DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims filed on 5/18/2026.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims filed on 5/18/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “tool holder” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
According to the published instant specification ¶ [0225], the “[T]he surgical tool tracking array may include a tool holder that couples a portion of a surgical tool 2300 to the surgical tool tracking array.” The only illustrated feature that meets this description is the bar/rod that annotated from FIG. 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (US PGPUB 20170258526) in view of Yano et al. (“Development of a Surgical Knife Attachment with Proximity Indicators,” (14 May 2017), In: Marcus, A., Wang, W. (eds) Design, User Experience, and Usability: Designing Pleasurable Experiences. DUXU 2017. Lecture Notes in Computer Science(), vol 10289; hereinafter "Yano") and in further view of Colmenares et al. (US PAT 10949986; hereinafter "Colmenares").
With regards to Claim 1, Lang discloses a surgical tool tracking array (an optical marker; see Lang ¶ [0426]) comprising:
a multi-faced reference array having a plurality of planar faces (cuboid optical marker with different 2D QR codes on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]);
a plurality of different optically coded patterns each on a different one of the planar faces (cuboid optical marker with different 2D QR codes on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]);
wherein the multi-faced reference array is attached to a portion of a surgical tool to the surgical tool tracking array (wherein optical marker is attached to a surgical tool; see Lang ¶ [0426 & 0434-0438]), wherein the plurality of coded patterns are configured to be tracked by a tracking system, the tracking system including:
first and second cameras and
a third camera (the optical markers are tracked by a camera system with two or more cameras; see Lang ¶ [0437]).
Lang teaches of a magnetic base which is adhesively attached to the skin or surgical drape, said magnetic base for magnetically receiving the optical marker array (see Lang ¶ [0444 & 0446]). Lang also teaches of attaching the optical marker array to surgical tool (see Lang ¶ [0426]). While it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill to combine the magnetic base with the surgical tool to provide a tool holder, wherein the tool holder is configured to space the multi-faced reference array away from a handle of the surgical tool, and cameras receptive to visible light. Lang also teaches of two or more cameras, but may be silent to said cameras receptive to visible light and the optically coded patterns recognizable in visible light.
However, Yano teaches of surgical knife {i.e. surgical tool} attachment clamp {tool holder} with a cubicle array of markers (see Yano FIGS. 2-3) tracked by MicronTracker by ClaroNav which is a stereoscopic optical marker tracking system that operates in the visible spectrum as illustrated in FIG. 11 (see also Yano pg. 609, ¶ 2). In particular, FIG. 3 clearly illustrates that the attachment clamp {i.e. tool holder} clearly spaces out the cuboid marker array from the handle {i.e. which is clearly held by the user} of the surgical knife at the distal tip.
Lang and Yano are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of optical tracking surgical tools with navigation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lang to incorporate the above teachings of Yano to provide at least wherein the tool holder is configured to space the multi-faced reference array away from a handle of the surgical tool. Doing so would aid in easy attachment to the knife or other surgical tools (see Yano pg. 609, ¶ 3).
While modified Lang two or more cameras as detailed directly above, it appears that modified Lang may be silent to: first and second cameras spaced apart and defining an imaginary line between the first and second cameras; and a third camera laterally offset from the first imaginary line such that the three cameras form a triangle
However, Colmenares, previously cited in the parent US16/896,553, teaches of an imaging system 100 having at least three cameras 114 for optical tracking, wherein the trackers 114 can operate in the visible or infrared spectrum (see Colmenares col. 4, lines 27-36).
Modified Lang and Colmenares are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of surgical tool tracking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Lang to incorporate the above teachings of Colmenares to provide at least the struck-through limitations detailed above. Doing so would enable a larger field of view (see Colmenares col. 10, lines 44-67 cont. col. 11, lines 1-14).
With regards to Claim 21, modified Lang teaches of wherein:
the planar faces include a front square planar face configured to face away from the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder, and a plurality of side square planar faces each extending from different side edges of the front square planar face and angled toward the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder (cube/cuboid {i.e. plurality of side square planar faces} optical marker with different 2D QR codes {i.e. planar} on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an attached cuboid optical marker would have at least one of the 6 faces oriented substantially away from the attached tool while all the other faces angled toward to the surgical tool, it should be appreciated that the instant specification fails to provide a special definition or scope of “fac[ing] away” as described in ¶ [0225] with relation to FIG. 23).
With regards to 31, modified Lang teaches of wherein:
the planar faces include a front square planar face configured to face away from the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder, and four side square planar faces each extending from different ones of the four side edges of the front square planar face and angled toward the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder (cube/cuboid {i.e. four side square planar faces} optical marker with different 2D QR codes {i.e. planar} on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an attached cuboid optical marker would have at least one of the 6 faces oriented substantially away from the attached tool while all the other faces angled toward to the surgical tool, it should be appreciated that the instant specification fails to provide a special definition or scope of “fac[ing] away” as described in ¶ [0225] with relation to FIG. 23).
