Claim Objections
Claims 9, 17, 18, and 23 are objected to because of the following antecedent basis informalities:
Claim 9, ll. 3, consider amending to, --the tuft with respect to [[its]]the corresponding tuft bore.—
Claim 17, ll. 3, consider amending to, --[[its]]the corresponding tuft bore.—
Claim 18, ll. 2-3, consider amending to, --configured to flex under load of the mobile cleaning robot to
Claim 23, ll. 3, consider amending to, --the tuft with respect to [[its]]the corresponding tuft bore to define the ride height.—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2013/0340201) in view of Hong (US 2018/0213987).
Regarding claim 1, Jang (US 2013/0340201) discloses a mobile cleaning robot (fig. 1) comprising:
a body (item 10; fig. 1) including a bottom plate (defined as bottom surface of item 10; figs. 1 and 5);
a drive wheel (item 40; figs. 1-4) connected to the body (pp. [0050]; fig. 1), the drive wheel operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment (pp. [0050], [0082], and [0099-0100]; drive wheel(s) 40 move robot 10 around environment, i.e. along flat surface in view of fig. 5 and along uneven surfaces in view of figs. 8-9) when the drive wheel is engaged with a floor surface (figs. 5 and 8-9) of the environment.
Though Jang appears to disclose surface(s) surrounding a suction portion (item 14; pp. [0052]; figs. 1 and 5) engageable with the floor surface, together with the drive wheel, Jang does not explicitly disclose the details of the area surrounding the suction port (designated in annotated fig. 5 below), such as wherein a plurality of skids connected to and extending from the bottom plate of the body, the plurality of skids engageable with the floor surface to support, together with the drive wheel, the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface.
Jang Annotated Fig. 5.
Jang does disclose when the mobile cleaning robot travels over obstacles and/or a stepped region on a surface, the horizontal position of the robot is stabilized (pp. [0124; figs. 8-9) and the friction is improved between the wheels and surfaces which come in contact with the floor surface to sufficiently climb up the obstacles (pp. [0010] and [0109-0111]).
The Examiner notes the embodiment of fig. 17 in Hong is utilized in the following rejection however, specific reference number(s) and descriptions are shown in earlier figures. Please refer to those figures for details.
Hong (US 2018/0213987) teaches an analogous mobile cleaning robot (item 1; figs. 1-2) comprising a body (item 10; pp. [0051]; figs. 1-2), a drive wheel (item 42; fig. 2), a suction portion (item 150; figs. 2-3) analogous to the suction portion in Jang, and a plurality of skids (items 140b; fig, 17) connected to and extending from the bottom plate of the body (corresponding to bottom plate in Jang above; skids 140b connected to and extend from bottom plate via intermediate components), the plurality of skids engageable with the floor surface to support, together with the drive wheel, the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface (pp. [0120-0122]; plurality of skids 140b engage with floor to support, i.e. define a ride height “h” relative to the surface, together with the drive wheel, to allow airflow to be suctioned through; fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning robot, as disclosed in Jang, to include a plurality of skids surrounding the suction portion, as taught in Hong, in order assist in stabilizing the cleaning robot and improve suction efficiency by providing a constant gap between the suction portion and the surface to be cleaned along various obstacles (pp. [0022-0025] and [0120-0122] in Hong).
Regarding claim 2, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 1, wherein the drive wheel is movable to travel at least in part vertically with respect to the body and the bottom plate (pp. [0063]; figs. 2-4 and 8-10), such that the plurality of skids define a ride height (Hong; ride height defined as predetermined distance “h” in fig. 17) of the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface (Hong; pp. [0120-0122]; plurality of skids 140b define ride height h to space suction inlet above floor surface).
Regarding claim 3, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of skids is configured to slide along the floor surface without rotating (Hong; pp [0122]; supporting surface 141b of plurality of skids 140b may slide on the surface to be cleaned; fig. 17).
