DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 7-22-24. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0045105 to Bovio et al. (“Bovio”) in view of US 2018/0120010 to CHOU (“CHOU”).
Regarding claim 1, Bovio disclose a system for powering a transport refrigeration unit (TRU) (title, transportation refrigeration unit TRU, fig. 2, [0018], [0029]), the system comprising: one or more batteries configured to supply a DC battery voltage (battery 107); the one or more batteries (Drive 204 connected to battery107) and configured to convert the DC battery voltage to one or more output AC voltages ([0018], [0026], [0022]) for powering a compressor (compressor 103) of the TRU, the soft start inverter initialized in a low voltage/frequency mode in which the one or more output AC voltages comprises a first voltage at a first frequency ([0018] and [0029], lines 33-37, microcontroller 106 can be programmed such that at each compressor 103 motor start, the AC frequency gradually increases from 35 Hz to a required operating frequency (related to a compressor 103 shaft rotation speed) for soft starting); and a controller (microcontroller 106), the controller is configured to initiate a high voltage/frequency mode ([0018], [0029]) by the soft start inverter in which the one or more output AC voltages comprises a second voltage at a second frequency ([0018]), the controller is configured to return the soft start inverter to the low voltage/frequency mode ([0030], microcontroller 106 programmed with the V/f curves or V/f data points for that compressor 103, could determine and set an appropriate frequency of the AC power delivered by an AC drive 204).
But, Bovio does not explicitly discloses a soft start inverter coupled to the soft start inverter, the controller configured to monitor a state of a relay within a compressor contactor in the TRU and a current output by the soft start inverter, wherein: upon determining that the relay within the compressor contactor is in a closed state and the compressor is commanded on and upon determining that the relay within the compressor contactor is in an open state and the current output by the soft start inverter has fallen below a predetermined threshold,
However, CHOU discloses a soft start inverter (fig. 3, 60) coupled to the soft start inverter, the controller configured to monitor a state of a relay ([0021, contact-switch element 32 connects the soft start circuit 60 and [0018], connected to the control coil 31 of the electromagnetic switch 30) within a compressor contactor (fig. 3, electromagnetic switch 30) in the TRU and a current output ([0018], control coil 31 of the electromagnetic switch 30) by the soft start inverter, wherein: upon determining that the relay within the compressor contactor is in a closed state ([0021], contact-switch element 32 connects the soft start circuit 60 and the motor of the compressor 40 to start the compressor 40) and the compressor is commanded on and upon determining that the relay within the compressor contactor is in an open state ([0021]) and the current output by the soft start inverter has fallen below a predetermined threshold ([0019], fig. 5, when current drop and electromagnetic switching open at time T2 and then rest for a period T1),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bovio by adding soft start inverter and relay as part of its configuration as taught by CHOU, in order to reduces power consumption for restarting the compressor within a given period time.
Regarding claim 2, Bovio disclose the first voltage at the first frequency powers components in the TRU other than the compressor ([0018]).
Regarding claim 3, Bovio disclose the first voltage at the first frequency powers a fan (fig. 2, fan 105), a battery charger, and/or a resistive wire heater (104) within the TRU.
Regarding claim 4, Bovio disclose the high voltage/frequency mode powers the compressor and the components in the TRU other than the compressor (fig. 2 and [0018]).
Regarding claim 5, Bovio disclose the first voltage at the first frequency powers the controller (106).
Regarding claim 6, Bovio disclose all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Bovio does not disclose the soft start inverter is the only power connection to the TRU.
However, CHOU disclose the soft start inverter is the only power connection to the TRU (fig. 3, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bovio by adding soft start inverter and relay as part of its configuration as taught by CHOU, in order to reduces power consumption for restarting the compressor within a given period time.
