Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10-11, 14-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowdroy (US Patent 4,138,176, published 06 Feb. 1979, hereinafter Cowdroy) in view of Kinoshita et al. (US Patent 4,371,446, published 01 Feb. 1983, hereinafter Kinoshita) and evidence provided by ChemPoint (“Duomeen TDO, paste,” accessed 06 Jan. 2024, hereinafter ChemPoint).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 10-11, 14-17, and 20-21, Cowdroy teaches a drawer mounting arrangement with slider elements (Abstract). Cowdroy teaches the slider elements with blades and grooves (blades – Items 27 and 28, grooves – one formed by Items 14, 18, 19, and 15) is made of nylon (polyamide) (col. 2, lines 46-49 and Figures 2 and 6), which is entirely one of the sliding elements, and the other rail element (Item 10) is made of aluminum (col. 2, lines 22-26 and Figures 1 and 6). Cowdroy’s sliding elements contain grooves and concave surfaces (Figures 1 and 6).
Cowdry does not disclose the use of a lipophilic composition coating.
Kinoshita teaches the use of Duomeen-T-dioleate in a lubricant for metal-plastic and plastic-plastic sliding surfaces (Abstract). Kinoshita teaches lubricant compositions with 85%-100% Duomeen-T-dioleate (Examples 1 and 2).
As evidenced by ChemPoint, Duomeen TDO is oil-soluble (page 1, 1st paragraph); therefore, it is the examiners’ position that this compound is lipophilic, and Duomeen TDO has a non-polar fatty acid tail (page 2, Overview), which means this compound has C6-C40 non-aromatic hydrocarbyl groups.
Given that Cowdroy and Kinoshita are drawn to metal-plastic sliding surfaces, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lipophilic lubricant taught by Kinoshita in the metal-plastic slide taught by Cowdroy. Since Cowdroy and Kinoshita are both drawn to metal-plastic sliding surfaces, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the lipophilic lubricant taught by Kinoshita in the metal-plastic slide taught by Cowdry. Further, Kinoshita teaches his lipophilic lubricant provides superior performance when applied to metal-plastic and plastic-plastic sliding surfaces (Abstract).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowdroy (US Patent 4,138,176, published 06 Feb. 1979, hereinafter Cowdroy) in view of in view of Kinoshita et al. (US Patent 4,371,446, published 01 Feb. 1983, hereinafter Kinoshita) and further in view of Hussein et al. (“Enhancement of the wear resistance and microhardness of aluminum alloy by Nd:Ya:G laser treatment,” Sci.World J., Vol. 2014, published 17 Jul. 2014) and evidence provided by ChemPoint (“Duomeen TDO, paste,” accessed 06 Jan. 2024, hereinafter ChemPoint).
Regarding claim 3, Cowdry in view of Kinoshita teaches the elements of claim 1.
Cowdry in view of Kinoshita does not disclose the Vickers hardness of the aluminum in his rail.
Hussein teaches an aluminum for a sliding member with a Vickers hardness of 98 to 235 kg_f/mm2, or 98 to 235 MPa (page 3, Vickers Hardness Testing section and page 4, Vickers Hardness section).
Given that Cowdroy and Hussein are drawn to aluminum sliding members, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the type of aluminum taught by Hussein in the metal-plastic slide taught by Cowdroy in view of Kinoshita. Since Cowdroy and Hussein are both drawn to aluminum sliding members, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the type of aluminum taught by Hussein in the metal-plastic slide taught by Cowdry in view of Kinoshita. Further, Hussein teaches that as the Vickers hardness of the aluminum increases from 98 to 235 MPa the wear rate of the sliding member decreases (page 4, Wear Rate Results section, 1st paragraph).
Claims 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowdroy (US Patent 4,138,176, published 06 Feb. 1979, hereinafter Cowdroy) in view of in view of Kinoshita et al. (US Patent 4,371,446, published 01 Feb. 1983, hereinafter Kinoshita) and further in view of Suematsu (US Patent 3,755,093, published 28 Aug. 1973, hereinafter Suematsu) and evidence provided by ChemPoint (“Duomeen TDO, paste,” accessed 06 Jan. 2024, hereinafter ChemPoint).
