DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first stripping hole, second stripping hole, and the third stripping hole each having different offset from the clamping plane and how the blades only cut the insulation and not the wire must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for hand tool for stripping wire with handles having clamping jaws with one blade having a fixed blade and a movable blade cutting blades in which the fixed blade and the movable blade form a first stripping hole, a second stripping hole, and a third stripping hole, does not reasonably provide enablement for the first stripping hole, second stripping hole, and the third stripping hole each having different offset from the clamping plane (claims 1-20) and how the blades only cut the insulation and not the wire and the holes each having a midpoint offset from each other and from the clamping plane by a different distance than each other (claims 9 and 15). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Although the specification discloses the holes are offset the drawings do not show this offset feature(s) and it is not clear how the cutting holes are offset and further how they only cut the insulation and not the wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JAN VOOGD (US 2179581 A).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 15, JAN VOOGD discloses a hand tool (fig. 1) for stripping wire, comprising: a first handle and a second handle (40/48); a first base member (20) having a first jaw section (2) and a second base member (26) having a second jaw section (4), the first base member and the second base member being pivotally coupled to the first handle and the second handle (42/50);
a clamping portion corresponding to the first jaw section (12/14) and defining a clamping plane (figs. 1-2), the clamping portion having a bottom clamping member defining a clamping plane (14) and a top clamping member (12); and
a stripping blade set (16/64), including a fixed blade (16) disposed on a first side (top side) of the second jaw (4) and a movable blade disposed on a second side (bottom side) of the second jaw (4, fig. 2); wherein the fixed blade and the movable blade form a first stripping hole, a second stripping hole, and a third stripping hole (plurality of aligned small cutting notches 70), the first stripping hole, second stripping hole, and the third stripping hole each having different offset from the clamping plane, wherein the holes each having a midpoint offset from each other and from the clamping plane by a different distance than each other (fig. 2 shows offset since 64 is angle relative to 16, pages 1-2, figs. 1-9).
Regarding claims 2-4, 7-8, 10-14, 16-17, and 20, JAN VOOGD discloses a first link rod pivotally coupled to the first handle and the clamping portion and a second link rod pivotally coupled to the second handle and the movable blade (42/50), wherein the first handle and second handle are symmetrical and pivotally coupled to each other, wherein each of the first stripping hole, second stripping hole, and third stripping hole are offset from each other (fig. 2), wherein the stripping blade set further forms a fourth stripping hole having a midpoint having a same offset from the clamping plane as at one of the first stripping hole (four holes shown, fig. 1), second stripping hole, or third stripping hole, wherein the second stripping hole has a larger radius than the first stripping hole, wherein the stripping blade set further forms a third stripping hole having an offset from the clamping plane by a same distance as at one at one of the at least two stripping holes and having an offset from the clamping plane by a different distance than the at least two stripping holes (fig. 2 shows offset since 64 is angle relative to 16, pages 1-2, figs. 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JAN VOOGD (US 2179581 A) in view of JESKE et al. (US 20030041382 A1) and further in view of Yagawa (US 5269206 A).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 18-19, JAN VOOGD fails to explicitly discloses a midpoint of the second stripping hole is offset, perpendicular to the clamping plane by 0.015 inches above the first stripping hole and the midpoint of the third stripping hole is offset perpendicular to the clamping plane by 0.015 inches above the second stripping hole and wherein the first stripping hole has a radius of 0.052 inches, the second stripping hole has a radius of 0.069 inches, and the third stripping hole has a radius of 0.069 inches.
Yagawa teaches a similar hand tool (fig. 1) having guide plates 21 and 22 arc shaped recesses 25 which are of a configuration to fit around and grip wires/cables forming stripping holes that are offset to avoid cutting the core wire and only the insulation (col. 3, line 20- col. 4, line 67, claims 1 & 4, figs. 1-11)
JESKE et al. teaches a similar hand tool (10) having lever members 12 and 13 with handles16 and 17 having offset jaws (18/19) that form a plurality of semi-circular recesses 44 and 45 that plurality of circular openings when the jaws 18 and 19 are closed and configured such that the “openings are sized to accommodate standard wire gauges of coaxial cables so that the oblique surfaces 34 and 35 surrounding the openings cut through insulation around the wire or cable but does not cut into the conductor” [0025] and “stripper section 38A has a plurality of three sided stripper recesses 44A… angled oblique surfaces surrounding the openings of the two larger recesses 44A allow the insulation to be removed by rotating the wire stripper 10A around wire or cable” [0031] and teaches having the teeth (40A) a the tip end ([0023-0032], figs. 1-10)
Given the teachings of JAN VOOGD to have a offset stripping holes, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the stripping holes with having a midpoint of the second stripping hole is offset, perpendicular to the clamping plane by 0.015 inches above the first stripping hole and the midpoint of the third stripping hole is offset perpendicular to the clamping plane by 0.015 inches above the second stripping hole and wherein the first stripping hole has a radius of 0.052 inches, the second stripping hole has a radius of 0.069 inches, and the third stripping hole has a radius of 0.069 inches to have precise adjustment of different diameter wires (avoid overshoot/damage to a wire), ensure only the insulation is being cut and/or for leverage purposes as taught by Yagawa and JESKE et al. Also, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1995) and “mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled.” In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976), 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.). Further a desired range such as the midpoint of the stripping holes offset to the other stripping holes would have been obvious since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Moreover, In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: see form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731