,14,15 DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 07/22/2024. Claims 1-19 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,083,018. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 1-6, patent claims 1-6 respectively recite the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10 & 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davenport et al. (UA 9,763,806).
Regarding Claim 1, the examiner notes that the rim plate and acetabular shell are never positively claimed. Therefore, the structures and limitations directed to both the rim plate and the acetabular shell are given little weight. Applicant is reminded that, per MPEP 2114, apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Davenport teaches an acetabular shell insertion tool (20) comprising:
an outer shaft (40) having an anti-rotation projection (78) fully capable of being shaped to be received by an anti-rotation recess having a predetermined shape disposed around a center hole of a rim plate configured to rest on an acetabular shell, wherein the anti-rotation projection has the predetermined shape (Figs 1-3) fully capable of preventing rotation of the outer shaft relative to the rim plate and the acetabular shell; and
an inner shaft (22) disposed in the outer shaft (Fig 2) and having a threaded (28) tip (26) fully capable of being threaded into internal threading of the center hole of the acetabular shell to lock the insertion tool to the acetabular shell,
wherein the rim plate is fully capable of comprising a threaded center hole fully capable of threadably receiving the threaded tip of the insertion tool.
Regarding Claim 2, Davenport teaches wherein the anti-rotation recess (of the non-positively claimed rim plate) is fully capable of including a round recess and a plurality of uniformly spaced cavities extending radially from a central axis of the center hole.
Regarding Claim 3, Davenport teaches wherein the anti-rotation recess (of the non-positively claimed rim plate) is fully capable of including a square-shaped recess.
Regarding Claim 7, Davenport teaches wherein: the rim plate (non-positively claimed) is fully capable of including a plurality of anti-rotation tabs; the acetabular shell (non-positively claimed) is fully capable of including a plurality of anti-rotation recesses that mate with corresponding anti-rotation tabs of the rim plate.
Regarding Claim 8, the examiner notes that the acetabular shell is never positively claimed. Therefore, the structures and limitations directed to both the rim plate and the acetabular shell are given little weight. Applicant is reminded that, per MPEP 2114, apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Davenport teaches an acetabular shell insertion tool (20) comprising:
an outer shaft (40) having an anti-rotation projection (78) fully capable of being shaped to be received by an anti-rotation recess having a predetermined shape disposed around a center hole of an acetabular shell, wherein the anti-rotation projection has the predetermined shape (Figs 1-3) fully capable of preventing rotation of the outer shaft relative to the acetabular shell;
an inner shaft (22) disposed in the outer shaft (Fig 2) and comprising a threaded (28) tip (26) at a distal end and an impactor head (48) extending out of the outer shaft at a proximal end, wherein the threaded tip is fully capable of being threaded into internal threading of the center hole of the acetabular shell to lock the insertion tool to the acetabular shell,
wherein the inner shaft (22) is captured in the outer shaft (40) by a pin (shown) housed within an annular recess defined by two stops (shown) along the distal end of the inner shaft.
Regarding Claim 9, Davenport teaches wherein the anti-rotation recess (of the non-positively claimed acetabular shell) is fully capable of including a round recess and a plurality of uniformly spaced cavities extending radially from a central axis of the center hole.
Regarding Claim 10, Davenport teaches wherein the anti-rotation recess (of the non-positively claimed acetabular shell) is fully capable of including a square-shaped recess.
Regarding Claim 13, Davenport teaches wherein a distal end of the insertion tool (20) is fully capable of passing through a rim plate (not positively claimed), wherein the rim plate is fully capable of resting on an acetabular shell, and wherein the rim plate is fully capable of comprising a threaded center hole adapted to threadably receive the threaded tip of the inner shaft of the insertion tool.
Regarding Claim 14, Davenport teaches wherein the rim plate (not positively claimed) is fully capable of including a plurality of anti-rotation tabs, and the acetabular shell is fully capable of including a plurality of anti-rotation recesses that mate with corresponding anti-rotation tabs of the rim plate.
Regarding Claim 15, Davenport teaches an acetabular shell insertion system (Figs 103) comprising:
an acetabular shell (72) including:
a center hole (shown) having an internal threading (Col 3: lines 6-7);
an anti-rotation recess (concave aspect of the shell) disposed around the center hole and having a predetermined shape;
an insertion tool (20) including:
an outer shaft (40) having an anti-rotation projection (shown) shaped to be received by an anti-rotation recess having a predetermined shape disposed around a center hole of an acetabular shell, wherein the anti-rotation projection has the predetermined shape so as to prevent rotation of the outer shaft relative to the acetabular shell (as it is threaded);
an inner shaft (22) disposed in the outer shaft (Figs 1-3) and comprising a threaded tip (26/28) at a distal end and an impactor head (48) extending out of the outer shaft at a proximal end, wherein the threaded tip is adapted to be threaded into internal threading of the center hole of the acetabular shell (Figs 2-3) to lock the insertion tool to the acetabular shell,
wherein the inner shaft is captured in the outer shaft by a pin (shown) housed within an annular recess defined by two stops (shown) along the distal end of the inner shaft.
Claim(s) 1 & 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WITT et al. (US 2014/0228854).
Regarding Claim 1, the examiner notes that the rim plate and acetabular shell are never positively claimed. Therefore, the structures and limitations directed to both the rim plate and the acetabular shell are given little weight. Applicant is reminded that, per MPEP 2114, apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Witt teaches an acetabular shell insertion tool (Fig 4) comprising:
an outer shaft (220) having an anti-rotation projection (222) fully capable of being shaped to be received by an anti-rotation recess having a predetermined shape disposed around a center hole of a rim plate configured to rest on an acetabular shell, wherein the anti-rotation projection has the predetermined shape (Fig 4) fully capable of preventing rotation of the outer shaft relative to the rim plate and the acetabular shell; and
an inner shaft (240) disposed in the outer shaft (Figs 4-6) and having a threaded (284) tip fully capable of being threaded into internal threading of the center hole of the acetabular shell to lock the insertion tool to the acetabular shell,
wherein the rim plate is fully capable of comprising a threaded center hole fully capable of threadably receiving the threaded tip of the insertion tool.
Regarding Claim 4, WITT teaches wherein the tool (Fig 4) further comprises a spring (226) disposed between the outer shaft and the inner shaft (Figs 5-6) to provide a bias to urge the inner shaft proximally away from the center hole of the acetabular shell.
Regarding Claim 5, WITT teaches wherein: the outer shaft (220) includes a stop (shown) disposed around the inner shaft; the inner shaft includes an annular stop (shown) disposed inside the outer shaft, the outer shaft stop and the annular stop defining a channel within which the spring is disposed (Fig 5).
Regarding Claim 6, WITT teaches wherein the inner shaft includes an impaction head (246) at its proximal end.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 & 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774