DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 62-76 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 62-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Instant claims are broadly drawn to a composition for controlling E. necator, comprising a dsRNA molecule that cause mortality, suppression of growth, decrease in virulence or pathogenicity or reproductive capacity in E. necator when transfected or contacted to said E. necator, wherein at least one strand of said dsRNA having a first and a second strand, wherein both strands are about 800 nucleotides or less in length comprises at least 200 contiguous nucleotides that are at least 95% sequence identical to SEQ ID NO: 215;
The specification teaches controlling E. necator by using dsRNA (ES43) targeting SEQ ID NO:215/108 (Tables 1 and 2).
The Applicants do not describe any other dsRNA targeting CYP51 gene and being about 200 to about 800 nucleotides in length. The only described by the specification is ES43 which targets 497bp region of the gene encoded by SEQ ID NO:215/108. The specification fails to provide conserved structure shared by the members in the claimed genus. It is well known in the art that different tiles of a given target gene may vary greatly in efficacy. Still further, given that SEQ ID NO: 215 only comprises 497 bp, the nucleotides sequence beyond that length are not described, needless to say the variants thereof. Further still, Applicants fails to describe the relationship between first strand and the second strand. It is unclear whether the second strand is fully complementary to the first one, or if not, how much they are complementary to each other. Therefore, it is concluded that Applicants are not in possession of the claimed genus.
The Federal Circuit has recently clarified the application of the written description requirement to inventions in the field of biotechnology. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In summary, the court stated that a written description of an invention requires a precise definition, one that defines the structural features of the chemical genus that distinguishes it from other chemical structures. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is. The court goes on to say, “A description of a genus of cDNAs may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of cDNAs, defined by nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus.” See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559; 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Applicants fail to describe a representative number of dsRNA falling within the scope of the claimed genus. Applicants only describe a single species which is dsRNA targeting SEQ ID NO:215/108 region. Furthermore, Applicants fail to describe structural features common to members of the claimed genus of dsRNA. Hence, Applicants fail to meet either prong of the two-prong test set forth by Eli Lilly. Furthermore, given the lack of description of the necessary elements essential for dsRNA in about 200 bp to about 800 bp targeting CYP51. Since said genus has not been described by specific structural features, the specification fails to provide an adequate written description to support the breath of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 62-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogel (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0215290) and further in view of Delgado et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0320179), Rallos et al. (2016, Plos One DOI:10.1371 page 1-18) and Applicants admitted prior art.
Instant claims a composition for cotrolling E. necator, comprising a dsRNA molecule that cause mortality, suppression of growth, decrease in virulence or pathogenicity or reproductive capacity in E. necator when transfected or contacted to said E. necator, wherein at least one strand of said dsRNA being about 300 to about 800 nucleotides comprises at least 200/300/400/500 contiguous nucleotides that are at least 95% sequence identical/complementary to SEQ ID NO: 215; or wherein the composition is in form of liquid; or wherein the composition further comprises a carrier agent; or wherein said at least 200 contiguous nucleotides are at least 95% identical to a conserved region of a target gene of two or more strains of E. necator; or wherein the two or more strains are LNYM, NY90….or CH19; or wherein the conserved region comprises SEQ ID NO:215. Instant claims are also drawn to a method for controlling E. necator infection of a plant by contacting said E. necator with the composition.
Kogel teaches a method of controlling fungal phyto-pathogens by producing transgenic plant producing dsRNA targeting CYP51 or contacting the pathogen with the dsRNA (claims 22 and 24). Kogel teaches dsRNA targeting CYP51 from various fungal pathogens including genus of Fusarium, Ustilago maydis, Botrytis cineras, Magnaporthe grisea etc. (claim 9). Kogel teaches a list of phytopathogens that can be controlled by the method including E. necator (paragraph [0049]). Kogel teaches composition further comprises a plant-compatible carrier, which can be liquid (paragraph [0114]). Kogel teaches dsRNA is 200-300 bp in length (paragraph [0154]), which is within the range of about 300 bp to about 800 bp
Kogel does not teach that the pathogen is E. necator in the claims and that the CYP51 is SEQ ID NO:1. Kogel does not teach SEQ ID NO: 108.