Regarding claim 12, Jang discloses a mobile cleaning robot (fig. 1) comprising:
a body (item 10; fig. 1) including a bottom plate (defined as bottom surface of item 10; figs. 1 and 5);
a pair of drive wheels (items 40; figs. 1-4) connected to the body (pp. [0050]; fig. 1), the pair of drive wheels operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment (pp. [0050], [0082], and [0099-0100]; drive wheel(s) 40 move robot 10 around environment, i.e. along flat surface in view of fig. 5 and along uneven surfaces in view of figs. 8-9) when one or more of the pair of drive wheels are engaged with a floor surface (figs. 5 and 8-9) of the environment, and the pair of drive wheels each vertically movable with respect to the body and the bottom plate (pp. [0063]; figs. 2-4 and 8-10);
Though Jang appears to disclose surface(s) surrounding a suction portion (item 14; pp. [0052]; figs. 1 and 5) engageable with the floor surface, together with the drive wheel, Jang does not explicitly disclose the details of the area surrounding the suction port (designated in annotated fig. 5 above), such as a first skid, a second skid, and a third skid respectively fixedly coupled to the bottom plate of the body and spaced apart from each other, each skid engageable with the floor surface to, together with the drive wheels, define a ride height of the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface.
Hong (US 2018/0213987) teaches an analogous mobile cleaning robot (item 1; figs. 1-2) comprising a body (item 10; pp. [0051]; figs. 1-2), a pair of drive wheels (items 42; fig. 2), a suction portion (item 150; figs. 2-3) analogous to the suction portion in Jang, and a first skid (designated in annotated fig. 2 below), a second skid (designated in annotated fig. 2 below), and a third skid (designated in annotated fig. 2 below) respectively fixedly coupled to the bottom plate of the body (via intermediate components, i.e. suction unit 100; figs. 3-4) and spaced apart from each other (figs. 2 and 4), each skid engageable with the floor surface to, together with the drive wheels, define a ride height of the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface (pp. [0069-0072]; plurality of skids 140 engage with floor to support, i.e. define a ride height “h” relative to the surface, together with the drive wheel, to allow airflow to be suctioned through; figs. 5-6).
Hong Annotated Fig. 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning robot, as disclosed in Jang, to include a first, second, and third skid spaced apart from one another and surrounding the suction portion, as taught in Hong, in order assist in stabilizing the cleaning robot and improve suction efficiency by providing a constant gap between the suction portion and the surface to be cleaned along various obstacles (pp. [0022-0025] and [0070-0072] in Hong).
Regarding claim 19, Jang (US 2013/0340201) discloses a mobile cleaning robot (fig. 1) comprising:
a body (item 10; fig. 1) including a bottom plate (defined as bottom surface of item 10; figs. 1 and 5);
a drive wheel (item 40; figs. 1-4) connected to the body (pp. [0050]; fig. 1), the drive wheel operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment (pp. [0050], [0082], and [0099-0100]; drive wheel(s) 40 move robot 10 around environment, i.e. along flat surface in view of fig. 5 and along uneven surfaces in view of figs. 8-9) when the drive wheel is engaged with a floor surface (figs. 5 and 8-9) of the environment, and the drive wheel is movable to travel at least in part vertically with respect to the body and the bottom plate (pp. [0063]; figs. 2-4 and 8-10).
Though Jang appears to disclose surface(s) surrounding a suction portion (item 14; pp. [0052]; figs. 1 and 5) engageable with the floor surface, together with the drive wheel, Jang does not explicitly disclose the details of the area surrounding the suction port (designated in annotated fig. 5 above), such as wherein a plurality of skids connected to and extending from the bottom plate of the body, the plurality of skids engageable with the floor surface to support, together with the drive wheel, define a ride height of the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface.
Jang does disclose when the mobile cleaning robot travels over obstacles and/or a stepped region on a surface, the horizontal position of the robot is stabilized (pp. [0124; figs. 8-9) and the friction is improved between the wheels and surfaces which come in contact with the floor surface to sufficiently climb up the obstacles (pp. [0010] and [0109-0111]).
The Examiner notes the embodiment of fig. 17 in Hong is utilized in the following rejection however, specific reference number(s) and descriptions are shown in earlier figures. Please refer to those figures for details.
