DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The objection to Claim 5 has been withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims filed on 19 December 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “tool holder” & “handle” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In particular, Claims 1 & 5 now recite “a handle of the surgical tool”; however, the instant specification fails to show possession of said handle because the instant specification does not describe “the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention” as laid out in MPEP § 2163.02. More specifically, the instant specification does not convey with reasonable clarity how one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the filing date sought, can show the inventor was in possession of said handle. Therefore, Claims 1 & 5 fail to meet the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Dependent claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency to abovementioned claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (US PGPUB 20170258526) in view of Yano et al. (“Development of a Surgical Knife Attachment with Proximity Indicators,” (14 May 2017), In: Marcus, A., Wang, W. (eds) Design, User Experience, and Usability: Designing Pleasurable Experiences. DUXU 2017. Lecture Notes in Computer Science(), vol 10289; hereinafter "Yano")
With regards to Claim 1, Lang discloses a surgical tool tracking array (an optical marker; see Lang ¶ [0426]) comprising:
a multi-faced reference array having a plurality of planar faces (cuboid optical marker with different 2D QR codes on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]);
a plurality of different optically coded patterns each on a different one of the planar faces (cuboid optical marker with different 2D QR codes on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]); and
wherein the multi-faced reference array is attached to a portion of a surgical tool to the surgical tool tracking array (wherein optical marker is attached to a surgical tool; see Lang ¶ [0426 & 0434-0438]),
Lang teaches of a magnetic base which is adhesively attached to the skin or surgical drape, said magnetic base for magnetically receiving the optical marker array (see Lang ¶ [0444 & 0446]). Lang also teaches of attaching the optical marker array to surgical tool (see Lang ¶ [0426]). While it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill to combine the magnetic base with the surgical tool to provide a tool holder, it appears that Lang may be silent to wherein the tool holder is configured to space the multi-faced reference array away from a handle of the surgical tool.
However, Yano teaches of surgical knife {i.e. surgical tool} attachment clamp {tool holder} with a cubicle array of markers (see Yano FIGS. 2-3). In particular, FIG. 3 clearly illustrates that the attachment clamp {i.e. tool holder} clearly spaces out the cuboid marker array from the handle {i.e. which is clearly held by the user} of the surgical knife at the distal tip.
Lang and Yano are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of optical tracking surgical tools with navigation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lang to incorporate the above teachings of Yano to provide at least wherein the tool holder is configured to space the multi-faced reference array away from a handle of the surgical tool. Doing so would aid in easy attachment to the knife or other surgical tools (see Yano pg. 609, ¶ 3).
With regards to Claim 21, modified Lang teaches of wherein:
the planar faces include a front square planar face configured to face away from the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder, and a plurality of side square planar faces each extending from different side edges of the front square planar face and angled toward the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder (cube/cuboid {i.e. plurality of side square planar faces} optical marker with different 2D QR codes {i.e. planar} on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an attached cuboid optical marker would have at least one of the 6 faces oriented substantially away from the attached tool while all the other faces angled toward to the surgical tool, it should be appreciated that the instant specification fails to provide a special definition or scope of “fac[ing] away” as described in ¶ [0225] with relation to FIG. 23).
With regards to 31, modified Lang teaches of wherein:
the planar faces include a front square planar face configured to face away from the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder, and four side square planar faces each extending from different ones of the four side edges of the front square planar face and angled toward the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder (cube/cuboid {i.e. four side square planar faces} optical marker with different 2D QR codes {i.e. planar} on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an attached cuboid optical marker would have at least one of the 6 faces oriented substantially away from the attached tool while all the other faces angled toward to the surgical tool, it should be appreciated that the instant specification fails to provide a special definition or scope of “fac[ing] away” as described in ¶ [0225] with relation to FIG. 23).
With regards to Claim 41, modified Lang teaches of wherein the optically coded patterns are two dimensional barcode patterns (cuboid optical marker with different 2D QR codes on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]) which optically encode planar face identifiers (QR codes can be used to determine the orientation of select surfaces or faces of the geometric shape, i.e. optical encode planar face identifiers; see Lang ¶ [0419]).
With regards to Claim 5, Lang discloses a surgical tool tracking array (an optical marker; see Lang ¶ [0426]) comprising:
a multi-faced reference array (cuboid optical marker with different 2D QR codes on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]);
attachment means which couples a portion of a surgical tool to the surgical tool tracking array (wherein optical marker is attached to a surgical tool; see Lang ¶ [0426 & 0434-0438], wherein the presence of an attachment amounts to an attachment means),
wherein the multi-faced reference array includes a plurality of planar faces, the plurality of planar faces comprise a front square planar face configured to face away from the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder (cuboid {i.e. four side square planar faces} optical marker with different 2D QR codes {i.e. planar} on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an attached cuboid optical marker would have at least one of the 6 faces oriented substantially away from the attached tool while all the other faces angled toward to the surgical tool, it should be appreciated that the instant specification fails to provide a special definition or scope of “fac[ing] away” as described in ¶ [0225] with relation to FIG. 23);
wherein the planar faces further comprise a plurality of side square planar faces each extending from different side edges of the front square planar face and angled toward the surgical tool when coupled to the tool holder (cuboid {i.e. four side square planar faces} optical marker with different 2D QR codes {i.e. planar} on one or more surfaces; see Lang ¶ [0419]; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an attached cuboid optical marker would have at least one of the 6 faces oriented substantially away from the attached tool while all the other faces angled toward to the surgical tool, it should be appreciated that the instant specification fails to provide a special definition or scope of “fac[ing] away” as described in ¶ [0225] with relation to FIG. 23);
wherein the surgical tool tracking array is operationally coupled to a camera tracking system (using a camera system to localize the optical marker; see Lang ¶ [0437]) and a surgical robot (the instruments are attached to robotic arms; see Lang ¶ [0156 & 1368]).
Lang teaches of a magnetic base which is adhesively attached to the skin or surgical drape, said magnetic base for magnetically receiving the optical marker array (see Lang ¶ [0444 & 0446]). Lang also teaches of attaching the optical marker array to surgical tool (see Lang ¶ [0426]). While it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill to combine the magnetic base with the surgical tool to provide a tool holder, it appears that Lang may be silent to wherein the tool holder is configured to space the multi-faced reference array away from a handle of the surgical tool.
However, Yano teaches of surgical knife {i.e. surgical tool} attachment clamp {tool holder} with a cubicle array of markers (see Yano FIGS. 2-3). In particular, FIG. 3 clearly illustrates that the attachment clamp {i.e. tool holder} clearly spaces out the cuboid marker array from the handle {i.e. which is clearly held by the user} of the surgical knife at the distal tip.
Lang and Yano are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of optical tracking surgical tools with navigation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lang to incorporate the above teachings of Yano to provide at least wherein the tool holder is configured to space the multi-faced reference array away from a handle of the surgical tool. Doing so would aid in easy attachment to the knife or other surgical tools (see Yano pg. 609, ¶ 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In particular, Applicant argues that Lang does not teach of a tool holder that is configured to space the multi-faced reference array away from a handle of the surgical tool. The Office agrees. More specifically, the Office contends that it would be obvious to combine Lang’s magnetic base to Lang’s surgical tool for simple reattachment means; however, Lang does not teach of a handle let alone the magnetic base configured to be spaced away from the handle. Therefore, the Office relies on Yano to remedy the deficiencies of Lang.
It should be appreciated that the drawings fail to designate the tool holder and handle. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to recognize how the tool holder would space the reference array from the handle. Moreover, amending both the instant specification and the drawings to support a handle may raise a 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection for the introduction of new matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHISH S. JASANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798