Priority
This Application is a CON of U.S. Application No. 17/983,971, filed Nov. 9, 2022 and U.S. Application No. 16723,626, filed Dec. 20, 2019, and claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/784,270, filed Dec. 21, 2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 22, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-21 are currently pending and subject to examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
“(b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.”
“The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.”
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claims 1 and 10 are unclear because the phrase “at elevated risk… as compared to other Cushing’s syndrome patients” (claims 1 and 10) is a relative phrase which has no standard for determining its scope. The claims do not identify which other Cushing’s syndrome patients serve as the reference population, or how much greater a risk counts as “elevated.” Cushing’s syndrome patients as a class are already hypercoagulable relative to the general population (Specification, ¶¶ [0002]-[0004]). The specification describes determining elevated risk only by comparison to normal values (¶¶ [0026], [0035], [0071]-[0072]). It provides no baseline, threshold or methodology for comparing one Cushing’s syndrome patient to others. A skilled artisan therefore could not determine whether a given patient meets this limitation.
One of ordinary skill in the art can further not determine the metes and bounds of claims 2 and 11 because claims 2 and 11 specify that the elevated risk is determined by comparing a measured marker “to normal values of said blood clotting marker” however their parent claims require elevated risk “as compared to other Cushing’s syndrome patients.” These are different reference standards because a patient whose markers exceed normal values but are typical of Cushing’s syndrome patients would satisfy claims 2 and 11 but not claims 1 and 10. It is therefore unclear whether claims 2 and 11 properly include every limitation of their parent claims.
There is also an internal inconsistency in claims 2 and 11 because claims 2 and 11 recite “measuring a blood clotting marker or identifying a blood clot,” and then “comparing the measured blood clotting marker to normal values.” When the “identifying a blood clot” alternative is selected, no marker has been measured, so there is nothing to compare. The claims also recite “decreased blood clotting time” without antecedent basis. It is unclear whether clotting time is one of the “blood clotting markers” and what the test is. The specification describes several clotting measurements such as APTT, and these have different normal ranges.
Claim 11 raises a further internal inconsistency because it recites that the “presence of a blood clot” determines that the patient is at elevated risk of developing DVT, PE or VTE. If the identified clot itself is a DVT or a thromboembolism, the patient already has the condition that the claim purports to reduce the risk of developing. It is unclear whether claim 11 covers treating an existing thrombotic event or only reducing the risk of a future one.
The phrase “said GRM administration comprising a first anticoagulation therapy” (claims 1, 9, 10 and 19) is also unclear. It is unclear whether this phrase means that (i) the GRM administration itself is the first anticoagulation therapy or (ii) the GRM administration includes, as a component, a separate first anticoagulation therapy. The word “comprising” suggests the second reading. The specification instead states that “the first anticoagulation therapy comprises relacorilant administration” (¶[0026]). This ambiguity carries into claims 9 and 19 which add a “second anticoagulation therapy.” It is unclear whether those claims require one or two additional agents.
Claims 1 and 10 are also indefinite because there is an undefined comparator in the “whereby” clauses. Claims 1 and 10 require that the risk be reduced “as compared to the risk … in a Cushing’s syndrome patient who has not received said first anticoagulation therapy.” The claims do not identify a comparator patient. It is unclear whether the comparator patient must also be “at elevated risk,” and whether the comparator may have received surgery, conventional anticoagulant prophylaxis, or other Cushing’s syndrome treatments. The choice matters because thrombotic risk in Cushing’s syndrome varies depending on treatment. Van der Pas et al. Clin. Endocrinol. 78:481-488 (2013) (of record, IDS cite no. 34) at 482, report VTE in 20% of patients without postoperative prophylaxis versus 6% of patients given unfractionated heparin. The claims also compare the risk of an individual patient to the risk of another hypothetical patient, and the specification does not explain how that comparison would be made in practice.
Separately, claim 1 refers to the “risk of hypercoagulopathy” (preamble), the “risk of suffering from hypercoagulopathy” (determining step), and “said risk of developing hypercoagulopathy” (whereby clause). It is unclear whether these three phrases refer to the same risk.
