The preliminary amendment filed 7/22/2024 has been entered.
Claims 2-21 are pending.
Claim 1 is canceled.
Claims 2-21 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 9-10, 17-18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takano (Pub. No.: US 20180269951 A1), hereafter referred to as Takano.
In regard to Claim 2, Takano teaches An apparatus for communication (terminal apparatus 200, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16), comprising: a processing system (Referring to FIG. 8, the terminal apparatus 200 includes an antenna unit 210, a wireless communication unit 220, a storage unit 230 and a processing unit 240, Para. 102, FIGS. 6, 8, 15, 16) configured to: obtain a sounding schedule (The base station 100 transmits a CSI-RS configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S204). In addition, the base station 100 transmits the IMR configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S206), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The base station 100 and the neighbor base station 300 mutually provide notifications of the schedule information (Step S408). Next, the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15. CSI-RSs of neighbor base stations 300 may be grouped in accordance with the schedule information, Para. 156, FIGS. 6, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16) that identifies a plurality of access points (APs) (base station 100, Para. 135, FIGS. 6, 11, 15. The neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16) of a coordinated beamforming cluster (Techniques such as coordinated multipoint (CoMP), Para. 2. In the 3GPP, various techniques for improving the capacity of a cellular system are currently studied in order to accommodate explosively increasing traffic. Techniques such as CoMP could increase the capacity of a cellular system, Para. 42).
Takano teaches conduct a sounding measurement (the base station 100 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S210). In addition, the neighbor base station 300 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S212), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16) according to the sounding schedule (The base station 100 transmits a CSI-RS configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S204). In addition, the base station 100 transmits the IMR configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S206), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Next, the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15. CSI-RSs of neighbor base stations 300 may be grouped in accordance with the schedule information, Para. 156, FIGS. 6, 15), the sounding measurement being conducted with each access point of the plurality of APs (The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16).
Takano teaches generate a beamforming report (the terminal apparatus 200 calculates the CQI of the entire bandwidth in relation to an interference beam #1. If description is given while focusing on a sub-band #3, the terminal apparatus 200 separately measures interference power of four interference beams (CSI-RS with beamforming) by using four IMRs, then refers to the schedule information for each sub-band, and calculates the CQI in consideration only of the interference power of the interference beams #2, #3, and #4, Para. 148, FIGS. 6, 11, 15, 16. The terminal apparatus 200 calculates the CQI with reference to FIG. 14 (Step S416), Para. 155, FIGS. 14, 15) based on the sounding measurement (the base station 100 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S210). In addition, the neighbor base station 300 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S212), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16).
Takano teaches output the beamforming report (feeds back the CQI to the base station 100 (Step S418), Para. 155, FIGS. 14, 15).
In regard to Claim 9, Takano teaches, to obtain the sounding schedule, the processing system is further configured to: obtain a frame that includes the sounding schedule (the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15).
In regard to Claim 10, Takano teaches A method of communication, the method comprising: obtaining a sounding schedule (The base station 100 transmits a CSI-RS configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S204). In addition, the base station 100 transmits the IMR configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S206), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The base station 100 and the neighbor base station 300 mutually provide notifications of the schedule information (Step S408). Next, the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15. CSI-RSs of neighbor base stations 300 may be grouped in accordance with the schedule information, Para. 156, FIGS. 6, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16) that identifies a plurality of access points (APs) (base station 100, Para. 135, FIGS. 6, 11, 15. The neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16) of a coordinated beamforming cluster (Techniques such as coordinated multipoint (CoMP), Para. 2. In the 3GPP, various techniques for improving the capacity of a cellular system are currently studied in order to accommodate explosively increasing traffic. Techniques such as CoMP could increase the capacity of a cellular system, Para. 42).
Takano teaches conducting a sounding measurement (the base station 100 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S210). In addition, the neighbor base station 300 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S212), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16) according to the sounding schedule (The base station 100 transmits a CSI-RS configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S204). In addition, the base station 100 transmits the IMR configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S206), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Next, the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15. CSI-RSs of neighbor base stations 300 may be grouped in accordance with the schedule information, Para. 156, FIGS. 6, 15), the sounding measurement being conducted with each access point of the plurality of APs (The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16).