Hong (US 2018/0213987) teaches an analogous mobile cleaning robot (item 1; figs. 1-2) comprising a body (item 10; pp. [0051]; figs. 1-2), a drive wheel (item 42; fig. 2), a suction portion (item 150; figs. 2-3) analogous to the suction portion in Jang, and a plurality of skids (items 140b; fig, 17) connected to and extending from the bottom plate of the body (corresponding to bottom plate in Jang above; skids 140b connected to and extend from bottom plate via intermediate components), the plurality of skids engageable with the floor surface to support, together with the drive wheel, define a ride height (defined as predetermined distance “h”; fig. 17) of the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface (pp. [0120-0122]; plurality of skids 140b engage with floor to support, i.e. define a ride height “h” relative to the surface, together with the drive wheel, to allow airflow to be suctioned through; fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning robot, as disclosed in Jang, to include a plurality of skids surrounding the suction portion, as taught in Hong, in order assist in stabilizing the cleaning robot and improve suction efficiency by providing a constant gap between the suction portion and the surface to be cleaned along various obstacles (pp. [0022-0025] and [0120-0122] in Hong).
Regarding claim 20, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 19, wherein the ride height is defined by engagement between the plurality of skids and the floor surface (Hong; ride height h is defined by skids 140b engaging with surface to be cleaned and the gap in which airflow can be suctioned through), and wherein the drive wheel is movable with respect to the plurality of skids and the floor surface when the plurality of skids are engaged with the floor surface (pp. [0063]; when plurality of skids are engaged with floor surface on a stepped surface, corresponding to position of fig. 8 in Jang, the drive wheel is movable with respect to the plurality of skids and the floor surface in order to stabilize onto the stepped surface, corresponding to position of figs. 9-10 in Jang).
Regarding claim 21, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 19, wherein each of the plurality of skids is configured to slide along the floor surface without rotating (Hong; pp [0122]; supporting surface 141b of plurality of skids 140b may slide on the surface to be cleaned; fig. 17).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2013/0340201) in view of Hong (US 2018/0213987), and further in view of Yoshida (JP 2013230199), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 4, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 3. Though Jang as modified by Hong appears to disclose an individual skid including a base (item 142b; fig. 17) connected to the bottom plate of the body (via intermediate components, i.e. suction unit), Jang as modified by Hong does not explicitly disclose a plurality of tufts connected to the base.
However, Yoshida (JP 2013/230199) teaches an analogous mobile cleaning robot (figs. 1-3) comprising a body including a bottom plate (item 2a; figs. 2-3), a drive wheel (item 29; fig. 3) engageable with a floor surface, a suction unit (includes items 6, 9; fig. 3) analogous to the suction unit in Jang and Hong, and a plurality of skids surrounding the suction unit (items 70; figs. 3 and 6), wherein an individual skid includes a base (item 70; fig. 6) and a plurality of tufts (items 71; pp. [0053]; fig. 6) connected to the base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of skids, as disclosed in Jang as modified by Hong, to include a plurality of tufts, as taught in Yoshida, in order to assist in providing air flowing from the side edges of the suction port and increase the negative pressure at the suction port, while also preventing damage to the surface to be cleaned (Yoshida; pp. [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 12. Jang discloses the first, second, and third skid may comprise rollers (figs. 5-6 embodiment and fig. 16 embodiment) or a slider (fig. 17 embodiment) to define a gap (i.e. ride height h) for the airflow to be suctioned through the suction port, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first skid includes a base and a plurality of tufts connected to the base.
However, Yoshida (JP 2013/230199) teaches an analogous mobile cleaning robot (figs. 1-3) comprising a body including a bottom plate (item 2a; figs. 2-3), a drive wheel (item 29; fig. 3) engageable with a floor surface, a suction unit (includes items 6, 9; fig. 3) analogous to the suction unit in Jang and Hong, and a plurality of skids surrounding the suction unit (items 70; figs. 3 and 6), wherein an individual skid includes a base (item 70; fig. 6) and a plurality of tufts (items 71; pp. [0053]; fig. 6) connected to the base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of skids, as disclosed in Jang as modified by Hong, to include a plurality of tufts, as taught in Yoshida, in order to assist in providing air flowing from the side edges of the suction port and increase the negative pressure at the suction port, while also preventing damage to the surface to be cleaned (Yoshida; pp. [0009]).