Claim 10 is also indefinite because it is garbled and the scope of the determining step cannot be ascertained. Claim 10 recited determining that the patient “is at elevated risk of suffering from at risk of developing DVT, PE, or VTE.”
Claim 11 recites the limitation "said determining that said patient is at elevated risk of suffering from hypercoagulopathy". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 contains no step of determining risk of hypercoagulopathy. Its determining step concerns CVT, PE or VTE. The phrase therefore lacks antecedent basis. Claim 11 then concludes that the markers determine elevated risk of “developing DVT, PE, or VTE” which makes it unclear which risk is being determined.
The metes and bounds of claims 20 and 21 are unclear because claims 20 and 21 recite that risk is reduced “at one month of medical treatment” but neither the claims nor their parents recite “medical treatment.” It is unclear whether it refers to the first GRM administration, the first anticoagulation therapy, or treatment more broadly.
These claims further compare the risk to that of “a Cushing’s syndrome patient who has received surgical treatment” one month after surgery. They do not specify whether that patient received perioperative or postoperative thromboprophylaxis. They also do no specify the type of surgery, such as transsphenoidal versus adrenal, or whether the surgery was curative. The art shows that post operative VTE risk depends heavily on each of these variables. Van der Pas at 482 reports 3.4% VTE after transsphenoidal surgery versus 0 of 113 ACTH-independent patients after adrenal surgery, and at 486 reports markedly lower rates with prophylaxis. The metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined because the comparator’s risk varies widely within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claims 3-5, 7-9, 12, 13 and 15-19 are rejected as depending from rejected claims and failing to cure the deficiencies noted above.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(d)
“(d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.”
“Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.”
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 11 upon which it depends because claim 11 already requires that the patient has Cushing’s syndrome. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
The following interpretations apply to all prior art rejections below, notwithstanding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth above.
Interpretation of “said GRM administration comprising a first anticoagulation therapy.” Consistent with the specification, which states that “the first anticoagulation therapy comprises relacorilant administration” (¶[0026]), this phrase is interpreted as charactering the administration of the recited GRM as the “first anticoagulation therapy.” It does not require any additional step. Because claim 1 uses the open transitional term “comprising,” the claimed method does not exclude additional steps, including administering conventional anticoagulation therapy.
Interpretation of “whereby” clauses. The “whereby” clauses of claims 1, 10, 20 and 21 recite the result of administering the recited GRM to the recited patient population. A “whereby” clause that merely states the result of a positively recited step is given no patentable weight (MPEP § 2111.04). Alternatively, to the extent that the clauses are limiting, the recited result necessarily flows from performing the recited steps. Discovering a property or result of a known method does not render the method patentable. The specification itself asserts that administering the recited GRMs, including mifepristone, produces the claimed reduction risk (¶¶ [0008]-[0009]). Where the prior art discloses the same steps performed with the same compound on the same patient population, the burden shifts to Applicant to show that the prior art method does not necessarily produce the same result (MPEP § 2112.01).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
“A person shall be entitled to a patent unless -
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nieman et al. (The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism, Volume 100, Issue 8, August 2015, Pages 2807–2831, Published August 1, 2015) (of record, IDS cite no. 28) as evidenced by “FDA Prescribing Information for Korlym™ (Mifepristone) 300 mg tablet” (Initial U.S Approval: 2000, Label Published: February 2012) (of record, cite no. 13).
Claim 1 recites:
A method of reducing the risk of hypercoagulopathy in a Cushing's syndrome patient, the method comprising:
determining that said patient is at elevated risk of suffering from hypercoagulopathy as compared to other Cushing's syndrome patients,
administering an effective amount of a glucocorticoid receptor modulator (GRM) to said patient, wherein said GRM is selected from mifepristone, relacorilant, CORT122928, and CORT113176, said GRM administration comprising a first anticoagulation therapy,
whereby said risk of developing hypercoagulopathy is reduced as compared to the risk of developing hypercoagulopathy in a Cushing's syndrome patient who has not received said first anticoagulation therapy.
Claim 1.
