DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are pending and have been examined in this application. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 07/22/2024 and 09/11/2024 has/have been taken into account.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 08/07/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 11, and 12 have been amended; No claims have been canceled; No claims have been added. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that: “Rapata discloses a grommet that achieves strain relief by forcing a conductor into a recess via a rib when the two body portions are pressed together. Applicant's clamp, however, relies on a frictional retention produced by a three-claw geometry. The three claws of Applicant's disclosure are discrete protrusions, or collar sections, that protrude into the cable passageway from a surface that defines the cable passageway (Application paragraph [0038]). They are situated at three different heights along a longitudinal axis of the clamp, with two of the claws being located in the same angular range and the other of the three claws being located along the longitudinal axis between the other two claws and in another angular range (Application paragraph [0037]. The three claws of Applicant's clamp force multiple direction changes of a cable when the cable is inserted along the cable passageway. Applicant's goal was to improve the connection between the clamp and the cable and the discrete claws provide well defined areas where the claws interact with the cable. This is not possible with a rib and groove arrangement, as disclosed in Rapata. The operating principle of Applicant's clamp is materially different from Rapata's rib and recess conductor fold arrangement.” – Rapata discloses three distinct claws, two of which are situated in the same angular range, that effect a directional change on a cable to clamp said cable. That this clamping is caused by the pressing together of its clamp does not change the fact that the structure of Rapata reads on that which is claimed and the specific clamping function recited in the newly amended claims is effected by the distinct claws of Rapata. As such, the rejection stands. Futhermore, looking to applicant’s specification, it states:
“[0006] The housing of the present disclosure enables connection with a cable and includes a cable clamp. The cable clamp is, in such case, preferably a separate component, which is introducible, or introduced, into the housing. The function of the cable clamp is to assure a cable strain relief. The cable clamp includes, besides a lateral, preferably cable clamp completely traversing opening, a cable passageway. The lateral opening enables introduction of the cable laterally into the cable passageway, thus, without having to lead the cable through the cable passageway. The cable clamp can, thus, be applied on the cable at any position.” (emphasis added)
This indicates that the cable clamp of the instant application is not intended to “force multiple direction changes of a cable when the cable is inserted along the cable passageway” but force these changes when the clamp is laterally inserted onto the cable and then the clamp is inserted into a housing. As such applicant’s arguments in regards to this feature are not persuasive.
Additionally, the amendment has overcome the objections and 112 rejection set forth in the previous action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rapata (US 2,895,003).
In regards to Claim 1, Rapata discloses a housing (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 42) with a cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30), wherein the cable clamp has at least one longitudinal axis, a cable passageway (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 58), a lateral, traversing opening (Rapata: Fig. 4; 80) and three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, 62, C3), wherein the cable passageway extends along the longitudinal axis, wherein the opening laterally opens the cable passageway, wherein the three claws are located at different heights along the longitudinal axis, wherein two of the three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, C3) are so arranged that they are located in a same angular range around the longitudinal axis, and wherein the three claws are so arranged that one claw (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 62) is located in another angular range around the longitudinal axis than the two other claws and along the longitudinal axis at a height between the two other claws, wherein the claws have, in each case, an areal front face (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; F1-F3) and a thereon following chamfering section (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; S1-S3), wherein the claws are discrete, and wherein the cable clamp uses multiple direction changes of a cable, effected by the claws, to achieve clamping (Rapata: Fig. 2; shows effected direction change).
Regarding Claim 2, Rapata discloses the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30) is composed of a thermoplastic plastic (Rapata: Col. 2, Ln. 25-27).
Regarding Claim 6, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the chamfering sections (Pini: Annotated Fig. 4; C) of the three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, 62, C3) extend, in each case, in a common direction along the longitudinal axis.
In regards to Claim 12, Rapata discloses a cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30) having a longitudinal axis, a cable passageway (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 58), a lateral, traversing opening (Rapata: Fig. 4; 80) and three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, 62, C3), wherein the cable passageway extends along the longitudinal axis, wherein the opening laterally opens the cable passageway, wherein the three claws are located at different heights along the longitudinal axis, wherein two of the three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, C3) are so arranged that they are located in a same angular range around the longitudinal axis, and wherein the three claws are so arranged that one claw (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 62) is located in another angular range around the longitudinal axis than the two other claws and along the longitudinal axis at a height between the two other claws, wherein the claws are discrete, and wherein the cable clamp uses multiple direction changes of a cable, effected by the claws, to achieve clamping (Rapata: Fig. 2; shows effected direction change).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapata (US 2,895,003) in view of Hultgren (US 2,563,604).
Regarding Claim 3, Rapata discloses the housing as claimed in claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the cable clamp further includes a spring element, and wherein the spring element is so embodied and arranged that the cable clamp is elastically deformable.
However, Hultgren teaches a cable clamp further including a spring element (Hultgren: Fig. 3-4; 12), and wherein the spring element is so embodied and arranged that the cable clamp is elastically deformable.
Rapata and Hultgren are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable clamps/strain relief. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge of the clamp in Rapata with the spring element from Hultgren, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a portion of the clamp that tends to separate its portions, thus further insuring locking engagement of the clamp (Hultgren: Col. 4, Ln. 23-30).
