DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are amended. Claim 9 is added. Claims 1-9 are pending in this application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,087,111, claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,308,743, and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,699,502.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims is substantially similar and recites similar limitations. It is because the claims in the continuation application are broader than the ones in the patent applications, In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982).
For example, claim 1 of the present application recites “capture” and “display” steps which are similar to the patented claim 1. Furthermore, the cited patents has more limitations, thereby encompassing the present application's limitations.
Therefore, claim 1 of the present invention is broader than claim 1 of the patented applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takizawa, US 2006/0262187 in view of Parrish et al., US 2017/0046808.
Regarding claim 1, Takizawa discloses an information processing apparatus (figs. 1-2; para 0036-0037; an entrance and exit management apparatus) comprising:
a first camera configured to capture a first face image of a user moving toward the information processing apparatus (figs. 1-2, elements 11/12; para 0036-0037; cameras 11 and 12 capture face images of a pedestrian walking toward the entrance and exit gate);
a display configured to display a determination result whether or not the first face image captured by the first camera and registered face information match (fig. 12, elements S19 and S21; para 0037 and 0090-0091; At this time, the entrance and exist management apparatus extracts characteristic information from the face images captured by the cameras 11 and 12, and compares the extracted characteristic information with dictionary entries which have been registered in advance, thereby determining whether or not the pedestrian M has been registered in advance. Then, in the case where the determination result is that the pedestrian M has been registered in advance, the entrance and exit management apparatus opens the door 3 of the entrance and exit target area 2. In the case where it is determined that identification has succeeded (i.e., compares the extracted characteristic information with dictionary entries which have been registered in advance), a message "Identification OK, you may pass through gate" is displayed via the face identification display module 21. On the other hand, in the case where, it is determined that identification has failed, the control module displays for a predetermined period of time a message "identification NG" via the face identification display module 21); and
a door control unit configured to open an exit gate door that is in a closed state in accordance with a determination result regarding (fig. 12, element S19; para 0037 and 0090; the entrance and exist management apparatus extracts characteristic information from the face images captured by the cameras 11 and 12, and compares the extracted characteristic information with dictionary entries which have been registered in advance, thereby determining whether or not the pedestrian M has been registered in advance. Then, in the case where the determination result is that the pedestrian M has been registered in advance, the entrance and exit management apparatus opens the door 3 of the entrance and exit target area 2).
Takizawa discloses claim 1 as enumerated above, but Takizawa does not explicitly disclose declaration information as claimed.
However, Parrish discloses the customs/border compliance system 216 could flag any traveler who provided or failed to provide certain declarations. The customs/border compliance system 216 could also perform image matching to verify that a traveler's recently-captured image or biometric data matches a preexisting picture or expected biometric data of the traveler. The method 1280 includes obtaining traveler information from a kiosk, a portable device, or both at step 1282. This could include, for example, an application server obtaining passport information, photos, biometric data, and declaration answers from a kiosk, a portable device of a traveler, or both (figs. 12A and 12C; para 0037 and 0108).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of Takizawa and Parrish as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the customs/border compliance system 216 could flag any traveler who provided or failed to provide certain declarations. The customs/border compliance system 216 could also perform image matching to verify that a traveler's recently-captured image or biometric data matches a preexisting picture or expected biometric data of the traveler. The method 1280 includes obtaining traveler information from a kiosk, a portable device, or both at step 1282. This could include, for example, an application server obtaining passport information, photos, biometric data, and declaration answers from a kiosk, a portable device of a traveler, or both as taught by Parrish into the invention of Takizawa for the purpose of opening an egress point of the customs/border enforcement area for the traveler in response to determining that the disposition code or the information associated with the disposition code indicates that the traveler is allowed to pass the customs/border enforcement area (Parrish: claim 23).
Regarding claim 2, the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Takizawa in the combination further disclose wherein the display is further configured to display information instructing the user to stop (fig. 2; para 0050 and 0060).
Regarding claim 3, the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Takizawa in the combination further disclose wherein the display is further configured to display information instructing the user to look at the display based on a direction of a face of the user or a line of sight of the user (para 0040 and 0043).
Regarding claim 5, the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Takizawa in the combination further disclose wherein the display is further configured to make a sound (para 0073).
Regarding claim 6, the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Takizawa in the combination further disclose comprising a second camera configured to capture a second face image of the user within a range of a shorter capturing distance than the first camera (figs. 1-2, element 18; para 0040) when the first face image and the registered face information do not match (para 0055-0056; a case in which the pedestrian M fails in face identification while the pedestrian approaches the door 3 (e.g., using the first face image taken by cameras 11 and 12, and then, restarts face identification in detail while stopping in front of the face identification display module 21 (i.e., using images taken with a short distance camera 18)).
Regarding claim 7, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 1 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 1 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 9, the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Parrish in the combination further disclose wherein the declaration information is information necessary for customs declaration (figs. 12A and 12C; para 0037 and 0108).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takizawa, US 2006/0262187 in view of Parrish et al., US 2017/0046808 and further in view of Zheng et al, US 2018/0048641.
Regarding claim 4, the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Takizawa and Parrish in the combination do not explicitly disclose wherein the display is further configured to display information instructing the user to put off a wearing item as claimed.
However, Zheng discloses the device provides an instruction for the user to remove eye glasses, or other vision aid equipment on the face, in order to record a video in real time (para 0128).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of Takizawa, Parrish, and Zheng as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the device provides an instruction for the user to remove eye glasses, or other vision aid equipment on the face, in order to record a video in real time as taught by Zheng into the inventions of Takizawa and Parrish for the benefit of helping the user provide the authentication input without difficulty (Zheng: para 0128).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAN D HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665