Nieman is the Endocrine Society Clinical Practice Guidelines for the treatment of Cushing’s syndrome (CS). Nieman recommends evaluating CS patients for risk factors of venous thrombosis.
“2.4 We suggest evaluating CS patients for risk factors of venous thrombosis. (2|⊕⊕○○)
2.5 In patients with CS undergoing surgery, we suggest perioperative prophylaxis for venous thromboembolism. (2|⊕⊕○○)”
Nieman et al., page 2808 (emphasis added).
“Hypercortisolism alters coagulation-factor profiles for up to 1 year after a surgical cure (21) and carries an increased risk of venous thrombosis, especially in the 4 weeks after surgery (21–24). Clinicians caring for patients with CS should be aware of this increased risk, should evaluate their patients for thrombosis and bleeding (25, 26), and should consider anticoagulation treatments. Clinicians should treat all other comorbidities aggressively and seek appropriate consultations (including rehabilitation medicine). We suggest that patients receive written information regarding their disorder.
We recommend initial resection of primary lesion(s) underlying Cushing's disease (CD), ectopic and adrenal (cancer, adenoma, and bilateral disease) etiologies, unless surgery is not possible or is unlikely to significantly reduce glucocorticoid excess (Figure 1). (1|⊕⊕⊕⊕)”
Nieman et al., page 2812 (emphasis added);
Nieman further teaches that CS patients who present with life threatening complications, including pulmonary thromboembolism, require urgent treatment of hypercortisolism within 24-72 hours. The associated disorder should be addressed as well, for example with anticoagulation, and anticoagulation prophylaxis is suggested especially for bedridden or low-mobility patients or those with UFC more than 5-fold normal. Nieman teaches that mifepristone is suitable for this urgent treatment:
“We recommend urgent treatment (within 24–72 h) of hypercortisolism if life-threatening complications of CS such as infection, pulmonary thromboembolism, cardiovascular complications, and acute psychosis are present. (1|⊕⊕⊕○). The associated disorder(s) should be addressed as well (eg, anticoagulation, antibiotics).
Severe hypercortisolism may be a life-threatening condition that mandates immediate treatment, regardless of whether all diagnostic tests are completed. Most of these patients have ectopic ACTH syndrome associated with serious comorbidities including infections, pulmonary thromboembolism, and cardiovascular problems. However, sometimes relatively modest hypercortisolism due to CD can cause acute psychosis with a high suicide risk, so that prompt resolution of excess cortisol is imperative.
In addition to pulmonary thromboembolism and infections, patients may experience acute heart and respiratory failure, peritonitis due to gut perforation, pancreatitis, and untreatable psychosis (173, 208). Typical signs of bowel perforation, such as rebound, guarding, loss of bowel sounds, fever, and elevated white blood cell count may be lacking due to hypercortisolism.
Many experienced clinicians suggest specific treatments for each condition (eg, anticoagulation prophylaxis and prophylaxis for Pneumocystis jiroveci with trimethoprim-sulfamethoxazole [or dapsone in patients with sulfa allergies]), especially for bedridden or low-mobility patients or those with UFC > 5-fold normal. Immediate efforts to reduce cortisol may be lifesaving. Some patients who are seriously ill with comorbidities and have very high UFC levels need intensive care unit management with a multidisciplinary approach that includes experienced endocrinologists…
The rapid onset of action of mifepristone is compatible with its use in life-threatening hypercortisolism (211).”
Nieman et al., pages 2824-2825 (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Nieman teaches a method of reducing the risk of hypercoagulopathy in a Cushing’s syndrome patient. The method comprises:
Determining that the patient is at elevated risk of hypercoagulopathy compared with other Cushing’s syndrome patients. Nieman teaches evaluating patients for venous thrombosis risk factors (Rec. 2.4). They further identify patients presenting with pulmonary thromboembolism, and patients who are bedridden, have low mobility, or have UFC more than 5-fold normal, as patients requiring anticoagulation measures (pp. 2824-2825). Identifying such patients is determining they are at elevated risk compared with other CS patients.
