DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of JP2022-009892 filed 1/26/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2024, 6/6/2025 and 9/9/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument: Regarding independent claim 1, the applicant argues that the lower limit of the inclination is 1.0 MHz/°C or higher, and thus the range of negative (minus) values is not included and therefore, not disclosed by cited art.
Response: The examiner disagrees. Claim amendment changed the scope of invention. Claim 1 is now rejected with Hiroi et al. (US 2019/0215994 A1), in view of Xiao et al. (US 2015/0036147 A1).
Addition of new claims 10-15 has been acknowledged.
Addition of Drawing overcomes objection to specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroi et al. (US 2019/0215994 A1), and further in view of Xiao et al. (US 2015/0036147 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994) discloses “a radio wave absorber (paragraph 23: an electric-wave absorbing sheet disclosed in the present application is an electric-wave absorbing sheet including a flexible electric-wave absorbing layer) comprising:
a magnetic powder (paragraph 23: the electric-wave absorbing material is a magnetic iron oxide); and
a binder (paragraph 23: the electric-wave absorbing layer contains a particulate electric-wave absorbing material and a resin binder).”
Hiroi et al. (‘994) does not explicitly disclose “an inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 1.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0
or less.”
Xiao et al. (‘147) relates to sensing devices. Xiao et al. (‘147) teaches “an inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 1.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0
or less (paragraph 48: resonant frequency increases almost linear with a slope of 1.58 MHz/.degree. C. as the temperature increased).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994) with the teaching of Xiao et al. (‘147) for allowing monitoring of wide temperature ranges. In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994) and Xiao et al. (‘147)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, methods and devices for sensing applications.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994) further discloses “a volume filling rate of the magnetic powder in the radio wave absorber is 35% by volume or less (paragraph 28: in the electric-wave absorbing sheet of the present disclosure, it is preferred that a volume content of the magnetic iron oxide in the electric-wave absorbing layer is 30% or more).”
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994) further discloses “the magnetic powder includes a powder of a hexagonal ferrite (paragraph 149: hexagonal ferrite as a ferrite electromagnetic absorber exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in the 76 GHz band, and strontium ferrite exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in several tens of GHz band…by forming an electric-wave absorbing layer using magnetic iron oxide particles other than epsilon iron oxide having electric-wave absorbing properties in the millimeter-wave band from 30 GHz to 300 GHz and a resin binder, it is possible to obtain an electric-wave absorbing sheet that absorbs electric waves in the millimeter-wave band; paragraph 150: hexagonal ferrite particles have a larger average particle diameter (about a dozen μm) than epsilon iron oxide particles exemplified in the above embodiment, and the shape of the hexagonal ferrite particles is not substantially spherical but plate or needle crystal…because of this, in the formation of the magnetic coating material using a resin binder, it is preferable to adjust the use of a dispersant and the kneading conditions with the binder so that, when the magnetic coating material is applied, the magnetic iron oxide powder is dispersed as uniformly as possible in the electric-wave absorbing layer and the percentage of voids is as low as possible).”
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 4, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 4. Hiroi et al. (‘994) further discloses “the hexagonal ferrite is a substitution-type hexagonal ferrite (paragraph 149: hexagonal ferrite as a ferrite electromagnetic absorber exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in the 76 GHz band, and strontium ferrite exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in several tens of GHz band…by forming an electric-wave absorbing layer using magnetic iron oxide particles other than epsilon iron oxide having electric-wave absorbing properties in the millimeter-wave band from 30 GHz to 300 GHz and a resin binder, it is possible to obtain an electric-wave absorbing sheet that absorbs electric waves in the millimeter-wave band).”
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994) further discloses “a radio wave absorbing article comprising: the radio wave absorber (paragraph 23: an electric-wave absorbing sheet disclosed in the present application is an electric-wave absorbing sheet including a flexible electric-wave absorbing layer; paragraph 24: provide an electric-wave absorbing sheet that has high handleability and that can correspond to the future use of higher frequency electric waves, including millimeter-wave radars and communication at high frequencies of several tens of GHz or higher).”