Takano teaches generating a beamforming report (the terminal apparatus 200 calculates the CQI of the entire bandwidth in relation to an interference beam #1. If description is given while focusing on a sub-band #3, the terminal apparatus 200 separately measures interference power of four interference beams (CSI-RS with beamforming) by using four IMRs, then refers to the schedule information for each sub-band, and calculates the CQI in consideration only of the interference power of the interference beams #2, #3, and #4, Para. 148, FIGS. 6, 11, 15, 16. The terminal apparatus 200 calculates the CQI with reference to FIG. 14 (Step S416), Para. 155, FIGS. 14, 15) based on the sounding measurement (the base station 100 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S210). In addition, the neighbor base station 300 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S212), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16).
Takano teaches outputting the beamforming report (feeds back the CQI to the base station 100 (Step S418), Para. 155, FIGS. 14, 15).
In regard to Claim 17, Takano teaches the obtaining the sounding schedule comprises: obtaining a frame that includes the sounding schedule (the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15).
In regard to Claim 18, Takano teaches A station (terminal apparatus 200, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16), comprising: a transceiver (a wireless communication unit 220, Para. 102, FIGS. 6, 8, 15, 16) configured to at least receive a sounding schedule (The base station 100 transmits a CSI-RS configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S204). In addition, the base station 100 transmits the IMR configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S206), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The base station 100 and the neighbor base station 300 mutually provide notifications of the schedule information (Step S408). Next, the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15. CSI-RSs of neighbor base stations 300 may be grouped in accordance with the schedule information, Para. 156, FIGS. 6, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16) that identifies a plurality of access points (APs) (base station 100, Para. 135, FIGS. 6, 11, 15. The neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16) of a coordinated beamforming cluster (Techniques such as coordinated multipoint (CoMP), Para. 2. In the 3GPP, various techniques for improving the capacity of a cellular system are currently studied in order to accommodate explosively increasing traffic. Techniques such as CoMP could increase the capacity of a cellular system, Para. 42).
Takano teaches a processing system (Referring to FIG. 8, the terminal apparatus 200 includes an antenna unit 210, a storage unit 230 and a processing unit 240, Para. 102, FIGS. 6, 8, 15, 16) configured to: conduct a sounding measurement (the base station 100 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S210). In addition, the neighbor base station 300 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S212), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16) according to the sounding schedule (The base station 100 transmits a CSI-RS configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S204). In addition, the base station 100 transmits the IMR configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S206), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Next, the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15. CSI-RSs of neighbor base stations 300 may be grouped in accordance with the schedule information, Para. 156, FIGS. 6, 15), the sounding measurement being conducted with each access point of the plurality of APs (The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16).
Takano teaches generate a beamforming report (the terminal apparatus 200 calculates the CQI of the entire bandwidth in relation to an interference beam #1. If description is given while focusing on a sub-band #3, the terminal apparatus 200 separately measures interference power of four interference beams (CSI-RS with beamforming) by using four IMRs, then refers to the schedule information for each sub-band, and calculates the CQI in consideration only of the interference power of the interference beams #2, #3, and #4, Para. 148, FIGS. 6, 11, 15, 16. The terminal apparatus 200 calculates the CQI with reference to FIG. 14 (Step S416), Para. 155, FIGS. 14, 15) based on the sounding measurement (the base station 100 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S210). In addition, the neighbor base station 300 transmits the CSI-RS to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S212), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16).
Takano teaches the transceiver is further configured to at least transmit the beamforming report (feeds back the CQI to the base station 100 (Step S418), Para. 155, FIGS. 14, 15).
In regard to Claim 21, Takano teaches the transceiver is further configured to at least receive a frame that includes the sounding schedule (the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7-8, 11-13, 15-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Kwon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20150156794 A1), hereafter referred to as Kwon.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 2, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises identifiers of the plurality of APs; or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the identifiers.
