DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 9 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9 April 2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1
“coating system configured to receive the glass fiber . . .” (generic placeholder: “system,” functional language: “coating . . . configured to receive . . .”), associated with a die [0033].
“lighting device configured to receive the glass fiber from the first coating system and to apply first light . . .” (generic placeholder: “device,” functional language: “lighting . . . configured to receive . . .”), associated with an ultraviolet light [0039].
“marking device configured to apply a tracer marking fluid . . .” (generic placeholder: “device,” functional language: “marking . . . configured to apply a tracer marking fluid . . .”), associated with an inkjet printer, including drop-on-demand [0026-0027].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “plurality of nozzles arranged in a parallel configuration.” The limitation is indefinite as ambiguous, because it is not clear what the recited “parallel configuration” of a plurality of nozzles is in relation to, whether, for example, the nozzles protrude from a head in a parallel direction, whether the nozzles are arranged in parallel rows, or whether the plurality of nozzles are arranged parallel to some other linear structure. Additionally, it is not clear whether the limitation is meant to imply some minimum number of nozzles (e.g. two parallel rows of two nozzles each). Examiner interprets the limitation to include any of the proposed meanings and not to exclude other reasonable meanings of the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiaffo et al. (US 2010/0296780) in view of Negishi et al. (JP 2004347787).
Regarding Claim 1, Schiaffo et al. (US’780) teach a system for forming an optical fiber, comprising: a draw furnace 110 configured to produce a glass fiber from a glass preform [0092]; a first coating system (die, spelled “dye,” 135) capable of receiving the glass fiber and delivering a first curable coating composition to the glass fiber, the first curable coating composition surrounding the glass fiber [0093]; a first lighting device (UV light 140) capable of receiving the glass fiber from the first coating system and to apply first light to the first curable coating composition, the first light capable of curing the first curable coating composition to form a first coating on the glass fiber (Fig. 1; [0094]). US’780 further teaches a color layer surrounding a coating layer on the optical fiber [0025]. US’780 fails to teach a marking device (i.e. ink jet printer). Negishi et al. (JP’787) teach an inkjet printer capable of applying a tracer marking fluid, comprising a coloring agent and a carrier liquid, to the first coating to create a display portion to show, for example, a model number or type of the optical fiber or core (Figs. 1-4; [0011,0014,0016]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of US’780 with an inkjet printer (i.e. marking device), operably coupled to the first coating system, because JP’787 suggests an inkjet printer for marking a coating of an optical fiber, for example with a number or type, after the optical fiber has been coated.
Regarding Claim 2, US’780 teaches the recited structures of the claimed “system” (i.e. apparatus). Claim 2 merely recites an intended use of the claimed apparatus, and the intended use is not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus, capable of performing the intended use. See, also, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0108].
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of US’780 in view of JP’787 suggests the claimed apparatus with recited structures, and the claimed apparatus is capable of performing the recited intended use, not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus.
Regarding Claim 6, US’780 additionally teaches a second coating system 150 capable of receiving the glass fiber and delivering a second curable coating composition to the glass, a second curable coating composition capable of surrounding and directly contacting the glass fiber (Fig. 1; [0097]).
Regarding Claim 7, US’780 teaches a second lighting device 180 capable of receiving the glass fiber from the second coating system and applying a second light to the second curable coating composition, the second light curing the second curable coating composition to form a second coating on the glass fiber (Fig. 1; [0106]).
Regarding Claim 8, the inkjet printer (i.e. marking device) suggested by JP’787 is capable of intermittently applying a tracer marking fluid to a first curable coating composition or the first coating, since discrete symbols, including numbers and/ or characters can be formed (Figures).
Regarding Claim 9, the inkjet printer (i.e. marking device) suggested by JP’787 is capable of applying a tracer marking fluid as a plurality of droplets (i.e. mode of operation of an inkjet printer) to the first curable coating composition or the first coating.
Regarding Claim 10, the plurality of droplets is arranged as a contiguous series on the first curable coating composition or the first coating. See, for example, contiguous series forming the display unit 13 “FIBER” (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiaffo et al. (US 2010/0296780) in view of Negishi et al. (JP 2004347787) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Speakman (US 2002/0105080).
Regarding Claim 4, JP’787 teaches ink jet printing onto a coating of an optical fiber. JP’787 fails to teach specifically drop-on-demand printing (a kind of ink jet printing). Speakman (US’080) is analogous art in the field of production of optical fibers, including the use of inkjet printing techniques to produce optical fibers, and teaches drop-on-demand printing to deposit droplets of deposition material onto a surface an optic fiber, for example [0016,0266]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of the combination of US’780 in view of JP’787 with drop-on-demand, because US’080 suggests that US’080 was a known inkjet technology at the time of invention and additionally was used to deposit droplets to form optical fibers.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiaffo et al. (US 2010/0296780) in view of Negishi et al. (JP 2004347787) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakajima (US 2003/0222961).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of US’780 in view of JP’787 fails to teach a plurality of nozzles arranged in a parallel configuration. A parallel configuration of a plurality of nozzles was conventional at the time of invention. For example, Nakajima (US’961), published in 2003, is analogous art in the field of inkjet printing and pertinent to inventor’s problem of depositing droplets to form a mark with curable ink [0002-0005] and suggests a plurality of nozzles arranged to be substantially parallel to an “S” direction when contained in a carriage to form curable ink dots on medium P. [0064,0061] to make it possible to scan ink dots with radiation within an extremely small time difference and thereby cure ink dots substantially equally while controlling dot diameter and shape [0021]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of the combination of US’780 in view of JP’787 with a parallel configuration of a plurality of nozzles, because a parallel configuration of a plurality of nozzles was conventional at the time of invention and because US’961 suggests a parallel configuration to make it possible to scan ink dots with radiation within an extremely small time difference and thereby cure ink dots substantially equally while controlling dot diameter and shape.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brown et al. (WO 01/57494) (drop-on-demand capable of depositing materials onto optical fibers, p. 18, lines 20-28)
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712