DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 22, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification fails to provide information regarding the second wireless receiver and second wireless transmitter as only one wireless transceiver and one wireless transmitter have been found in the specification.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification fails to provide information regarding the second wireless transmitter as only one wireless transmitter has been found in the specification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, 12-15, 17, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The most similar art of record, Hamel et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0140212], discloses a controller monitoring charge stored on storage capacitor and providing power to a wireless sensing module (paragraph 0067), a wireless sensing module having a transmitter that is in connection with a controller (paragraph 0067), a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067), and a capacitor connected to a piezo device where the capacitor is used for storing energy provided by a piezo device (paragraph 0071). The second most similar art of record, Lai et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0034815], discloses a piezoelectric device connected to an RF transmitter that is in communication with an RF receiver (paragraph 0113 and figure 7A). However, no art of record discloses a timer connecting the wireless receiver to the electric-to-mechanical transducer nor the wireless sensor system comprising a bleed air duct where the sensor is located at one of the plurality of duct junctions in the bleed air duct nor the use of a frequency hopping spread spectrum signal as a wireless charging signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamel et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0140212]
With regard to claim 16, Hamel et al. meets the limitations of:
a generator device for charging a sensor comprising a wireless receiver [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067)]
an electric-to-mechanical transducer in electronic communication with the wireless receiver [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067) is in connection with a controller which is in connection with a sensor having a wireless transmitter (paragraph 0067)]
a piezoelectric or triboelectric generator proximate to or in contact with the electric-to-mechanical transducer [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067)]
an energy-storage device in electronic communication with the piezoelectric or triboelectric generator [a capacitor connected to a piezo device where the capacitor is used for storing energy provided by a piezo device (paragraph 0071)]
a node comprising an inlet in electronic communication with the energy-storage device [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067) that is in connection with a sensor having a wireless transmitter via a connected controller device (paragraph 0067)]
With regard to claim 19, Hamel et al. meets the limitation of:
a transmitter in electronic communication with an outlet of the node [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067) that is in connection with a sensor having a wireless transmitter via a connected controller device (paragraph 0067)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamel et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0140212] in view of Lai et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0034815]
With regard to claim 1, Hamel et al. meets the limitations of:
a wireless sensor system for a vehicle, comprising a controller [a controller monitoring charge stored on storage capacitor and providing power to a wireless sensing module (paragraph 0067)]
a wireless transmitter in electronic communication with the controller [a wireless sensing module having a transmitter that is in connection with a controller (paragraph 0067)]
a sensor [a wireless sensor (paragraph 0067)]
a generator device [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067)]
an electric-to-mechanical transducer in electronic communication with the wireless receiver [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067) that is in connection with a sensor having a wireless transmitter via a connected controller device (paragraph 0067)]
a piezoelectric or triboelectric generator proximate to or in contact with the electric-to-mechanical transducer [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067)]
an energy-storage device comprising an input in electronic communication with the piezoelectric or triboelectric generator [a capacitor connected to a piezo device where the capacitor is used for storing energy provided by a piezo device (paragraph 0071)]
an output in electronic communication with the sensor [a wireless sensing module having a transmitter that is in connection with a controller (paragraph 0067)]
However, Hamel et al. fails to disclose of a wireless receiver in wireless communication with the wireless transmitter. In the field of wireless devices, Lai et al. teaches:
a wireless receiver in wireless communication with the wireless transmitter [a piezoelectric device connected to an RF transmitter that is in communication with an RF receiver (paragraph 0113 and figure 7A)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hamel et al. and Lai et al. to create a wireless sensor device that is powered by a piezoelectric device in order to provide energy for the wireless sensor device to communicate sensing data to a wireless receiver so the parameters being sensed by the sensor can be obtained while at a remote location wherein the motivation to combine is to create a device that can be attached to a subject that can harvest energy and transmit data about the monitored subject (Hamel et al., paragraph 0009).
With regard to claim 2, Hamel et al. meets the limitation of:
the energy-storage device is a capacitor [a capacitor connected to a piezo device where the capacitor is used for storing energy provided by a piezo device (paragraph 0071)]
With regard to claim 3, Hamel et al. meets the limitations of:
a wireless communication device comprising the wireless transmitter [a wireless sensing module having a transmitter that is in connection with a controller (paragraph 0067)]
the wireless communication device is in electronic communication with the controller
the generator device further comprises a second wireless transmitter in electronic communication with the sensor and in wireless communication with the second wireless receiver
However, Hamel et al. fails to disclose of a second wireless transceiver. In the field of wireless devices, Lai et al. teaches:
a second wireless transceiver [a piezoelectric device connected to an RF transmitter that is in communication with an RF receiver (paragraph 0113 and figure 7A)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hamel et al. and Lai et al. to create a wireless sensor device that is powered by a piezoelectric device in order to provide energy for the wireless sensor device to communicate sensing data to a wireless receiver so the parameters being sensed by the sensor can be obtained while at a remote location wherein the motivation to combine is to create a device that can be attached to a subject that can harvest energy and transmit data about the monitored subject (Hamel et al., paragraph 0009).
