Nk Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geadelmann et al (US PUB. 20090057427, herein Geadelmann) in view of Fadell et al (US PUB. 20140316581, herein Fadell).
Regarding claim 1, Geadelmann teaches A building management system comprising:
building equipment comprising schedule information and operable to affect a physical state or condition of a building (0130 “Web page 956 includes a pane 958 that provides a variety of parameter values and/or settings pertaining to the specific thermostat configuration aspect currently being edited. In particular, web page 956 provides a user with the opportunity to view and/or edit parameter values pertaining to Inputs”, 0067, 0037 “A variety of information may be displayed on the summary web page. Examples of information include but are not limited to one or more of a thermostat identifier for one or more of the thermostats, a current inside temperature reported by one or more of the thermostats, a current outside temperature, a current set point for one or more of the thermostats, a schedule related parameter for one or more of the thermostats”);
a system manager configured to gather the schedule information [from the building equipment] and create a first schedule configuration file comprising the schedule information (Fig. 2, 0130 “Web page 956 includes a pane 958 that provides a variety of parameter values and/or settings pertaining to the specific thermostat configuration aspect currently being edited. In particular, web page 956 provides a user with the opportunity to view and/or edit parameter values pertaining to Inputs”, 0032 “PC 34 may permit a user to view web pages that are provided by building control appliance 12.” 0091 “web server 38 (FIG. 2) may for example permit the user to alter the schedule settings”, 0027 lines “A first network 18 may be in communication with first port 14 and/or a second network 20 may be in communication with second port 16” figure 1);
[a data adaptor configured to receive the first schedule configuration file from the system manager] and extract the schedule information from the first schedule configuration file (figure 2, 0085 lines 1-6, 0086 lines “Web server 38 is providing a pane 530 that graphically displays the weekly schedule.” Schedule information is extracted and displayed.);
[a cloud-based application] configured to generate a second schedule configuration file based on the schedule information extracted from the first schedule configuration file (0083 “FIGS. 5A-5D provide illustrative but non-limiting examples of web page that may be served up by web server 38 (FIG. 2). In particular, FIGS. 5A-5D provide web pages pertaining to the Schedules tab 74”, 0088 “This corresponds to the summary information provided by web server 38 on web page 500 (FIG. 5A). The displayed schedule may, if desired, be deleted, reset or saved, by clicking on an appropriate button within change bar 536”, 0043 “Once the information has been inputted into the one or more web pages served up by web server 38, controller 36 may provide the appropriate instructions to each of the individual device controllers over second network” 0053 “controller 36 implements a control algorithm that includes a programmable schedule, and wherein the one or more commands are based, at least in part, on the programmable schedule.” The web server has a web page. The web page is used by a user to modify the schedule.).
The cited prior art do not teach a system manager configured to gather the schedule information [from the building equipment, a data adaptor configured to receive the first schedule configuration file from the system manager, a cloud-based application, and a command service configured to provide the second schedule configuration file to the system manager; wherein the system manager is configured to provide a portion of the second schedule configuration file to the building equipment.
Fadell teaches a system manager configured to gather the schedule information from the building equipment (0197 “Schedule features (e.g., when setpoint-temperature changes should occur and what setpoint temperature should be effected) can be influenced by express user inputs to the schedule itself (e.g., establishing setpoints, removing setpoints, changing setting times or values for the setpoints), by ordinary temperature-setting user inputs (e.g., the user changes the current setpoint temperature by turning the dial on the thermostat”, 0270, 0259 “Computer 3502 may include one or more processors 3660 that communicate with a number of peripheral devices via a bus subsystem 3690…these peripheral devices may include... user input device(s).”, 0093 “Thermostat 300 is wall mounted, is circular in shape, and has an outer rotatable ring 312 for receiving user input.” Users are able to input their desired schedule via the thermostat. The thermostat contains the schedule information)
a data adaptor configured to receive the first schedule configuration file from the system manager (0390 “A plurality of different schedules that were previously built up by the intelligent thermostat… can be stored…in a cloud server”, The server contains a device that receives the schedule file from the thermostat.)
