DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first terminal". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0012270 to Lim et al.
As concerns claim 1, a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that, when executed by processing circuitry, causes a terminal to output sound information and video information (0001-video, audio; 0017-project includes video, audio content) transmitted and received in a first group of an online meeting (0036-audio conference, video conference; 0017-collaboration sharing; 0035), by performing a method comprising:
receiving, by a communication device (Fig. 24, 2408) of the terminal (Fig. 24-computing device; Fig. 1, computing devices), information (0095-invitation, collaboration project) transmitted to the first group (Fig. 20-add/invite to group-invite can be transmitted to a “first” group/person; 0020-sent to group; BRI: claims interpreted in light of specification; paragraph 0141 of applicant’s specification: “group” at least one user) and related to a second group (created group initially “invited” to project can be labeled as “second group”; 0095; 0136-0141-group management, share collaboration project with group Fig. 20; BRI: claims interpreted in light of specification; paragraph 0141 of applicant’s specification: “group” at least one user),
the information being based on (BRI: limitations from specification not read into the claims, “based on” does not require the information exchanged) information exchanged between terminals of users participating in the second group (access collaboration project; 0099-0105), the second group different from the first group (different users not already part of group, or invited), the first group including a user of the terminal, the second group not including the user of the first terminal (Fig. 1, users have their own terminal); and
performing, by the processing circuitry (Fig. 24; 2404 processing system), control to give notification (Fig. 23, 2314-received invitation) of the information.
As concerns claim 17, an information processing method to be performed by a terminal that outputs sound information and video information (0001-video, audio; 0017-project includes video, audio content) transmitted and received in a first group of an online meeting (0036-audio conference, video conference; 0017-collaboration sharing; 0035), the method comprising:
receiving, by a communication device (Fig. 24, 2408) of the terminal (Fig. 24-computing device; Fig. 1, computing devices), information (0095-invitation, collaboration project) transmitted to the first group (Fig. 20-add/invite to group-invite can be transmitted to a “first” group/person; 0020-sent to group; BRI: claims interpreted in light of specification; paragraph 0141 of applicant’s specification: “group” at least one user) and related to a second group (created group initially “invited” to project can be labeled as “second group”; 0095; 0136-0141-group management, share collaboration project with group Fig. 20; BRI: claims interpreted in light of specification; paragraph 0141 of applicant’s specification: “group” at least one user), the information being based on (BRI: limitations from specification not read into the claims, “based on” does not require the information exchanged) information exchanged between terminals of users participating in the second group (access collaboration project; 0099-0105), the second group different from the first group (different users not already part of group, or invited), the first group including a user of the terminal, the second group not including the user of the first terminal (Fig. 1, users have their own terminal);
and performing, by processing circuitry (Fig. 24; 2404 processing system) of the terminal, control to give notification (Fig. 23, 2314-received invitation) of the information.
As concerns claim 18, a terminal configured to output sound information and video information (0001-video, audio; 0017-project includes video, audio content) transmitted and received in a first group of an online meeting (0036-audio conference, video conference; 0017-collaboration sharing; 0035), the terminal comprising:
a communication device (Fig. 24, 2408; Fig. 24-computing device; Fig. 1, computing devices) configured to receive information (0095-invitation, collaboration project) transmitted to the first group (Fig. 20-add/invite to group-invite can be transmitted to a “first” group/person; 0020-sent to group; BRI: claims interpreted in light of specification; paragraph 0141 of applicant’s specification: “group” at least one user) and related to a second group (created group initially “invited” to project can be labeled as “second group”; 0095; 0136-0141-group management, share collaboration project with group Fig. 20; BRI: claims interpreted in light of specification; paragraph 0141 of applicant’s specification: “group” at least one user), the information being based on (BRI: limitations from specification not read into the claims, “based on” does not require the information exchanged) information exchanged between terminals of users participating in the second group (access collaboration project; 0099-0105), the second group different from the first group (different users not already part of group, or invited), the first group including a user of the terminal, the second group not including the user of the first terminal (Fig. 1, users have their own terminal); and
processing circuitry (Fig. 24; 2404 processing system) configured to perform control to give notification (Fig. 23, 2314-received invitation) of the information.