Kwon teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises identifiers of the plurality of APs (transmitting an NDP announcement frame, the NDP announcement frame including an OIA participation AP list that may include identification information of each of a plurality of access points participating in OIA, Para. 18); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the identifiers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with the teachings of Takano since Kwon provides a technique for indicating access points participating in a wireless process, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit base stations to indicate base stations participating in processes for CSI-RS measurements.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 2, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises at least one sequence for obtaining at least one null data packet (NDP); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the at least one sequence.
Kwon teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises at least one sequence for obtaining at least one null data packet (NDP) (The NDP announcement frame 300 may include at least one STA information field. The STA information field may include identification information (for example, an association identifier (AID) or a partial AID (PAID)) of each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2, and STA3 participating in sounding, Para. 84, FIG. 3. After transmitting the NDP announcement frame 300, the access point AP may transmit an NDP frame 301. Each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2, and STA3 may acquire the channel information based on the received NDP frame 301, Para. 86, FIG. 3); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the at least one sequence.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with the teachings of Takano since Kwon provides a technique for indicating a series of identification information of stations participating in a wireless process, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit terminals to determine participation in receiving CSI-RS for measurements.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 2, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a corresponding null data packet (NDP) configuration for each of the plurality of APs; or the sounding measurement is conducted based on at least one NDP configuration of the corresponding null data packet (NDP) configuration for each of the plurality of APs.
Kwon teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a corresponding null data packet (NDP) configuration for each of the plurality of APs (The first access point AP 1 may generates an OIA NDP announcement frame 605 including an OIA participation AP list, and information indicating a signal sub-space of each of the access points AP1, AP2 and AP3 included in the OIA participation AP list, Para. 137, FIG. 7); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on at least one NDP configuration of the corresponding null data packet (NDP) configuration for each of the plurality of APs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with the teachings of Takano since Kwon provides a technique for indicating access points participating in a wireless process, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit base stations to indicate base stations participating in processes for CSI-RS measurements.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 2, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach the sounding schedule comprises at least one identifier of at least one station (STA) that is to conduct the sounding measurement according to the sounding schedule.
Kwon teaches the sounding schedule comprises at least one identifier of at least one station (STA) that is to conduct the sounding measurement according to the sounding schedule (The access point AP may perform sounding to acquire channel information for each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2 and STA3. First, the access point AP may transmit a null data packet (NDP) announcement frame 300 in a broadcast manner. The NDP announcement frame 300 may include at least one STA information field. The STA information field may include identification information (for example, an association identifier (AID) or a partial AID (PAID)) of each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2, and STA3 participating in sounding, Para. 84, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with the teachings of Takano since Kwon provides a technique for indicating a series of identification information of stations participating in a wireless process, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit terminals to determine participation in receiving CSI-RS for measurements.
In regard to Claim 8, Takano teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a corresponding beamforming report configuration for each STA of the at least one STA (The base station 100 transmits a CSI-RS configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S204). In addition, the base station 100 transmits the IMR configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S206), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The base station 100 and the neighbor base station 300 mutually provide notifications of the schedule information (Step S408). Next, the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15. CSI-RSs of neighbor base stations 300 may be grouped in accordance with the schedule information, Para. 156, FIGS. 6, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16); or the beamforming report is output based on at least one beamforming report configuration of the corresponding beamforming report configuration for each STA.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises identifiers of the plurality of APs; or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the identifiers.
Kwon teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises identifiers of the plurality of APs (transmitting an NDP announcement frame, the NDP announcement frame including an OIA participation AP list that may include identification information of each of a plurality of access points participating in OIA, Para. 18); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the identifiers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with the teachings of Takano since Kwon provides a technique for indicating access points participating in a wireless process, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit base stations to indicate base stations participating in processes for CSI-RS measurements.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises at least one sequence for obtaining at least one null data packet (NDP); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the at least one sequence.