Administering an effective amount of mifepristone to said patient. Nieman teaches urgent treatment of hypercortisolism in these patients and teaches that mifepristone’s rapid onset of action is compatible with its use in life-threatening hypercortisolism (p. 2825).
The “whereby” clause is either not limiting or is necessarily met, for the reasons set forth in the claim interpretation section above.
Nieman et al., page 2818.
Although the relevant teachings appear across adjacent passages, a skilled artisan reading Nieman would “at once envisage” evaluating a CS patient for thrombotic risk, identifying a patient with thromboembolism or high-risk features and treating that patient’s hypercortisolism with mifepristone. See, e.g., Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., No. 14-1350 (Fed. Cir. Mar. 25, 2015). Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the Korlym label evidences that mifepristone is administered orally as a tablet:
FDA Prescribing Information for Korlym™ (Mifepristone) 300 mg tablet, page 1.
Therefore, claims 3 and 12 are anticipated.
Regarding claim 5, Nieman teaches that the GRM is mifepristone (p. 2825). Therefore, claim 5 is anticipated.
Regarding claim 9, Nieman teaches that the associated disorder should be addressed as well, including with anticoagulation therapy and anticoagulation prophylaxis (pp. 2824-2825). This is a second anticoagulation therapy. Therefore, claim 9 is anticipated.
Regarding claim 10, the teachings applied to claim 1 are incorporated herein. A CS patient presenting with pulmonary thromboembolism or with the high risk features identified by Nieman, is at elevated risk of developing CVT, PE, or VTE, including recurrent or propagating thromboembolism, compared with other CS patients. Nieman teaches treating that patient’s hypercortisolism with mifepristone. Therefore, claim 10 is anticipated.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
“A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.”
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 10-13, 15, 19 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nieman et al. (The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism, Volume 100, Issue 8, August 2015, Pages 2807–2831, Published August 1, 2015) as evidenced by “FDA Prescribing Information for Korlym™ (Mifepristone) 300 mg tablet” (Initial U.S Approval: 2000, Label Published: February 2012), as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 10 and 12 above, and further in view of van der Pas et al. (Clinical Endocrinology, Vol. 78, 2013, pp. 481-488) (of record, IDS cite no. 34).
The rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 10 and 12 above is incorporated herein by reference. As such claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 10 and 12 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Nieman teaches evaluating CS patients for thrombotic risk and administering mifepristone to patients with thromboembolism or high risk features, as stated above in the 102 rejection. Nieman also teaches identifying a blood clot, since the patients present with pulmonary thromboembolism (pp. 2824-2825).
While Nieman does not explicitly teach that evaluating thrombotic risk is measuring a blood clotting marker and comparing it to normal values, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to evaluate for thrombotic risk by measuring and comparing clotting markers because doing so was commonly known in the art to identify hypercoagulability in CS patients.
For example, van der Pas teaches that the most consistent hemostatic findings in CS are a shortened aPTT (decreased clotting time), elevated Factor VIII, fibrogen, vWF and PAI-1, measured against control values:
Van der Pas, Table 2, p. 484.
Therefore, claims 2 and 11 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 4, Nieman teaches administering a glucocorticoid antagonist to patients with persistent disease after transsphenoidal surgery (TSS), i.e. patients with Cushing’s disease (CD): “We suggest administering a glucocorticoid antagonist in patients with diabetes or glucose intolerance who are not surgical candidates or who have persistent disease after TSS. (2QQQE)” (p. 2818).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to apply Nieman’s method to a CD patient because CD is commonly known in the art to be the most frequent cause of CS and to carry a pronounced thrombotic risk.