Claims 5-11, 14-18, and 22-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2013/0340201) in view of Hong (US 2018/0213987), Yoshida (JP 2013230199), as provided by the Examiner, and further in view of Gafford (US 2015/0150364).
Regarding claims 5-7, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 4. The details of the plurality of tufts extending from the base, as modified in from Yoshida (above), are not explicitly shown, such as, wherein the base includes a plurality of straight bores each configured to secure a tuft of the plurality of tufts therein, as required by claim 5, and wherein the base includes a guide bore extending from and aligned with a corresponding tuft bore, as required by claim 6, and wherein the guide bore is tapered outwardly with respect to a corresponding straight bore, as required by claim 7.
However, Gafford (US 2015/0150364) teaches a cleaning device comprising a base (item 204; fig. 10) and a plurality of tufts (items 106; fig. 8) extending from the base, wherein the base includes a plurality of straight bores (items 205; fig. 10) each configured to secure a tuft of the plurality of tufts therein (pp. [0042]; straight bores 205 receive and retain the base portion of each tuft bundle), wherein the base includes a guide bore (item 230; fig. 10) extending from and aligned with a corresponding tuft bore (guide bore 230 extends and tapers outward from tuft bore 203; fig. 10), and wherein the guide bore is tapered outwardly with respect to a corresponding straight bore (each straight bore 205 includes a corresponding guide bore 240 that tapers outwardly from, i.e. diverge radially outward; pp. [0042]; fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the base, as disclosed in Jang as modified by Hong and Yoshida, to include a straight bore and corresponding tapered guide bore for the plurality of tufts, as taught in Gafford, in order to prevent the plurality of tufts from being stressed beyond their endurance limit, significantly increase the durability and useful life of the tufts, and reduce the breakage and loss of tufts over the extended useful life of the cleaner (pp. [0010] and [0041] in Gafford).
Regarding claim 8, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a taper of the guide bore is between 5 degrees and 15 degrees from a wall of the corresponding tuft bore.
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the taper of the guide bore between 5 and 15 degrees . Since such a modification would involve a mere change in size of the component, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, the claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The degree of the taper can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the taper is larger, the plurality of tufts are capable of bending/flexing at a greater angle and can lower the height of the cleaning robot to make the suction path smaller relative to the area to be cleaned; while if the taper is smaller, the plurality of tufts are more limited in their bending/flexing angle and the height of the cleaning robot relative to the floor is higher in order to make a greater suction path on the area to be cleaned. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Jang in view of Hong, Yoshida, and Gafford, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to provide the taper of the guide bore between 5 and 15 degrees. Further in the instant application, pp [0047], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 9, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 7,
wherein each tuft of the plurality of tufts is configured to engage each respective guide bore to limit flexure of the tuft with respect to the corresponding tuft bore (Gafford; tufts are limited within corresponding tuft bore 205 and guide bore 230 due to the tapered surface 235; pp. [0038-0042]; fig. 10).
Regarding claim 10, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 9, wherein the plurality of tufts are configured to flex under load of the mobile cleaning robot to define the ride height (plurality of tufts are capable of flexing under load of the mobile cleaning robot along tapered guide bore, as modified by Gafford above, in order to define the predetermined gap, i.e. ride height “h” as modified from Hong above, to allow airflow to be suctioned through the port).
Regarding claim 11, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 10. Jang as modified by Yoshida does not explicitly disclose wherein at least a portion of an individual tuft of the plurality of tufts is angled, when engaged with a respective guide bore, at about 50 degrees with respect to the floor surface or an underside of the body.
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify a portion of an individual tuft to be angled at about 50 degrees with respect to the floor surface, which is defined as between 20 and 70 degrees from pp. [0050] in instant disclosure. Since such a modification would involve a mere change in size of the component, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, the claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The angle of the individual tuft relative to the guide bore can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the angle is larger, the plurality of tufts may flex further under the load of the robot and can lower the height of the cleaning robot to create the suction path smaller relative to the area to be cleaned; while if the angle is smaller, the plurality of tufts are more limited in their bending/flexing angle and the height of the cleaning robot relative to the floor is higher in order to make a greater suction path on the area to be cleaned. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Jang in view of Hong, Yoshida, and Gafford, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to provide the individual tuft to be angled at about 50 degrees, i.e. between 20 and 70 degrees. Further in the instant application, pp [0050], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 14-16, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 13. The details of the plurality of tufts extending from the base, as modified in from Yoshida (above), are not explicitly shown, such as, wherein the base includes a plurality of tuft bores respectively configured to secure a tuft of the plurality of tufts therein, as required by claim 14, and wherein the base includes a guide bore extending from and aligned with a corresponding tuft bore, as required by claim 15, and wherein an individual guide bore is tapered outwardly with respect to a corresponding straight bore, as required by claim 16.