With regard to claim 4, Hamel et al. meets the limitations of:
a node comprising an inlet in electronic communication with the output of the energy-storage device and in electronic communication with a power input of the sensor [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067) that is in connection with a sensor having a wireless transmitter via a connected controller device (paragraph 0067)]
an outlet in electronic communication with a data output of the sensor [the outlet of a controller in communication with a strainlink transmitter sensor device (figure 3a, items 70 and 44 as well as paragraphs 0064, 0066, and 0068)]
However, Hamel et al. fails to disclose of electronic communication with the second wireless transmitter. In the field of wireless communications, Lai et al. teaches:
electronic communication with the second wireless transmitter [a piezoelectric device connected to an RF transmitter that is in communication with an RF receiver (paragraph 0113 and figure 7A)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hamel et al. and Lai et al. to create a wireless sensor device that is powered by a piezoelectric device in order to provide energy for the wireless sensor device to communicate sensing data to a wireless receiver so the parameters being sensed by the sensor can be obtained while at a remote location wherein the motivation to combine is to create a device that can be attached to a subject that can harvest energy and transmit data about the monitored subject (Hamel et al., paragraph 0009).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamel et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0140212] in view of Wang et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0061533]
With regard to claim 10, Hamel et al. meets the limitations of:
transducing, by an electric-to-mechanical transducer, the wireless charging signal to vibrations [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067)]
transforming, by a piezoelectric or triboelectric generator, the vibrations into a voltage output [a piezo device, used for generating energy from strain or vibrational energy (paragraph 0067)]
charging a capacitor with the voltage output of the piezoelectric or triboelectric generator, wherein the capacitor is electronically connected to the sensor [a capacitor connected to a piezo device where the capacitor is used for storing energy provided by a piezo device (paragraph 0071)]
However, Hamel et al. fails to disclose of transmitting via a wireless transmitter, in electronic communication with a controller, a wireless charging signal to a wireless receiver of a generating device. In the field of power transfer systems, Wang et al. teaches:
transmitting via a wireless transmitter, in electronic communication with a controller, a wireless charging signal to a wireless receiver of a generating device [electrical energy devices receiving energy from auxiliary modules or a battery where the transmission of energy is controlled by a vehicle ECU (figure 3B and paragraphs 0062-0065)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hamel et al. and Wang et al. to create a wireless sensor device that is powered by a piezoelectric device or by energy received from a transmitter in order to provide energy for the wireless sensor device to communicate sensing data to a wireless receiver so the parameters being sensed by the sensor can be obtained while at a remote location wherein the motivation to combine is to create a device that can be attached to a subject that can harvest energy and transmit data about the monitored subject (Hamel et al., paragraph 0009).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamel et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0140212] in view of Wang et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0061533], and in further view of Breed [U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0216567]
With regard to claim 11, Hamel et al. meets the limitation of:
charging the capacitor using the voltage output [a capacitor connected to a piezo device where the capacitor is used for storing energy provided by a piezo device (paragraph 0071)]
discharging the capacitor to power the sensor [a controller monitoring charge stored on storage capacitor and providing power to a wireless sensing module (paragraph 0067)]
However, Hamel et al. fails to disclose of converting, by the piezoelectric or triboelectric generator, a movement of the vehicle into the voltage output of the piezoelectric or triboelectric generator. In the field of monitoring devices, Breed et al. teaches:
converting, by the piezoelectric or triboelectric generator, a movement of the vehicle into the voltage output of the piezoelectric or triboelectric generator [the conversion of movement of a vehicle into energy by a piezoelectric device (paragraph 0678)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hamel, Wang et al., and Breed to create a wireless sensor device that is powered by a piezoelectric device, that converts motion into usable electrical energy, in order to provide energy for the wireless sensor device to communicate sensing data to a wireless receiver so the parameters being sensed by the sensor can be obtained while at a remote location wherein the motivation to combine is to create a device that can be attached to a subject that can harvest energy and transmit data about the monitored subject (Hamel et al., paragraph 0009).
With regard to claim 12, Hamel et al. teaches:
sending, by a second wireless transmitter in electronic communication with the sensor, a second signal containing an information payload from the sensor to a second wireless receiver connected to the controller [a wireless sensing module having a transmitter that is in connection with a controller where the sensing module transmits sensed information (paragraph 0067)]
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0337572 to Copeland et al. discloses a self-powered door and window opening sensor.
U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0116854 to Brockhaus discloses a method for operating a measuring instrument.
U.S. Patent 7,898,147 to Grabinger et al. discloses a wireless actuator interface.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMESHANAND MAHASE whose telephone number is (571) 270-7223. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached on 571-272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAMESHANAND MAHASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2689
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689