Detailed Action
Claims 1-8 of U.S. Application 18/779,919 filed on July 22, 2024 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasu et al (USPGPub 20180236496 in view of Gorin et al (USPGPub 20070229056).
Prior Art: Takasu
Regarding claim 1, Takasu discloses a spectrum analyzer comprising (1): spectrum display control means (13) for displaying a spectrum display screen (12) including a graph region ( shown in figs 2-12c), and for displaying, on the graph region, a graph showing a spectrum characteristic of a measured signal analyzed by signal analysis means (shown in figs 1-12c), and a level marker (23) including a level indication frame indicating a value of a signal level on the vertical axis corresponding to the point (shown in figs 10a-12c as showing at least a vertical axis); input-enabled state display control means (such as a keyboard) for displaying the frequency indication frame in a mode indicating an input-enabled state in which a desired frequency is inputtable (when the user request the data to be displayed), in response to an operation of selecting the frequency marker via input means, during the display of the spectrum display screen; operation-enabled state display control means for displaying the graph region in a mode indicating an operation-enabled state in which a movement operation of the frequency marker along the horizontal axis is receivable (shown in figs 2-12c as multiple waveform inputs), in response to an operation of selecting the graph via the input means, during the display of the spectrum display screen; and frequency marker position setting display control means for receiving the input of the desired frequency to the frequency indication frame via the input means in a case of the input-enabled state (par 44 discloses the display control unit processes different needs such as limits and sets measurement items. Therefore would be able to display what the user needs), for changing a position of the frequency marker on the horizontal axis to a position of the input frequency (shown in figs 2-9 as changing along horizontal), for updating the value of the frequency indicated by the frequency indication frame to a value of the input frequency to display the updated value (shown as sweeping the data across the display), for receiving the movement operation of the frequency marker via the input means in a case of the operation-enabled state, for changing the position of the frequency marker to a position of a frequency corresponding to the movement operation, and for updating the value of the frequency indicated by the frequency indication frame to a value of the frequency at the position after the change to display the updated value. (figs 4-5B shows updating the level based on the waveform to display). Takasu does not fully disclose defined by a horizontal axis having a scale of a frequency and a vertical axis having a scale of a signal level; a frequency marker including a frequency indication frame indicating a value of a frequency on the horizontal axis corresponding to a point on the graph.
However, Gorin discloses defined by a horizontal axis having a scale of a frequency (frequency spectrum) and a vertical axis having a scale of a signal level (signal level); a frequency marker (such as SS1) including a frequency indication frame indicating a value of a frequency on the horizontal axis ( shown in figs 4 as indicating frequency on a graph) corresponding to a point on the graph (par 12 and figs 2-4E shows having signal vs frequency).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takasu in view of Gorin in order to accurately determine and display frequency to the user.
Regarding claim 2, Takasu discloses wherein the frequency marker position setting display control means changes a position of the level marker on the vertical axis to a position of a signal level corresponding to the updated frequency in accordance with the change of the position of the frequency marker, and updates the value of the signal level indicated by the level indication frame to a value corresponding to the changed position of the signal level to display the updated value (shown in figs 4-5B as moving based on the level and updating the value on the display).
Regarding claim 3, Takasu discloses wherein a level indication line extending along the horizontal axis from a position of the signal level indicated by the level indication frame (shown in figs 2-12c as horizontal or vertical based on the user needs). Takasu does not fully disclose the frequency marker position setting display control means further displays, on the graph region, a frequency indication line extending parallel to the vertical axis from a position of the frequency indicated by the frequency indication frame.
However, Gorin discloses the frequency marker position setting display control means further displays, on the graph region, a frequency indication line extending parallel to the vertical axis from a position of the frequency indicated by the frequency indication frame (par 12 and figs 2-4E shows frequency indicator lines parallel to the vertical axis)..It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takasu in view of Gorin in order to accurately determine and display frequency to the user.
Regarding claim 5, Takasu discloses a frequency marker position setting method (using 1-12c) of a spectrum analyzer (1) including spectrum display control means (13) for displaying a spectrum display screen (12) including a graph region ( shown in figs 2-12c), and for displaying, on the graph region, a graph showing a spectrum characteristic of a measured signal analyzed by signal analysis means(shown in figs 1-12c), , and a level marker (22) including a level indication frame indicating a value of a signal level on the vertical axis corresponding to the point (shown in figs 10a-12c as showing at least a vertical axis), the frequency marker position setting method comprising: an input-enabled state display control step (such as a keyboard) of displaying the frequency indication frame in a mode indicating an input-enabled state in which a desired frequency is inputtable, (when the user request the data to be displayed) in response to an operation of selecting the frequency marker via input means, during the display of the spectrum display screen; an input reception step of receiving the input of the desired frequency to the frequency indication frame via the input means in a case of the input-enabled state (shown in figs 2-12c as multiple waveform inputs); and a frequency marker position setting display control step of changing a position of the frequency marker on the horizontal axis to a position of the input frequency (par 44 discloses the display control unit processes different needs such as limits and sets measurement items. Therefore, would be able to display what the user needs), and of updating the value (shown as sweeping the data across the display) of the frequency indicated by the frequency indication frame to a value of the input frequency to display the updated value (figs 4-5B shows updating the level based on the waveform to display). Takasu does not fully disclose defined by a horizontal axis having a scale of a frequency and a vertical axis having a scale of a signal level; a frequency marker including a frequency indication frame indicating a value of a frequency on the horizontal axis corresponding to a point on the graph.
