DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 and 18-21 in the reply filed on 3/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-14, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jan et al. U.S. Patent 11,216,039 in view of CHO et al. U.S. Pub. 2023/0209751.
Regarding claim 1, Jan et al. teaches a display device comprising:
a display module (160d; figure 6B-C); and
a hinge component (141d + 142d + 143d; figure 6B-C) configured to enable the display module to switch between being in a flat state (figure 6B) or a curved state (figure 6C), the hinge component including:
at least one hinge frame (141d or 142d or 143d);
at least one hinge component (see above annotated figure 6B-C) around which the at least one hinge frame is configured to rotate (see figures 6B-C) to allow the display module to switch between the flat state (figure 6B) and the curved state (figure 6C).
However, Jan et al. does not specifically teach at least one stopper at each of two ends of the hinge component configured to maintain the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or an intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state.
CHO et al. teaches a similar structure, which comprises at least one stopper (225 + 226; figures 1 and 4) at each of two ends (see figures 1-4) of the hinge component (300; see figure 4) configured to maintain (see par[0041]) the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or an intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the display device of Jan et al. with at least one stopper at each of two ends of the hinge component, as suggested by CHO et al., for maintaining the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or an intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state.
Regarding claim 2, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a pair of bolt and nut (see above annotated figure 1G) for each of the at least one hinge component, the pair of bolt and nut being configured to allow for adjustment of torque (see paragraph bridging columns 4-5) applied for maintaining the flat state, the curved state, and the intermediary state.
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the display device of claim 1.
CHO et al. further teaches the at least one stopper includes a pair of a lower stopper (see above annotated figure 4) and an upper stopper (see above annotated figure 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the display device of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. with a pair of a lower stopper and an upper stopper, as suggested by CHO et al., to facilitate sliding and maintaining the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or an intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state.
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the display device of claim 3.
CHO et al. further teaches the lower stopper and the upper stopper comprise:
a fixing portion (225 + 226; figure 4 of CHO et al.); and a slit (see above annotated figure 4 of CHO et al.), wherein the slit and the fixing portion are configured to maintain the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or the intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state (see par[0041]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the display device of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. with a fixing portion and a slit, as suggested by CHO et al., to maintain the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or the intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state.
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. would result in the display device of claim 4, wherein the slit has an elongated semi-circular shape (see figure 4 of CHO et al.).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. would result in the display device of claim 4, wherein the fixing portion is configured to move in a first direction (horizontal direction) that is perpendicular to a direction (z direction) in which the display module moves between the flat state and the curved state.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. would result in the display device of claim 4, further comprising: an embossed portion (120; figure 4 of CHO et al.), wherein the slit would be formed around (see figure 4 of CHO et al.) the embossed portion.
Regarding claim 8, The modification of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. would result in the display device of claim 7, wherein the fixing portion (225 + 226; figure 4 of CHO et al.) and the embossed portion (120; figure 4 of CHO et al.) would be configured to move in a first direction (horizontal direction or x direction) that is perpendicular to a direction (z direction) in which the display module moves between the flat state and the curved state.
Regarding claim 9, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the at least one hinge frame includes multiple independently movable hinge frames (141d, 142d, 143d; see figures 6B-C of Jan et al.) each of which can rotate (see figures 6B-C of Jan et al.) around one or more of the at least one hinge component to enable the display module to switch between the flat state and the curved state (see figures 6B-C of Jan et al.).
Regarding claim 11, Jan et al. teaches a device (see figures 6B-C) comprising:
a plurality of parts (141d, 142d; 143d; figure 6B-C) coupled together via a plurality of hinges (see above annotated figure 6B-C) to enable moving a display module (160d; figures 6B-C) between a flat state (figure 6B) and a curved state (figure 6C), wherein the plurality of parts are independently movable (see figures 6B-C).
However, Jan et al. does not specifically teach at least one stopper attached to the plurality of parts, the at least one stopper being configured to maintain the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or an intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state.
