DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
More specifically, claim 22 recites: “determining an angle of the hook relative to the body of the orthodontic tube structure using the 3D model of the one or more teeth”. This language is not supported by the original disclosure and therefore constitutes new matter. ((See also 37 C.F.R. 1.121(f), MPEP 608.04, 706.03(o)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 24 - 28, 30, 33, 36 – 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Griffin et al. US 2019/0377327 (hereinafter Griffin).
Regarding claim 21, Griffin teaches: method of manufacturing customized orthodontic tubes for patients, the method comprising:
obtaining a three-dimensional (3D) model of one or more teeth of a patient (Fig. 1 - - measure dentition data from scan/CB-CT; construct 3D CAD model of teeth);
generating a 3D model of an orthodontic tube structure using the 3D model of the one or more teeth of the patient, the orthodontic tube structure including a hook for creation of force by an attachment to the orthodontic tube structure, the hook being angled relative to a body of the orthodontic tube structure (Fig. 1 - - CCAA is designed; Fig. 10, [0054] - - CCAA includes a hook that provides the capability to use additional systems that create vectors of force; Fig. 10 shows the hook being angled relative to a body of the CCAA); and
using an additive manufacturing device to produce a customized orthodontic tube based on the 3D model of the orthodontic tube structure (Fig. 1 - - CCAA is printed).
Regarding claim 22, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: generating the 3D model of the orthodontic tube structure using the 3D model of the one or more teeth of the patient comprises:
determining an angle of the hook relative to the body of the orthodontic tube structure using the 3D model of the one or more teeth; and
generating the 3D model of the orthodontic tube structure with the hook angled at the determined angle (Fig. 10 shows the hook being angled relative to a body of the CCAA; thus the angle is determined).
Regarding claim 24, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: determining the angle of the hook relative to the body of the orthodontic tube structure based on a prescription ([0014], [0086] - - the bracket design is based on a prescription).
Regarding claim 25, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: the angled hook is angled between 90 degrees labially and 30 degrees lingually from a face of the orthodontic tube structure (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 26, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: the angled hook is angled up to 45 degrees away from a body of the orthodontic tube structure in a plane of the hook (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 27, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: the hook is connected to the body of the orthodontic tube structure at an intersection of a gingival and buccal surface of the body of the orthodontic tube structure (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 28, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: hook is on a buccal surface of the orthodontic tube structure (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 30, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: the hook is a curved hook (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 33, Griffin teaches: an additively manufactured customized orthodontic tube produced by an additive manufacturing device using a 3D model of an orthodontic tube structure generated using a 3D model of one or more teeth of a patient (Fig. 1), the additively manufactured customized orthodontic tube comprising:
a hook for creation of force by an attachment to the orthodontic tube structure, the hook being angled relative to a body of the orthodontic tube structure (Fig. 10, [0054] - - CCAA includes a hook that provides the capability to use additional systems that create vectors of force; Fig. 10 shows the hook being angled relative to a body of the CCAA).
Regarding claim 36, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: the angled hook is angled between 90 degrees labially and 30 degrees lingually from a face of the orthodontic tube structure (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 37, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: the angled hook is angled up to 45 degrees away from a body of the orthodontic tube structure in a plane of the hook (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 38, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: the hook is connected to the body of the orthodontic tube structure at an intersection of a gingival and buccal surface of the body of the orthodontic tube structure (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 39, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: hook is on a buccal surface of the orthodontic tube structure (Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 29, 34, 35, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. US 2019/0377327 (hereinafter Griffin) in view of Ye et al. CN 210009156 (hereinafter Ye).
Regarding claim 23, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Griffin does not explicitly teach: determining the angle of the hook relative to the body of the orthodontic tube structure using the 3D model of the one or more teeth comprises:
determining the angle of the hook such that the hook avoids contact with the patient's mouth when the customized orthodontic tube is placed in the patient's mouth.
However, Ye teaches: determining the angle of the hook relative to the body of the orthodontic tube structure using the 3D model of the one or more teeth comprises:
determining the angle of the hook such that the hook avoids contact with the patient's mouth when the customized orthodontic tube is placed in the patient's mouth (Page 2 - - “Further, the end of the traction hook is close to the jaw pad. In this way, the end of the traction hook can be prevented from contacting the skin of the patient's oral cavity, and the patient's oral cavity can be prevented from being worn.”).
Griffin and Ye are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to orthodontic parts.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Griffin, and incorporating avoid hook contacting patient’s mouth, as taught by Ye.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve patient’s comfort, as suggested by Ye (Page 2).
Regarding claim 29, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Griffin does not explicitly teach: the hook has a configurable angle relative to the body of the orthodontic tube structure.
However, Ye teaches: the hook has a configurable angle relative to the body of the orthodontic tube structure (Page 3 - - “the traction hook is bent by the medical staff”; bent is configuring angle).
Griffin and Ye are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to orthodontic parts.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Griffin, and incorporating bending a hook, as taught by Ye.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve patient’s comfort, as suggested by Ye (Page 2).
Regarding claim 34, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Griffin does not explicitly teach: the hook is angled such that the hook avoids contact with the patient's mouth when the customized orthodontic tube is placed in a patient's mouth.
However, Ye teaches: the hook is angled such that the hook avoids contact with the patient's mouth when the customized orthodontic tube is placed in a patient's mouth. (Page 2 - - “Further, the end of the traction hook is close to the jaw pad. In this way, the end of the traction hook can be prevented from contacting the skin of the patient's oral cavity, and the patient's oral cavity can be prevented from being worn.”).
Griffin and Ye are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to orthodontic parts.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above orthodontic tube, as taught by Griffin, and incorporating avoid hook contacting patient’s mouth, as taught by Ye.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve patient’s comfort, as suggested by Ye (Page 2).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Griffin and Ye teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Griffin further teaches: an angle of the hook is determined based on a prescription ([0014], [0086] - - the bracket design is based on a prescription).
Regarding claim 40, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Griffin does not explicitly teach: the hook has a configurable angle relative to the body of the orthodontic tube structure.
However, Ye teaches: the hook has a configurable angle relative to the body of the orthodontic tube structure (Page 3 - - “the traction hook is bent by the medical staff”; bent is configuring angle).
Griffin and Ye are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to orthodontic parts.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above orthodontic tube, as taught by Griffin, and incorporating bending a hook, as taught by Ye.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve patient’s comfort, as suggested by Ye (Page 2).
Claims 31, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. US 2019/0377327 (hereinafter Griffin) in view of Jolley US 2022/0160471 (hereinafter Jolley).
Regarding claim 31, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Griffin does not explicitly teach: the hook is a straight hook.
However, Jolley teaches: the hook is a straight hook ([0050] - - poking hook).
Griffin and Jolley are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to orthodontic parts.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Griffin, and incorporating straight hook, as taught by Jolley.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve tooth alignment, as suggested by Jolley ([0048]).
Regarding claim 32, Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Griffin does not explicitly teach: the hook is a ball hook.
However, Jolley teaches: the hook is a ball hook ([0050] - - ball hook).
Griffin and Jolley are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to orthodontic parts.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Griffin, and incorporating ball hook, as taught by Jolley.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve tooth alignment, as suggested by Jolley ([0048]).
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116