DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al. (US 2022/0168176 A1) in view of Fuji (US 2008/0018167 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Coleman discloses an end effector configured to be driven by a reciprocating driver (percussive massaging device with a piston 20 to provide percussive action to a massage tool 10) (Figs. 1a-3c; abstract; para. [0020]), comprising: a contact portion having a distal end and a proximal end along a longitudinal axis, wherein the end effector is configured to be coupled to the reciprocating driver via the proximal end, and wherein the contact portion comprises a first outer width (wheel 36 with skin-contacting surface 40 and an outer width; wheel 36 has a proximal end at the attachment post 25 and a distal end being the part of wheel 36 farthest from the post 25; alternatively, the proximal and distal ends are the left and right sides of the wheel 36, respectively, on which the attachment post 25 connects; either way, the proximal and distal ends would be along a longitudinal axis; the attachment post 25 is driven by the piston 20) (Figs. 1a-3c; para. [0020]).
Coleman does not disclose the contact portion is an elastomeric contact portion; at least one aperture through the elastomeric contact portion and comprising a second width, wherein a ratio of the second width to the first outer width is at least 0.33; and at least one support member in contact with the elastomeric contact portion and comprising a material having a greater hardness than the elastomeric contact portion.
However, Fuji teaches a moving wheel which can be used for massage (Fuji; abstract; para. [0064]) including wherein the contact portion is an elastomeric contact portion (wheel 101 has rolls 103 with rotating bodies 106 of elastic bodies 106b) (Fuji; Figs. 1-13; para. [0112]); at least one aperture through the elastomeric contact portion and comprising a second width (omnidirectionally moving wheel 101, 201 defines an aperture with a width in which wheel 102, 204 is inserted; alternatively, moving wheel 101, 201 with wheel 102, 204 inside define apertures with widths between the wheel bodies 104, 205) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2, 5-13; para. [0110]; para. [0132]), wherein a ratio of the second width to the first outer width is at least 0.33 (Fuji; Figs. 2, 13; see annotated Images 1-3 below); and at least one support member in contact with the elastomeric contact portion and comprising a material having a greater hardness than the elastomeric contact portion (wheel 102 with roll support columns 109 is inside of and contacting the rolls 103; wheel 102 made of metal or plastic, and so would be harder than the elastic body 106b polyurethane or silicon rubber) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2; para. [0110]; para. [0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Coleman contact portion such that the contact portion is an elastomeric contact portion; at least one aperture through the elastomeric contact portion and comprising a second width, wherein a ratio of the second width to the first outer width is at least 0.33; and at least one support member in contact with the elastomeric contact portion and comprising a material having a greater hardness than the elastomeric contact portion, as taught by Fuji, for the purpose of ensuring the toroidal contact portion or wheel has a high ability to ride over an obstruction and achieve reliable operation even on an inhospitable surface (Fuji; para. [0018]).
Image 1. Annotation of Fuji Fig. 13 to show a first interpretation of the widths.
Image 2. Annotation of Fuji Fig. 13 to show a second interpretation of the widths.
Image 3. Annotation of Fuji Fig. 2 to show a third interpretation of the widths.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Coleman teaches further comprising a connector having a connector proximal end configured to be coupled to the reciprocating driver and a connector distal end configured to be coupled to the proximal end of the elastomeric contact portion (attachment post 25 has an end coupled to the piston 20 and another end coupled to the proximal end of the wheel 36) (Coleman; Figs. 1a-3c; para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the at least one support member is coupled to the connector distal end (the Fuji wheel 102 would be coupled to the Coleman attachment post 25 end towards the Coleman wheel 36) (Coleman, Figs. 1a-3c, para. [0020]; Fuji, Figs. 1-2, para. [0110], para. [0115]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the at least one support member is at least partially within the elastomeric contact portion or abuts an inner surface of the elastomeric contact portion (wheel 102 with roll support columns 109 is inside of and contacting an inner surface of the rolls 103) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2; para. [0115]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the elastomeric contact portion and the at least one support member have a common axis of revolution (the Coleman wheel 36/Fuji omnidirectional moving wheel 101 and the Fuji wheel 102 with roll support columns 109 inside would all rotate about an axis as best seen with the rotating arrow near piston 20 in Coleman Fig. 1a) (Coleman, Figs. 1a-3c, abstract, para. [0020]; Fuji, Figs. 1-2, para. [0110], para. [0115]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the elastomeric contact portion is overmolded on the at least one support member (rolls 103 are overmolded onto wheel 102 with roll support columns 109) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the at least one aperture is non-circular (Fuji aperture is triangular) (see annotated Images 1-3 above).