However, Gafford (US 2015/0150364) teaches a cleaning device comprising a base (item 204; fig. 10) and a plurality of tufts (items 106; fig. 8) extending from the base, wherein the base includes a plurality of straight bores (items 205; fig. 10) each configured to secure a tuft of the plurality of tufts therein (pp. [0042]; straight bores 205 receive and retain the base portion of each tuft bundle), wherein the base includes a guide bore (item 230; fig. 10) extending from and aligned with a corresponding tuft bore (guide bore 230 extends and tapers outward from tuft bore 203; fig. 10), and wherein the guide bore is tapered outwardly with respect to a corresponding straight bore (each straight bore 205 includes a corresponding guide bore 240 that tapers outwardly from, i.e. diverge radially outward; pp. [0042]; fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the base, as disclosed in Jang as modified by Hong and Yoshida, to include a straight bore and corresponding tapered guide bore for the plurality of tufts, as taught in Gafford, in order to prevent the plurality of tufts from being stressed beyond their endurance limit, significantly increase the durability and useful life of the tufts, and reduce the breakage and loss of tufts over the extended useful life of the cleaner (pp. [0010] and [0041] in Gafford).
Regarding claim 17, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 16, wherein each tuft is configured to engage each respective guide bore to limit flexure of the tuft with respect to the corresponding tuft bore (Gafford; tufts are limited within corresponding tuft bore 205 and guide bore 230 due to the tapered surface 235; pp. [0038-0042]; fig. 10).
Regarding claim 18, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 17, wherein the plurality of tufts are configured to flex under load of the mobile cleaning robot to define the ride height (plurality of tufts are capable of flexing under load of the mobile cleaning robot along tapered guide bore, as modified by Gafford above, in order to define the predetermined gap, i.e. ride height “h” as modified from Hong above, to allow airflow to be suctioned through the port).
Regarding claim 22, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 21. Though Jang as modified by Hong appears to disclose an individual skid including a base (item 142b; fig. 17) connected to the bottom plate of the body (via intermediate components, i.e. suction unit), Jang as modified by Hong does not explicitly disclose a plurality of tufts connected to the base.
However, Yoshida (JP 2013/230199) teaches an analogous mobile cleaning robot (figs. 1-3) comprising a body including a bottom plate (item 2a; figs. 2-3), a drive wheel (item 29; fig. 3) engageable with a floor surface, a suction unit (includes items 6, 9; fig. 3) analogous to the suction unit in Jang and Hong, and a plurality of skids surrounding the suction unit (items 70; figs. 3 and 6), wherein an individual skid includes a base (item 70; fig. 6) and a plurality of tufts (items 71; pp. [0053]; fig. 6) connected to the base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of skids, as disclosed in Jang as modified by Hong, to include a plurality of tufts, as taught in Yoshida, in order to assist in providing air flowing from the side edges of the suction port and increase the negative pressure at the suction port, while also preventing damage to the surface to be cleaned (Yoshida; pp. [0009]).
Additionally, the details of the plurality of tufts extending from the base, as modified in from Yoshida (above), are not explicitly shown, such as, the base including a plurality of straight tuft bores respectively configured to secure a tuft of the plurality of tufts therein, and a guide bore extending from and aligned with a corresponding tuft bore, the guide bore is tapered outwardly with respect to a corresponding straight bore.
