DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17563593, filed on 28 December 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4 September 2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the information disclosure statement is blank where it does not contain any references. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Throughout the claim, “the nozzle side member” should be amended to –the cylindrical nozzle side member--.
Lines 3 and 6, “opens” should be amended to --opening--.
Line 5, “the cylindrical filling apparatus side member” should be amended to – the filling apparatus side member --.
Line 5, “with a flow path” should be amended to –having a flow path--.
Line 22, “are mounted” should be amended to –is mounted--.
Line 23, “the valve body” should be amended to –a valve body--.
Line 24, “the valve seat” should be amended to –a valve seat--.
Line 28, “a space” should be amended to –the space--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “decompression mechanism” in claim 6, “opening portion closing member” in claims 6-7, “protruding portion” in claim 6, and “extension portion” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 6, Line 28, the phrase “can be”, or “can”, or “could be” renders the scope of the claim unclear because “can” is susceptible to more than one plausible construction. The verb form of the word “can” carries multiple meanings in the English language. It can be used to indicate a physical ability or some other specified capability, or it can be used to indicate a possibility or a probability. Therefore, it is not clear whether the limitation refers to a capability that is required to be present in the invention, or whether it refers to a capability that is a mere possibility that is not required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (JP 2006097874 A) in view of Takezawa (US 20190017616 A1).
Regarding Claim 6:
Kato discloses a safety joint (51, Figure 9, the safety is joint is an emergency release coupling), comprising:
a cylindrical nozzle side member (69, Figure 9, the plug is the cylindrical nozzle side member) with a flow path (69D, Figure 9, the plug-side passage is the flow path) formed inside, a shutoff valve (64, Figure 9) of the nozzle side member opening when the nozzle side member is connected (Paragraphs [0096] and [0099], the nozzle side member when connected with the filling apparatus side member is opened) to a filling apparatus side member (52, Figure 9, the casing unit is the filling apparatus side member); and
the cylindrical filling apparatus side member (52, Figure 9) with a flow path (56, Figure 9) formed inside, a shutoff valve (61, Figure 9) of the filling apparatus side member opening when the filling apparatus side member is connected (Paragraph [0091], the shutoff valve of the cylindrical filling apparatus side member is open when connected) to the nozzle side member (69, Figure 9); and
when the nozzle side member (69, Figure 9) is disconnected from the filling apparatus side member (52, Figure 9), the shutoff valves of the nozzle side member and the filling apparatus side member close (Paragraphs [0095] and [0099]), said safety joint (51, Figure 9) characterized in that:
central axes of the flow paths of the nozzle side member and the filling apparatus side member are arranged orthogonally (Figure 9, the axes of the flow paths (O3 and O4) are arranged orthogonally);
the nozzle side member (69, Figure 9) has a protruding portion (75 and 69A, Figure 9) having a diameter smaller than a region in which a valve body (65, Figure 9) is housed (Figure 9, the protruding portion has a smaller diameter than a valve body), and the protruding portion (75 and 69A, Figure 9) is formed with a through hole (69E, Figure 9) that communicates the flow path (69D, Figure 9) of the nozzle side member (69, Figure 9) and the flow path (56, Figure 9) of the filling apparatus side member (52, Figure 9);
the filling apparatus side member (52, Figure 9) has an opening portion (58, Figure 9) into which the protruding portion (75 and 69A, Figure 9) of the nozzle side member is inserted extending in a direction orthogonal to the flow path of the filling apparatus side member (Figure 9, the opening portion is orthogonal to the flow path (56)), and an extension portion (59, Figure 9, the mounting portion is the extension portion) having a space (59A, Figure 9) in which the opening portion (58, Figure 9) is extended in the opposite direction of the nozzle side member is provided (Figure 9, the extension portion extends opposite of the nozzle side member);
in the flow path (56, Figure 9) of the filling apparatus side member (52, Figure 9) is mounted a support member (62, Figure 9, the relay rod is the support member) that supports a valve body (61B, Figure 9) of the shutoff valve (61, Figure 9) on the filling apparatus side so as to be separated from a valve seat (61A, Figure 9) and an elastic body (61C, Figure 9) that presses the valve body (61B, Figure 9) toward the opening portion (58, Figure 9) side when the nozzle side member is connected to the filling apparatus side member (Paragraphs 0089-0091]);
said safety joint (51, Figure 9) further incudes an opening portion closing member (77A, Figure 9, the spool valve body is the opening portion closing member) that can slide in the space (59A, Figure 9) of the extension portion (59, Figure 9) and the opening portion (58, Figure 9) of the filling apparatus side member (52, Figure 9), and an elastic member (77D, Figure 9) that urges the opening portion closing member (77A, Figure 9) in a direction that the nozzle side member comes off (Paragraph [0105], the elastic member urges the opening portion closing member in a direction towards the nozzle side member).
Kato does not disclose:
said safety joint further incudes a decompression mechanism for reducing a pressure at the opening portion of the filling apparatus side member.
Takezawa teaches a safety joint (100, Figure 1), comprising:
said safety joint (100, Figure 1) further incudes a decompression mechanism (30, Figure 1) for reducing a pressure at the opening portion of the filling apparatus side member (Paragraphs [0031], [0049] and [0051], the pressure is reduced at the opening portion (21C) of the filling apparatus side member (20)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato to include said safety joint further incudes a decompression mechanism for reducing a pressure at the opening portion of the filling apparatus side member as taught by Takezawa with the motivation to prevent high pressure hydrogen rapidly injecting into the hose during the decoupling and causing the hose to unexpectedly move and potentially injure a person.
Regarding Claim 9:
Kato discloses:
the opening portion (58, Figure 9) of the filling apparatus side member (52, Figure 9).
Kato does not disclose:
wherein a sealing material is arranged at the opening portion of the filling apparatus side member.
Takezawa teaches:
wherein a sealing material (SS1 and SS2, Figure 2, the O-rings are the sealing material) is arranged at the opening portion (21C, Figure 2) of the filling apparatus side member (20, Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato to include a sealing material is arranged at the opening portion of the filling apparatus side member as taught by Takezawa with the motivation to prevent a leak between the plug and socket that could cause issues during refueling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest pieces of prior art are Kato (JP 2006097874 A) in view of Takezawa (US 20190017616 A1).
Regarding Claim 7:
Claim 7 depends from claim 6 where Kato and Takezawa teach the safety valve. Claim 7 contains the limitation “a small hole formed in the opening portion closing member and a decompression through hole provided at an end of the extension portion on a side separated from the nozzle side member” where in view of all other limitations of claims 1 and 7 are not taught by the prior art of record. The addition of the small hole and a decompression through hole would modify both Kato and Takezawa where significant changes to the structure of the safety nozzle would occur.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent on claim 7.
However, a full determination of allowability will be made once all rejections and objections are overcome with further search and considerations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takezawa 2 (US 11644154 B2) teaches a safety joint comprising a cylindrical nozzle side member, a cylindrical filling apparatus side member, the flow paths, shutoff valves, and an opening portion.
Dunton (US 2689754 A) teaches a safety coupling comprising a decompression mechanism.
Taylor (US4921281 A) teaches a safety connection comprising flow paths, an opening portion and a plug.
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/Timothy P. Kelly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753