DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beach et al. (US 2014/0274457).
Regarding claim 1, Beach et al. discloses a club head having a face portion and a body portion. Evident by Figures 1A, 1C, and 22, the face portion includes a striking face, a crown return portion, and a sole return portion and the body includes a crown portion and a rear sole portion. The sole return extends a distance backward from a leading edge. The sole return portion includes a slot adjacent to the leading edge defining a slot wall. The rear sole portion forms an aft portion of the sole and extends to the sole return portion.
Regarding claim 2, Beach et al. discloses an insert 1301 fitted into the slot (See Figures 16A and 16B and paragraph 0142).
Regarding claim 3, Beach et al. discloses the insert being polymeric (See Paragraph 0137).
Regarding claim 5, Beach et al. discloses the striking face having a first region with a constant thickness wherein the first region includes the slot wall (See Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Beach et al. discloses the first region including the sole return (See Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, see the above regarding claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 9, see the above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, see the above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claim 14, see the above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, see the above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, see the above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, Beach et al. discloses the first region being oval-shaped (See Figure 17C).
Regarding claim 19, Beach et al. discloses the first region covering only the lower strike face region (See Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beach et al. (US 2014/0274457).
Claim(s) 7, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beach et al. (US 2014/0274457) in view of Kumamoto (JP 2004-242938 A).
Regarding claims 7, 12, and 20, Beach et al. does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the first region. Kumamoto discloses a club head having a main portion that includes the striking face and a sole return portion. Kamamoto notes that the main portion has a variable thickness with a range of 1.0 to 3.0 (See Paragraph 0019). Kumamoto also notes that the front end of the sole portion is constant (See Figure 4). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the front portion of the sole to have a constant thickness, as taught by Kumamoto, in order to assist in the center of gravity being moved rearward.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 10, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711