Regarding claim 8, Coleman discloses an end effector configured to be driven by a reciprocating driver (percussive massaging device with a piston 20 to provide percussive action to a massage tool 10) (Figs. 1a-3c; abstract; para. [0020]), comprising: a contact portion comprising a first material and having a proximal end and a distal end along a longitudinal axis, the contact portion configured to contact a target treatment area on a recipient, wherein the longitudinal axis is coaxial with a reciprocating axis of the reciprocating driver (wheel 36 would be made out of a material and would contact a user’s skin at the skin-contacting surface 40; wheel 36 has a proximal end at the attachment post 25 and a distal end being the part of wheel 36 farthest from the post 25; the proximal and distal ends would be along a longitudinal axis coaxial with the reciprocal movement along axis L1 driven by the piston 20) (Figs. 1a-3c; para. [0020]).
Coleman does not disclose at least one aperture extending through the contact portion; and at least one support member comprising a second material distinct from the first material.
However, Fuji teaches a moving wheel which can be used for massage (Fuji; abstract; para. [0064]) including at least one aperture extending through the contact portion (omnidirectionally moving wheel 101, 201 defines an aperture with a width in which wheel 102, 204 is inserted; alternatively, moving wheel 101, 201 with wheel 102, 204 inside define apertures with widths between the wheel bodies 104, 205) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2, 5-13; para. [0110]; para. [0132]); and at least one support member comprising a second material distinct from the first material (wheel 102 with roll support columns 109 is inside of and contacting the rolls 103; wheel 102 made of metal or plastic, and so is distinct from the elastic body 106b polyurethane or silicon rubber) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2; para. [0110]; para. [0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Coleman contact portion such that at least one aperture extending through the contact portion; and at least one support member comprising a second material distinct from the first material, as taught by Fuji, for the purpose of ensuring the toroidal contact portion or wheel has a high ability to ride over an obstruction and achieve reliable operation even on an inhospitable surface (Fuji; para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the end effector contracts and rebounds along the longitudinal axis when driven by the reciprocating driver (Fuji rotating bodies 106 are formed of an elastic body 106b, made of materials such as polyurethane or silicon rubber; as Fuji elastic bodies 106b are elastic, they would contract and rebound about their aperture to transfer energy to a contacted target treatment area of the user when attached to the Coleman percussive massage device 5 and piston 20, which provides motion along the L1 axis) (Coleman, Fig. 1a; para. [0020]; Fuji, Figs. 1-13, para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the end effector is asymmetric about the longitudinal axis (skin-contacting surfaces 40a are offset and angled from each other so as to make the tool 10a asymmetrical along its longitudinal axis) (Coleman; Fig. 3a; para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the contact portion comprises a material having a coefficient of restitution of at least 0.7 (in the Applicant’s specification para. [0075], the end effector 202 with the coefficient or restitution of at least 0.7 is described to be made of polyurethane or silicone rubber material; as Fuji similarly teaches using either polyurethane or silicon rubber material for the elastic body 106b, the Fuji device would have the same material properties such as the claimed coefficient of restitution) (Fuji; para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 14, Coleman discloses an end effector assembly (percussive massaging device with a piston 20 to provide percussive action to a massage tool 10) (Figs. 1a-3c; abstract; para. [0020]), comprising: an end effector having a first material and comprising: an end effector proximal end; an end effector distal end (wheel 36 optionally combined with the attachment post 25 would be made out of a material; one end is towards the attachment post 25 and another end is the part of wheel 36 farthest from the post 25; alternatively, the proximal and distal ends are the left and right sides of the wheel 36) (Figs. 1a-3c; para. [0020]).