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroi et al. (US 2019/0215994 A1)/Xiao et al. (US 2015/0036147 A1), and further in view of Ui et al. (US 2020/0178426 A1).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) does not explicitly disclose “an elastic modulus is 500 MPa or less.”
Ui et al. (‘426) relates to an electromagnetic wave absorber. Ui et al. (‘426) teaches “an elastic modulus is 500 MPa or less (paragraph 33: when the electromagnetic wave absorber 1 is adhered to an automobile part, the Young's modulus of the electromagnetic wave absorber 1 is desirably 2000 MPa or less, more desirably 500 MPa or less, and even more desirably 300 MPa or less even at a temperature as low as −30° C).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) with the teaching of Ui et al. (‘426) for allowing monitoring of wide temperature ranges (Ui et al. (‘426) – paragraph 33). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147) and Ui et al. (‘426)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, using radio wave absorber in radar type measurement.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroi et al. (US 2019/0215994 A1)/Xiao et al. (US 2015/0036147 A1), and further in view of Hiroi et al. (US 2020/0008328 A1).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 5, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 5. Hiroi et al. (‘994) further discloses “the substitution-type hexagonal ferrite is a magnetoplumbite-type hexagonal ferrite paragraph 149: hexagonal ferrite as a ferrite electromagnetic absorber exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in the 76 GHz band, and strontium ferrite exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in several tens of GHz band…by forming an electric-wave absorbing layer using magnetic iron oxide particles other than epsilon iron oxide having electric-wave absorbing properties in the millimeter-wave band from 30 GHz to 300 GHz and a resin binder, it is possible to obtain an electric-wave absorbing sheet that absorbs electric waves in the millimeter-wave band).” Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Pfeifer et al. (‘911) does not explicitly disclose the substitution-type hexagonal ferrite “having a composition represented by Formula 1,
, in Formula 1, A represents one or more kinds of atoms selected from the group consisting of Sr, Ba, Ca, and Pb, and x satisfies
).”
Hiroi et al. (‘328) relates to an electromagnetic-wave absorbing sheet for absorbing electromagnetic waves. Hiroi et al. (‘328) teaches “the substitution-type hexagonal ferrite “having a composition represented by Formula 1,
, in Formula 1, A represents one or more kinds of atoms selected from the group consisting of Sr, Ba, Ca, and Pb, and x satisfies
(paragraph 50: magnetic powder of strontium ferrite can be preferably used as the electromagnetic-wave absorbing material…it is preferable that magnetoplumbite strontium ferrite magnetic powder is used as the strontium ferrite magnetic powder…when magnetoplumbite strontium ferrite magnetic powder expressed by the compositional formula
is used, electromagnetic waves can be effectively absorbed in the band of 76 GHz±10 GHz).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) with the teaching of Hiroi et al. (‘328) for improved absorption characteristics (Hiroi et al. (‘328) – paragraph 14). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147) and Hiroi et al. (‘328)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as having electromagnetic wave absorption sheet with ferromagnetic material, binder and the reflection attenuation amount in the band showing the maximum transmission attenuation.
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 6, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147)/Hiroi et al. (‘328) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 6. Hiroi et al. (‘994) further discloses “an atom represented by A in Formula 1 includes Sr. (paragraph 42: in the electric-wave absorbing sheet of this embodiment, the particulate electric-wave absorbing material may be powder of magnetic iron oxide, including epsilon iron oxide magnetic powder, barium ferrite magnetic powder, and strontium ferrite magnetic powder…among these, epsilon iron oxide is particularly preferred as the electric-wave absorbing material because the electrons of iron atoms precess at high frequencies in spin motion, and epsilon iron oxide has a high effect of absorbing high frequency electric waves of 30 to 300 GHz (millimeter-wave band) or still higher; paragraph 149: hexagonal ferrite as a ferrite electromagnetic absorber exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in the 76 GHz band, and strontium ferrite exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in several tens of GHz band…by forming an electric-wave absorbing layer using magnetic iron oxide particles other than epsilon iron oxide having electric-wave absorbing properties in the millimeter-wave band from 30 GHz to 300 GHz and a resin binder, it is possible to obtain an electric-wave absorbing sheet that absorbs electric waves in the millimeter-wave band).”