However, Gafford (US 2015/0150364) teaches a cleaning device comprising a base (item 204; fig. 10) and a plurality of tufts (items 106; fig. 8) extending from the base, wherein the base includes a plurality of straight bores (items 205; fig. 10) each configured to secure a tuft of the plurality of tufts therein (pp. [0042]; straight bores 205 receive and retain the base portion of each tuft bundle), wherein the base includes a guide bore (item 230; fig. 10) extending from and aligned with a corresponding tuft bore (guide bore 230 extends and tapers outward from tuft bore 203; fig. 10), and wherein the guide bore is tapered outwardly with respect to a corresponding straight bore (each straight bore 205 includes a corresponding guide bore 240 that tapers outwardly from, i.e. diverge radially outward; pp. [0042]; fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the base, as disclosed in Jang as modified by Hong and Yoshida, to include a straight bore and corresponding tapered guide bore for the plurality of tufts, as taught in Gafford, in order to prevent the plurality of tufts from being stressed beyond their endurance limit, significantly increase the durability and useful life of the tufts, and reduce the breakage and loss of tufts over the extended useful life of the cleaner (pp. [0010] and [0041] in Gafford).
Regarding claim 23, Jang as modified discloses the mobile cleaning robot as claimed in claim 22, wherein each tuft of the plurality of tufts is configured to engage each respective guide bore to limit flexure of the tuft with respect to the corresponding tuft bore (Gafford; tufts are limited within corresponding tuft bore 205 and guide bore 230 due to the tapered surface 235; pp. [0038-0042]; fig. 10) to define ride height (ride height defined as a predetermined distance between the plurality of skids and surface to cleaned).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 12-14, 16-18, 19, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,075,963. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
First independent claim set in Table 1 below (instant application independent claim 1 and dependents, i.e. claims 2-3, rejected over independent claim 1 and dependent claim 12 in US Patent No. 12,075,963).
Instant Application, claims 1-3
US Patent No. 12,075,963, claim 12 (which is dependent on claim 1)
Claim 1, ll. 1-2: A mobile cleaning robot comprising a body including a bottom plate
Claim 1, ll. 1-2: a mobile cleaning robot comprising a body including a bottom plate
Claim 1, ll. 3-5: a drive wheel…operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment when the drive wheel is engaged with a floor surface of the environment, and
Claim 1, ll. 3-6: a drive wheel connected to the body and engageable with a floor surface of an environment…operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about the environment
Claim 1, ll. 6-9: a plurality of skids connected to and extending from the bottom plate of the body, the plurality of skids engageable with the floor surface to support, together with the drive wheel, the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface.
Claim 1, ll. 8-12: a plurality of separate skids connected to and extending from the bottom plate of the body and engageable with the floor surface to support, together with the drive wheel, the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface.
Claim 2, ll. 1-2: wherein the drive wheel is movable to travel at least in part vertically…
Claim 1, ll. 6-7: the drive wheel movable to travel at least in part vertically with respect to the robot
Claim 2, ll. 3-4: plurality of skids define a ride height…with respect to the floor surface.
Claim 1, ll. 12-14: plurality of skids together solely define a ride height…with respect to the floor surface
Claim 3, ll. 1-2: each of the plurality of skids is configured to slide along the floor surface without rotating.
(dependent on claim 2)
Claim 12: each of the plurality of skids is configured to slide without rotating.
(dependent on claim 1)
Table 1.
Second independent claim set in Table 2 below (instant application independent claim 12 and dependents, i.e. claims 13-14 and 16-18, rejected over claim 22, dependent off independent claim 16, in US Patent No. 12,075,963).
Instant Application, claims 12-14 and 16-18
US Patent No. 12,075,963, claim 22 (which is dependent on claim 16)
Claim 12, ll. 1-2: A mobile cleaning robot comprising a body including a bottom plate
Claim 16, ll. 1-2: a mobile cleaning robot comprising a body including a bottom plate
Claim 12, ll. 3-5: a pair of drive wheels…operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment when one or more drive wheels are engaged with a floor surface of the environment, and
Claim 16, ll. 3-6: a pair of drive wheels connected to the body and engageable with a floor surface of an environment…operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about the environment
Claim 12, ll. 6-7: the pair of drive wheels each vertically movable with respect to the body and the bottom plate, and
Claim 16, ll. 6-8: the pair of drive wheels movable to travel at least in part vertically with respect to the robot; and
Claim 12, ll. 8-9: a first skid, a second skid, and a third skid respectively fixedly coupled to the bottom plate and spaced apart from each other
Claim 16, ll. 9-11: a first skid, a second skid, and a third skid respectively fixedly coupled to the bottom plate of the body and spaced apart from each other,
Claim 12, ll. 9-12: each skid engageable with the floor surface to, together with the drive wheels, define a ride height of the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface.