Coleman does not disclose the end effector having at least one aperture; and an internal member at least partially received within the end effector proximal end of the end effector and comprising a second material having a greater hardness than the first material.
However, Fuji teaches a moving wheel which can be used for massage (Fuji; abstract; para. [0064]) including wherein the end effector having at least one aperture (omnidirectionally moving wheel 101, 201 defines an aperture with a width in which wheel 102, 204 is inserted; alternatively, moving wheel 101, 201 with wheel 102, 204 inside define apertures with widths between the wheel bodies 104, 205) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2, 5-13; para. [0110]; para. [0132]); and an internal member at least partially received within the end effector proximal end of the end effector and comprising a second material having a greater hardness than the first material (wheel 102 with roll support columns 109 is inside of and contacting the rolls 103 at its proximal end; wheel 102 made of metal or plastic, and so would be harder than the elastic body 106b polyurethane or silicon rubber; alternatively, the coil spring 106a made of wire material inside the rolls 103 at the proximal end of wheel 102 provide the strength, shape, and resisting force to the rolls 103, and so would be harder than the elastic body 106b polyurethane or silicon rubber) (Fuji; Figs. 1-13; para. [0020]; para. [0110]; para. [0112]; para. [0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Coleman end effector such that end effector having at least one aperture; and an internal member at least partially received within the end effector proximal end of the end effector and comprising a second material having a greater hardness than the first material, as taught by Fuji, for the purpose of ensuring the toroidal contact portion or wheel has a high ability to ride over an obstruction and achieve reliable operation even on an inhospitable surface (Fuji; para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Coleman teaches further comprising an inner support member abutting an inner surface of the end effector, the inner surface of the end effector corresponding to an outer width of the at least one aperture (wheel 102 with roll support columns 109 is abuts an inner surface of the rolls 103 defining the apertures, wherein the rolls 103 inner surface defines an outer width of the apertures) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2, 5-13; para. [0110]; para. [0115]; para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the inner support member comprises a third material distinct from the first material and the second material (wheel 102 is made of metal or plastic, and so is distinct from the elastic body 106b polyurethane or silicon rubber and coil spring 106a made of wire material) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2; para. [0110]; para. [0112]; para. [0115]).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the end effector assembly is configured to be driven by a reciprocating driver that is configured to reciprocate along a reciprocating axis, and wherein the end effector expands and contracts about a longitudinal axis thereof when driven by the reciprocating driver (Fuji rotating bodies 106 are formed of an elastic body 106b, made of materials such as polyurethane or silicon rubber; as Fuji elastic bodies 106b are elastic, they would contract and expand to transfer energy to a contacted target treatment area when attached to the Coleman percussive massage device 5 and piston 20, which provides reciprocal motion along the L1 axis) (Coleman, Fig. 1a; para. [0020]; Fuji, Figs. 1-13, para. [0112]).
Regarding claims 18-19, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the end effector comprises a depth that varies along from the end effector proximal end to the end effector distal end; wherein the depth increases towards the end effector distal end (the combined wheel 36 and attachment post 25 forms a structure of varying depths from the distal end at the top of the attachment post 25 and the proximal end on the part of wheel 36 farthest from the post 25; since the wheel 36 is toroidal, its curved end or ‘edge’ tapers to a ‘point’ of lesser depth than the cylindrical post 25) (Coleman; Figs. 1a-3c; para. [0020]; see annotated Image 4 below).
Image 4. Annotation of Coleman Fig. 2c to show the varying depths.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Coleman teaches further comprising: a connector, comprising: a connector proximal end configured to be coupled to an end effector driver; and a connector distal end configured to be coupled to the end effector at the end effector proximal end (when only wheel 36 forms the end effector, a connector can be taught by the attachment post 25 with an end coupled to the piston 20 and another end coupled to the proximal end of the wheel 36) (Coleman; Figs. 1a-3c; para. [0020]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman in view of Fuji as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Skover et al. (US 2005/0142093 A1) and Qiu et al. (US 2020/0281805 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Coleman teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not teach wherein the first material comprises a thermoset polyurethane, and wherein the second material comprises a thermoplastic polyurethane.