a cloud-based application (0390 “A plurality of different schedules that were previously built up by the intelligent thermostat 7302 over a similar period in the preceding year can be stored in the thermostat 7302, or, alternatively, in a cloud server to which it has a network connection”, 0186 “Each of the intelligent, network-connected devices from FIG. 19 can communicate with one or more remote central servers or cloud computing systems 2264” 0271)
and a command service configured to provide the second schedule configuration file to the system manager (0271 “the user logs into a website configured to control the thermostat. The current scheduled setpoint temperature is again 75 degrees F. The user then adjusts the setpoint temperature to be 71 degrees F. The central server determines that the adjustment exceeds two degrees”, 0271 “Further, the central server transmits the new setpoint temperature to the thermostat.”)
wherein the system manager is configured to provide a portion of the second schedule configuration file to the building equipment (0280 “schedules of control setpoints may be determined and used to control energy-consuming systems, as will be discussed further below. FIG. 34 illustrates a general class of intelligent controllers to which the present disclosure is directed in part. The intelligent controller 4402 controls a device, machine, system, or organization 4404 via any of various different types of output control signals and receives information about the controlled entity and the environment from sensor output received by the intelligent controller from sensors embedded within the controlled entity 4404, the intelligent controller 4402, or in the environment of the intelligent controller and/or controlled entity. In FIG. 34, the intelligent controller is shown connected to the controlled entity 4404 via a wire or fiber-based communications medium 4406”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the schedule changing of an HVAC system teachings of Geadelmann with the scheduling system of Fadell because both references are directed to controlling of an HVAC system and because Fadell teaches a schedule system that allows “for efficiently controlling energy-consuming systems, such as a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) system” (0017).
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach The building management system of Claim 1.
Fadell teaches wherein: the cloud-based application is configured to initiate a setpoint change and create a command message defining the setpoint change; and the system manager is configured to receive the command message, extract setpoint change information from the command message, and implement the setpoint change by operating the building equipment in accordance with the setpoint change information ("0280 “schedules of control setpoints may be determined and used to control energy-consuming systems, as will be discussed further below. FIG. 34 illustrates a general class of intelligent controllers to which the present disclosure is directed in part. The intelligent controller 4402 controls a device, machine, system, or organization 4404 via any of various different types of output control signals and receives information about the controlled entity and the environment from sensor output received by the intelligent controller from sensors embedded within the controlled entity 4404, the intelligent controller 4402, or in the environment of the intelligent controller and/or controlled entity. In FIG. 34, the intelligent controller is shown connected to the controlled entity 4404 via a wire or fiber-based communications medium 4406", 0295).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach The building management system of Claim 1.
Fadell teaches wherein the command service is configured to receive a first command message from the cloud-based application and generate a second command message comprising the second schedule configuration file ("0280 “schedules of control setpoints may be determined and used to control energy-consuming systems, as will be discussed further below. FIG. 34 illustrates a general class of intelligent controllers to which the present disclosure is directed in part. The intelligent controller 4402 controls a device, machine, system, or organization 4404 via any of various different types of output control signals and receives information about the controlled entity and the environment from sensor output received by the intelligent controller from sensors embedded within the controlled entity 4404, the intelligent controller 4402, or in the environment of the intelligent controller and/or controlled entity. In FIG. 34, the intelligent controller is shown connected to the controlled entity 4404 via a wire or fiber-based communications medium 4406 ").
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art The building management system of Claim 1.