Regarding claims 4 and 6-9, Cowdroy in view of Kinoshita teaches the elements of claim 1.
Cowdroy in view of Kinoshita does not disclose anodizing the aluminum surface, the application of a thermoset acrylic coating via electro coating on the aluminum surface, and the thickness of the polymer coating.
Suematsu teaches the anodization and resin-coating of aluminum surface via electrodeposition of the resin prepolymer (Abstract). The resin is acrylic (col. 1, line 63 col. 2, line 3), and after anodization of the aluminum, the acrylic resin is deposited and then cured on the aluminum (col. 4, lines 11 -17). Suematsu teaches that the resins are thermosets (col. 2, lines 19-20) and heat cured (col. 4, lines 12-15). Suematsu teaches resin coating thicknesses of 7-25 [Symbol font/0x6D]m (col. 6, lines 15-19 and col. 7, lines 23-26).
Given that Cowdroy and Suematsu are drawn to friction involving aluminum elements, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to anodize the aluminum surface and electrodeposit the acrylic resin on the aluminum sliding element as taught by Suematsu onto the low friction aluminum rail of Cowdroy in view of Kinoshita. Since Cowdroy and Suematsu are both drawn to friction involving aluminum elements, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in anodizing the aluminum surface and electrodepositing an acrylic resin on the aluminum sliding element as taught by Suematsu onto the low friction aluminum rail of Cowdroy in view of Kinoshita. Further, Suematsu teaches his method allows for the anodization and electrodeposition resin coating to occur in a single electrolytic bath (col. 1, lines 3-7), and the resin coatings on aluminum resulting from his process were adherent (col. 6, lines 15-18), and the resin coating provides abrasion resistance (col. 4, lines 59-60).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-10, 14-15, 18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-12, and 15-17 of issued US Patent 10,441,069 B2, issued 15 Oct. 2019 (Appl.No.: 15/757,531). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other given that the specific sliding system of the patented claims falls within the broad sliding system of the present claims. The listed claims of the current invention are compared below to the corresponding claims of the issued patent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application 18/779,628
US Patent 10,441,069 B2,
issued 15 Oct. 2019
(Appl.No.: 15/757,531)
1. A sliding system, said sliding system comprising a slide member having a slide surface at least partly coated with a lipophilic composition coating to provide a slide layer with lowered friction, and at least one sliding member, wherein the interface between the slide layer of the slide member and the sliding member forms a bearing to allow for movement of the sliding member along the slide member, wherein at least the part of said sliding member being in contact with the slide layer of the slide member is made of a plastic, and wherein the part of said sliding member to slide over the slide layer is configured as a blade extending in the sliding direction.
2. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the slide member is a slide bar forming a linear slide profile, wherein the interface between the slide layer of the slide bar and the at least one sliding member forms a linear plain bearing to allow for linear movement of the at least one sliding member along the longitudinal axis of the slide bar.
4. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the slide surface is coated with a lacquer comprising a resin and wherein said lacquer in turn is at least partly coated with the lipophilic composition coating.
1. An extendable table sliding system for an extendable table, comprising at least two parts being moveable relative each other and together forming at least a part of the extendable table sliding system, wherein one of said at least two parts comprises at least one sliding surface being coated with a lacquer comprising a resin, wherein said lacquer in turn is at least partly coated with a lipophilic composition coating to provide a slide layer with a lowered friction, wherein the other one of said parts of the extendable table sliding system is provided with at least one sliding member, the interface between the sliding surface and the at least one sliding member forming a linear plain bearing to allow for a relative linear movement of the sliding member along the longitudinal axis of the sliding surface, wherein at least the part of said at least one sliding member being in contact with the sliding surface is made of a plastic.
12. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the part of said at least one sliding member arranged to slide along the sliding surface comprises at least one blade extending in the sliding direction.