As concerns claim 19, a terminal configured to output sound information and video information (0001-video, audio; 0017-project includes video, audio content) transmitted and received in a first group (Fig. 20-add/invite to group-invite can be transmitted to a “first” group/person; 0020-sent to group; BRI: claims interpreted in light of specification; paragraph 0141 of applicant’s specification: “group” at least one user) of an online meeting (0036-audio conference, video conference; 0017-collaboration sharing; 0035), the terminal comprising:
a processor (Fig. 24; 2404 processing system) configured to read a program stored in a memory (Fig. 24, 2412) and execute processing based on the program such that the processor is configured to cause the terminal (Fig. 24-computing device; Fig. 1, computing devices) to receive, by a communication device (Fig. 24, 2408) of the terminal, information (0095-invitation, collaboration project) transmitted to the first group and related to a second group (created group initially “invited” to project can be labeled as “second group”; 0095; 0136-0141-group management, share collaboration project with group Fig. 20; BRI: claims interpreted in light of specification; paragraph 0141 of applicant’s specification: “group” at least one user), the information being based on (BRI: limitations from specification not read into the claims, “based on” does not require the information exchanged) information exchanged between terminals of users participating in the second group (access collaboration project; 0099-0105), the second group different from the first group (different users not already part of group, or invited), the first group including a user of the terminal, the second group not including the user of the first terminal (Fig. 1, users have their own terminal);
and perform control to give notification (Fig. 23, 2314-received invitation) of the information.
As concerns claim 20, a server (0026-server device) configured to relay sound information and video information (0001-video, audio; 0017-project includes video, audio content) transmitted and received in a first group (Fig. 20-add/invite to group-invite can be transmitted to a “first” group/person; 0020-sent to group; BRI: claims interpreted in light of specification; paragraph 0141 of applicant’s specification: “group” at least one user) of an online meeting (0036-audio conference, video conference; 0017-collaboration sharing; 0035), and relay sound information and video information (0001-video, audio; 0017-project includes video, audio content) transmitted and received in a second group (access collaboration project; 0099-0105) different from the first group, the server comprising:
a communication device (Fig. 24, 2408) configured to receive information transmitted by a second terminal (Fig. 24-computing device; Fig. 1, computing devices) of a second user (user of terminal; 0018-users) included in the second group and related to the second group the information being based on (BRI: limitations from specification not read into the claims, “based on” does not require the information exchanged) information exchanged between terminals of users participating in the second group (access collaboration project; 0099-0105), the second group different from the first group (different users not already part of group, or invited), the first group including a user of the terminal, the second group not including the user of the first terminal (Fig. 1, users have their own terminal);
processing circuitry (Fig. 24; 2404 processing system) configured to perform control to cause the communication device to transmit the information (Fig. 23, 2314-received invitation) to a terminal included in the first group.
As concerns claim 2, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the information is transmitted from a first user included in the second group to the first group, or transmitted from the second group to the first group (Fig. 20-add/invite to group-invite can be transmitted to a “first” group/person).
As concerns claim 3, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the notification of the information is given by displaying (Fig. 23-invitation received for access) the information on a display (Fig. 24, display shown) of the terminal.
As concerns claim 4, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 3, wherein the information includes first information for participating in the second group, and the method further comprises causing the terminal to perform processing related to participating in the second group by the processing circuitry, based on an input (Fig. 23, 2314) to the first information by the user of the terminal.
As concerns claim 6, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the information is transmitted from a first user (Fig. 20; inviting user) included in the second group to the first group, and the method further comprises causing the terminal to display, on a display (Fig. 24, display shown) of the terminal, user information regarding the first user included in the information (0063; 0065-0066, email would inherently include sender information).
As concerns claim 7, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 6, wherein the user information regarding the first user includes video information (0001-video, audio; 0017-project includes video, audio content; 0036-audio conference, video conference) transmitted from a first terminal (Fig. 1, users have their own terminal) of the first user.
