DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024 was filed after the filing date of the instant application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation of “n an embodiment” (page 3, line 28) is believed to be --In an embodiment--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujinaka (US 20220356386).
Regarding claim 1, Fujinaka discloses a refrigerant composition for an HVACR system comprising:
R1132(E) refrigerant;
a second refrigerant being R1234yf refrigerant; and
a third refrigerant being R32 refrigerant, wherein
the refrigerant composition has a GWP of at or about or less than 750 (refer to par. 439, wherein the refrigerant comprises HFO-1132(E), R1234yf, and difluoromethane (R32) having a GWP of 150).
Regarding claim 2, Fujinaka meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Fujinaka discloses wherein the second refrigerant is R1234yf refrigerant, and the GWP of the refrigerant composition is at or about or less than 300 (refer to par. 439, wherein the refrigerant comprises HFO-1132(E), R1234yf, and difluoromethane (R32) having a GWP of 150).
Regarding claim 3, Fujinaka meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 2. Further, Fujinaka discloses wherein the refrigerant composition has a burning velocity of at or less than 15 cm/s (refer to par. 458, wherein the burning velocity of these mixed refrigerants showed a burning velocity of 10 cm/s).
Regarding claim 4, Fujinaka meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Fujinaka discloses wherein the second refrigerant is the R1234yf refrigerant, the GWP of the refrigerant composition is at or about or less than 300 (refer to par. 439, wherein the refrigerant comprises HFO-1132(E), R1234yf, and difluoromethane (R32) having a GWP of 150).
Regarding claim 5, Fujinaka meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 4. Further, Fujinaka discloses wherein the third refrigerant is the R32 refrigerant that is or about or less than 44 wt% of the refrigerant composition, the R1234yf refrigerant is at or about or greater than 20 wt% of the refrigerant composition, and the R1132(E) is at or about or less than 43 wt% of the refrigerant composition (refer to Table 8), and the refrigerant composition has a burning velocity of at or less than 15 cm/s (refer to par. 458, wherein the burning velocity of these mixed refrigerants showed a burning velocity of 10 cm/s).
Regarding claim 6, Fujinaka meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 5. Further, Fujinaka discloses wherein the R32 refrigerant is at or about or less than 20 wt% of the refrigerant composition (refer to Table 8), and the GWP of the refrigerant composition is at or about or less than 150 (refer to par. 439, wherein the refrigerant has a GWP of 150).
Regarding claim 7, Fujinaka meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 5. Further, Fujinaka discloses wherein the R1234yf refrigerant is at or about or less than 70 wt% of the refrigerant composition, the R1132(E) refrigerant is at or about or greater than 8 wt% of the refrigerant composition, and the refrigerant composition has a capacity equal to or greater than 90% of a capacity of R454A (refer to Table 19).
Regarding claim 8, Fujinaka meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 7. Further, Fujinaka discloses wherein the R1132(E) refrigerant is at or about or less than 27 wt% of the refrigerant composition (refer to Table 15), and the burning velocity of the refrigerant composition is equal to or less than 15 cm/s (refer to par. 458, wherein the burning velocity of these mixed refrigerants showed a burning velocity of 10 cm/s).
Regarding claim 9, Fujinaka meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 2. Further, Fujinaka discloses wherein the third refrigerant is R1123 refrigerant (refer to par. 440, wherein the third refrigerant includes HFO-1123).
Regarding claim 10, Fujinaka meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 9. Further, Fujinaka discloses wherein the refrigerant composition has a burning velocity of equal to or than 15 cm/s (refer to par. 458, wherein the burning velocity of these mixed refrigerants showed a burning velocity of 10 cm/s).
Claim(s) 1 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itano (US 2022/0098460).
