1. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2.1 Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wowczuk et al. (US 20210291259 A1) in view of Cortes (US 2016/0349724 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 20, Wowczuk discloses a for generating a customized product (Abstract, [0006], product design includes customized features for a memorialization product. A mold design is generated based upon the 3D model of the product design);
a processor (CPU 705);
a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium comprises one or more programming instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to ([0033], logic devices 110, which can generally include a processor, a non-transitory memory or other storage device for housing programming instructions, data or information regarding one or more applications, and other hardware, including, for example, the central processing unit (CPU) 705, read only memory (ROM) 710, random access memory (RAM) 715, communication ports 770, controller 720, and/or memory device 725), and the method comprising:
receiving, by a processor, product design information for one or more products ([0006], receiving, by the processing device, product design information), wherein the product design information comprises customized information (Abstract, [0002], [0008], [0031], the product design includes customized features for a memorialization product; custom mold creation using three-dimensional printing; and customized features for the memorialization product can include one or more of customized text, images, borders, and decorations) and template information ([0056], the model of the product can be used as a template to create the mold).
generating, by the processor, a vector image, for each of the one or more products, based on the customized information ([0051] In order to accurately create a three-dimensional model of the product, the product design information can be initially modeled as polygonal information (e.g., a series of vector-based coordinates defining the extreme outer surfaces of the model);
nesting, by the processor, the pre-sliced template data in a work area ([0007], Fig. 2, Fig. 10, Fig. 11, [0041], [0064]; [0108]; [0109], optimize nesting generate printing instructions and print molds), and
nesting, by the processor, the slice data in the work area to generate printing instructions (Fig. 2 and 4, step 420, [0044], Claim 1, access the nested printing instructions from the processing device, and create the mold for casting each memorialization product according to the nested printing instructions).
Wowczuk fails to discloses generating, by the processor, slice data, for each of the one or more products, based on the vector image; and receiving, by the processor, pre-sliced template data, for each of the one or more products, based on the template information.
However, Cortes discloses generating, by the processor, slice data, for each of the one or more products, based on the vector image (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0021]-[0023], [0064], [0067], the slice data initially be on a vector format and vector data, and processed depending on characteristics of the build process to accurately matches the object described in the original object design data and produce a model of the three-dimensional object); and
receiving, by the processor, pre-sliced template data, for each of the one or more products, based on the template information (Fig. 3- 9, [0079], [0093], When a given slice is to be generated during the build process, measured or stored characteristic data 324 may be obtained. Then, the geometrical transformation module 316 may perform geometric transformations on the slice data 400, for example, to compensate for differences between the slice as defined in slice data 400, and the corresponding slice of the object 312 to be generated by an additive manufacturing system from the slice data 400).
Wowczuk and Cortes are analogous art. They relate to creating a mold, a three-dimensional (3D) model. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a three-dimensional object to be generated by an additive manufacturing system, taught by Cortes, incorporated with creating a mold, a three-dimensional (3D) model, taught be Wowczuk, in order to optimize cycle time and product quality over a typical casting process involving a pattern.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Wowczuk discloses transmitting the printing instructions to an additive manufacturing device ([0041], the system can generate 215 printing instructions for the one or more products being designed and prepare a file with one or more printing instructions that can be used by additive manufacturing devices).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Wowczuk discloses the additive manufacturing device is a three-dimensional sand printer ([0003], [0010], [0018],[0058], the additive manufacturing process can use sand to create the mol, molding processes include sand casting, shell molding, permanent mold casting, investment casting, and die casting).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Wowczuk (2021)the slice data and the pre-sliced template data correspond to portions of one or molds comprising a cavity configured to cast the one or more products ([0007], [0031], [0056], [0025], FIG. 6, set of slicing techniques for creating a mod for casting a product, the model of the product can be used as a template to create the mold. Thus, the mold is shaped as a negative of the model, defining open spaces (cavity) associated with solid features of the products, and having solid spaces associated with open features of the product).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, combination of Wowczuk and Cortes disclose:
Wowczuk discloses the customized information comprises one or more characters of text , (0008], [0016], the customized features for the memorialization product can include one or more of customized text, images, borders, and decorations); and simulating, by the processor, a draft on each of the one or more characters of text ([0050], [0054], Fig. 3, the processing device can be configured to automatically analyze 325 the model to determine whether the dimensions of the model, shapes, features, text, resolution, and other related parameters and properties were properly converted and modeled, the user can use an interactive editing tool to add additional detail, such as text (e.g., a person's name, relevant dates, and other information related to the product being created), additional decorations (e.g., images), and any other elements that the design system is configured to support); and
