DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, reads on claims 1-4 and 6 in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Yamaji (US 2020/0044652).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaji discloses a switching control circuit [fig. 3] configured to control switching of a first switching device [QH] on a power supply side [Vdc] and a second switching device [QL] on a ground side [COM], the first and second switching devices being configured to drive a load [external connect to OUT], the first switching device having an electrode [emitter QH] on a low-potential side [VS] thereof, the switching control circuit comprising: a first level shifter circuit [includes Rsf1, Tr1, HVN1, Rls1, par. 0006-0007] including a first resistor [Rsf1] and a first transistor [HVN1]; a driver circuit [DRV] configured to drive the first switching device, in response to an output from the first level shifter circuit [output to INV1]; a first switch [Tr1] connected in parallel with the first resistor; and an ON-OFF control circuit [COMP] configured to turn on the first switch [par. 0050], in response to a voltage at the electrode becoming negative [par. 0008 and 0048-0050].
Regarding claim 2, Yamaji discloses [fig. 3] further comprising : a second level shifter circuit [includes Rsf2, Tr2, HVN2, Rls2, par. 0006-0007] including a second resistor [Rls2] and a second transistor [HVN2], wherein the first level shifter circuit is configured to output a set signal [SET] to switch the first switching device from off to on, the second level shifter circuit is configured to output a reset signal [RST] to switch the first switching device from on to off, and the driver circuit drives the first switching device in response to the set signal and the reset signal.
Regarding claim 3, Yamaji discloses [fig. 3] further comprising: a second switch connected in parallel [Tr2] with the second resistor, wherein the ON-OFF control circuit is configured to turn on the second switch, in response to the voltage at the electrode becoming negative [par. 0008 and 0048-0050].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaji.
Regarding 4, Yamaji discloses all the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above. Yamaji further discloses wherein each of the first transistor and the second transistor is an n-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor (NMOS) transistor [par. 0031], and each of the first switch and the second switch is n-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor (NMOS) transistor [N-channel MOSFET]. Yamaji does not explicitly disclose first switch and the second switch is a p-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor (PMOS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the transistors of Yamaji with an P-type MOSFETs because such a modification would have been merely a replacement with a well-known, art-recognized functionally equivalent transistor device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6. Yamaji discloses [fig. 3], wherein the ON-OFF control circuit includes: a diode element [D4/D5] configured to pass a current when the voltage at the electrode is negative, but is silent with respect to the above structure in combination with a signal output circuit configured to output a signal to turn on the first switch and to keep the first switch on for a predetermined time period, based on the current flowing through the diode element.
Conclusion
/METASEBIA T RETEBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842