DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 12/08/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-11 are examined herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 3/19/25, 6/23/25, and 1/21/26 are considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3, “coupled to radio” should read –coupled to the radio–.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending Application No. 18/780,284 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entirety of the substantive claim language of claim 1 of the instant application is contained within claim 1 of the reference application.
Additionally, claims 3, 4, 5 and 6 of the instant application is substantively identical to claims 3, 4, 6 and 7 of the reference application, respectively, and, the limitations of claims 8 and 10 of the instant application are substantively contained within claim 8 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation of “at least some” does not make plain, in clear, concise, and exact terms, what minimum value of slot pairs facilitating reflection cancellation satisfies the condition of “some”; the scope of the claim is therefore indefinite. To expedite prosecution, the claim will be examined as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 6 is included for its dependency upon claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation of “at least some” does not make plain, in clear, concise, and exact terms, what minimum value of respective groups of slot pairs or respective groups of asymmetrical slot pairs facilitating reflection cancellation satisfies the condition of “some”; the scope of the claim is therefore indefinite. To expedite prosecution, the claim will be examined as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 6 also recites the limitation "at least some respective groups of asymmetrical slot pairs" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it is not made clear whether the “at least some respective groups of asymmetrical slot pairs” are intended to be additional respective groups of slot pairs to the aforementioned respective groups of slot pairs, within the respective groups of separate slot pairs but distinct from the “at least some of the respective groups of slot pairs” established in claim 5, or within the “at least some of the respective groups of slot pairs” established in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shijo et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2012/0056776) and Tanaka et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2006/0097942).
Regarding claim 1, Shijo et al. teaches (Figs. 1-11) a device, comprising: a radio frequency signal source (1102); and a planar transmitter coupled to the radio frequency signal source (see Fig. 1; ¶53, and Fig. 11 demonstrate coupling of the radio frequency signal source to the planar transmitter), the planar transmitter comprising a leaky wave antenna structure configured for beam scanning (see Fig. 7, and Fig. 11, ¶54), wherein the leaky wave antenna structure comprises respective apertures formed by respective groups of slot pairs (104a, 104b; see Fig. 7 for example).
Shijo does not teach wherein the respective groups of slot pairs have respective different spacing periodicity patterns resulting in respective different beam scanning radiation pattern angles transmitted via the leaky wave antenna structure.
Tanaka et al. teaches (Figs. 1-2) a device, comprising: a planar transmitter (1), the planar transmitter comprising a leaky waveguide antenna structure configured for beam scanning (see Figs. 1, 2), wherein the leaky wave antenna structure comprises respective apertures formed by respective groups of slot pairs (see pairs of slots, each on alternate sides of antenna structure; see also ¶55), and wherein the respective groups of slot pairs have respective different spacing periodicity patterns (see Fig. 1; ¶34) resulting in different beam scanning radiation pattern angles transmitted via the leaky wave antenna structure (see Fig. 2, angles 100, 200; angle θ in Fig. 4, and ¶35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shijo by forming the respective groups of slot pairs to have respective different spacing periodicity patterns resulting in respective different beam scanning radiation pattern angles transmitted via the leaky wave antenna structure, employing the teachings of Tanaka.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of enabling the device to operably receive and transmit in a range of beam scanning radiation pattern angles (see Tanaka, Fig. 4, ¶61).
Regarding claim 2, Shijo teaches the device of claim 1.
Shijo does not teach wherein the respective different spacing periodicity patterns are configured to result in the different beam scanning radiation pattern angles that mitigate an effect of null regions between the different beam scanning radiation pattern angles.
Tanaka teaches a device, comprising: a planar transmitter (1), the planar transmitter comprising a leaky waveguide antenna structure configured for beam scanning (see Figs. 1, 2), wherein the leaky wave antenna structure comprises respective apertures formed by respective groups of slot pairs (see pairs of slots, each on alternate sides of antenna structure; see also ¶55), and wherein the respective groups of slot pairs have respective different spacing periodicity patterns (see Fig. 1; ¶34) resulting in different beam scanning radiation pattern angles transmitted via the leaky wave antenna structure (see Fig. 2, angles 100, 200; angle θ in Fig. 4, and ¶35), wherein the respective different spacing periodicity patterns are configured to result in the different beam scanning radiation pattern angles that mitigate an effect of null regions between the different beam scanning radiation patterns (see ¶35, “it is possible to transmit electromagnetic waves incident from arbitrary directions respectively back into the same directions as the directions of incidence,” thus teaching that any null regions are accounted for and mitigated by arbitrarily angled beam scanning radiation patterns).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shijo such that the respective different spacing periodicity patterns are configured to result in the different beam scanning radiation pattern angles that mitigate an effect of null regions between the different beam scanning radiation pattern angles, employing the teachings of Tanaka.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of enabling the device to operably receive and transmit in a range of beam scanning radiation pattern angles (see Tanaka, Fig. 4, ¶61).
Regarding claim 3, Shijo teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the planar transmitter is incorporated with a receiver into a transceiver (transmitter is incorporated with RF module unit 1102, a transceiver; see ¶56).
Regarding claim 4, Shijo teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the leaky wave antenna structure comprises a substrate integrated waveguide structure (see Fig. 1, planar transmitter is a waveguide structure integrated into substrate 101; see ¶18).
Regarding claim 5, Shijo teaches the device of claim 1, wherein at least some of the respective groups of slot pairs facilitate reflection cancellation (see ¶3).
Regarding claim 6, Shijo teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the at least some of the respective groups of slot pairs facilitate the reflection cancellation via at least some respective groups of asymmetrical slot pairs (see Fig. 2, 104a and 104b are asymmetrical across line direction; see also asymmetrical distribution of analogous elements 404, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Shijo teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the respective groups of slot pairs facilitate reflection cancellation to avoid stop band effects and facilitate broadside radiation (see ¶3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with other claimed limitations, the limitation of “wherein the device is incorporated into a computing device for transmission of radio frequency signals to a metasurface for redirection to a receiver via at least one of the different beam scanning radiation pattern angles”, and the modification of the art of record to incorporate this feature would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 is included for its dependency upon claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with other claimed limitations, the limitation of “wherein the device is incorporated into a computer peripheral device for transmission of radio frequency signals to a metasurface via at least one of the different beam scanning radiation pattern angles”, and the modification of the art of record to incorporate this feature would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 is included for its dependency upon claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alexanian et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0028528), Wada et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0372886), and Singh et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2026/0025172) each teach planar leaky wave structures with paired and variably distributed slot elements.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/Jordan E. DeWitt/Examiner, Art Unit 2845