Cortes discloses simulating, by the processor, a draft on each of the one or more characters of text ([0011], [0073], [0094],[0096], simulating, by the processor, a draft on each of the one or more characters of text), and wherein generating the slice data, for each of the one or more products, based on the vector image ([0021], [0022], [0058], [0064], [0067], the slice data may initially be on a vector format, and then may be processed sequentially into a Cantone format, then into halftone data, and then into mask data which may define on which portions of a layer of build material any agents are to be selectively delivered. In other examples, any other suitable slice data formats may be generated that can be used in any of the solidification methods described earlier)
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Cortes discloses nesting the slice data in the work area further comprises performing, by the processor, affine transformations on one or more paths in the slice data (Abstract, [0024], [0076], Fig. 4, a processor to perform, when the additive manufacturing system is to generate the slice, a transformation on the slice data based on characteristic data of the additive manufacturing system, the slice data derived from three-dimensional object design data).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Wowczuk discloses receiving the pre-sliced template data, for each of the one or more products, based on the template information further comprises:
generating, by the processor, a three-dimensional model of a template (Fig. 3, [0014], [0058], the processing device to: orient and position the 3D model; determine one or more support structures for the mold design; determine one or more slicing patterns for the mold design; perform path planning for the mold design; optimize the mold design; and generate the mold design. In some examples, the instructions for determining one or more slicing patterns can include additional instructions that, when executed, cause the processing device to determine an adaptive slicing pattern for the mold design),
slicing, by the processor, the three-dimensional model of the template into the pre-sliced template data (Fig. 3 -Fig. 6, [0025], [0059], set of slicing techniques for creating a model, the uniform slicing pattern. It should be noted that the slicing patterns shown in FIG. 6 are provided by way of example only, and additional slicing patterns can be used).
storing, by the processor, the pre-sliced template data in a non-transitory storage medium. ([0036], data stores 115 can include, without limitation, information from product catalogs, historical mold information, mold pattern information (e.g., mold templates, dimensions, cost information, and/or the like), e-commerce information, production information (e.g., SKU number), material information, and/or the like. In some embodiments, the data stores 115 can include information obtained from multiple data sources, including third-party data sources).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, combination of Cortes and Wowczuk disclose:
Corset discloses optimizing, by the processor, a utilization of the work area based on a combination of the slice data, the pre-sliced template data, and pre-sliced standard component data (Fig. 3, Fig. 5,[0050], [0058], obtained object design data 302 to generate a series of different types of slice data, including vector slice data 304, contone slice data 306, halftone slice data 308, and mask slice data 310); and Wowczuk discloses nesting, by the processor, the pre-sliced standard component data in the work area ([0043], nested mold arrangements as shown in FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Cortes discloses generating the vector image, for each of the one or more products, based on the customized information further comprises removing any intersecting curves in the vector image (Fig. 3, [0067], [0073], [0088], The new features may be structural features that may be generated with the object 312 when the object 312 is generated by the additive manufacturing system 200 but which may be removed prior to the generated object 312 being deemed a final object. For example, at least some of the sacrificial structures may be removed during a manual or automatic post-processing operation. A slice combining module 322, and a slice dividing module 323. Each of these modules 316, 318, 320, 322, 323, and 325 may perform respective transformations on slice data).
2.2 Claims 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wowczuk et al. (US 20210291259 A1) in view of Cortes (US 20160349724 A1) further in view of Beckmann (US 20200171750 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the combination of Corset and Wowczuk disclose the limitation of claim 1 and 11, but fails to disclose the limitations of claims 6 and 16. However, Beckmann discloses the limitation of claim 6 and 16, printing instructions are formatted in the Common Layer Interface ([0070], a part's CAD definition is encoded as a Common Layer Interface (“CLI”) or Stereo Lithography Interface (“SLI”) file through the use of a scan path generation algorithm all of the slices may be merged into a single CLI file that contains the independent scan path of all slices).
Beckmann, Wowczuk and Cortes are analogous art. They relate to creating a mold, a three-dimensional (3D) model. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify, an additive manufacturing process taught by Beckmann, incorporated with teaching of Cortes and Wowczuk, as state above, in order to provide systems and methods to efficiently and accurately process item definition files.
Citation Pertinent prior art
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karr (US 11899426 B2) discloses 3D printing is the ability to produce very customized, complex shapes or geometries.
Wowczuk (US 20170326623 A1) Metal casting involves pouring liquid metal into a mold having an interior cavity shaped in the form of the desired product. The liquid metal is allowed to cool and solidify within the mold to produce a metal product corresponding to the shape of the interior cavity.
Worthing (US 20200238380 A1) discloses an additive manufacturing machine so as to additively print a plurality of extension segments on the workpiece-interface of respective ones of the plurality of workpiece.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for allthat it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed wereinstead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1 009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KIDEST WORKU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119