For example, van der Pas teaches that CD accounts for approximately 70% of CS cases (p. 481, col. 2), that 27 of 29 patients who developed VTE in one cohort had CD (p. 482, col. 1), and that VTE occurs after TSS for CD up to two months postoperatively (id., col. 2). Therefore, claim 4 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Regarding claims 13, 15 and 19, the teachings applied to claims 5, 9 and 11 are incorporated herein. Nieman teaches a CS patient (claim 13), mifepristone (claim 15) and a second anticoagulation therapy (claim 19). Therefore, claims 13, 15 and 19 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, these claims recite that the risk is reduced at one month of medical treatment compared with the risk, one month after surgery, in a CS patient who received surgical treatment. For the reasons set forth in the claim interpretation section, these clauses state the result of the positively recited steps. In addition, the recited comparative result would have been reasonably expected. Nieman teaches that CS carries an increased risk of thrombosis, particularly in the 4 weeks after surgery (p. 2812). Van der Pas teaches that postoperative VTE risk in CD is comparable to that after major orthopedic surgery (p. 482) and that most postoperative VTE occurs within the first weeks after surgery (p. 486). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have expected a medically treated patient who has not undergone surgery, and who is receiving mifepristone treatment, to have lower thrombotic risk at one month than a patient at one month post-surgery, which is within the peak post-operative risk period. Therefore, claims 20-21 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13 and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nieman et al. (The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism, Volume 100, Issue 8, August 2015, Pages 2807–2831, Published August 1, 2015) in view of van der Pas et al. (Clinical Endocrinology, Vol. 78, 2013, pp. 481-488), as applied to claims 1-5, 9, 10-13, 15, 19 and 20-21 above, and further in view of Hunt et al. (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Volume 60, No. 8, 2017, 3405–3421, Published April 3, 2017) (of record, IDS cite no. 25).
The rejection of claims 1-5, 9, 10-13, 15, 19 and 20-21 above is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Nieman teaches evaluating CS patients for thrombotic risk and administering a glucocorticoid receptor antagonist, together with anticoagulation, to CS patients with thromboembolism or high risk features, as set forth above.
While Nieman does not teach that the GRM is relacorilant, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in substituting relacorilant for mifepristone because relacorilant was commonly known in the art as a selective GR antagonist developed to provide the beneficial effects of mifepristone without its progesterone receptor-mediated side effects.
For example, see the teachings of Hunt:
“Currently, there are two United States (U.S.) Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved medical therapies for the treatment of endogenous Cushing’s syndrome. The first is mifepristone (Figure 1), a nonselective GR antagonist, which has been approved for use in selected adult patients with endogenous Cushing’s syndrome who have type 2 diabetes mellitus or glucose intolerance and have failed surgery or are not candidates for surgery.
As noted above, Cushing’s syndrome is caused by excessive cortisol activity. Excess cortisol activity leads to a plethora of severe symptoms, including the typical body habitus of patients with Cushing’s syndrome, as well as diabetes mellitus, hypertension, dermatologic manifestations, and psychiatric disturbances. Mifepristone is effective in reducing the clinical impact of excessive cortisol activity and improving the patients’ overall medical condition. (13) Its role in endogenous Cushing’s syndrome includes adjunct therapy following radiation treatment and in cases where a patient cannot safely undergo surgery or has experienced failure of surgery. Mifepristone does not decrease cortisol production; it acts by blocking the interaction of cortisol with the GR.
Although mifepristone is very effective, the lack of selectivity for GR has certain disadvantages. Due to its high affinity for the progesterone receptor (PR), mifepristone causes termination of pregnancy and endometrial thickening or irregular vaginal bleeding in some patients. Our objective was to identify a selective GR antagonist that would provide all the beneficial effects of mifepristone but would not cause the side effects associated with PR antagonism.
We have previously described the discovery and optimization of a series of selective GR antagonists, based on a fused azadecalin template. (14, 15) In our most recent publication, (15) we reported the identification of compounds such as CORT113176 1, which possess a heteroaryl ketone substituent at the ring junction position, Figure 1. Compound 1 demonstrated modest efficacy in a rat model of olanzapine induced weight gain and also in a rat model of exogenous Cushing’s syndrome. In addition, Vendruscolo et al. (16) have reported that 1 reduced alcohol intake in rats made dependent on alcohol, and Pineau et al. (17) have reported the efficacy of 1 in a rat model of Alzheimer’s disease. Further investigation of the heteroaryl ketone series provided compounds such as the previously described compound 33, (15) designated compound 2 herein, with reduced activity in a manual patch clamp hERG assay, good bioavailability in rats, and efficacy in our rat model of exogenous Cushing’s syndrome. Although both compounds 1 and 2 demonstrated efficacy in our rat model of exogenous Cushing’s syndrome, neither were as effective as mifepristone and we hoped to improve on their activity by the design and synthesis of additional analogues. The structures of these compounds and the nonselective GR antagonist mifepristone are shown in Figure 1. We now wish to report further optimization of this series of compounds and the identification of two clinical candidates, 7 and 12.”