However, Gorin discloses defined by a horizontal axis having a scale of a frequency (frequency spectrum) and a vertical axis having a scale of a signal level (signal level); a frequency marker (such as SS1) including a frequency indication frame indicating a value of a frequency on the horizontal axis ( shown in figs 4 as indicating frequency on a graph) corresponding to a point on the graph (par 12 and figs 2-4E shows having signal vs frequency).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takasu in view of Gorin in order to accurately determine and display frequency to the user.
Regarding claim 6, Takasu discloses a frequency marker position setting method (using 1-12c) of a spectrum analyzer (1) including spectrum display control means (13) for displaying a spectrum display screen (12) including a graph region ( shown in figs 2-12c), and for displaying, on the graph region, a graph showing a spectrum characteristic of a measured signal analyzed by signal analysis means(shown in figs 1-12c), , and a level marker (22) including a level indication frame indicating a value of a signal level on the vertical axis corresponding to the point (shown in figs 10a-12c as showing at least a vertical axis), the frequency marker position setting method comprising: an operation-enabled state display control step (such as a keyboard) of displaying the graph region in a mode indicating an operation-enabled state in which a movement operation of the frequency marker along the horizontal axis is receivable (when the user request the data to be displayed), in response to an operation of selecting the graph via input means, during the display of the spectrum display screen (shown in figs 2-12c as multiple waveform inputs); an operation reception step of receiving the movement operation of the frequency marker via the input means in a case of the operation-enabled state; and a frequency marker position setting display control step of changing a position of the frequency marker to a position of a frequency corresponding to the movement operation (par 44 discloses the display control unit processes different needs such as limits and sets measurement items. Therefore, would be able to display what the user needs), and of updating the value of the frequency indicated by the frequency indication frame to a value of the frequency at the position after the change to display the updated value. (figs 4-5B shows updating the level based on the waveform to display). Takasu does not fully disclose defined by a horizontal axis having a scale of a frequency and a vertical axis having a scale of a signal level; a frequency marker including a frequency indication frame indicating a value of a frequency on the horizontal axis corresponding to a point on the graph.
However, Gorin discloses defined by a horizontal axis having a scale of a frequency (frequency spectrum) and a vertical axis having a scale of a signal level (signal level); a frequency marker (such as SS1) including a frequency indication frame indicating a value of a frequency on the horizontal axis ( shown in figs 4 as indicating frequency on a graph) corresponding to a point on the graph (par 12 and figs 2-4E shows having signal vs frequency).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takasu in view of Gorin in order to accurately determine and display frequency to the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a spectrum analyzer comprising: wherein the signal analysis means analyzes the spectrum characteristics of a plurality of radio frequency signals having different frequency ranges in a millimeter wave band as the measured signal, and the spectrum display control means displays the graph showing the spectrum characteristic of one radio frequency signal that is selected from among the plurality of radio frequency signals in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a frequency marker position setting method of a spectrum analyzer including spectrum display control means for displaying a spectrum display screen including a graph region defined by a horizontal axis having a scale of a frequency and a vertical axis having a scale of a signal level, and for displaying, on the graph region, a graph showing a spectrum characteristic of a measured signal analyzed by signal analysis means, a frequency marker including a frequency indication frame indicating a value of a frequency on the horizontal axis corresponding to a point on the graph, and a level marker including a level indication frame indicating a value of a signal level on the vertical axis corresponding to the point, the frequency marker position setting method comprising: a step of changing a position of the level marker on the vertical axis to a position of a signal level corresponding to the updated frequency in accordance with the change of the position of the frequency marker, and updating the value of the signal level indicated by the level indication frame to a value corresponding to the changed position of the signal level to display the updated value in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a frequency marker position setting method of a spectrum analyzer including spectrum display control means for displaying a spectrum display screen including a graph region defined by a horizontal axis having a scale of a frequency and a vertical axis having a scale of a signal level, and for displaying, on the graph region, a graph showing a spectrum characteristic of a measured signal analyzed by signal analysis means, a frequency marker including a frequency indication frame indicating a value of a frequency on the horizontal axis corresponding to a point on the graph, and a level marker including a level indication frame indicating a value of a signal level on the vertical axis corresponding to the point, the frequency marker position setting method comprising: a step of changing a position of the level marker on the vertical axis to a position of a signal level corresponding to the updated frequency in accordance with the change of the position of the frequency marker, and updating the value of the signal level indicated by the level indication frame to a value corresponding to the changed position of the signal level to display the updated value in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lapierre et al (USPGPub 20220244293): discloses a rf spectrum analysis with a display and frequency range.
Wakamatsu et al (USPGPub 20150004920): discloses a graph with sign and frequency graph.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858