As concerns claim 8, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises: causing the terminal to perform, by the processing circuitry, processing to invite the first user included in the second group to the first group, based on an input (Fig. 23, 2314) made by the user of the terminal to the user information regarding the first user displayed on the display.
As concerns claim 9, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the information is first invitation information (0095-invitation) and the method further comprises causing the terminal to display (Fig. 23-invitation received for access), if second invitation information different from the first invitation information is received by the communication device, first information regarding a first inviter of the first invitation information and second information regarding a second inviter of the second invitation information on a display of the terminal (“if” is a conditional statement; inherent multiple invitations over time are sent and would be displayed).
As concerns claim 10, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: causing the terminal to transmit, by the communication device, to a second user of the second group (Fig. 16, Fig. 20-additional users/groups), another information related to the first group (Fig. 23, 2312, 2314; Fig. 13-comments/messages).
As concerns claim 11, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 10, wherein the another information includes information regarding a message (Fig. 23, 2312, 2314; Fig. 13-comments/messages) for the second group.
As concerns claim 12, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: causing the terminal to transmit, by the communication device, second information indicating interest in the second group to the second group or a second user included in the second group, based on an input (Fig. 23, 2314) made to the terminal by the user of the terminal.
As concerns claim 13, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 12, wherein the second information includes information related to making a request (Fig. 22, 2206; Fig. 23, 2312; BRI: “related to” does not specifically require a request, limitations from specification are not read into the claims) to transmit the information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0012270 to Lim et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,144,365 to Gordon et al.
Lim et al. ‘270 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 5, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
causing the terminal to display first information indicating the second group and second information indicating a third group on a display of the terminal; and
controlling the terminal to change, by the processing circuitry, a display mode of the first information, based on reception of the information.
As concerns claim 14, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises: causing the terminal to display third information that is based on information transmitted and received in the second group on a display of the terminal; and
transmitting, by the communication device, the second information based on an input to the third information.
Gordon et al. ‘365 teach:
As concerns claim 5, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
causing the terminal to display first information indicating the second group (Fig. 2A-invitation list, displays a user/ “second group”) and second information indicating a third group (Fig. 2A-invitation list, displays a user/ “third group”) on a display of the terminal; and
controlling the terminal to change, by the processing circuitry, a display mode (Fig. 2A) of the first information, based on reception of the information (Fig. 2A-user/group name would be indicated based on reception of information).
As concerns claim 14, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises: causing the terminal to display third information (Fig. 2A-an additional user can be “third information”) that is based on information transmitted and received in the second group on a display of the terminal; and
transmitting, by the communication device, the second information based on an input (Fig. 2A-user selected for invite is an “input”) to the third information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Lim et al. ‘270, with declining an invitation, as taught by Gordon et al. ‘365 in order to provide an efficient user interface.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0012270 to Lim et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0194835 to Kim.
Lim et al. ‘270 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 15, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the notification of the information is given by displaying the information on a display of the terminal, and the method further comprises causing the terminal to transmit, by the processing circuitry, another information related to declining an invitation to an inviter that has transmitted the information, based on an input to the information.
Kim ‘835 teach:
As concerns claim 15, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the notification of the information is given by displaying the information on a display of the terminal, and the method further comprises causing the terminal to transmit, by the processing circuitry, another information related to declining (0091-decline) an invitation to an inviter that has transmitted the information, based on an input (0091-user interface for inputting whether or not to participate) to the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Lim et al. ‘270, with declining an invitation, as taught by Kim ‘835 in order to provide the user options.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0012270 to Lim et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0046206 to Kelley.
Lim et al. ‘270 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 16, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, the method further comprises: causing the terminal to perform, by the processing circuitry, control related to participating in the second group if a set time period has elapsed since, or a set time has arrived after the notification of the information.
Kelley ‘206 teach:
As concerns claim 16, the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, the method further comprises: causing the terminal to perform, by the processing circuitry, control related to participating in the second group if a set time period has elapsed since, or a set time has arrived after the notification of the information (0073-timer, respond to invitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Lim et al. ‘270, with a time period, as taught by Kelley ‘206, in order to provide effective time management.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s arguments are directed to newly amended limitations that have been addressed in the rejections cited above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451