Hunt et al., pages 3405-3406 (emphasis added);
Hunt et al., Figure 5, page 3412.
Hunt teaches that compound 7 (relacorilant/ CORT125134) has been selected for clinical studies for the treatment of CS:
“Compound 7 (CORT125134, (20) see Figure 5 for chemical structure) was selected for preclinical development and subjected to the usual panel of toxicology and safety pharmacology studies. We have completed a phase I study in healthy human volunteers. In addition to the usual assessment of safety, tolerability, and pharmacokinetics, we also included an assessment of pharmacological effect. This was achieved by the administration of the GR agonist, prednisone, and assessing the ability of 7 to counteract the effects of prednisone on a variety of GR mediated parameters. The results obtained in this phase I clinical study will be published elsewhere. (21) A phase 2 study in patients with endogenous Cushing’s syndrome is currently in progress in the U.S. and Europe.”
Hunt et al., pages 3411-3412.
Substituting one known GR antagonist for another known GR antagonist for the same purpose in the same patient population, is a simple substitution of one known element for another that yields a predictable result (See MPEP § 2143(I)(B)). Therefore, claims 1 and 10 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Regarding claims 7-8 and 17-18, Hunt teaches relacorilant and also teaches CORT 113176 (compound 1) as a GR antagonist effective in a rat model of exogenous Cushing’s syndrome (p. 3406). Therefore, claims 7-8 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Given the above teachings, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claim 1-4, 7-8, 10-13, 16-18 and 20-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,058,670 B2 (the ‘670 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the copending claims overlap in treatment step and patient population.
The instant application is directed towards reducing the risk of hypercoagulability (claim 1) or DVT, PE or VTE (claim 10) in a CS patient, comprising administering to the patient relacorilant. The ‘670 patent claims a method of treating a patient suffering from hypercortisolemia, comprising administering to the patient relacorilant, effective to treat said symptom or comorbidity of hypercortisolemia, wherein said symptom or comorbidity of hypercortisolemia is one or more of:
a blood coagulation measure, wherein a) said treatment is effective to improve a patient blood coagulation measure, wherein a) the treatment is effective to reduce the patient blood coagulation measure Factor VIII percent (%) by at least 18%; or b) the treatment is effective to increase the patient blood coagulation measure activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) by at least 1.45 seconds (sec); or c) the treatment is effective to improve an abnormal patient blood coagulation measure, wherein said improved abnormal patient blood coagulation measure is selected from a reduction in Factor IX % of at least 22% and a reduction in Factor X % of at least 18%; all as compared to the patient's corresponding baseline blood coagulation measure as measured prior to treatment;
a blood cell measure, wherein said treatment is effective to decrease the patient's platelet count by at least 68.8×109 per liter (109/L) or to increase the patient's absolute eosinophil count by at least 0.05×109/L as compared to the patient's baseline platelet count or absolute eosinophil count, respectively, as measured prior to treatment;
…a poor quality of life measure in a Cushing's syndrome patient, wherein said treatment is effective to improve the patient's quality of life as measured by an increase of at least 6.9 in the patient's Cushing Quality of Life (QOL) Score as compared to the patient's baseline Cushing QOL Score as measured prior to treatment.
‘670 patent, claim 1.
While the ‘670 patent does not recite a determining step, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to perform a determining step because the ’670 patent claims that a blood coagulation measure improves with treatment.
While the ‘670 patent does not claim reducing the risk of hypercoagulability or DVT, PE, or VTE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to reduce the risk of hypercoagulability or DVT, PE, or VTE because the ‘670 patent states that the administration of relacorilant is effective to improve blood coagulation measures and reduce platelet cell count and improve QOL in CS patients.