Kwon teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises at least one sequence for obtaining at least one null data packet (NDP) (The NDP announcement frame 300 may include at least one STA information field. The STA information field may include identification information (for example, an association identifier (AID) or a partial AID (PAID)) of each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2, and STA3 participating in sounding, Para. 84, FIG. 3. After transmitting the NDP announcement frame 300, the access point AP may transmit an NDP frame 301. Each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2, and STA3 may acquire the channel information based on the received NDP frame 301, Para. 86, FIG. 3); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the at least one sequence.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with the teachings of Takano since Kwon provides a technique for indicating a series of identification information of stations participating in a wireless process, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit terminals to determine participation in receiving CSI-RS for measurements.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a corresponding null data packet (NDP) configuration for each of the plurality of APs; or the sounding measurement is conducted based on at least one NDP configuration of the corresponding null data packet (NDP) configuration for each of the plurality of APs.
Kwon teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a corresponding null data packet (NDP) configuration for each of the plurality of APs (The first access point AP 1 may generates an OIA NDP announcement frame 605 including an OIA participation AP list, and information indicating a signal sub-space of each of the access points AP1, AP2 and AP3 included in the OIA participation AP list, Para. 137, FIG. 7); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on at least one NDP configuration of the corresponding null data packet (NDP) configuration for each of the plurality of APs.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach the sounding schedule comprises at least one identifier of at least one station (STA) that is to conduct the sounding measurement according to the sounding schedule.
Kwon teaches the sounding schedule comprises at least one identifier of at least one station (STA) that is to conduct the sounding measurement according to the sounding schedule (The access point AP may perform sounding to acquire channel information for each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2 and STA3. First, the access point AP may transmit a null data packet (NDP) announcement frame 300 in a broadcast manner. The NDP announcement frame 300 may include at least one STA information field. The STA information field may include identification information (for example, an association identifier (AID) or a partial AID (PAID)) of each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2, and STA3 participating in sounding, Para. 84, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with the teachings of Takano since Kwon provides a technique for indicating a series of identification information of stations participating in a wireless process, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit terminals to determine participation in receiving CSI-RS for measurements.
In regard to Claim 16, Takano teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a corresponding beamforming report configuration for each STA of the at least one STA (The base station 100 transmits a CSI-RS configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S204). In addition, the base station 100 transmits the IMR configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S206), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The base station 100 and the neighbor base station 300 mutually provide notifications of the schedule information (Step S408). Next, the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15. CSI-RSs of neighbor base stations 300 may be grouped in accordance with the schedule information, Para. 156, FIGS. 6, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16); or the beamforming report is output based on at least one beamforming report configuration of the corresponding beamforming report configuration for each STA.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 18, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises at least one identifier of at least one station (STA) that is to conduct the sounding measurement according to the sounding schedule; or the at least one STA comprises the station.
Kwon teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises at least one identifier of at least one station (STA) that is to conduct the sounding measurement according to the sounding schedule (The access point AP may perform sounding to acquire channel information for each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2 and STA3. First, the access point AP may transmit a null data packet (NDP) announcement frame 300 in a broadcast manner. The NDP announcement frame 300 may include at least one STA information field. The STA information field may include identification information (for example, an association identifier (AID) or a partial AID (PAID)) of each of the plurality of terminals STA1, STA2, and STA3 participating in sounding, Para. 84, FIG. 3); or the at least one STA comprises the station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with the teachings of Takano since Kwon provides a technique for indicating a series of identification information of stations participating in a wireless process, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit terminals to determine participation in receiving CSI-RS for measurements.