8. The slide member according to claim 4, wherein the thickness of the lacquer coated on the slide member is 5 to 75 μm.
16. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the thickness of the lacquer coated on the sliding surface is 100 µm or less.
9. The sliding system according to claim 4, wherein the slide member is an aluminum member, having an anodized oxide surface layer onto which the lacquer is applied, and wherein the surface of the aluminum member has been electrophoretically coated with a resin and subsequently heat cured to form the lacquer coated on the slide surface.
10. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the lipophilic composition coating comprises compounds comprising C6 to C40 non-aromatic hydrocarbyl groups.
17. The sliding system claim 1 , wherein the sliding surface is formed by an aluminum member having a surface onto which the lacquer is applied , and wherein the surface of the aluminum member has been electrophoretically coated with a resin and subsequently heat cured to form the lacquer coated on the sliding surface, and wherein the lipophilic composition coating comprises compounds comprising C6 to C40 non-aromatic hydrocarbyl groups.
14. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein at least the part of said sliding member in contact with the slide layer of the slide member is made of a plastic comprising a polymer selected from the group of polymers consisting of polyoxymethylenes (POM), polyesters, polyamides (PA), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), and Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
10. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein at least the part of said at least one sliding member in contact with the sliding surface is made of a plastic comprising a polymer selected from the group of polymers consisting of polyoxymethylenes (POM), polyesters, polyamides (PA), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), and Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
15. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein said sliding member is in its entirety made from a plastic.
11. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein said at least one sliding member is in its entirety made from a plastic.
18. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the sliding member comprises at least one individual contact point in contact with the slide member at the interface between the slide member and the sliding member, the contact area of each individual contact point being less than 3 mm2.
15. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one sliding member comprises at least one individual contact point in contact with the sliding surface, the contact area of each individual contact point being less than 3 mm2.
20. A sliding system, said system comprising a slide member having a slide surface at least partly coated with a lipophilic composition coating to provide a slide layer with lowered friction, and at least one slide profile, wherein said slide member is a sliding part arranged to slide along the slide profile, wherein at least the part of the slide profile being in contact with the slide layer of the sliding part is made of a plastic, and wherein the part of said profile to slide over the slide layer is configured as a blade extending in the sliding direction, wherein the interface between the slide layer of the sliding part and the slide profile forms a bearing to allow for movement of the sliding part along the slide profile.
1. An extendable table sliding system for an extendable table, comprising at least two parts being moveable relative each other and together forming at least a part of the extendable table sliding system, wherein one of said at least two parts comprises at least one sliding surface being coated with a lacquer comprising a resin, wherein said lacquer in turn is at least partly coated with a lipophilic composition coating to provide a slide layer with a lowered friction, wherein the other one of said parts of the extendable table sliding system is provided with at least one sliding member, the interface between the sliding surface and the at least one sliding member forming a linear plain bearing to allow for a relative linear movement of the sliding member along the longitudinal axis of the sliding surface, wherein at least the part of said at least one sliding member being in contact with the sliding surface is made of a plastic.
12. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the part of said at least one sliding member arranged to slide along the sliding surface comprises at least one blade extending in the sliding direction.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-14, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, and 10-16 of issued US Patent 11,187,020 B2, issued 30 Nov. 2021 (Appl.No.: 15/757,543). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other given that the specific sliding system of the patented claims falls within the broad sliding system of the present claims. The listed claims of the current invention are compared below to the corresponding claims of the issued patent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application 18/779,628
US Patent 11,187,020 B2,
issued 30 Nov. 2021(Appl.No.: 15/757,543)
1. A sliding system, said sliding system comprising a slide member having a slide surface at least partly coated with a lipophilic composition coating to provide a slide layer with lowered friction, and at least one sliding member, wherein the interface between the slide layer of the slide member and the sliding member forms a bearing to allow for movement of the sliding member along the slide member, wherein at least the part of said sliding member being in contact with the slide layer of the slide member is made of a plastic, and wherein the part of said sliding member to slide over the slide layer is configured as a blade extending in the sliding direction.
2. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the slide member is a slide bar forming a linear slide profile, wherein the interface between the slide layer of the slide bar and the at least one sliding member forms a linear plain bearing to allow for linear movement of the at least one sliding member along the longitudinal axis of the slide bar.
4. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the slide surface is coated with a lacquer comprising a resin and wherein said lacquer in turn is at least partly coated with the lipophilic composition coating.
6. The sliding system according to claim 4, wherein the resin of the lacquer is a thermosetting resin.
1. A sliding screen sliding system, comprising a linear slide bar having a slide surface coated with a lacquer comprising a thermosetting resin, wherein said lacquer in turn is at least partly coated with a lipophilic composition coating to provide a slide layer with lowered friction, and at least one sliding member, wherein the linear slide bar and the sliding member are arranged in contact, whereby the interface between the slide layer of the slide bar and the sliding member forms a linear plain bearing to allow for linear movement of the sliding member along the longitudinal axis of the linear slide bar, the sliding member being provided with a fastening arrangement adapted for connection to a sliding screen to allow for linear movement of the sliding screen along the longitudinal axis of the linear slide bar, and wherein at least the part of said sliding member being in contact with the slide layer is made of a plastic.
3. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the part of said sliding member to slide over the slide layer is configured as a blade extending in the sliding direction.
4. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the slide surface is coated with a lacquer comprising a resin and wherein said lacquer in turn is at least partly coated with the lipophilic composition coating.
8. The slide member according to claim 4, wherein the thickness of the
lacquer coated on the slide member is 5 to 75 μm.
11. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the thickness of the lacquer coated on the slide bar is 5 to 75 μm.
7. The slide member according to claim 4, wherein the slide surface has been lacquered by electro coating or autodeposition in a bath containing the lacquer, or by electrostatic coating with the lacquer that is a powder.
10. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the slide surface of the slide bar has been lacquered by electro-coating or autodeposition in a bath containing the lacquer or by electrostatic coating with a powder lacquer.
9. The sliding system according to claim 4, wherein the slide member is an aluminum member, having an anodized oxide surface layer onto which the lacquer is applied, and wherein the surface of the aluminum member has been electrophoretically coated with a resin and subsequently heat cured to form the lacquer coated on the slide surface.
12. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the slide bar is a linear aluminum profile having a surface layer onto which the lacquer is applied, the surface layer being an anodized oxide surface layer, and wherein the surface layer has been electrophoretically coated with an acrylic resin and subsequently heat cured to form the lacquer coated on the slide surface.
10. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the lipophilic composition coating comprises compounds comprising C6 to C40 non-aromatic hydrocarbyl groups.
11. The sliding system according to claim 10, wherein the lipophilic composition coating comprises at least 25 wt.% of compounds comprising C6 to C40 alkyl groups.
12. (Original) The sliding system according to claim 10, wherein the lipophilic composition coating comprises at least 25 wt.% C6 to C40 non-aromatic hydrocarbons, and wherein the lipophilic composition coating comprises triglycerides and/or fatty acids.
13. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the lipophilic composition coating comprises 1 to 40 wt.% triglycerides and/or fatty acids; or wherein the lipophilic composition coating comprises at least 25 wt.% of triglycerides and/or fatty acids.
13. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the lipophilic composition coating present on the lacquer comprises at least 25 wt.%, of compounds comprising C6 to C40 alkyl groups.
14. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the lipophilic composition coating present on the lacquer comprises at least 25 wt.% C6 to C40 non-aromatic hydrocarbons.
15. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the lipophilic composition coating present on the lacquer comprises 1 to 40 wt.%, or at least 25 wt.%, triglycerides and/or fatty acids; and / or wherein the lipophilic composition coating present on the lacquer comprises at least 25 wt.% of triglycerides and / or fatty acids.
14. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein at least the part of said sliding member in contact with the slide layer of the slide member is made of a plastic comprising a polymer selected from the group of polymers consisting of polyoxymethylenes (POM), polyesters, polyamides (PA), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), and Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
16. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein at least the part of said sliding member in contact with the slide layer is made of a plastic comprising a polymer selected from the group of polymers consisting of polyoxymethylenes (POM), polyesters, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyamides (PA), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), and Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
18. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the sliding member comprises at least one individual contact point in contact with the slide member at the interface between the slide member and the sliding member, the contact area of each individual contact point being less than 3 mm2.
19. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the sliding member comprises at least one contact point at which contact is made between the sliding member and the slide member, wherein the contact pressure in said at least one contact point is at least 4 N/mm2.
5. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the sliding member comprises at least one individual contact point in contact with the slide bar at the interface between the slide bar and the sliding member, the contact area of each individual contact point being less than 3 mm2 and / or wherein the sliding member comprises at least one contact point at which contact is made between the sliding member and the slide bar, wherein the contact pressure in said at least the part of said at least one contact point is at least 4 N/m m².
20. A sliding system, said system comprising a slide member having a slide surface at least partly coated with a lipophilic composition coating to provide a slide layer with lowered friction, and at least one slide profile, wherein said slide member is a sliding part arranged to slide along the slide profile, wherein at least the part of the slide profile being in contact with the slide layer of the sliding part is made of a plastic, and wherein the part of said slide profile to slide over the slide layer is configured as a blade extending in the sliding direction, wherein the interface between the slide layer of the sliding part and the slide profile forms a bearing to allow for movement of the sliding part along the slide profile.
1. A sliding screen sliding system, comprising a linear slide bar having a slide surface coated with a lacquer comprising a thermosetting resin, wherein said lacquer in turn is at least partly coated with a lipophilic composition coating to provide a slide layer with lowered friction, and at least one sliding member, wherein the linear slide bar and the sliding member are arranged in contact, whereby the interface between the slide layer of the slide bar and the sliding member forms a linear plain bearing to allow for linear movement of the sliding member along the longitudinal axis of the linear slide bar, the sliding member being provided with a fastening arrangement adapted for connection to a sliding screen to allow for linear movement of the sliding screen along the longitudinal axis of the linear slide bar, and wherein at least the part of said sliding member being in contact with the slide layer is made of a plastic.
3. The sliding system according to claim 1, wherein the part of said sliding member to slide over the slide layer is configured as a blade extending in the sliding direction.
Claims 1, 4, 9-12, 14-15, 18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10-15 of US Patent 10,844,906 B2, issued 24 Nov. 2020. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other given that the specific sliding system of the patented claims falls within the broad sliding system of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-15, 18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-11, 16-17, and 20 of issued US Patent 11,229,286 B2, issued 25 Jan. 2022 (Appl.No.: 15/757,535). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other given that the specific sliding system of the patented claims falls within the broad sliding system of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 15, 18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, and 12 of US Patent 11,933, 358 B2, issued 19 Mar. 2024. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other given that the specific sliding system of the patented claims falls within the broad sliding system of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-16 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of issued US Patent 12,098,747 B2, issued 24 Sep. 2024 (Appl.No.: 18/093,891). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other given that the specific sliding system of the patented claims falls within the broad sliding system of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Campen (“Fundamentals of organic friction modifier behaviour,” PhD Thesis, Imperial College London, published 2012) teaches the reduction of friction with the use of fatty acids containing organic friction modifiers. Davis and McCallister (“Chemical structure of lubricating oils,” Ind.Eng.Chem., Vol. 22, pp. 1326-1329, published Dec. 1930) teaches the composition of lubricating oils. Eriksson (WO 1996/04451, published 15 Feb. 1996, hereinafter Eriksson) teaches a sliding guide rail of plastic in a window or door frame groove (Abstract), and Eriksson’s guide rail contains a blade (Items 7 and 8) inserted into a groove (Item 14) (Figures 2, 3, and 5). Nakajima et al. (JP H05/76447 A, published 30 Mar. 1993, hereinafter Nakajima) teaches a low friction aluminum rail on a linear slide covered with polymeric resin films (Abstract and Figures 1 and 2 in original Japanese patent document).
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787