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroi et al. (US 2019/0215994 A1)/Xiao et al. (US 2015/0036147 A1), in view of Ui et al. (US 2020/0178426 A1), and further in view of Hiroi et al. (US 2020/0008328 A1).
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994) further discloses “a volume filling rate of the magnetic powder in the radio wave absorber is 35% by volume or less (paragraph 28: in the electric-wave absorbing sheet of the present disclosure, it is preferred that a volume content of the magnetic iron oxide in the electric-wave absorbing layer is 30% or more),
“the magnetic powder includes a powder of a substitution-type hexagonal ferrite paragraph 149: hexagonal ferrite as a ferrite electromagnetic absorber exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in the 76 GHz band, and strontium ferrite exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in several tens of GHz band…by forming an electric-wave absorbing layer using magnetic iron oxide particles other than epsilon iron oxide having electric-wave absorbing properties in the millimeter-wave band from 30 GHz to 300 GHz and a resin binder, it is possible to obtain an electric-wave absorbing sheet that absorbs electric waves in the millimeter-wave band.”
Hiroi et al. (‘994) describes that in the electric-wave absorbing sheet of this embodiment, the particulate electric-wave absorbing material may be powder of magnetic iron oxide, including epsilon iron oxide magnetic powder, barium ferrite magnetic powder, and strontium ferrite magnetic powder…among these, epsilon iron oxide is particularly preferred as the electric-wave absorbing material because the electrons of iron atoms process at high frequencies in spin motion, and epsilon iron oxide has a high effect of absorbing high frequency electric waves of 30 to 300 GHz (millimeter-wave band) or still higher (paragraph 42); hexagonal ferrite as a ferrite electromagnetic absorber exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in the 76 GHz band, and strontium ferrite exhibits electric-wave absorbing properties in several tens of GHz band…by forming an electric-wave absorbing layer using magnetic iron oxide particles other than epsilon iron oxide having electric-wave absorbing properties in the millimeter-wave band from 30 GHz to 300 GHz and a resin binder, it is possible to obtain an electric-wave absorbing sheet that absorbs electric waves in the millimeter-wave band (paragraph 149). Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Pfeifer et al. (‘911) does not explicitly disclose “an elastic modulus of the radio wave absorber is 500 MPa or less”, “the substitution-type hexagonal ferrite is a magnetoplumbite-type hexagonal ferrite having a composition represented by Formula 1,
in Formula 1, A represents one or more kinds of atoms selected from the group consisting of Sr, Ba, Ca, and Pb, an atom represented by A includes Sr, and x satisfies
).”
Ui et al. (‘426) relates to an electromagnetic wave absorber. Ui et al. (‘426) teaches “an elastic modulus of the radio wave absorber is 500 MPa or less (paragraph 33: when the electromagnetic wave absorber 1 is adhered to an automobile part, the Young's modulus of the electromagnetic wave absorber 1 is desirably 2000 MPa or less, more desirably 500 MPa or less, and even more desirably 300 MPa or less even at a temperature as low as −30° C).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147)/ with the teaching of Ui et al. (‘426) for allowing monitoring of wide temperature ranges (Ui et al. (‘426) – paragraph 33). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147)/ and Ui et al. (‘426)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, using radio wave absorber in radar type measurement.
Hiroi et al. (‘328) relates to an electromagnetic-wave absorbing sheet for absorbing electromagnetic waves. Hiroi et al. (‘328) teaches “the substitution-type hexagonal ferrite is a magnetoplumbite-type hexagonal ferrite having a composition represented by Formula 1,
in Formula 1, A represents one or more kinds of atoms selected from the group consisting of Sr, Ba, Ca, and Pb, an atom represented by A includes Sr, and x satisfies
(paragraph 50: magnetic powder of strontium ferrite can be preferably used as the electromagnetic-wave absorbing material…it is preferable that magnetoplumbite strontium ferrite magnetic powder is used as the strontium ferrite magnetic powder…when magnetoplumbite strontium ferrite magnetic powder expressed by the compositional formula
is used, electromagnetic waves can be effectively absorbed in the band of 76 GHz±10 GHz).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147)//Ui et al. (‘426) with the teaching of Hiroi et al. (‘328) for improved absorption characteristics (Hiroi et al. (‘328) – paragraph 14). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147)/, Ui et al. (‘426) and Hiroi et al. (‘328)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as having electromagnetic wave absorption sheet with ferromagnetic material, binder and the reflection attenuation amount in the band showing the maximum transmission attenuation.