Regarding claim 7, Bovio disclose the claimed invention except for “the first voltage is approximately 350 VAC and the first frequency is approximately 45 Hz.”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular frequency and voltage used would depend on the desired frequency and voltage of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 8, Bovio disclose the second voltage at the second frequency is sufficient for the compressor to operate at its full performance and highest efficiency ([0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Bovio disclose the claimed invention except for “second voltage is approximately 480 VAC and the second frequency is approximately 60 Hz.”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular frequency and voltage used would depend on the desired frequency and voltage of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 10, Bovio disclose the claimed invention except for “the second voltage is approximately 400 VAC and the second frequency is approximately 50 Hz.”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular frequency and voltage used would depend on the desired frequency and voltage of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, Bovio disclose the initiate the high voltage/frequency mode comprises ramping up the first voltage at the first frequency to the second voltage at the second frequency ([0018]).
Regarding claim 12, Bovio disclose the low voltage/frequency mode lowers an inrush current (AC main filter 206) to the compressor and the initiate the high voltage/frequency mode occurs after at least a portion of the inrush current is overcome ([0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Bovio disclose the return to the low voltage/frequency mode comprises ramping down the second voltage at the second frequency to the first voltage at the first frequency ([0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Bovio disclose the claimed invention except for “the predetermined threshold is approximately 4 amps”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular current measurement used would depend on the desired current measurement of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 15, Bovio disclose the soft start inverter provides the one or more output AC voltages to an AC contactor (the prior art is inherently capable connecting AC/AC inverter 101 by 204 to 103) of the TRU.
Regarding claim 16, Bovio disclose the compressor comprises one or more of an AC motor ([0029], compressor 103 motor start), a compressor (103), a single unit comprising an AC motor and compressor, a fan (105), a condenser, an evaporator, and an expansion valve.
Regarding claim 17, Bovio disclose a method for powering a transport refrigeration unit (TRU) (title, transportation refrigeration unit TRU, fig. 2, [0018], [0029]), the method comprising: converting a DC battery voltage to a first AC output having a first voltage at a first frequency ([0018]); and a compressor (compressor 103) of the TRU is commanded on; converting the DC battery voltage to a second AC output having a second voltage at a second frequency ([0018]) that is greater than the first AC output ([0018], different range) to power the compressor (the prior art discloses set an appropriate operating AC Voltage/frequency); and returning to the first AC output (the prior art discloses set an appropriate operating AC Voltage/frequency).
But, Bovio does not disclose explicitly determining that a relay within a compressor contactor is in a closed state; determining that the relay within the compressor contactor is in an open state and a current draw has fallen below a predetermined threshold;
However, CHOU disclose determining that a relay ([0021, contact-switch element 32 connects the soft start circuit 60 and [0018], connected to the control coil 31 of the electromagnetic switch 30) within a compressor contactor (fig. 3, electromagnetic switch 30) is in a closed state ([0021], contact-switch element 32 connects the soft start circuit 60 and the motor of the compressor 40 to start the compressor 40); determining that the relay within the compressor contactor is in an open state ([0021]) and a current draw has fallen below a predetermined threshold ([0019], fig. 5, when current drop and electromagnetic switching open at time T2 and then rest for a period T1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bovio by adding soft start inverter and relay as part of its configuration as taught by CHOU, in order to reduces power consumption for restarting the compressor within a given period time.
Regarding claim 18, Bovio disclose the converting steps are performed by an inverter (AC/AC inverter 101).
Regarding claim 19, Bovio disclose the first AC output powers components in the TRU other than the compressor (the prior art discloses set an appropriate operating AC Voltage/frequency).
Regarding claim 20, Bovio disclose ramping up the first voltage at the first frequency to the second voltage at the second frequency ([0018]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saroka et al. US 2021/0213805 Al- A transportation refrigeration unit (TRU) and power system. The TRU and power system comprising a compressor configured to compress a refrigerant, the compressor having compressor motor configured to drive the compressor, an evaporator heat exchanger operatively coupled to the compressor, an evaporator fan configured to provide return airflow from a return air intake and flow the return airflow over the evaporator heat exchanger, and a return air temperature (RAT) sensor disposed in the return airflow and configured measure the temperature of the return airflow.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836