However, Skover teaches device with a skin-contacting element used to transfer mechanical energy to the skin (Skover; abstract) wherein the first material comprises a thermoset polyurethane (skin-contactable element 105 can be an elastomer such as a thermoset polyurethane resin) (Skover; para. [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Coleman device such that the first material comprises a thermoset polyurethane, as taught by Skover, for the purpose of providing the device with a suitable alternative elastic material for contacting the skin which one of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably assume to function similarly well.
However, Fuji further teaches a wheel 101 can have an interior support structure or wheel 102 made of metal or plastic, which would be harder than the elastic bodies 106b (Fuji; para. [0110]), and the Coleman connector, i.e. the wheel shaft 39 (Coleman; Figs. 1-3c), would be inside and part of the Fuji interior support structure or wheel 102. Moreover, Qiu teaches a massage apparatus (Qiu; abstract) wherein the hard layer can be made of thermoplastic polyurethane (hard outer layer 504 made from thermoplastic polyurethane) (Qiu; para. [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Coleman device such that the second material comprises a thermoplastic polyurethane, as taught by Qiu, for the purposes of providing the device with a specific suitable hard plastic material for the internal support structure of a massage wheel which one of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably expect to perform similarly well.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Coleman teaches wherein the first material is overmolded the second material (rolls 103 are overmolded onto wheel 102 with roll support columns 109) (Fuji; Figs. 1-2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11, 13-17, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,388 B1, hereinafter ‘388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, ‘388 discloses an end effector configured to be driven by a reciprocating driver (end effector assembly coupled to and driven by a reciprocating therapeutic device) (‘388; claim 1), comprising: an elastomeric contact portion having a distal end and a proximal end along a longitudinal axis (toroidal contact portion comprising the first material, which is an elastomer; toroidal contact portion would have two opposite ends along a longitudinal axis as a physical object) (‘388; claims 1-2), wherein the end effector is configured to be coupled to the reciprocating driver via the proximal end (toroidal contact portion end as the attachment portion, which couples to the reciprocating therapeutic device) (‘388; claim 1), and wherein the elastomeric contact portion comprises a first outer width (outer width of the toroidal contact portion) (‘388; claim 1); at least one aperture through the elastomeric contact portion and comprising a second width, wherein a ratio of the second width to the first outer width is at least 0.33 (toroidal contact portion defines an aperture; a ration of an inner width of the toroidal contact portion to the outer width of the toroidal contact portion is at least 0.33) (‘388; claim 1); and at least one support member in contact with the elastomeric contact portion and comprising a material having a greater hardness than the elastomeric contact portion (an internal support structure within the attachment portion comprising a second material having a greater hardness than the first material) (‘388; claims 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, ‘388 discloses further comprising a connector having a connector proximal end configured to be coupled to the reciprocating driver and a connector distal end configured to be coupled to the proximal end of the elastomeric contact portion (a connector having a connector proximal end coupled to the reciprocating therapeutic device and a connector distal end coupled to the attachment portion of the end effector) (‘388; claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, ‘388 discloses wherein the at least one support member is coupled to the connector distal end (the internal support structure received through the connector distal end) (‘388; claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, ‘388 discloses wherein the at least one support member is at least partially within the elastomeric contact portion or abuts an inner surface of the elastomeric contact portion (the internal support structure is at least partially within the attachment portion, the attachment portion, wherein the attachment portion is being interpreted as the toroidal contact portion proximal end) (‘388; claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, ‘388 discloses an end effector configured to be driven by a reciprocating driver (end effector assembly driven by a reciprocating therapeutic device) (‘388; claims 1, 10), comprising: a contact portion comprising a first material and having a proximal end and a distal end along a longitudinal axis (the end effector has a toroidal/contact portion that would, as a physical object, have two opposite ends along an axis; the end effector/toroidal contact portion is formed from a first material) (‘388; claims 1, 10, 13), the contact portion configured to contact a target treatment area on a recipient (end effector transfers energy to a contacted target treatment area) (‘388; claims 1, 10), wherein the longitudinal axis is coaxial with a reciprocating axis of the reciprocating driver (as a physical object, the toroidal/contact portion of the end effector can have two opposite ends along an axis coaxial with the reciprocation from the reciprocating driver) (‘388; claims 1, 10); at least one aperture extending through the contact portion (an aperture extending through the toroidal/contact portion) (‘388; claims 1, 10); and at least one support member comprising a second material distinct from the first material (an internal support structure/a connector is formed from a second material of greater hardness than the first material) (‘388; claims 1, 10, 13).
