DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action in response to the amendment filed 9/28/2026.
Claims 1, 5-8 and 16 are amended, claims 27-28 are added, and claims 2-4 are canceled.
Claims 1 and 5-28 are pending and examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 760(see Figs. 13-15). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 5, line 3, “each torque generator cassette” should be “each of the torque generator cassettes”; in claim 27, line 27, “each torque generator cassette” should be “each of the torque generator cassettes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 16, lines 7-8, “the input interface” has no antecedent basis and renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear as to how “a torque generator assembly” in line 1 relates to “another torque generator assembly” in line 8. By changing “the input interface of another torque generator assembly” to “an input interface of another torque generator assembly” the rejection would be overcome.
In claim 16, line 10, “the input interface” renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear as to which “torque generator assembly” is being referred to.
In claim 16, it is not clear how the biasing member is coupled to the input interface when the member is disclosed as attached to a center of the shaft between the input and output interfaces and not one of the interfaces(see Fig. 17 and para. [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17 and 19-22 are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prieto(9,206,634; cited on PTO 892).
Prieto discloses a torque generator assembly(1/110/116, see Figs. 5-7) for providing torque to a roller tube of a roller tube assembly as the roller tube assembly is operated between a first position and a second position(the assembly is capable of providing torque to a roller assembly therefore meeting the functional claim limitation), the torque generator assembly comprising:
an outer shell(116/116a,116b, see Figs. 5 and 6) defined about a central axis and having an open interior;
an input interface accessible from a first axial exterior side of the outer shell(one end of 122, see Figs. 5-7);
an output interface accessible from a second axial exterior side of the outer shell and rotatable with the input interface(other end of 122, see Figs. 5-7),
the output interface being sized and shaped to mate with an input interface of another of the torque generator assemblies; and
a biasing member(115) disposed in the open interior of the outer shell, the biasing member including a first biasing end operatively coupled to the input interface of the torque generator assembly(the interior end of the spring is coupled to the member 122 within the shell considered the input interface meeting the claim limitation, the interaction of the spring and input interface is within the shell as well, see Fig. 17) and a second biasing end(outer end of spring, see Fig, 6) operatively coupled to the outer shell to rotate about the central axis with the outer shell(the end is considered inherently attached in order to allow the member to function).
Regarding claim 17, Prieto discloses the spring assembly torque generator assembly of claim 16, further comprising a shaft(122) having a first shaft end and a second shaft end(see Figs. 5-7, wherein the first shaft end defines the input interface and the second shaft end defines the output interface.
Regarding claim 19, Prieto discloses the spring assembly torque generator assembly of claim 17, wherein the outer shell is defined by a first axial end and a second axial end, the first axial end and the second axial end each limiting axial displacement of the shaft(see Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 20, Prieto discloses the spring assembly torque generator assembly of claim 19, wherein the first axial end is defined by a cover of the outer shell(one of the shell 116a or 116b considered the “cover”) and the second axial end is defined by a housing of the outer shell(considered the other of 116a or 116b considered the “housing”), wherein the shaft includes a first shaft shoulder(one of bushings 174 or 176, see Fig. 6 and column 7, lines 17-19) and a second shaft shoulder(other of 174 or 176), wherein the first shaft shoulder is configured to engage the cover and the second shaft shoulder is configured to engage the housing(see Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 21, Prieto discloses the spring assembly torque generator assembly of claim 20, wherein the cover defines a first abutment surface(around hole) configured to engage the first shaft shoulder of the shaft, wherein the housing defines a second abutment surface(around hole) configured to engage the second shaft shoulder of the shaft, and wherein the shaft is operatively configured to rotate relative to the cover at the first abutment surface and the housing at second abutment surface, respectively(the member is adjusted by 140 and therefore the shade can rotate meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 22, Prieto discloses the spring assembly torque generator assembly of claim 17, wherein the first shaft end includes a plug defining a first pilot feature(one of the ends has a socket 180 and plug 178) and the second shaft end includes a socket(other end has a socket 180) defining a second pilot feature, the socket of the second shaft end complementary to the plug of the first shaft end(the ends interfit via sockets and plugs meeting the claim limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prieto.
Prieto discloses the spring assembly torque generator assembly of claim 17, wherein the first biasing end is operatively coupled with the shaft but lacks the specific attachment.
Applicant’s disclosure lends no criticality to the attachment of the member to the shell(see para. [0076].
Therefore, the specific attachment of the member to the shell is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the member and shell and design requirements thereof.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the previous claim objections(not noted above), and the previous 112 rejection of claim 8, prior art and double patenting rejections.
During an updated search a prior art patent was found that caused the withdrawal of the indication of allowability of claims 16-22.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 5-15 and 23-28 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior objections and rejections(not discussed above) are moot as they have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument regarding several claim objections is not persuasive as discussed above.
Applicant’s argument regarding the 112 rejection of claim 16 is not persuasive as the amendment has resulted in unclarity in the metes and bounds of claims 16-22 as to how the “torque generator assemblies” interrelate as discussed above.
BETH A. AUBREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/Beth A Aubrey/