Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Use of indicates a limitation is not explicitly disclosed by the reference alone.
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maier (US 2012/0176410) in view of Kim (US 2012/0122491)
Claim 1
Maier discloses an electronic device (Meier, ¶ 37: “FIG. 1B, there is shown another exemplary system setup 30 that can be found often e.g. in modern mobile telephones (so-called "smartphones").”) comprising:
a camera module captures a still image and a video (¶ 37: “camera 32 constitute a system unit that is accommodated e.g. in a common housing of a mobile telephone. The view of the real environment 40 is provided by display 31 showing a camera image of the real environment 40 captured by camera 32.”);
at least one processor including processing circuitry (implicit in the use of a smartphone or other mobile processing device); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, caused the electronic device to (implicit in the use of a smartphone or other mobile processing device):
identify a focus POI included in a focus region among the one or more POIs, and general POI among the one or more POIs except the focus POI, the focus region is a partial region of a preview image (e.g. through crosshairs (¶ 75: “instead of a direct selection by touch, the interaction can also be implemented by means of the target cross 7 (optional) shown in FIG. 7, as described in FIG. 18 in steps 9.5 to 9.7. When the user directs the crosshairs 7 (or a similar target object) in the camera to a POI, the next detail level will be activated there (label in case POI only is visible, preview in case label is visible).”; also through region (¶ 75: “A special feature in the location region 5 resides in that a POI, if indicated or adapted to be generated automatically, in addition to POI detail information indicates an image of the location in order to facilitate finding the same (cp. preview V23 and image P23 for POI23 in FIG. 6).”);
identify a location where user interface(UI) related to the focus POI being displayed on the preview image (either by region (see ¶ 11 referenced below) or by target of user focus (¶ 75: “when the user directs the crosshairs 7 (or a similar target object) in the camera to a POI, the next detail level will be activated there (label in case POI only is visible, preview in case label is visible).”); and
display the preview image and information related to the focus POI (Fig. 6; ¶¶ 11, 75: “subdividing at least part of the view of the real environment into a plurality of regions comprising a first region and a second region…A special feature in the location region 5 resides in that a POI, if indicated or adapted to be generated automatically, in addition to POI detail information indicates an image of the location in order to facilitate finding the same (cp. preview V23 and image P23 for POI23 in FIG. 6)”; ¶75: “when the user directs the crosshairs 7 (or a similar target object) in the camera to a POI, the next detail level will be activated there (label in case POI only is visible, preview in case label is visible).”).
Maier does not explicitly disclose, but Kim makes obvious identify one or more points of interest (POIs) in a preview video captured by the camera module (Kim, ¶¶ 72-73: “Portable terminal 110 extracts feature points of the image from the acquired image information (S420). Here, portable terminal 110 extracts the feature point based on one or more kinds of information selected from a color information, edge information, outline information, texture information, text information, and contour information depending on a specified angle with respect to a specific object, which are contained in the image information. Portable terminal 110 transmits the extracted feature point to augmented reality providing server 130. Augmented reality server 130 compares the received feature point with a previously stored location-associated information (S440), follows the result of comparison to extract a local information data that matches with the received feature point (S450), and transmits the extracted local information data to portable terminal 110 (S460)”)
Before the effective filing date of this application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to identify POIs from the video.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to use image capture to determine objects in the field of view, which could be used in place of or in addition to GPS based identification. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both references consider detection of nearby POIs
Claim 2
Meier discloses wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: identify a distance between the electronic device and each of the one or more POIs based on a location information of the electronic device and location information of each of the at least one POI and identify the focus POI based on the distance between the electronic device and the each of the at least one POI is within a predetermined value (Meier, ¶ 60: “. Thus, it may be advantageous to calculate a radius 2, similar to radius 1, as shown in FIG. 15. Due to the fact that radius 2 in particular still is to display POI objects located within the reach of the user, it is advantageously possible to employ for calculating radius 2 the current speed or the average speed of the user or the distance that can be covered by the user within a specific period of time, using public transport, a vehicle or bicycle or the like. The possibility of calculating, in accordance with these factors, which objects can be displayed at all by AR, can also be applied independently of the other claims of the invention.”)
Claim 3
Maier does not explicitly disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: identify the focus POI based on a preference of a user of the electronic device (¶ 99: “For example, if the user visited Myeong-dong intersection and selected `famous restaurants` from a selection menu (where famous restaurant, theater, convenient store, map service and the like can be selected) within the augmented reality menus offered, the corresponding selection information is sent to augmented reality providing server 130 which sends the feature points, POI, promotion information and the like of `family restaurant buildings` within a preset radius from the current location information of the user, to portable terminal 110”)
Before the effective filing date of this application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider preference or behavior as claimed. As disclosed by Kim at ¶ 15-18 (“Advantageous Effects…the augmented reality may be provided about the interest region which the user frequently visits by using local information data having been downloaded in advance and free of an information connection delay.”), the use of personalized information would be recognized as an advantage in the same field of endeavor as Meier.