Regarding claim 9, ‘388 discloses wherein the first material comprises a thermoset polyurethane, and wherein the second material comprises a thermoplastic polyurethane (‘388; claim 13).
Regarding claim 11, ‘388 discloses wherein the end effector contracts and rebounds along the longitudinal axis when driven by the reciprocating driver (end effector assembly coupled to and driven by a reciprocating therapeutic device; end effector contracts and rebounds about the at least one aperture, and this reciprocal movement would be about an axis) (‘388; claims 1, 10).
Regarding claim 13, ‘388 discloses wherein the contact portion comprises a material having a coefficient of restitution of at least 0.7 (the first material comprises a coefficient of restitution in a range of 0.7 to 0.85) (‘388; claim 5).
Regarding claim 14, ‘388 discloses an end effector assembly (end effector assembly) (‘388; claim 1), comprising: an end effector having a first material (toroidal contact portion comprising the first material) (‘388; claim 1) and comprising: an end effector proximal end; an end effector distal end (toroidal contact portion would have two opposite ends as a physical object) (‘388; claim 1); and at least one aperture (toroidal contact portion defines at least one aperture) (‘388; claim 1); and an internal member at least partially received within the end effector proximal end of the end effector and comprising a second material having a greater hardness than the first material (an internal support structure within the attachment portion of the toroidal contact portion comprising a second material having a greater hardness than the first material) (‘388; claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, ‘388 discloses further comprising an inner support member abutting an inner surface of the end effector, the inner surface of the end effector corresponding to an outer width of the at least one aperture (an inner support member abuts an inner surface of the toroidal contact portion, which is part of the end effector, and which defines the at least one aperture as so defines the width of the aperture) (‘388; claims 1, 8).
Regarding claim 16, ‘388 discloses wherein the inner support member comprises a third material distinct from the first material and the second material (the inner support member comprises a third material harder than the first material; as it was specified to be a third material, it would be distinct from the first and second materials) (‘388; claims 1, 9).
Regarding claim 17, ‘388 discloses wherein the end effector assembly is configured to be driven by a reciprocating driver that is configured to reciprocate along a reciprocating axis, and wherein the end effector expands and contracts about a longitudinal axis thereof when driven by the reciprocating driver (end effector assembly coupled to and driven by a reciprocating therapeutic device; end effector contracts and rebounds about the at least one aperture, and this reciprocal movement would be about an axis) (‘388; claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, ‘388 discloses further comprising: a connector, comprising: a connector proximal end configured to be coupled to an end effector driver; and a connector distal end configured to be coupled to the end effector at the end effector proximal end (a connector having a connector proximal end coupled to the reciprocating therapeutic device and a connector distal end coupled to the attachment portion of the end effector) (‘388; claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0155410 A1 by Smith, Jr. et al. is considered to be relevant as it discloses a percussive massaging device wherein the massage head is connected to the driver with a connector.
US 2009/0221944 A1 by Hobson et al. is considered to be relevant as it discloses a massage device with a toroidal shaped massage head.
US 2020/0214932 A1 by Pahl et al. is considered to be relevant as it discloses a massage device with a flexible toroidal shaped massage head.
/JACQUELINE M PINDERSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785