Claim 16, ll. 11-16: each skid engageable with the floor surface to support, together with the drive wheels, the mobile cleaning robot, such that the first skid, the second skid, and the third skid together define a ride height of the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface;
Claim 13, ll. 1-2 (dependent on claim 12): wherein the first skid includes a base and a plurality of tufts connected to the base.
Claim 16, ll. 20-22: wherein each of the first skid, the second skid, and the third skid comprise a base and a plurality of tufts connected to the base
Claim 14, ll. 1-3 (dependent on claim 13): wherein the base includes a plurality of tuft bores respectively configured to secure a tuft of the plurality of tufts therein.
Claim 17 (dependent on claim 16): wherein each of the bases includes a plurality of tuft bores respectively configured to secure an individual tuft of the plurality of tufts therein.
Claim 16, ll. 1-2 (dependent on claim 14): wherein an individual guide bore is tapered outwardly with respect to a corresponding tuft bore.
Claim 19 (dependent on claim 17): wherein an individual guide bore is tapered outwardly with respect to a corresponding tuft bore.
Claim 17, ll. 1-3 (dependent on claim 16): wherein each tuft is configured to engage each respective bore to limit flexure of the tuft with respect to the tuft bore.
Claim 21 (dependent on claim 19): wherein each tuft is configured to engage with each respective guide bore to limit flexure of the tuft with respect to the corresponding tuft bore.
Claim 18, ll. 1-3 (dependent on claim 17): wherein the plurality of tufts are configured to flex under load of the mobile cleaning robot to define the ride height.
Claim 22 (dependent on claim 21): wherein the plurality of tufts are configured to flex under load of the mobile cleaning robot to define the ride height.
Table 2.
Third independent claim set in Table 3 below (instant application independent claim 19 and dependents, i.e. claim 21, rejected over independent claim 1 and dependent claim 12 in US Patent No. 12,075,963).
Instant Application, claims 19 and 21
US Patent No. 12,075,963, claim 12 (which is dependent on claim 1)
Claim 19, ll. 1-2: A mobile cleaning robot comprising a body including a bottom plate
Claim 1, ll. 1-2: a mobile cleaning robot comprising a body including a bottom plate
Claim 19, ll. 3-5: a drive wheel…operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment when the drive wheel is engaged with a floor surface of the environment, and
Claim 1, ll. 3-6: a drive wheel connected to the body and engageable with a floor surface of an environment…operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about the environment
Claim 19, ll. 5-7: wherein the drive wheel is movable to travel at least in part vertically…
Claim 1, ll. 6-7: the drive wheel movable to travel at least in part vertically with respect to the robot,
Claim 19, ll. 8-11: a plurality of skids connected to and extending from the bottom plate of the body, the plurality of skids engageable with the floor surface to support, together with the drive wheel, define a ride height of the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface.
Claim 1, ll. 8-14: a plurality of separate skids connected to and extending from the bottom plate of the body and engageable with the floor surface to support, together with the drive wheel, the mobile cleaning robot with respect to the floor surface, such that the plurality of skids together solely define a ride height…with respect to the floor surface;
Claim 21, ll. 1-2: each of the plurality of skids is configured to slide along the floor surface without rotating.
(dependent on claim 19)
Claim 12: each of the plurality of skids is configured to slide without rotating.
(dependent on claim 1)
Table 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Robinson (US 2009/0229064) discloses a cleaner comprising a plurality of bristles extending from a base, wherein the base includes a straight bore and a corresponding tapered guide bore.
Yan (US 2011/0245972) discloses a mobile cleaning robot comprising a body having a bottom plate, drive wheels, and a plurality of roller skids extending from the bottom plate to define a ride height relative to the floor surface to be cleaned.
Mason (US Patent No. 5,045,118) discloses a cleaning robot comprising a body having a bottom plate, a pair of drive wheels, and a plurality of skids extending from the bottom plate to support, together with the drive wheels, the cleaning robot.
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723