Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claims 1-6. 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant has amended claims 1 and 5. 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 28, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. Please direct attention to rejection below, specifically reference Volpi, regarding the amended limitations of wherein the guide axis is disposed so as not to have an intersection with the elongated protective portion, not to be parallel to the elongated protective portion, and not to be coplanar with the elongated protective portion
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Pub. No. 2008/0103506 to Volpi et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0153566 to Fallin et al.
As to Claim 1, Volpi discloses a guide device (60, Fig. 1, [0028]) that guides a drill [0029] that drills a second bone hole in a bone in which a first bone hole is formed [0028-0029]. The guide device comprises an elongated protective portion (40a) that is configured to be inserted into the first bone hole and that defines, in an interior of the first bone hole, a pathway (13a) that extends in a longitudinal direction of the first bone hole (122, seen in Fig. 4, [0039, 0045]), a guide portion (40b) that has a guide hole (40b) that specifies a guide axis (31a) and that guides the drill passing through the guide hole along the guide axis [0035-0036], and an arm portion (26) that connects the elongated protective portion with the guide portion [0028, 0030-0032], wherein the guide axis is disposed so as to not have an intersection with the elongated protective portion (described in [0044] and seen in Figs. 4-8), not to be parallel to the elongated protective portion (described in [0044] and seen in Figs. 4-8), and not to be coplanar with the elongated protective portion (described in [0044] and seen in Figs. 4-8), and the drill guided along the guide axis (31a) passes through a position at which the drill does not interfere with the elongated protective portion (40a) and the pathway (13a, described in [0044]).
As to Claim 2, Volpi discloses a guide device (60) wherein in the guide device, there are a top-to-bottom direction, a left-to-right direction, and a front-to-rear direction that substantially correspond to a longitudinal direction, a left- to-right direction, and a front-to-rear direction of a tibia (118), respectively (see annotated Fig. 4, below), the elongated protective portion (40a) extends in the front-to-rear direction (Fig. 4), the guide portion (40b) is disposed, with respect to the elongated protective portion, (40a) on a side corresponding to an inside of the tibia in the left-to-right direction of the guide device (Fig. 4), and, the guide axis (31a) intersects the elongated protective portion (40a) in plan view viewed in the top-to-bottom direction (intersection best seen in Figs. 1 and 9).
As to Claim 3, Volpi discloses a guide device (60 wherein the elongated protective portion (40a) has a channel (within 13, [0028]) that extends in a longitudinal direction of the elongated protective portion (40a) over an entire length of the elongated protective portion (40a, Fig. 1), and the channel opens on an outside surface of the elongated protective portion on an opposite side from the guide axis (at 44, Fig. 1, [0034]).
As to Claim 4, Volpi discloses a guide device (60) wherein the elongated protective portion (40a), the guide portion (40b), and the arm portion (26) are formed from separate members [0028, 0030, 0031], the elongated protective portion (40a) is attached to the arm portion (26) in a detachable manner [0031-0032], and the guide portion (40b) is attached to the arm portion (26) in a detachable manner [0031-0032].
As to Claim 5, Volpi discloses a guide device (60) wherein the arm portion (26) has a first portion (near ref. 30a, Fig. 1) that is configured to be disposed on a front side of the tibia (118) and to which the elongated protective portion (40a) is attached in a front-to-rear direction of the tibia (118, Fig. 4), and a second portion that extends in an arc-like manner or a substantially arc-like manner (arc seen in Figs. 1, 4, [0032]) inward from the front side of the tibia (118) and to which the guide portion (40b) is attached, and the guide portion (40b) is supported by the second portion so as to be movable in an extension direction of the second portion and rotatable about a rotation axis that intersects a plane defined by the second portion (described in [0032, 0035, 0044]).
As to Claim 6, Volpi discloses a guide device (60) wherein the elongated protective portion (40a) has a first portion on a basal-end side and a second portion on a distal-end side, (seen in Figs. 1, 4) and the second portion is thinner (near 44, Fig. 1) than the first portion (near 48, Fig. 1) and an outside surface on a side of the guide axis (31a) in the second portion is offset in a direction away from the guide axis (31a) with respect to an outside surface on a side of the guide axis (31a) in the first portion (Figs. 1, 4, [0044]).
As to Claims 1-6, Volpi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a first suture passes through a pathway, the suture passing through a channel that extends in a longitudinal direction of the protective portion over an entire length of the protective portion
Fallin discloses a guide device (100, Fig. 1, [0042]) including wherein a first suture passes (via 136) through a pathway (through 110, [0045], Figs. 1 and 2), the suture passing through a channel (through tunnel member 110, [0047]) that extends in a longitudinal direction of the protective portion (110) over an entire length of the protective portion (Figs. 1 and 2, [0045, 0047]) in order to allow for a suture to pass through the device to bone to form a transosseous attachment to the bone [0003, 0041].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the guide device of Volpi with the suture modification of Fallin in order to allow for a suture to pass through the device to bone to form a transosseous attachment to the bone.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775