Rallos et al. teach CYP51 of E. necator (Genbank Accession No. KR106192) which is over 98.4% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:215 (see alignment below). The alignment shows that Genbank Accession No. KR106192 contains at least 400 contiguous nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO:215.
Delgado et al. teach a method for controlling an infestation of a phytopathogen from the genus Zymoseptoria in a plant comprising contacting the pathogen with dsRNA target CYP51 of Zymoseptoria.
Given the teachings of Kogel and Delgado that dsRNA targeting CYP51 can be used for controlling various fungal phyto-pathogens, it would have obvious to apply same method of Kogel to control powdery mildew E. necator by targeting Genbank Accession No. KR106192 of Rallos et al. with reasonable expectation for success given that controlling grape powdery mildew is of commercial interest according to Applicants admitted prior art (specification, paragraph [0001]) .
Although the combined teachings do not teach targeting specifically SEQ ID NO:215, targeting 200/300/400/500 bp region within SEQ ID NO:215 would have been considered as an obvious design choice given that such region is in the coding region of NR106192 and teaching of Kogel that dsRNA is 200-300 bp in length (paragraph [0154]). Although the combined teachings do not teach said at least 200 contiguous nucleotides are at least 95% identical to a conserved region of a target gene of two or more strains of E. necator; or that the two or more strains are LNYM, NY90….or CH19, those limitation would have been obviously exhibited by the corresponding region in the Genbank Accession No. KR106192 to instant SEQ ID NO:215.
Alignment between KR106192 and instant SEQ ID NO:215
RESULT 13
KR106192
LOCUS KR106192 1781 bp DNA linear PLN 06-MAR-2016
DEFINITION Erysiphe necator eburicol 14-alpha demethylase (CYP51) gene,
complete cds.
ACCESSION KR106192
VERSION KR106192.1
KEYWORDS .
SOURCE Erysiphe necator (Uncinula necator)
ORGANISM Erysiphe necator
Eukaryota; Fungi; Dikarya; Ascomycota; Pezizomycotina;
Leotiomycetes; Erysiphales; Erysiphaceae; Erysiphe.
REFERENCE 1 (bases 1 to 1781)
AUTHORS Rallos,L.E. and Baudoin,A.B.
TITLE Co-Occurrence of Two Allelic Variants of CYP51 in Erysiphe necator
and Their Correlation with Over-Expression for DMI Resistance
JOURNAL PLoS ONE 11 (2), E0148025 (2016)
PUBMED 26839970
REMARK Publication Status: Online-Only
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 1781)
AUTHORS Rallos,L.E. and Baudoin,A.B.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (11-APR-2015) Plant Pathology, Physiology and Weed
Science, Virginia Tech, Price Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, USA
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..1781
/organism="Erysiphe necator"
/mol_type="genomic DNA"
/db_xref="taxon:52586"
gene <58..>1740
/gene="CYP51"
/note="sensitive allele"
mRNA join(<58..303,359..556,610..>1740)