CHO et al. teaches a similar structure, which comprises at least one stopper (225 + 226; figures 1 and 4) at each of two ends (see figures 1-4) of the hinge component (300; see figure 4) configured to maintain (see par[0041]) the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or an intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the display device of Jan et al. with at least one stopper at each of two ends of the hinge component, as suggested by CHO et al., for maintaining the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or an intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state.
Regarding claim 12, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of parts comprises:
a first part (right 143d; figures 6B-C of Jan et al.) at a right end (see figures 6B-C) of the device;
a second part (left 143d; figures 6B-C of Jan et al.) at a left end of the device;
a middle part (141d; figures 6B-C of Jan et al.) at a center (see figures 6B-C) of the device;
a third part (right 142d; figures 6B-C of Jan et al.) between the middle part and the first part (right 143d); and
a fourth part (left 142d; figures 6B-C of Jan et al.) between the middle part and the second part (left 143d).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the device of claim 12.
CHO et al. further teaches the at least one stopper comprises:
a first stopper (see above annotated figure 1) attached to the first part;
a second stopper (see above annotated figure 1) attached to the second part;
a third stopper (see above annotated figure 1) attached to the third part; and
a fourth stopper (see above annotated figure 1) attached to the fourth part.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the device of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. with a first stopper attached to the first part; a second stopper attached to the second part; a third stopper attached to the third part; and a fourth stopper attached to the fourth part, as suggested by CHO et al., to optimize maintaining the display module in the flat state, the curved state, or an intermediary state in between the flat state and the curved state.
Regarding claim 14, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the device of claim 13, wherein each of the first stopper and the second stopper and the third stopper and the fourth stopper would include a pair (see above annotated figure 4 of CHO et al.; lower and upper stoppers = a pair) of stoppers.
Regarding claim 18, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the device of claim 11, wherein the device is coupled to a backend (back end of 160d; figures 6B-C of Jan et al.) of the display module to move the display module between the flat state and the curved state.
Regarding claim 20, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the device of claim 11, wherein the device is coupled to a stand (120; figure 1C of Jan et al.) for holding the display module.
Regarding claim 21, the modification of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the display device of claim 3; wherein the lower stopper and the upper stopper have a horizontally symmetric structure (see above annotated figure 4 of CHO et al.), and wherein the pair of stoppers has a vertically symmetry (see above annotated figure 4 of CHO et al.) with respect to at least one other (see figure 1 of CHO et al.) pair of stoppers of the hinge component.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jan et al. U.S. Patent 11,216,039 in view of CHO et al. U.S. Pub. 2023/0209751 and in further view of KIM et al. U.S. Pub. 2015/0043136.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a hinge cover (160b; figure 4E of Jan et al.) configured to cover the hinge component.
However, Jan et al. in view of Yoo et al. does not teach a pair of handles, each of which is coupled to one end of the hinge cover for moving the display module between the flat state and the curved state.
KIM et al. teaches a display module, which comprises a pair of handles (32; figure 2; see par[0072]), each of which is coupled to one end of the display module for moving the display module between (see par[0072]) the flat state and the curved state.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide a pair of handles to the display module of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al., as suggested by KIM et al., wherein each of which would be coupled to one end of the display module at a position such as the end of the hinge cover for facilitating moving the display module between the flat state and the curved state.
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above, Jan et al. in view of CHO et al. teaches the device of claim 11.
However, Jan et al. in view of Yoo et al. does not specifically teach a pair of handles are attached to ends of the device to enable moving the display module between the flat state and the curved state.
KIM et al. teaches a display module, which comprises a pair of handles (32; figure 2; see par[0072]), each of which is coupled to one end of the display module for moving the display module between (see par[0072]) the flat state and the curved state.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide a pair of handles attached to the ends of the display module of Jan et al. in view of CHO et al., as suggested by KIM et al., for facilitating moving the display module between the flat state and the curved state.
Conclusion
HUNG Q. DANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2835
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841