DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 02/16/20226
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-11 have been amended and claim 12 has been added
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination
This action is Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeNola (US 5,529,187 in view of Burda et al. (US 10,906,688).
Claim 1. Kuhn discloses a transport box 100 comprising:
upper and lower openings (fig. 5); and
at least three closure flaps 42, 44, 46, 48, 52, 54, 56, 58 at each of the upper and lower openings, of the box 20,
wherein at least two of the closure flaps 52, 54 of at least one of the upper and lower openings comprise object retaining elements 51, 53 for retaining objects (fig. 1).
Kuhn fails to disclose corresponding coupling tools used to mate the object retaining elements. DeNola discloses a transport box comprising:
wherein a free end of each object retaining element comprises at least one coupling tool 38, 40 configured to couple to a corresponding coupling tool from an opposite object element (col. 3, ll. 9-20; fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the object retaining elements and its placement inside the transport box to include the coupling tools of DeNola to assist in maintaining the position of the retaining elements when loaded with a product.
DeNola discloses openings in the transport box but fails to disclose cuts. Burda teaches wherein each element for retaining objects comprises a plurality of cuts (14a, 14b, 14c) through a flat face of that element for retaining objects (col. 6, ll. 40-50). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the openings of DeNola to include the cuts of Burda.
In order to equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness-type rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Burda represents evidence that cuts in blanks for maintaining the postion of the stored products were art-recognized equivalent structures for object openings. Therefore, because these two holders were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the cut for the wider opening form. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Claim 3. Kuhn-DeNola-Burda discloses the transport box of claim 1, wherein each coupling tool is configured as at least one perpendicular cut to the free end of that object element (DeNola; fig. 2a, 3)
Claim 4. Kuhn-DeNola-Burda discloses the transport box of claim 1, wherein cuts the plurality of cuts are parallel to a fold 96 of a corresponding closure flap (DeNola; fig. 2b).
Claims 5, 8. Kuhn-DeNola-Burda discloses the transport box of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cuts of at least one object retaining element includes a plurality of adjacent cuts that longitudinally extend in a common direction (DeNola; fig. 2b).
Claim 6. Kuhn-DeNola-Burda discloses the transport box of claim 5, wherein each adjacent cut in the plurality of adjacent cuts includes an end point that is horizontally displaced from corresponding end points of adjacent cuts that immediately above and immediately below that adjacent cut within the plurality of adjacent cuts (DeNola; fig. 2b).
Claim 7. Kuhn-DeNola-Burda discloses the transport box of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cuts (14a, 14b, 14c) extends only partially through a complete length of a respective closure flap (DeNola; fig. 2b).
Claim 9. Kuhn-DeNola-Burda discloses the transport box of claim 1, wherein at least one object retaining element is conformed at a respective closure flap (DeNola; fig. 2b).
Claim 10. Kuhn-DeNola-Burda discloses the transport box of claim 1, wherein at least one object retaining element and a surface of a respective closure flap are substantially coextensive in area (DeNola; fig. 2b).
Claim 12. Kuhn-DeNola-Burda disclose the transport box of claim 1, wherein the at least one coupling tool is configured to couple to the corresponding coupling tool displaced from the upper and lower openings within a volume defined by the transport box when the transport box is in an assembled state (DeNola; fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 11 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735