DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-14, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pinciuc et al. (11775006). With respect to claim 1, Pinciuc et al. discloses an electronic device (100, 1400), comprising: a housing (102); a display (104, 1420) carried by the housing (102); and a sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) positioned between the housing (102) and the display (104, 1420), the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) configured to detect an accessory device (200) covering the housing (102) and the display (104, 1420). With respect to claim 2, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 1, wherein the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) comprises a magnetic field sensor configured to detect: a first magnetic flux, in a first direction, from a first magnet and from a second magnet of the accessory device, and a second magnetic flux, in a second direction, from the first magnet and from the second magnet, the second direction different from the first direction. With respect to claim 3, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 2, further comprising one or more processors (1410) configured to determine, based on detection by the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) of the first magnetic flux in the first direction, the accessory device (200) is covering the display (104, 1420) and the housing 102). With respect to claim 4, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors (1410) are further configured to determine, based on detection by the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) of the second magnetic flux in the second direction, the accessory device (200) is covering the housing (102) and not the display (104, 1420).
With respect to claim 5, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors (1410) are further configured to deactivate the display (102, 1420) based on detection by the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) of the first magnetic flux in the first direction. With respect to claim 8, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) comprises a single magnetic field sensor. With respect to claim 9, Pinciuc et al discloses an electronic device (100, 1400), comprising: a housing (102); a display (104, 1420) carried by the housing; a sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) positioned between the housing (102) and the display (104, 1420); and one or more processors (1410) electrically coupled to the display (104, 1420) and the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430), the one or more processors (1410) configured to: determine, based on a first output from the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430), an accessory device (200) is covering the display (104, 1420) and the housing (102), and determine, based on a second output from the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430), the accessory device (200) is covering the housing (102) and not the display (104, 1420). With respect to claim 10, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 9, wherein the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) is configured to: provide the first output based on detection of a first magnetic field from a first magnet and from a second magnet of the accessory device, and provide the second output based on detection of a second magnetic field from the first magnet and from the second magnet. With respect to claim 11, Pinciuc et al discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 10, wherein the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) is configured to: detect the first magnetic field in a first direction, and detect the second magnetic field in a second direction different from the first direction. With respect to claim 12, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors (1410) are configured to deactivate the display (104, 1420) based on receiving the first output from the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430). With respect to claim 13, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors (1410) are configured to determine, based on the second output from the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430), a first section of the accessory device (200) is covered by a second portion of the accessory device (200). With respect to claim 14, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100) of claim 9, wherein the sensor (140a, 140b, 1400) comprises a magnetic field sensor configured to determine magnetic flux in different directions. With respect to claim 17, Pinciuc et al. discloses an electronic device (100, 1400), comprising: a housing (102); a display (104, 1420) carried by the housing (102); a camera assembly (115); a sensor (140a, 140b, 1430) positioned between the housing (102) and the display (104, 1420); and one or more processors (1410) configured to: determine, based on a first output from the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430), an accessory device (200) is covering the display (104, 1420), the camera assembly (115), and the housing (102), determine, based on a second output from the sensor (140a, 140b, 1430), the accessory device (200) is covering the housing (102) and not the display (104, 1420) and not the camera assembly (115), and activate, based on the second output, a software application configured to utilize the camera assembly (115). With respect to claim 19, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 17, wherein the camera assembly (115) comprises a front camera (116a) configured to capture an image of an environment facing the display (104, 1420). With respect to claim 20, Pinciuc et al. discloses the electronic device (100, 1400) of claim 17, wherein the camera assembly (115) comprises a rear camera (116b, 116c) configured to capture an image of an environment facing the housing (102).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 15, 16, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as to claims 6 and 7, patentability resides in the at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to operate in accordance with a first temperature limit based on detection by the sensor of the first magnetic flux in the first direction, and based on detection by the sensor) of the second magnetic flux in the second direction, the at least one processor is configured to operate in accordance with a second temperature limit different from the first temperature limit as claimed and including all of the other limitations of the base claim(s) respectfully; as to claims 15 and 16; patentability resides in the at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to operate in accordance with a first temperature limit, and based on the second output, the at least one processor is configured to operate in accordance with a second temperature limit different from the first temperature limit as claimed and including all of the other limitations of the base claim(s) respectfully; as to claim 18 patentability resides in the at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to operate in accordance with a first temperature limit based on the first output, and based on the second output, the at least one processor is configured to operate in accordance with a second temperature limit greater than the first temperature limit as claimed and including all of the other limitations of the base claim(s) respectfully.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LISA LEA-EDMONDS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/LISA LEA-EDMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 2026-02-07