Regarding claim 1, Itano discloses a refrigerant composition for an HVACR system comprising:
R1132(E) refrigerant;
a second refrigerant being R1234ze(E) refrigerant; and
a third refrigerant being R1123 refrigerant (refer to par. 13, wherein the mixed refrigerant comprising trans-1,2-difluoroethylene (HFO-1132 (E)), trifluoroethylene (HFO-1123), and trans-1,3,3,3-tetrafluoro-1-propene (R1234ze(E)), wherein
the refrigerant composition has a GWP of at or about or less than 750 (refer to the GWP values for the composition as in Table 3, with an estimated GWP below 10).
Regarding claim 11, Itano meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Itano discloses wherein the second refrigerant is the R1234ze(E) refrigerant, the GWP of the refrigerant composition is at or about or less than 300 (refer to the GWP values for the composition as in Table 3), and the refrigerant composition has a burning velocity equal to or less than 15 cm/s (refer to par. 31, wherein the composition has a burning velocity of 10 cm/s or less).
Regarding claim 12, Itano meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 11. Further, Itano discloses wherein the GWP of the refrigerant composition is at or about or less than 150 (refer to the GWP values for the composition as in Table 3, with an estimated GWP below 10).
Regarding claim 13, Itano meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 11. Further, Itano discloses wherein the burning velocity of the refrigerant composition is equal to or less than 10 cm/s (refer to par. 31, wherein the composition has a burning velocity of 10 cm/s or less).
Regarding claim 14, Itano meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 11. Further, Itano discloses wherein the refrigerant composition has at or greater than 50% of a capacity of R410A (refer to par. 27, wherein the refrigerant mixture has a refrigerating capacity ratio of 85% or more relative to that of R410A).
Regarding claim 15, Itano meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 11. Further, Itano discloses wherein the refrigerant composition has at or greater than 75% of a capacity of R404A (refer to par. 27, wherein the refrigerant mixture has a refrigerating capacity ratio of 85% or more relative to that of R410A).
Regarding claim 16, Itano meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Itano discloses wherein the second refrigerant is the R134a refrigerant (refer to par. 68, line 8, wherein the refrigerant composition can include R134a).
Regarding claim 17, Itano meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 13. Further, Itano discloses wherein the refrigerant composition has a burning velocity of at or less than 15 cm/s (refer to par. 31, wherein the composition has a burning velocity of 10 cm/s or less).
Regarding claim 18, Itano meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 13. Further, Itano discloses wherein the refrigerant composition has a burning velocity of at or less than 10 cm/s (refer to par. 31, wherein the composition has a burning velocity of 10 cm/s or less).
Regarding claim 19, Itano discloses a method of making a refrigerant composition for an HVACR system, the method including:
mixing an amount of R1132(E) refrigerant, an amount of a second refrigerant, and an amount of a third refrigerant, the second refrigerant being R1234ze(E) refrigerant, and the third refrigerant being R1123 refrigerant (refer to par. 13, wherein the mixed refrigerant comprising trans-1,2-difluoroethylene (HFO-1132 (E)), trifluoroethylene (HFO-1123), and trans-1,3,3,3-tetrafluoro-1-propene (R1234ze(E))), wherein the refrigerant composition has a GWP of at or about or less than 750 (refer to the GWP values for the composition as in Table 3, with an estimated GWP below 10).
Regarding claim 20, Itano discloses a method of retrofitting an HVACR system having an existing refrigerant composition, comprising:
replacing at least a portion of the existing refrigerant composition to obtain a retrofit refrigerant composition, which includes adding one or more refrigerants to the HVACR system (refer to paras. 17-18, wherein in the present specification, a first refrigerant is replaced with a second refrigerant), wherein the retrofit refrigerant composition comprises R1132(E) refrigerant, R1234ze(E) refrigerant, and R1123 refrigerant (refer to par. 13, wherein the mixed refrigerant comprising trans-1,2-difluoroethylene (HFO-1132 (E)), trifluoroethylene (HFO-1123), and trans-1,3,3,3-tetrafluoro-1-propene (R1234ze(E))), and the refrigerant composition has a GWP of at or about or less than 750 (refer to the GWP values for the composition as in Table 3, with an estimated GWP below 10).
Conclusion
/ANA M VAZQUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763