DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph [0020], “swivelling axis 6” should likely be amended to recite --swivelling axis [[6]]7--. Reference number “1” has been defined as a quick coupling system, the connecting part, the excavator attachment and the connection part; reference number “2” has been defined as a support and the connecting part; and reference number “15” has been defined as a housing and the support. However, each reference number should only be defined using one term throughout the entirety of the Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, line 7 is unclear where it recites “moved against each other another”. In claim 3, line 3 should likely be amended to recite --[[an]]other--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: it is unclear how in claim 5 “the gripper elements are welded to the gripper arms” yet claim 1 requires “exchangeable gripper elements are arranged on the gripper arms.” The two limitations appear to be conflicting. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fynbo (US 2023/0142668 A1).
Referring to claim 1: Fynbo teaches a quick coupling system for changing attachments on a construction machine, the system comprising:
a quick coupler 2 arranged on a support 3, 4 so as to be rotatable about a rotary axis by means of a rotary drive and/or pivotable about a swivelling axis by means of a swivel drive (which is how the joints of the robotic arm 3 function) for coupling a tool or an attachment part 6,
wherein a gripping tong arrangement (Fig. 4a-5b), which can be actuated by means of a gripping tong drive [0106], with a plurality of gripper arms 11 which can be moved against each other another is arranged on the quick coupler, and
wherein exchangeable gripper elements 12 are arranged on the gripper arms (Figs. 18(A)-(F); [0220]-[0221]).
Referring to claim 3: Fynbo teaches the gripping tong arrangement contains two gripper arms arranged on a support structure 13 so as to be pivotable against each another (Figs. 4a-5b).
Referring to claim 4: Fynbo teaches the gripper elements are removably attached to the gripper arms via a non-destructively detachable connection (Figs. 18(A)-(F)).
Referring to claim 6: Fynbo teaches the gripper elements contain an outer clamping surface for internal gripping of components [0110].
Referring to claim 7: Fynbo teaches the gripper elements contain an outwardly projecting projection 20 with a stop surface (adjacent to 20; Figs. 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims, 2, 5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fynbo, alone.
Referring to claim 2: Fynbo teaches the quick coupler with the gripping tong arrangement arranged thereon is arranged on the support (see claim 1 above) and that the arm 3 comprises one or more joints (Figs. 1-3) so that it is able to move in multiple axial directions. However, Fynbo does not specifically teach the quick coupler with the gripping tong arrangement arranged thereon is arranged on the support so as to be rotatable about the rotary axis by means of the rotary drive and pivotable about the swivelling axis orthogonal to the rotary axis by means of the swivel drive. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the arrangement taught by Fynbo so that the quick coupler with the gripping tong arrangement arranged thereon is arranged on the support so as to be rotatable about the rotary axis by means of the rotary drive and pivotable about the swivelling axis orthogonal to the rotary axis by means of the swivel drive with a reasonable expectation of success since robotic arms and their attachments are designed to move essentially omni-directionally in order to be able to reach an optimal amount of positions.
Referring to claim 5: Fynbo does not specifically teach the gripper elements are welded to the gripper arms. However, since there is no criticality provided for how permanent the connections between the gripper elements and the gripper arms are (see claim 4 above), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gripper elements taught by Fynbo to be welded to the gripper arms with a reasonable expectation of success as a matter of design choice.
Referring to claim 8: Fynbo teaches the gripping elements may be made of a wide variety of materials [0044]. However, Fynbo does not specifically teach elastic pressing bodies are arranged on the gripper elements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gripper elements taught by Fynbo to comprise elastic pressing bodies with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Referring to claim 9: Fynbo does not specifically teach the gripping tong drive contains a first gripper cylinder for driving a first gripper arm 11 and a second gripper cylinder for driving a second gripper arm 11. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gripping tong drive taught by Fynbo to include a first gripper cylinder for driving the first gripper arm and a second gripper cylinder for driving the second gripper arm with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have more control over the arms individually, thereby giving the user more precise control over the system.
Referring to claim 10: Fynbo teaches it is known to connect a component to a plate using a pin [0028]. However, Fynbo does not specifically teach the support contains two side plates parallel to each other with openings to accommodate two parallel bolt-shaped connecting elements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support taught by Fynbo to contain two parallel side plates with openings to accommodate two parallel bolt-shaped connecting elements with a reasonable expectation of success since such a modification would only require a simple substitution of one known element (namely, a type of connection) for another to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lavalley et al. (US 10,226,842 B2) teaches a coupling system comprising a gripping tong arrangement and a support comprising two parallel plates with holes for bolts (Fig. 1). Mueller et al. (US 2014/0103674 A1) teaches a quick coupling system comprising exchangeable gripper fingers 1118 [0035].
/Catherine Loikith/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
16 September 2026