/gene="CYP51"
/product="eburicol 14-alpha demethylase"
CDS join(58..303,359..556,610..1740)
/gene="CYP51"
/codon_start=1
/product="eburicol 14-alpha demethylase"
/protein_id="AMM72595.1"
/translation="MYIADILSDLLTQQTTRYGWIFMVTSIAFSIILLAVVLNVLSQL
LFRRPYEPPVVFHWFPIIGSTISYGIDPYKFYFDCRAKYGDIFTFILLGKKVTVYLGL
QGNNFILNGKLKDVNAEEIYTNLTTPVFGRDVVYDCPNSKLMEQKKFMKTALTTEAFH
SYVTIIQNEVEAYINNCVSFQGESGTVNISKVMAEITIYTASHALQGEEVRENFDSSF
AALYHDLDMGFTPINFTFYWAPLPWNRARDHAQRTVARTYMNIIQARREEKRSGENKH
DIMWELMRSTYKDGTPVPDREIAHMMIALLMAGQHSSSSTSSWIMLWLAARPDIMEEL
YEEQLRIFGSEKPFPPLQYEDLSKLQLHQNVLKEVLRLHAPIHSIMRKVKNPMIVPGT
KYVIPTSHVLISSPGCTSQDATFFPDPLKWDPHRWDIGSGKVLGNDAVDEKYDYGYGL
TSTGASSPYLPFGAGRHRCIGEQFATLQLVTIMATMVRFFRFRNIDGKQGVVKTDYSS
LFSMPLAPALIGWEKR"
Query Match 98.4%; Score 489; DB 458; Length 1781;
Best Local Similarity 72.4%;
Matches 354; Conservative 135; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 9 UGAAGCGUUCCAUUCCUAUGUAACAAUAAUACAAAAUGAAGUAGAGGCAUAUAUAAACAA 68
:||||||::|||::||:|:|:|||||:||:||||||:||||:|||||||:|:|:||||||
Db 633 TGAAGCGTTCCATTCCTATGTAACAATAATACAAAATGAAGTAGAGGCATATATAAACAA 692
Qy 69 UUGCGUUAGCUUUCAGGGUGAGAGUGGCACAGUAAACAUCUCAAAAGUUAUGGCGGAAAU 128
::|||::|||:::|||||:|||||:|||||||:|||||:|:||||||::|:||||||||:
Db 693 TTGCGTTAGCTTTCAGGGTGAGAGTGGCACAGTAAACATCTCAAAAGTTATGGCGGAAAT 752
Qy 129 CACUAUAUAUACUGCUUCACAUGCCUUACAAGGAGAAGAGGUCCGUGAGAAUUUUGACUC 188
|||:|:|:|:||:||::||||:|||::||||||||||||||:|||:|||||::::|||:|
Db 753 CACTATATATACTGCTTCACATGCCTTACAAGGAGAAGAGGTCCGTGAGAATTTTGACTC 812
Qy 189 AUCUUUUGCCGCUCUUUAUCAUGAUCUUGAUAUGGGAUUUACACCGAUCAACUUUACAUU 248
|:|::::|||||:|:::|:||:||:|::||:|:||||:::|||||||:||||:::|||::
Db 813 ATCTTTTGCCGCTCTTTATCATGATCTTGATATGGGATTTACACCGATCAACTTTACATT 872
Qy 249 UUACUGGGCACCUCUACCUUGGAAUCGUGCUCGUGAUCAUGCCCAAAGAACUGUUGCUAG 308
::||:|||||||:|:|||::||||:||:||:||:||:||:|||||||||||:|::||:||
Db 873 TTACTGGGCACCTCTACCTTGGAATCGTGCTCGTGATCATGCCCAAAGAACTGTTGCTAG 932
Qy 309 GACUUAUAUGAAUAUAAUCCAAGCUCGUAGAGAAGAGAAAAGAAGCGGUGAGAAUAAGCA 368
|||::|:|:|||:|:||:||||||:||:||||||||||||||||||||:|||||:|||||
Db 933 GACTTATATGAATATAATCCAAGCTCGTAGAGAAGAGAAAAGAAGCGGTGAGAATAAGCA 992
Qy 369 UGAUAUAAUGUGGGAGUUGAUGCGUUCCACUUAUAAAGACGGGACUCCGGUACCUGAUCG 428
:||:|:||:|:|||||::||:|||::||||::|:|||||||||||:||||:|||:||:||
Db 993 TGATATAATGTGGGAGTTGATGCGTTCCACTTATAAAGACGGGACTCCGGTACCTGATCG 1052
Qy 429 AGAGAUAGCGCAUAUGAUGAUAGCCCUUCUGAUGGCUGGACAACACUCUUCGUCAUCCAC 488
|||||:||||||:|:||:||:|||||::|:||:|||:|||||||||:|::||:||:||||
Db 1053 AGAGATAGCGCATATGATGATAGCCCTTCTGATGGCTGGACAACACTCTTCGTCATCCAC 1112
Qy 489 GAGCUCAUG 497
||||:||:|
Db 1113 GAGCTCATG 1121
Alignment between KR106192 and instant SEQ ID NO:1
Range 1: 1 to 1756GraphicsNext MatchPrevious Match
Alignment statistics for match #1
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
3208 bits(1737)
0.0
1748/1756(99%)
0/1756(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 25 TAAGGTAGTATTGAGGCGGGTAAATCGGCCATTATGTACATTGCTGACATTTTGTCGGAT 84
