DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are pending and have been examined in this application. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 07/22/2024 and 09/11/2024 has/have been taken into account.
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 02/04/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 11-12 have been amended; Claim 5 has been canceled; No claims have been added. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 7, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 11, and 12 each recite “wherein the front faces have an edge and are planarly embodiment”. This should read “wherein the front faces have an edge and are planar” (emphasis added).
Claims 1, 11, and 12 each recite “so that the cable comes in contact”. This should read “so that a cable comes in contact” (emphasis added).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 12 each recite “wherein the front faces have an edge and are planarly embodied, so that the cable comes in contact, firstly, with the edge, then with the front face”. – As the edge is an element of the front face, it is unclear how a cable can come in contact with the edge first.
Claims 2-4 and 6-10 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rapata (US 2,895,003).
In regards to Claim 1, Rapata discloses a housing (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 42) with a cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30), wherein the cable clamp has at least one longitudinal axis, a cable passageway (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 58), a lateral, traversing opening (Rapata: Fig. 4; 80) and three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, 62, C3), wherein the cable passageway extends along the longitudinal axis, wherein the opening laterally opens the cable passageway, wherein the three claws are located at different heights along the longitudinal axis, wherein two of the three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, C3) are so arranged that they are located in a same angular range around the longitudinal axis, and wherein the three claws are so arranged that one claw (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 62) is located in another angular range around the longitudinal axis than the two other claws and along the longitudinal axis at a height between the two other claws, wherein the claws have, in each case, an areal front face (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; F1-F3) and a thereon following chamfering section (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; S1-S3), and wherein the front faces have an edge (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 7; E1-E3) and are planarly embodiment, so that the cable comes in contact, firstly, with the edge, then with the front face and, finally, with the chamfering section of the respective claw.
Regarding Claim 2, Rapata discloses the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30) is composed of a thermoplastic plastic (Rapata: Col. 2, Ln. 25-27).
Regarding Claim 6, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the chamfering sections (Pini: Annotated Fig. 4; C) of the three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, 62, C3) extend, in each case, in a common direction along the longitudinal axis.
In regards to Claim 12, Rapata discloses a cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30) having a longitudinal axis, a cable passageway (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 58), a lateral, traversing opening (Rapata: Fig. 4; 80) and three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, 62, C3), wherein the cable passageway extends along the longitudinal axis, wherein the opening laterally opens the cable passageway, wherein the three claws are located at different heights along the longitudinal axis, wherein two of the three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, C3) are so arranged that they are located in a same angular range around the longitudinal axis, and wherein the three claws are so arranged that one claw (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 62) is located in another angular range around the longitudinal axis than the two other claws and along the longitudinal axis at a height between the two other claws, wherein the claws have, in each case, an areal front face (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; F1-F3) and a thereon following chamfering section (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; S1-S3), and wherein the front faces have an edge (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 7; E1-E3) and are planarly embodied, so that the cable comes in contact, firstly, with the edge, then with the front face and, finally, with the chamfering section of the respective claw.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapata (US 2,895,003) in view of Hultgren (US 2,563,604).
Regarding Claim 3, Rapata discloses the housing as claimed in claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the cable clamp further includes a spring element, and wherein the spring element is so embodied and arranged that the cable clamp is elastically deformable.
However, Hultgren teaches a cable clamp further including a spring element (Hultgren: Fig. 3-4; 12), and wherein the spring element is so embodied and arranged that the cable clamp is elastically deformable.
Rapata and Hultgren are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable clamps/strain relief. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge of the clamp in Rapata with the spring element from Hultgren, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a portion of the clamp that tends to separate its portions, thus further insuring locking engagement of the clamp (Hultgren: Col. 4, Ln. 23-30).
Regarding Claim 4, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 3, wherein the spring element (Hultgren: Fig. 3-4; 12) and the opening (Rapata: Fig. 4; 80) are diametrically opposite from one another.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapata (US 2,895,003) in view of Hultgren (US 2,563,604) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Pini (US 2006/0131073).
Regarding Claim 7, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 6, but fails to disclose the three claws have, in each case, an insert section widening in a direction of the opening.
However, Pini teaches claws (Pini: Fig. 6-7; 43) having, in each case, an insert section (Pini: Annotated Fig. 7; W) widening in a direction of the opening. [Note: See the rejection of claim 5 for motivation.]