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroi et al. (US 2019/0215994 A1)/Xiao et al. (US 2015/0036147 A1), and further in view of Lubitz (US 5,593,612).
Regarding claim 10, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) does not explicitly disclose “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 5.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less.”
Lubitz (‘612) relates to radar absorption. Lubitz (‘612) teaches “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 5.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less (column 4 lines 25-32: the resonant frequency, and thus the frequency of operation for radar absorption, or for a resonant isolator, is shifted over the range of frequencies as shown in FIG. 1 without the need to use Co or Sc…Co introduces a strong temperature dependence which shifts the resonant frequency by about 30 MHz/.degree. C. near room temperature).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) with the teaching of Lubitz (‘612) for improved absorption characteristics. In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147), and Lubitz (‘612)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as radar absorbers for microwave applications.
Regarding claim 11, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) does not explicitly disclose “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 10.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less.”
Lubitz (‘612) relates to radar absorption. Lubitz (‘612) teaches “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 10.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less (column 4 lines 25-32: the resonant frequency, and thus the frequency of operation for radar absorption, or for a resonant isolator, is shifted over the range of frequencies as shown in FIG. 1 without the need to use Co or Sc…Co introduces a strong temperature dependence which shifts the resonant frequency by about 30 MHz/.degree. C. near room temperature).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) with the teaching of Lubitz (‘612) for improved absorption characteristics. In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147), and Lubitz (‘612)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as radar absorbers for microwave applications.
Regarding claim 12, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) does not explicitly disclose “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 15.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less .”
Lubitz (‘612) relates to radar absorption. Lubitz (‘612) teaches “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 15.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less (column 4 lines 25-32: the resonant frequency, and thus the frequency of operation for radar absorption, or for a resonant isolator, is shifted over the range of frequencies as shown in FIG. 1 without the need to use Co or Sc…Co introduces a strong temperature dependence which shifts the resonant frequency by about 30 MHz/.degree. C. near room temperature).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) with the teaching of Lubitz (‘612) for improved absorption characteristics. In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147), and Lubitz (‘612)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as radar absorbers for microwave applications.
Regarding claim 13, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) does not explicitly disclose “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 20.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less.”
Lubitz (‘612) relates to radar absorption. Lubitz (‘612) teaches “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 20.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less (column 4 lines 25-32: the resonant frequency, and thus the frequency of operation for radar absorption, or for a resonant isolator, is shifted over the range of frequencies as shown in FIG. 1 without the need to use Co or Sc…Co introduces a strong temperature dependence which shifts the resonant frequency by about 30 MHz/.degree. C. near room temperature).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) with the teaching of Lubitz (‘612) for improved absorption characteristics. In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147), and Lubitz (‘612)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as radar absorbers for microwave applications.
Regarding claim 14, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) does not explicitly disclose “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 25.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less.”
Lubitz (‘612) relates to radar absorption. Lubitz (‘612) teaches “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 25.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less (column 4 lines 25-32: the resonant frequency, and thus the frequency of operation for radar absorption, or for a resonant isolator, is shifted over the range of frequencies as shown in FIG. 1 without the need to use Co or Sc…Co introduces a strong temperature dependence which shifts the resonant frequency by about 30 MHz/.degree. C. near room temperature).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) with the teaching of Lubitz (‘612) for improved absorption characteristics. In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147), and Lubitz (‘612)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as radar absorbers for microwave applications.
Regarding claim 14, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) discloses the radio wave absorber of claim 1. Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) does not explicitly disclose “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 30.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less.”
