Detailed Action
Claims 1-19 have been submitted for examination.
Claim 20 has been newly added.
Claims 1-20 have been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Kishikawa United States Patent Application 2022/ 0337494 hereinafter 494.
In regard to claims 1 10 11
494 discloses
(Currently Amended) A method for generating and storing an aggregated flow log comprising: accessing a plurality of flow log (Examiner considers the different collection points of Figure 5 with different log record as a flow log) records in a flow log repository; detecting a plurality of flow log records in the flow log repository, wherein each flow log record includes a plurality of data fields; detecting a first flow log record of the plurality of flow log records having a first data field value in common with a second flow log record; detecting in the first flow log record a second data field having a second value;
(Step 301 compares the field contents)
detecting in the second flow log record the second data field having a third value different from the second value; Examiner states that once the flows in the context of S301 above are not identical it means that a difference is present.
generating a merged record based on: the first data field value and including at least the second value and the third value; The first column of Figure 5 is the merged data version
generating an aggregated flow log based on the merged record, wherein the aggregated flow log includes a plurality of merged records; and storing the aggregated flow log in an aggregated flow log repository. Figure 10
Consideration for the mapping:
Examiner considers for the purpose of claim language mapping the log record as being collection point source IP address Destination IP address Source port Destination port Transport protocol Number of messages. All of Figure 5 is the data log repository. The data field is where 300a 300d is at, and the same is for 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.2. This mapping is for explication only and not limitation or any interpretation.
In regard to claims 2 12
494 discloses
(Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: matching a data record value of the first flow log record to a corresponding data record value of another flow log record to detect a common data field value.
Both collection point 300a and 300d have the same Source IP
In regard to claims 3 13
494 discloses
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a merged record in response to detecting at least one common data record value between a plurality of flow log records from the flow log repository.
Both collection point 300a and 300d have been merged
In regard to claims 4 14
494 discloses
(Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating an aggregated flow log that includes common data record values from the merged records.
In regard to claims 5 15
494 discloses
5. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, wherein the first data field includes any one of: an account identifier, a source address, a protocol, a destination address, a source port, a destination port, a network interface, an instance identification log status, an indicator of whether a network traffic was accepted or rejected, a subnet identifier, and any combination thereof.
In regard to claims 6 16
494 discloses
6. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting a flow log record that is based on any one of: a data record, a network traffic event, a message, an action in a virtual private cloud environment, and any combination thereof. (Paragraph 94)
In regard to claims 7 17
494 discloses
7. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the aggregated flow log based on a plurality of merged records, wherein a first merged record is generated from a first flow log and a second merged record is generated from a second flow log. (Paragraph 159)
In regard to claims 8 18
494 discloses
8. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a first data field value is common in response to detecting at least a partial match between a value of the first flow log record and a value of the second flow log record. (Paragraph 171-172)
In regard to claims 9 19
494 discloses
9. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: filtering out a portion of records of the plurality of data records based on a value of a data field; and generating the aggregated flow log based on the merged record without the filtered portion of records.
Number of previous messages is filtered to 100 30 500
In regard to claim 20
494 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the aggregated flow log includes only the plurality of merged records (Figure 9 S302 END)
Response to Applicant Argument and remarks
Applicants’ argument and remarks have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In regard the argument which states; “
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kishikawa hereinafter Ki never defined aggregation as loss of data in favor of decreased granularity.
Applicants explains Ki aggregation using the help.tableau.com is irrelevant because the Ki reference never referred to help.tableau.com to explain what is the Ki aggregation, instead it precisely goes after how the aggregation works in Figure 9.
Examiner will explain Figure 9 with an example following the Logic of the steps S301 S302 S303.
For the explication there is at least 2 collections point A and B
Collection point A Collection point B
1 1
2 2
3 4
4 4
According to the logic 1 and 1 are the same, and aggregate is 1.
According to the logic 2 and 2 are the same, and aggregate is 1 2.
According to the logic 3 and 4 are different, and aggregate is 1 2.
According to the logic 4 and 4 are the same, and aggregate is 1 2 4.
It is clear from this explication that 2 and 4 are different values, whereas the merged data is 1 2 4.
It is also clear following the logic of Figure 9 the second value and the third value have to be different for the aggregation to happen. Thus, the claim language and the limitations are met clearly, and the argument advanced is not correct. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/Amine Riad/
Primary Examiner