Fadell teaches wherein: the building equipment is configured to receive user input directly from a user modifying the schedule information to create locally-updated schedule information (0197 “Schedule features (e.g., when setpoint-temperature changes should occur and what setpoint temperature should be effected) can be influenced by express user inputs to the schedule itself (e.g., establishing setpoints, removing setpoints, changing setting times or values for the setpoints), by ordinary temperature-setting user inputs (e.g., the user changes the current setpoint temperature by turning the dial on the thermostat”, 0270, 0259 “Computer 3502 may include one or more processors 3660 that communicate with a number of peripheral devices via a bus subsystem 3690…these peripheral devices may include... user input device(s).”, 0093 “Thermostat 300 is wall mounted, is circular in shape, and has an outer rotatable ring 312 for receiving user input.”);
and the system manager is configured to gather the locally-updated schedule information from the building equipment and create a third schedule configuration file comprising the locally-updated schedule information (0116).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teach The building management system of Claim 1.
Geadelmann teaches wherein: the building equipment comprises a plurality of points; and the system manager is configured to create a reported point list for the building equipment, the reported point list comprising a schedule reference identifier for the building equipment and the plurality of points of the building equipment (figure 5A, 0085 .0"Building control appliance 12 (FIG. 1) may be adapted to accommodate any desired number of different schedules, such as one, two, three, four or more different schedules. As illustrated, web page 500 is displaying two schedules, named Sched1 and Sched2" 0085 “thermostat 520 (labeled T7350), which is assigned to Sched2”).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teaches The building management system of Claim 6.
wherein the data adaptor is configured to: receive the reported point list from the system manager (fig. 5A, 0085); extract the schedule reference identifier and the plurality of points from the reported point list; and generate a mapping between the plurality of points, the building equipment, and the schedule reference identifier (fig. 5a, A mapping is shown between the equipment (thermostat) and the schedule reference identifier in fig. 5a. This information is extracted from the files that as explained above are located in the web server and then displayed on the web page.)
Claims 8-11, 13-14, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected using similar reasoning as the rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-7 due to reciting similar limitations but directed towards a method and system.
Claim 5, 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geadelmann et al (US PUB. 20090057427, herein Geadelmann) in view of Fadell et al (US PUB. 20140316581, herein Fadell) in further view of Saintellemy et al (US PUB. 20190277524, herein Saintellemy).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teaches The building management system of Claim 4.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein: the data adaptor is configured to receive the third schedule configuration file from the system manager and extract the locally-updated schedule information from the third schedule configuration file; and the cloud-based application is configured to generate the second schedule configuration file based on both the schedule information extracted from the first schedule configuration file and the locally-updated schedule information extracted from the third schedule configuration file.
Saintellemy teaches wherein: the data adaptor is configured to receive the third schedule configuration file from the system manager and extract the locally-updated schedule information from the third schedule configuration file; and the cloud-based application is configured to generate the second schedule configuration file based on both the schedule information extracted from the first schedule configuration file and the locally-updated schedule information extracted from the third schedule configuration file (0010 “ controlling a HVAC system, the method comprising receiving a currently-in-use schedule, receiving environmental control rules for controlling the HVAC system, receiving via at least one of a wide-area communication module and a local communication module schedule information of a remote device associated to the thermostat system, determining from the received schedule information an event entry, modifying the currently-in-use schedule based on the determined event entry, thereby generating a modified currently-in-use schedule and controlling an HVAC interface module based on the modified currently-in-use schedule and the environmental control rules.”, 0146 “the modifier dataset may be another schedule dataset. Accordingly, the overlapping time interval entries may be contiguous. Overlaps in time interval entries may be resolved according to predetermined field rules. For example, overlaps may be resolved based on type fields. For example, a time interval of one of the schedule datasets of the type other than “normal” overrides the overlapping time interval of the other of the schedule datasets of the type “normal” and is chosen as the time interval of the in-use schedule dataset. For example, where two time intervals are overlapping, the time interval having the type “special” or “custom” is chosen as the time interval of the in-use schedule dataset.” 0153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Geadelmann and Fadell with the teachings of Saintellemy since Saintellemy teaches a means for scheduling of HVAC systems which allows for overriding for special events (0147).
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected using similar reasoning as the rejection of claims 5 due to reciting similar limitations but directed towards a method and system.
Conclusion
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116