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1 TAAGGTAGTATTGAGGCGGGTAAATCGGCCATTATGTACATTGCTGACATTTTGTCGGAT 60
Query 85 CTACTGACTCAACAGACGACACGATATGGGTGGATTTTCATGGTCACAAGTATCGCATTT 144
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 61 CTACTGACTCAACAGACGACACGATATGGGTGGATTTTCATGGTCACAAGTATCGCATTT 120
Query 145 TCTATAATACTATTGGCCGTTGTGTTAAATGTATTGAGCCAGTTGCTGTTCCGTAGACCC 204
|||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 121 TCTATAATACTATTGGCCGTTGGGTTAAATGTATTGAGCCAGTTGCTGTTCCGTAGACCC 180
Query 205 TACGAGCCACCAGTTGTATTTCATTGGTTTCCAATAATTGGAAGTACAATTTCGTATGGA 264
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 181 TACGAGCCACCAGTTGTATTTCATTGGTTTCCAATAATTGGAAGTACAATTTCGTATGGA 240
Query 265 ATTGATCCATATAAATTTTATTTTGATTGTAGAGCCAAAGTAAGTAGAGCTCTTTTACAT 324
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 241 ATTGATCCATATAAATTTTATTTTGATTGTAGAGCCAAAGTAAGTAGAGCTCTTTTACAT 300
Query 325 GCCCATCTCCAGATCATTAACATACATCTTTTAGTATGGAGACATTTTTACATTTATTCT 384
|||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 301 GCCCATCTCCAGATCATTAACAACCATCTTTTAGTATGGAGACATTTTTACATTTATTCT 360
Query 385 CCTCGGGAAAAAAGTAACAGTCTATCTGGGACTTCAAGGTAATAATTTTATACTTAATGG 444
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 361 CCTCGGGAAAAAAGTAACAGTCTATCTGGGACTTCAAGGTAATAATTTTATACTTAATGG 420
Query 445 GAAGTTAAAAGATGTCAACGCCGAAGAGATTTACACTAATTTAACAACTCCGGTCTTTGG 504
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 421 GAAGTTAAAAGATGTCAACGCCGAAGAGATTTACACTAATTTAACAACTCCGGTCTTTGG 480
Query 505 AAGAGATGTTGTATATGATTGTCCAAATTCCAAACTCATGGAACaaaaaaaGGTCCGTAA 564
|||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 481 AAGAGATGTTGTATNTGATTGTCCAAATTCCAAACTCATGGAACAAAAAAAGGTCCGTAA 540
Query 565 ATGGTCGAGTAGTAATTTTTGAGATTCGATCTGAACTGCTGGTAGTTTATGAAAACGGCT 624
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 541 ATGGTCGAGTAGTAATTTTTGAGATTCGATCTGAACTGCTGGTAGTTTATGAAAACGGCT 600
Query 625 CTTACCACTGAAGCGTTCCATTCCTATGTAACAATAATACAAAATGAAGTAGAGGCATAT 684
||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 601 CTTACCANTGAAGCGTTCCATTCCTATGTAACAATAATACAAAATGAAGTAGAGGCATAT 660
Query 685 ATAAACAATTGCGTTAGCTTTCAGGGTGAGAGTGGCACAGTAAACATCTCAAAAGTTATG 744
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 661 ATAAACAATTGCGTTAGCTTTCAGGGTGAGAGTGGCACAGTAAACATCTCAAAAGTTATG 720
Query 745 GCGGAAATCACTATATATACTGCTTCACATGCCTTACAAGGAGAAGAGGTCCGTGAGAAT 804
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 721 GCGGAAATCACTATATATACTGCTTCACATGCCTTACAAGGAGAAGAGGTCCGTGAGAAT 780
Query 805 TTTGACTCATCTTTTGCCGCTCTTTATCATGATCTTGATATGGGATTTACACCGATCAAC 864
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 781 TTTGACTCATCTTTTGCCGCTCTTTATCATGATCTTGATATGGGATTTACACCGATCAAC 840
Query 865 TTTACATTTTACTGGGCACCTCTACCTTGGAATCGTGCTCGTGATCATGCCCAAAGAACT 924
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 841 TTTACATTTTACTGGGCACCTCTACCTTGGAATCGTGCTCGTGATCATGCCCAAAGAACT 900
Query 925 GTTGCTAGGACTTATATGAATATAATCCAAGCTCGTAGAGAAGAGAAAAGAAGCGGTGAG 984