Regarding Claim 4, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 3, wherein the spring element (Hultgren: Fig. 3-4; 12) and the opening (Rapata: Fig. 4; 80) are diametrically opposite from one another.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapata (US 2,895,003) in view of Hultgren (US 2,563,604) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Pini (US 2006/0131073).
Regarding Claim 7, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 6, but fails to disclose the three claws have, in each case, an insert section widening in a direction of the opening.
However, Pini teaches claws (Pini: Fig. 6-7; 43) having, in each case, an insert section (Pini: Annotated Fig. 7; W) widening in a direction of the opening. [Note: See the rejection of claim 5 for motivation.]
Rapata and Pini are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area, e.g. cable clamps/strain relief. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claws in Rapata with the widening portion from Pini, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide claws having a shape which allows a cable to be inserted laterally while providing the desired clamping force when in operation (Pini: [0023]-[0026]), thereby making removal and insertion of the cable easier without affecting performance.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapata (US 2,895,003) in view of Hultgren (US 2,563,604) and Pini (US 2006/0131073) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Sachs (US 3,056,352).
Regarding Claim 8, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 7, but fails to disclose the cable clamp further includes an outside, and wherein the outside is essentially conically tapered.
However, Sachs teaches a cable clamp (Sachs: Fig. 1-3; 17) further includes an outside (Sachs: Fig. 1-3, 9; 19-22), and wherein the outside is essentially conically tapered.
Rapata and Sachs are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable clamps/strain relief. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing and clamp in Rapata with the seat and conical tapering connection from Sachs, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means on the housing and a exterior structure of the cable clamp that resists unwanted axial withdrawal of a cable (Sachs: Col. 5, Ln. 9-29).
Regarding Claim 9, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 8, wherein the housing further includes a seat (Sachs: Fig. 1-3; 18) for the cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30), and wherein the seat has a conically tapered contour (Sachs: Fig. 3; 54).
Regarding Claim 10, Rapata, as modified, teaches the housing as claimed in claim 9, wherein the cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30) further includes a bearing collar (Rapata: Fig. 1-2; 38, 40) and a securement collar (Sachs: Fig. 1-3; 38), wherein the bearing collar and the securement collar extend out from the longitudinal axis, and wherein the seat (Sachs: Fig. 1-3; 18) and the cable clamp are so embodied and adapted to one another that the bearing collar and the securement collar lie in a mounted state of the cable clamp on ends of the seat.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wegemann (US 2013/0057366) in view of Rapata (US 2,895,003).
Regarding Claim 11, Wegemann discloses a device for determining and/or monitoring a process variable of a medium; wherein the device comprises a housing (Wegemann: Fig. 1; 5) and wherein the housing includes a cable strain relief structure (Wegemann: Fig. 1; 8).
Wegemann fails to explicitly disclose a cable clamp, wherein the cable clamp has at least one longitudinal axis, a cable passageway, a lateral, traversing opening and three claws, wherein the cable passageway extends along the longitudinal axis, wherein the opening laterally opens the cable passageway, wherein the three claws are located at different heights along the longitudinal axis, wherein two of the three claws are so arranged that they are located in a same angular range around the longitudinal axis, and wherein the three claws are so arranged that one claw is located in another angular range around the longitudinal axis than the two other claws and along the longitudinal axis at a height between the two other claws, wherein the claws have, in each case, an areal front face and a thereon following chamfering section, wherein the claws are discrete, and wherein the cable clamp uses multiple direction changes of a cable, effected by the claws, to achieve clamping. However, Rapata teaches a housing (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 42) with a cable clamp (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 30), wherein the cable clamp has at least one longitudinal axis, a cable passageway (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 58), a lateral, traversing opening (Rapata: Fig. 4; 80) and three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, 62, C3), wherein the cable passageway extends along the longitudinal axis, wherein the opening laterally opens the cable passageway, wherein the three claws are located at different heights along the longitudinal axis, wherein two of the three claws (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; C1, C3) are so arranged that they are located in a same angular range around the longitudinal axis, and wherein the three claws are so arranged that one claw (Rapata: Fig. 1-4; 62) is located in another angular range around the longitudinal axis than the two other claws and along the longitudinal axis at a height between the two other claws, wherein the claws have, in each case, an areal front face (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; F1-F3) and a thereon following chamfering section (Rapata: Annotated Fig. 2; S1-S3), wherein the claws are discrete, and wherein the cable clamp uses multiple direction changes of a cable, effected by the claws, to achieve clamping (Rapata: Fig. 2; shows effected direction change).
Wegemann and Rapata are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area, e.g. cable clamps/strain relief. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing in Wegemann with the cable clamp and seat from Rapata, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a specific structure for taking in mechanical stress on the cable from the outside that effectively prevents the cord from movement and effects this when being inserted into the housing, thereby simplifying assembly (Rapata: Col. 1, Ln. 21-44; Wegemann: [0025]).
Annotated Figures
I: Rapata; Fig. 2
II: Rapata; Fig. 7
III: Hultgren; Fig. 1-2
IV: Pini; Fig. 4
V: Pini; Fig. 7
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631