Claim 4
Maier does not explicitly disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: identify the preference of the user based on at least one a history of visiting, a history of searching or a preset preference (Kim, ¶ 99: “For example, if the user visited Myeong-dong intersection and selected `famous restaurants` from a selection menu (where famous restaurant, theater, convenient store, map service and the like can be selected) within the augmented reality menus offered, the corresponding selection information is sent to augmented reality providing server 130 which sends the feature points, POI, promotion information and the like of `family restaurant buildings` within a preset radius from the current location information of the user, to portable terminal 110”)
Before the effective filing date of this application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider preference or behavior as claimed. As disclosed by Kim at ¶ 15-18 (“Advantageous Effects…the augmented reality may be provided about the interest region which the user frequently visits by using local information data having been downloaded in advance and free of an information connection delay.”), the use of personalized information would be recognized as an advantage in the same field of endeavor as Meier.
Claim 5
Maier does not explicitly disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: display the information related to the focus POI based on the preference of the user (Kim, ¶ 99: “Upon having the corresponding information downloaded, portable terminal 110 displays only `family restaurant info` combined with the image information acquired through camera module 380.”)
Before the effective filing date of this application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider preference or behavior as claimed. As disclosed by Kim at ¶ 15-18 (“Advantageous Effects…the augmented reality may be provided about the interest region which the user frequently visits by using local information data having been downloaded in advance and free of an information connection delay.”), the use of personalized information would be recognized as an advantage in the same field of endeavor as Meier.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maier (US 2012/0176410) in view of Kim (US 2012/0122491) and Sandberg (US Patent 9,710,554)
Claim 6
Maier does not explicitly disclose, but Kim discloses display the information related to the focus POI based on the preference of the user (Kim, ¶ 99: “Upon having the corresponding information downloaded, portable terminal 110 displays only `family restaurant info` combined with the image information acquired through camera module 380.”);
Before the effective filing date of this application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider preference or behavior as claimed. As disclosed by Kim at ¶ 15-18 (“Advantageous Effects…the augmented reality may be provided about the interest region which the user frequently visits by using local information data having been downloaded in advance and free of an information connection delay.”), the use of personalized information would be recognized as an advantage in the same field of endeavor as Meier.
Maier and Kim do not explicitly disclose, but Sandberg discloses re-identify the focus POI as the general POI, based on a change of a direction in which the camera module captures a preview video and the angle of view of the camera module (Sandberg, “In an example embodiment, the orientation of the field of view of the camera module 36 may be compared to the reference in order to determine the current orientation of the apparatus 50. Thus, for example, given an initial image, a particular feature may be selected as the reference. Thereafter, as the field of view is altered…lustrating points of interest corresponding to real world objects that may be captured by the camera module at one or more view angles is provided. It should be pointed out that the orientation module 71 may determine the view angles of the camera module 36 in the manner described above. In the example embodiment of FIG. 6; and
display a UI related to the general POI (“As shown in FIG. 7, the AR grouping module 78 may generate visible indicia 19 such as, for example, a folder overlaid on a corresponding portion of an image 41 captured by the camera module 36”).
Before the effective filing date of this application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider change of view. The motivation would have been to be responsive to user change of position and viewpoint when using an AR device.
Claim 7
Maier and Kim do not explicitly disclose, but Sandberg discloses wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: display a UI related to the general POI by changing the UI related to the displayed focus POI to the UI related to the general POI (Sandberg, “located along the same line of direction. Selecting the visible indicia depicting the group may open (e.g., un-folding a graphical representation of a folder) the group and enable the points of interest inside the group to be available for viewing and accessible by a user of a communication device. In an example embodiment, when the group is open, a user of the communication device may access the points of interest inside the group. It should be pointed out that the group may be closed again by selecting the visible indicia denoting the group at a time subsequent to an initial selection of the visible indicia.”)
Before the effective filing date of this application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider displaying a UI related to change of view. The motivation would have been to be responsive to user change of position and viewpoint when using an AR device.
Claim 8
Maier and Kim do not explicitly disclose, but Sandberg discloses wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: identify the one or more point of interests (POIs) in a vicinity, based on a direction in which the camera module captures the preview video and an angle of view of the camera module (Sandberg, Fig. 6;
“As an example, presume that the apparatus 50 is located at a position corresponding to the center of the circle 17. When a user of the apparatus 50 points the camera module 36 at real world objects in a line of direction at a view angle around 20°, for example, the AR grouping module 78 may determine that five points of interest corresponding to real world objects that are located substantially or approximately along a line (e.g., a virtual line around 20°) are detected. In this regard, the AR grouping module 78 may group these points of interest as depicted by the group 11. It should be pointed out that the AR grouping module 78 may consider points of interest to correspond to real world objects located along a line in instances in which the AR grouping module 78 determines that the real world objects are within a predetermined threshold (e.g., within ±5° of a line) of the corresponding line (e.g., a virtual line at 20°).”)
Before the effective filing date of this application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider displaying a UI related to change of view. The motivation would have been to be responsive to user change of position and viewpoint when using an AR device.
Conclusion
/RYAN M GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611