threshold is adjustable dynamically in response to operating conditions associated with the apparatus ([0042], Based on the properties of the sample data, a compression method can be obtained by searching the compress rule 0274. A compression rule 0274 can be defined by a system administrator, so that a compression goal 0273 (refer to FIG. 9) can be achieved by a storage system 0110 … that different compression rules 0274 can be defined for different compression goals 0273, based on the requirement on both compression ratio and performance).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Lin further teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further to: replace the sequence of identical memory values with a single instance of a memory value and a metadata tag identifying the length of the sequence to generate a compressed data sequence ([0045], As shown in the example of FIG. 8, if the sample data is numeric instead… if the average run length is greater than Threshold4 or run length threshold, a RLE compression method will be used;
[0042], As shown in FIG. 8, if the sample data consists of strings, and the average run length of a string (defined as the continuously repeated time of a string) is larger than 10 (a predefined threshold, referred to as Threshold2 or run length threshold), then a Run Length Encoding (RLE) compression method will be used. In a RLE compression, if a string “StringA” continuously repeats n times, such as (StringA, StringA, . . . , StringA), it can be compressed as (StringA, n) {metadata tag}).
Note that, applying the RLE compression process described in [0042] to numeric data compression described in [0045], a RLE compression will be used when run length n is greater than a threshold to replaces a sequence of identical memory values, e.g., 0x41, that continuously repeats n times, such as (0x41, 0x41, …., 0x41) is compressed as (0x41, n))).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Lin further teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further to: store the metadata tag adjacent to the single instance of the memory value ([0048], In Step 0480, the storage system stores the compressed data block into HDD 0240, and inserts a new entry to a compression method lookup table 0277 in Step 0490).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Lin further teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further to: receive a data decompression instruction directed to the memory segment; and in response to the data decompression instruction, replace the single instance of the memory value with a sequence of identical memory values having a length equal to the length specified in the metadata tag ([0052], Referring back to FIG. 6, for a decompression request, in Step 06B0, the storage system 0110 decompresses the data block 0279 using the compression method indicated in the request, and stores the uncompressed data in the raw data block. In Step 06C0, the data block compression program returns decompression success (in response to the decompression request from Step 1230 in FIG. 12);
[0059], In Step 1710, the storage system obtains the compression method 1030 and location 1040 for the requested data block (identified by the inode number 1010 and block ID 1020) from a compression method lookup table 0277. In Step 1720, the storage system sends a decompression request to a compression initiator program 137A
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to incorporate a RLE compression process described in [0042] to numeric data compression described in [0045] so that a RLE compression will be used when run length n is greater than a threshold to replaces a sequence of identical memory values, e.g., 0x41, that continuously repeats n times, such as (0x41, 0x41, …., 0x41) can be compressed as (0x41, n))). Note that, the compressed data block is inserted as a new entry to a compression method lookup table 0277 as shown in [0048],
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, decompression process replaces (0x41, n) with (0x41, 0x41, …., 0x41), so that 0x41 continuously repeats n times.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Lin further teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further to: receive, from a requestor, a read operation directed to the memory segment; and in response to the read operation, transmit the compressed data sequence to the requestor ([0051] & FIG. 12 is a flow diagram … to serve a read request from a client 0120, according to the first embodiment. In Step 1210, the storage system obtains the compression method 1030 and location 1040 for the requested data block (identified by the inode number 1010 and block ID 1020) from a compression method lookup table 0277. In Step 1220, the storage system retrieves the compressed data from the location 1040 and stores it into a compressed data block 0279 … sends raw data block to a client 0120 in Step 1250. Note that Step 1250 sends decompressed data to client. It is obvious to ordinary skill in the art to transmit the compressed data sequence to the requestor when the read request is for compressed data as shown in step 1220).
Regarding claim 20, Claim recites substantially the same limitations as in claims 6 and 7, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claims 6 and 7
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated by claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,093,210 (hereinafter PAT). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated as shown below.
Current application
PAT
1,8,15
receive a data compression instruction for a memory segment; and compress based on the data compression instruction a sequence of identical memory values associated with the memory segment wherein the sequence of identical memory values is compressed when having lengths exceeding a threshold
such that the sequence of identical memory value is replaced with a single instance of a memory value.
1
3
receive a data compression instruction for a memory segment of the computer-readable memory; and
in response to the data compression instruction, compress a sequence of identical memory values in response to a determination that the sequence of identical memory values has a length which exceeds a threshold
replace the sequence of identical memory values with a single instance of a memory value
2,9,16
wherein the threshold comprises a static value that is specific to a class of applications and capable of being adjusted in response to one or more changes associated with the operation conditions.
1
…wherein the threshold varies as a function of a size of a layer of neural networking model to which the data applies.
3,10,17
the threshold is adjustable dynamically in response to operating conditions of associated with the apparatus
2
the threshold is set dynamically in response to operating conditions of the apparatus
4,11,18
replace the sequence of identical memory values with a single instance of a memory value and a metadata tag identifying the length of the sequence to generate a compressed data sequence
3
replace the sequence of identical memory values with a single instance of a memory value and a metadata tag identifying the length of the sequence to generate a compressed data sequence
5,12,19
store the metadata tag adjacent to the single instance of the memory value.
4
store the metadata tag adjacent the single instance of the memory value.
6,13,20
receive a data decompression instruction directed to the memory segment; and in response to the data decompression instruction, replace the single instance of the memory value with a sequence of identical memory values having a length equal to the length specified in the metadata tag
5
receive a data decompression instruction directed to the memory segment; and
in response to the data decompression instruction, replace the single instance of the memory value with a sequence of identical memory values having a length equal to the length specified in the metadata tag.
7,14,20
receive, from a requestor, a read operation directed to the memory segment; and in response to the read operation, transmit the compressed data sequence to the requestor.
6
receive, from a requestor, a read operation directed to the memory segment; and
in response to the read operation, transmit the compressed data sequence to the requestor
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/TRACY C CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138