Claim 1-4, 7-8, 10-13, 16-18 and 20-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,590,113 B2 (the ‘113 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the copending claims overlap in treatment step and patient population.
The claims of the ‘113 patent are largely similar to the ‘670 patent except that they additionally recite CORT122928, CORT113176, CORT125281, and CORT125329. The instant claims are rejected on the same grounds as given for the rejection of the claims over the claims of the ‘670 patent.
Claim 1-4, 7-8, 10-13, 16-18 and 20-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,684,612 B2 (the ‘612 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the copending claims overlap in treatment step and patient population.
The claims of the ’612 patent are largely similar to the ‘670 patent except that they additionally recite CORT122928, CORT113176, CORT125281, and CORT125329. The instant claims are rejected on the same grounds as given for the rejection of the claims over the claims of the ‘670 patent.
Claim 1-5, 7-13 and 15-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,524,013 B2 (the ‘013 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed towards the same patient population and the same treatment method.
Both the instant application and the ’013 patent are directed towards a method of reducing the risk of hypercoagulopathy in a Cushing's syndrome patient, comprising determining that said patient is at risk of suffering from hypercoagulopathy and administering an effective amount of a glucocorticoid receptor modulator (GRM) to said patient (claim 1; ‘013, claim 1), wherein the GRM is mifepristone (claim 1; ‘013, claim 5), or relacorilant, CORT122928, or CORT113176 (claim 1; ‘013, claims 7-8). The subject matter of the dependent claims 2-9 similarly overlaps with ‘013 claims 2-9.
Similarly, the instant application and the ‘013 application are directed towards a method of reducing risk of developing deep vein thrombosis (DVT), pulmonary embolism (PE), or venous thromboembolism (VTE) in a Cushing's syndrome patient (claim 10, ‘013 claim 10), with the subject matter of the dependent claims (claims 11-22; ‘013, claims 11-22) overlapping.
Claim 1-4, 7-13 and 16-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,642 B2 (the ‘642 patent) in view of van der Pas et al. (Clinical Endocrinology, Vol. 78, 2013, pp. 481-488). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap in patient population and treatment method.
Claim 1 of the ‘642 patent recites a method of treating hypercoagulopathy in a Cushing’s syndrome patent, comprising identifying symptoms of hypercoagulopathy in a CS patient and administering to that patient an effective amount of relacorilant, whereby hypercoagulopathy is treated. Instant claim 1 recites a method of reducing the risk of hypercoagulopathy in a CS patient, comprising determining that the patient is at elevated risk of suffering from hypercoagulopathy, and administering an effective amount of a GRM selected from a group that includes relacorilant.
Every method within the scope of ‘642 claim 1 is also within the scope of instant claim 1 because a patient identified as having symptoms of hypercoagulopathy has necessarily been determined to be at elevated risk of suffering from hypercoagulopathy compared with CS patient without such symptoms, relacorilant is one of the recited alternatives in instant claim 1, and treating hypercoagulopathy necessarily reduces the risk of hypercoagulopathy compared with a patient who does not receive the treatment.
Instant claim 10 recited reducing the risk of developing DVT, PE or VTE in a CS patient, similar to claim 6 of the ‘642. A similar rationale applies as in claim 1: a patient with symptoms of DVT, PE or VTE, is necessarily at elevated risk of developing DVT, PE or VTE, compared with other CS patients.
Regarding claims 2, 11, 13, 17, 18 and 21, while the ‘642 claims do not recite measuring a blood clotting marker or identifying a blood clot and comparing the marker to normal values, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in performing this step because measuring clotting markers and comparing them to normal values is commonly practiced in the art in CS patients. For example, see the teachings of Van der Pas, incorporated herein by reference from the 103 rejection above.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to administering a second anticoagulation therapy because it is commonly known in the art to administer conventional antithrombotic therapies to CS patients. For example, van der Pas teaches that heparin reduces the incidence of VTE in CS patients (p. 482, col. 1).
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/HEATHER DAHLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629