Lubitz (‘612) relates to radar absorption. Lubitz (‘612) teaches “the inclination of a peak frequency with respect to a temperature is 30.0 MHz/°C or more and 40.0 MHz/°C or less (column 4 lines 25-32: the resonant frequency, and thus the frequency of operation for radar absorption, or for a resonant isolator, is shifted over the range of frequencies as shown in FIG. 1 without the need to use Co or Sc…Co introduces a strong temperature dependence which shifts the resonant frequency by about 30 MHz/.degree. C. near room temperature).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio wave absorber of Hiroi et al. (‘994)/Xiao et al. (‘147) with the teaching of Lubitz (‘612) for improved absorption characteristics. In addition, both of the prior art references, (Hiroi et al. (‘994), Xiao et al. (‘147), and Lubitz (‘612)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as radar absorbers for microwave applications.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hiroyuki (JP 2006339528A) [English Translation] describes a radio wave absorber formed of a soft magnetic powder and a binder, and the soft magnetic powder (page 2 paragraph 8); The radio wave absorber of the present invention is formed from a soft magnetic powder and a binder (page 3 paragraph 10); the surface of the soft magnetic powder is preferably treated with a surfactant such as silane or amine….by treating the surface of the soft magnetic powder with a surfactant, the compatibility between the soft magnetic substance and the binder is improved, so that the filling rate per unit volume of the soft magnetic powder to the binder may be increased. it can. Thereby, the electromagnetic wave absorption performance of the obtained radio wave absorber can be improved (page 4 last paragraph); the radio wave absorber of the present invention is preferably obtained by preparing a mixed composition containing a binder, soft magnetic powder and an organic solvent, and molding the mixed composition….when a binder and soft magnetic powder are mixed, using a device that applies a shearing force to the material, such as a roll or a kneader, may damage the soft magnetic material…it is desirable to mix the binder and soft magnetic powder in a low-viscosity slurry solution using an organic solvent…the organic solvent can dissolve the resin used as the binder and lower the viscosity of the mixed composition…a slurry-like mixed composition in which the soft magnetic material is uniformly dispersed can be easily prepared by adding and mixing the organic solvent to the binder and the soft magnetic material (page 5 paragraph 1).
Ohkoshi et al. (US 2021/0012936 A1) describes that by mixing the magnetic material whose peak wavelength of electromagnetic wave absorption property shifts to the high frequency and the material whose peak wavelength of electromagnetic wave absorption property shifts to the lower frequencies side along with a rise of the ambient temperature, both materials will cover each other's decrease in electromagnetic wave absorption even if the ambient temperature environment changes, and excellent electromagnetic wave absorption property can be ensured in a wide temperature range and a wide frequency band (paragraph 30).
Bridges et al. (US 2015/0053575 A1) describes FIG. 16 shows the Q-adjusted resonant frequency, f.sub.0Qadj, for different pH solutions 410. It can be seen that, at a fixed temperature, f.sub.0Qadj has a linear response to pH…at 25 degree C, the linear fit over the 1.5-12 pH dynamic range indicates a slope of 174 kHz/pH and an intercept of 19.180 MHz…the slope of the linear fit increases with increase in temperature as 0.661 kHz/degree C. (0.0038 pH/degree C.) centered at 25 degree C… after compensating Q, the isothermal point is pHIso=2.15 (f.sub.0Iso=18.806 MHz). The temperature compensated pH can then be found from the sensor 400 resonant 400 frequency as
(paragraph 116).
Pfeifer et al. (US 8,240,911 B1) describes Figure 6 is a graph of maximum reflection frequency as a function of temperature for five discrete frequencies…the data was collected using the RF circuit of FIG. 4….send a series of 200 ns bursts of RF energy from the transmitter antenna to the sensor with various carrier frequencies and then record the amplitude of the delayed reflected pulse…the amplitudes of the reflected pulses were compared and the frequency corresponding to the maximum pulse amplitude was plotted as a function of the temperature…the y-intercept of the linear fit to the data has a different value depending on the resonance frequency of the particular sensor, the slope of the response has a consistent value of
for all of the tested sensor…this effect was demonstrated over temperature ranges of
to
and was found to be linear over the entire range…a single point measurement is all that is necessary to calibrate each individual sensor; column 6 lines 19-33: the slope of the equation is
where
is the thermal coefficient of frequency …this slope can be determined experimentally…for a series of devices with different frequency bands from 840 MHz to 920 MHz with varying transducer-to-transducer lengths, the average value of
was determined to be -0.075 MHz/
K for this exemplary sensor (column 7 line 66-column 8 line 22).
Contact Information
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648