Rapata and Pini are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area, e.g. cable clamps/strain relief. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claws in Rapata with the widening portion from Pini, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide claws having a shape which allows a cable to be inserted laterally while providing the desired clamping force when in operation (Pini: [0023]-[0026]), thereby making removal and insertion of the cable easier without affecting performance.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapata (US 2,895,003) in view of Hultgren (US 2,563,604) and Pini (US 2006/0131073) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Sachs (US 3,056,352).
Regarding Claim 8, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 7, but fails to disclose the cable clamp further includes an outside, and wherein the outside is essentially conically tapered.
However, Sachs teaches a cable clamp (Sachs: Fig. 1-3; 17) further includes an outside (Sachs: Fig. 1-3, 9; 19-22), and wherein the outside is essentially conically tapered.
Rapata and Sachs are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable clamps/strain relief. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing and clamp in Rapata with the seat and conical tapering connection from Sachs, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means on the housing and a exterior structure of the cable clamp that resists unwanted axial withdrawal of a cable (Sachs: Col. 5, Ln. 9-29).
Regarding Claim 9, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 8, wherein the housing further includes a seat (Sachs: Fig. 1-3; 18) for the cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30), and wherein the seat has a conically tapered contour (Sachs: Fig. 3; 54).
Regarding Claim 10, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 9, wherein the cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30) further includes a bearing collar (Rapata: Fig. 1-2; 38, 40) and a securement collar (Sachs: Fig. 1-3; 38), wherein the bearing collar and the securement collar extend out from the longitudinal axis, and wherein the seat (Sachs: Fig. 1-3; 18) and the cable clamp are so embodied and adapted to one another that the bearing collar and the securement collar lie in a mounted state of the cable clamp on ends of the seat.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wegemann (US 2013/0057366) in view of Rapata (US 2,895,003).
Regarding Claim 11, Wegemann discloses a device for determining and/or monitoring a process variable of a medium; wherein the device comprises a housing (Wegemann: Fig. 1; 5) and wherein the housing includes a cable strain relief structure (Wegemann: Fig. 1; 8).
Wegemann fails to explicitly disclose a cable clamp, wherein the cable clamp has at least one longitudinal axis, a cable passageway, a lateral, traversing opening and three claws, wherein the cable passageway extends along the longitudinal axis, wherein the opening laterally opens the cable passageway, wherein the three claws are located at different heights along the longitudinal axis, wherein two of the three claws are so arranged that they are located in a same angular range around the longitudinal axis, and wherein the three claws are so arranged that one claw is located in another angular range around the longitudinal axis than the two other claws and along the longitudinal axis at a height between the two other claws. However, Rapata teaches a housing (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 42) with a cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30), wherein the cable clamp has at least one longitudinal axis, a cable passageway (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 58), a lateral, traversing opening (Rapata: Fig. 4; 80) and three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, 62, C3), wherein the cable passageway extends along the longitudinal axis, wherein the opening laterally opens the cable passageway, wherein the three claws are located at different heights along the longitudinal axis, wherein two of the three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, C3) are so arranged that they are located in a same angular range around the longitudinal axis, and wherein the three claws are so arranged that one claw (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 62) is located in another angular range around the longitudinal axis than the two other claws and along the longitudinal axis at a height between the two other claws, wherein the claws have, in each case, an areal front face (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; F1-F3) and a thereon following chamfering section (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; S1-S3), and wherein the front faces have an edge (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 7; E1-E3) and are planarly embodied, so that the cable comes in contact, firstly, with the edge, then with the front face and, finally, with the chamfering section of the respective claw.
Wegemann and Rapata are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area, e.g. cable clamps/strain relief. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing in Wegemann with the cable clamp and seat from Rapata, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a specific structure for taking in mechanical stress on the cable from the outside that effectively prevents the cord from movement and effects this when being inserted into the housing, thereby simplifying assembly (Rapata: Col. 1, Ln. 21-44; Wegemann: [0025]).
Annotated Figures
I: Rapata; Fig. 2
II: Rapata; Fig. 7
III: Hultgren; Fig. 1-2
IV: Pini; Fig. 4
V: Pini; Fig. 7
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631