With regards to Claim 41, modified Lang teaches of wherein the optically coded patterns are two dimensional barcode patterns (cuboid optical marker with different 2D QR codes on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]) which optically encode planar face identifiers (QR codes can be used to determine the orientation of select surfaces or faces of the geometric shape, i.e. optical encode planar face identifiers; see Lang ¶ [0419]).
With regards to Claim 5, Lang discloses a surgical tool tracking array (an optical marker; see Lang ¶ [0426]) comprising:
a multi-faced reference array (cuboid optical marker with different 2D QR codes on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]);
attachment means which couples a portion of a surgical tool to the surgical tool tracking array (wherein optical marker is attached to a surgical tool; see Lang ¶ [0426 & 0434-0438], wherein the presence of an attachment amounts to an attachment means).
wherein the multi-faced reference array includes a plurality of planar faces, the plurality of planar faces comprise a front square planar face configured to face away from the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder (cuboid {i.e. four side square planar faces} optical marker with different 2D QR codes {i.e. planar} on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an attached cuboid optical marker would have at least one of the 6 faces oriented substantially away from the attached tool while all the other faces angled toward to the surgical tool, it should be appreciated that the instant specification fails to provide a special definition or scope of “fac[ing] away” as described in ¶ [0225] with relation to FIG. 23);
wherein the planar faces further comprise a plurality of side square planar faces each extending from different side edges of the front square planar face and angled toward the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder (cuboid {i.e. four side square planar faces} optical marker with different 2D QR codes {i.e. planar} on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an attached cuboid optical marker would have at least one of the 6 faces oriented substantially away from the attached tool while all the other faces angled toward to the surgical tool, it should be appreciated that the instant specification fails to provide a special definition or scope of “fac[ing] away” as described in ¶ [0225] with relation to FIG. 23);
wherein the surgical tool tracking array is operationally coupled to a camera tracking system (using a camera system to localize the optical marker; see Lang ¶ [0437]) and a surgical robot (the instruments are attached to robotic arms; see Lang ¶ [0156 & 1368]), the camera tracking system including:
first and second cameras and
a third camera (the optical markers are tracked by a camera system with two or more cameras; see Lang ¶ [0437]).
Lang teaches of a magnetic base which is adhesively attached to the skin or surgical drape, said magnetic base for magnetically receiving the optical marker array (see Lang ¶ [0444 & 0446]). Lang also teaches of attaching the optical marker array to surgical tool (see Lang ¶ [0426]). While it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill to combine the magnetic base with the surgical tool to provide a tool holder, it appears that Lang may be silent to wherein the tool holder is configured to space the multi-faced reference array away from a handle of the surgical tool.
However, Yano teaches of surgical knife {i.e. surgical tool} attachment clamp {tool holder} with a cubicle array of markers (see Yano FIGS. 2-3). In particular, FIG. 3 clearly illustrates that the attachment clamp {i.e. tool holder} clearly spaces out the cuboid marker array from the handle {i.e. which is clearly held by the user} of the surgical knife at the distal tip.
Lang and Yano are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of optical tracking surgical tools with navigation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lang to incorporate the above teachings of Yano to provide at least wherein the tool holder is configured to space the multi-faced reference array away from a handle of the surgical tool. Doing so would aid in easy attachment to the knife or other surgical tools (see Yano pg. 609, ¶ 3).
While modified Lang two or more cameras as detailed directly above, it appears that modified Lang may be silent to: first and second cameras spaced apart and defining an imaginary line between the first and second cameras; and a third camera laterally offset from the first imaginary line such that the three cameras form a triangle
However, Colmenares, previously cited in the parent US16/896,553, teaches of an imaging system 100 having at least three cameras 114 for optical tracking, wherein the trackers 114 can operate in the visible or infrared spectrum (see Colmenares col. 4, lines 27-36).
Modified Lang and Colmenares are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of surgical tool tracking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Lang to incorporate the above teachings of Colmenares to provide at least the struck-through limitations detailed above. Doing so would enable a larger field of view (see Colmenares col. 10, lines 44-67 cont. col. 11, lines 1-14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In particular, Applicant argues that neither Lang nor Yano teaches of the newly recited claim limitations. While Yano teaches of a MicronTracker by ClaroNav which is a stereoscopic optical marker tracking system that operates in the visible spectrum as illustrated in FIG. 1, neither Lang nor Yano teach or suggest of a tracking system with three cameras. However, as cited in the parent US16/896,553, the Office previously cited Colmenares which teaches of an imaging system 100 having at least three cameras 114 for optical tracking, wherein the trackers 114 can operate in the visible or infrared spectrum (see Colmenares col. 4, lines 27-36).
Conclusion
/ASHISH S. JASANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798
1 https://web.archive.org/web/20170313214229/http://www.claronav.com/microntracker/