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 901 GTTGCTAGGACTTATATGAATATAATCCAAGCTCGTAGAGAAGAGAAAAGAAGCGGTGAG 960
Query 985 AATAAGCATGATATAATGTGGGAGTTGATGCGTTCCACTTATAAAGACGGGACTCCGGTA 1044
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 961 AATAAGCATGATATAATGTGGGAGTTGATGCGTTCCACTTATAAAGACGGGACTCCGGTA 1020
Query 1045 CCTGATCGAGAGATAGCGCATATGATGATAGCCCTTCTGATGGCTGGACAACACTCTTCG 1104
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1021 CCTGATCGAGAGATAGCGCATATGATGATAGCCCTTCTGATGGCTGGACAACACTCTTCG 1080
Query 1105 TCATCCACGAGCTCATGGATTATGCTTTGGTTAGCCGCACGACCAGATATCATGGAAGAG 1164
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1081 TCATCCACGAGCTCATGGATTATGCTTTGGTTAGCCGCNCGACCAGATATCATGGAAGAG 1140
Query 1165 TTGTATGAGGAACAACTTCGGATTTTTGGGTCAGAAAAGCCCTTCCCGCCTTTACAATAT 1224
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1141 TTGTATGAGGAACAACTTCGGATTTTTGGNTCAGAAAAGCCCTTCCCGCCTTTACAATAT 1200
Query 1225 GAAGATCTTTCAAAACTTCAACTTCATCAAAATGTTTTGAAAGAAGTTCTGCGACTTCAC 1284
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1201 GAAGATCTTTCAAAACTTCAACTTCATCAAAATGTTTTGAAAGAAGTTCTGCGACTTCAC 1260
Query 1285 GCTCCCATACACTCAATCATGCGGAAGGTCAAGAATCCAATGATCGTGCCAGGCACTAAA 1344
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1261 GCTCCCATACACTCAATCATGCGGAAGGTCAAGAATCCAATGATCGTGCCAGGCACTAAA 1320
Query 1345 TACGTCATTCCGACGTCGCATGTACTCATCTCATCGCCCGGATGTACTAGTCAGGATGCC 1404
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1321 TACGTCATTCCGACGTCGCATGTACTCATCTCATCGCCCGGATGTACTAGTCAGGATGCC 1380
Query 1405 ACtttttttCCAGACCCTCTCAAATGGGATCCTCATCGATGGGACATTGGATCAGGTAAA 1464
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1381 ACTTTTTTTCCAGACCCTCTCAAATGGGATCCTCATCGATGGGACATTGGATCAGGTAAA 1440
Query 1465 GTCCTAGGAAATGATGCGGTTGATGAGAAGTATGATTATGGGTATGGTTTAACTAGCACA 1524
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1441 GTCCTAGGAAATGATGCGGTTGATGAGAAGTATGATTATGGGTATGGTTTAACTAGCACA 1500
Query 1525 GGAGCGTCAAGTCCATATCTACCTTTTGGTGCGGGTCGGCATCGATGTATTGGCGAGCAA 1584
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1501 GGAGCGTCAAGTCCATATCTACCTTTTGGTGCGGGTCGGCATCGATGTATTGGCGAGCAA 1560
Query 1585 TTTGCCACATTGCAGCTAGTGACAATAATGGCAACTATGGTGCGtttttttAGGTTCCGT 1644
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1561 TTTGCCACATTGCAGCTAGTGACAATAATGGCAACTATGGTGCGTTTTTTTAGGTTCCGN 1620
Query 1645 AATATAGATGGGAAGCAGGGGGTTGTAAAGACAGACTATTCAAGTCTATTTTCGATGCCT 1704
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1621 AATATAGATGGGAAGCAGGGGGTTGTAAAGACAGACTATTCAAGTCTATTTTCGATGCCT 1680
Query 1705 CTCGCACCAGCCCTGATAGGCTGGGAAAAGAGATGACTGTTATCGTAATTATTTATGGCA 1764
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1681 CTCGCACCAGCCCTGATAGGCTGGGAAAAGAGATGACTGTTATCGTAATTATTTATGGCA 1740
Query 1765 GGTGTTAGGGTTAGAA 1780
||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1741 GGTGTTAGGGTTAGAA 1756
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/LI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662