DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
expansion device in claim 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-13, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qu et al. (US ), hereinafter referred to as Qu.
Re claim 1 and 11, Qu teaches (Fig 3) a heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration (HVACR) system comprising:
a liquid refrigerant line (line from 115 to 120);
an expansion device (e.g. 145) having an inlet (e.g. 137) fluidly connecting to the liquid refrigerant line to receive a liquid refrigerant (implicit) from the liquid refrigerant line;
a liquid refrigerant control valve (e.g. 145) fluidly connecting the liquid refrigerant line and a connection point downstream of the expansion device (see Fig 3); and
a controller (e.g. 155) configured to:
monitor a pressure or a mode change in the system (e.g. ¶ 46, “For example, the valve may automatically open when a property reading is greater than a predetermined maximum property. The valve may automatically close when a property reading is less than a predetermined closing value for the property. In some implementations, the predetermined closing value may be less than the predetermined maximum value (e.g., the valve may open at a high pressure than the pressure at which the valve closes)”); and
activate the liquid refrigerant control valve to inject the liquid refrigerant into the connection point based on a result of the monitoring (e.g. ¶ 46, “For example, the valve may automatically open when a property reading is greater than a predetermined maximum property. The valve may automatically close when a property reading is less than a predetermined closing value for the property. In some implementations, the predetermined closing value may be less than the predetermined maximum value (e.g., the valve may open at a high pressure than the pressure at which the valve closes)”).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Re claim 2 and 12, Qu teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to: monitor the pressure at a monitoring point between the expansion device and a compressor suction port (see Fig 3; from the suction port to the expansion valve); and determine whether the pressure is below a predetermined pressure level (e.g. ¶ 46, “For example, the valve may automatically open when a property reading is greater than a predetermined maximum property. The valve may automatically close when a property reading is less than a predetermined closing value for the property. In some implementations, the predetermined closing value may be less than the predetermined maximum value (e.g., the valve may open at a high pressure than the pressure at which the valve closes)”).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Re claim 3 and 13, Qu teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to deactivate the liquid refrigerant control valve when the pressure is above a predetermined pressure level (e.g. ¶ 39, “For example, during use, if the pressure proximate the high pressure switch exceeds the predetermined maximum, then operation of the compressor may be restricted (e.g., the compressor may be shut off)”; the examiner notes that stopping the system inherently deactivates the valve as well).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Re claim 8 and 18, Qu teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the liquid refrigerant control valve has a predetermined orifice size (e.g. ¶ 37, “a controller 155 coupled to a valve 145 may control the openness of the valve to control the amount of refrigerant allowed to pass through the bypass line 140”).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Re claim 9 and 19, Qu teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11, further comprising a condenser to deliver the liquid refrigerant to the liquid refrigerant line (e.g. ¶ 37, “a controller 155 coupled to a valve 145 may control the openness of the valve to control the amount of refrigerant allowed to pass through the bypass line 140”).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Re claim 10 and 20, Qu teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11, further comprising a condenser (e.g. 115) to deliver the liquid refrigerant to the liquid refrigerant line (implicit).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20170102175), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Re claim 1 and 11, Chen teaches (Fig 3) a heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration (HVACR) system comprising:
a liquid refrigerant line (line from 240 to 220);
an expansion device (e.g. 250) having an inlet (e.g. inlet to 250) fluidly connecting to the liquid refrigerant line to receive a liquid refrigerant (implicit) from the liquid refrigerant line;
a liquid refrigerant control valve (e.g. 255/265) fluidly connecting the liquid refrigerant line and a connection point downstream of the expansion device (see Fig 3); and
a controller (e.g. 280) configured to:
monitor a pressure or a mode change in the system (e.g. ¶ 26, “A message is sent to open a valve in a bypass line when the pressure measurement is above a set value 440. A message is sent to close the valve when a predetermined event has occurred 450”); and
activate the liquid refrigerant control valve to inject the liquid refrigerant into the connection point based on a result of the monitoring (e.g. ¶ 26, “A message is sent to open a valve in a bypass line when the pressure measurement is above a set value 440. A message is sent to close the valve when a predetermined event has occurred 450”).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Re claim 4 and 14, Chen teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to deactivate the liquid refrigerant control valve after an adjustable period of time (e.g. claim 17 and 20, “closing the bypass line when a predetermined event has occurred” … “wherein the predetermined event is a period of time”).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu.
Re claim 5 and 15, Qu teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11. Qu does not teach the limitation of wherein the controller is further configured to detect whether the system switches from a heating mode to a cooling mode. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a controller to determine when heating or cooling mode is switch to, for the purpose of applying proper control logic, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Qu and configured the controller to detect whether the system switches from a heating mode to a cooling mode, for the purpose of applying proper control logic.
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim(s) 6-7, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu, in view of Chammas et al. (US 20240200688), hereinafter referred to as Chammas.
Re claim 6-7 and 16-17, Qu teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11. Qu does not teach the limitation of further comprising a check valve connecting to the liquid refrigerant control valve; wherein the check valve and the liquid refrigerant control valve are assembled as a pipe kit and positioned on a liquid refrigerant injection line connecting the liquid refrigerant line and the connection point. However, Chammas teaches an HVAC system comprising a liquid refrigerant injection line (e.g. line from 33 to 31 passing through 22) having a liquid refrigerant control valve (e.g. 22) and a check valve (e.g. 23) bypassing an expansion valve (e.g. 7) positioned on a liquid refrigerant line (e.g. line from 33 to 31 passing through 7). Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Qu and integrated a check valve connecting to the liquid refrigerant control valve; wherein the check valve and the liquid refrigerant control valve are positioned on a liquid refrigerant injection line connecting the liquid refrigerant line and the connection point, as taught by Chammas, in order to prevent unwanted directional flow. Qu, as modified, does not teach the limitation of the liquid refrigerant valve and the check valve assembled as a pipe kit. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that assembling two valves together in a pipe kit, for the purpose of reducing installation difficulty, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Qu, as modified, and configured the integrated the liquid refrigerant valve and the check valve assembled as a pipe kit.
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 1/20/2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763