In regard to Claim 20, Takano teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a corresponding beamforming report configuration for each STA of the at least one STA (The base station 100 transmits a CSI-RS configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S204). In addition, the base station 100 transmits the IMR configuration to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S206), Para. 135, FIGS. 11, 15. Processing related to Steps S402 to S406 is similar to the processing related to Steps S202 to S206, Para. 155, FIGS. 11, 15. The base station 100 and the neighbor base station 300 mutually provide notifications of the schedule information (Step S408). Next, the base station 100 provides a notification of the schedule information to the terminal apparatus 200 (Step S410), Para. 155, FIG. 15. CSI-RSs of neighbor base stations 300 may be grouped in accordance with the schedule information, Para. 156, FIGS. 6, 15. The terminal apparatus 200 separately measures the interference power of the CSI-RSs from the neighbor base stations 300, Para. 157, FIGS. 6, 15, 16); or the transmission of the beamforming report is based on a beamforming report configuration for the station of the corresponding beamforming report configuration for each STA.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Li et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180359806 A1), hereafter referred to as Li.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 2, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a multi basic service set (multi-BSS) sounding sequence; or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the multi-BSS sounding sequence.
Li teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a multi basic service set (multi-BSS) sounding sequence (a WLAN allows one AP to configure multiple BSSs. As shown in FIG. 2, the multiple BSSs and the BSS of BSSID which is the MAC address of the AP, make up a BSS set of the AP. When one AP is allowed to configure multiple BSSs, this means that the same channel may be used by multiple BSSs, Para. 7, FIG. 2. When the stations belong to different basic service sets of the access point, a sending address of the radio frame is set as a common address. Thus, the access point can trigger all stations under its own multiple BSSs, Para. 92. Referring to FIG. 8, the AP sends a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame, a NDP frame and a trigger frame to multiple stations (STA1, STA2, STA3, STA4). If the multiple stations belong to BSS1, BSS2 and BSS3, respectively, the sending address of the NDPA frame and the trigger frame is set as a common address, Para. 164, FIG. 8); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the multi-BSS sounding sequence.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Takano since Li provides a technique for an access point to configure and utilize multiple BSSs for different stations in null data packet processes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit base stations to accommodate and serve terminals across different BSSs in relation to CSI-RS measurements.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Takano teaches the sounding schedule.
Takano fails to teach at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a multi basic service set (multi-BSS) sounding sequence; or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the multi-BSS sounding sequence.
Li teaches at least one of: the sounding schedule comprises a multi basic service set (multi-BSS) sounding sequence (a WLAN allows one AP to configure multiple BSSs. As shown in FIG. 2, the multiple BSSs and the BSS of BSSID which is the MAC address of the AP, make up a BSS set of the AP. When one AP is allowed to configure multiple BSSs, this means that the same channel may be used by multiple BSSs, Para. 7, FIG. 2. When the stations belong to different basic service sets of the access point, a sending address of the radio frame is set as a common address. Thus, the access point can trigger all stations under its own multiple BSSs, Para. 92. Referring to FIG. 8, the AP sends a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame, a NDP frame and a trigger frame to multiple stations (STA1, STA2, STA3, STA4). If the multiple stations belong to BSS1, BSS2 and BSS3, respectively, the sending address of the NDPA frame and the trigger frame is set as a common address, Para. 164, FIG. 8); or the sounding measurement is conducted based on the multi-BSS sounding sequence.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Takano since Li provides a technique for an access point to configure and utilize multiple BSSs for different stations in null data packet processes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takano to permit base stations to accommodate and serve terminals across different BSSs in relation to CSI-RS measurements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SEO et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170223738 A1) teaches conduct a sounding measurement according to the sounding schedule, the sounding measurement being conducted with each access point of the plurality of APs (the eNB transmits, to a UE, an RRC signaling message demanding channel state feedback based on CSI-RS measurement, the eNB may inform the UE of the CSI-RS configuration through the RRC signaling message, Para. 152-155. The unique signal of the LTE system may correspond to a demodulation reference signal transmitted by each eNB/UE, Para. 246).
Reial et al. (US 20180062770 A1) teaches conduct a sounding measurement according to the sounding schedule, the sounding measurement being conducted with each access point of the plurality of APs (The coordination unit jointly determines (or schedules S5) the beam quality reference signals and time/frequency resource allocation for all wireless devices and access points. The controlling unit signals or provides S6 the allocation to the serving access points and the transmitting access points, Para. 107, FIG. 5).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
6-4-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477