DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant's submission filed September 8, 2026, the Examiner has maintained and updated the 35 USC § 101 and 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the following limitations that are considered to be abstract ideas:
Claims 1,11, 19
receiving, from a client, a query for a generative artificial intelligence (Al) tool;
accessing a database comprising query autosuggestion profiles to identify a set of query autosuggestion profiles matching the query, wherein the set of query autosuggestion profiles comprise (i) a first query autosuggestion profile generated based upon a first automatic query autosuggestion request to advertise in association with a first entity and (ii) a second query autosuggestion profile generated based upon a second automatic query autosuggestion request to advertise in association with a second entity, second entity, wherein the first query autosuggestion profile comprises at least one of a first query matching configuration, a first query autosuggestion configuration, a first bidding configuration or a first content configuration, wherein the second query autosuggestion profile comprises at least one of a second query matching configuration, a second query autosuggestion configuration, a second bidding configuration or a second content configuration;
generating, based upon the query and the set of query autosuggestion profiles, a set of query autosuggestions comprising a first query autosuggestion associated with the first entity and a second query autosuggestion associated with the second entity; generating, based upon the query and the set of query autosuggestion profiles, a set of query autosuggestions;
providing, on the client, an autosuggestion indicative of the set of query autosuggestions;
in response to receiving a selection of a first query autosuggestion of the set of query autosuggestions via the autosuggestion, using the generative Al tool to generate a first content item associated with the first entity based upon the first query autosuggestion; and
providing the first content item for presentation to the client.
. The limitations of independent claim 1, 8, and 16 as detailed above, as drafted, falls within the “Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The applicant’s claims are directed generating content based about the first query autosuggestion and providing content for presentation on a client device. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims recite the additional elements of using an interface, client device, database, computing device, processor, memory, and non-transitory machine readable medium. The aforementioned additional generic computing elements perform the steps of the claims at a high level of generality (i.e. As a generic medium performing generic computer function of receiving, accessing generating, providing) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of interface, client device, database, computing device, processor, memory, and non-transitory machine readable medium amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of the computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation.
Thus, taken individually and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to
significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea).
The dependent claims 2-10,12-18, and 20 appear to merely further limit the abstract and as such, the analysis of dependent claims 2-10,12-18, and 20 results in the claims “reciting” an abstract idea The claims the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application the additional elements do not amount to an inventive concept (significantly more) other than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea).
Thus, based on the detailed analysis above, claims 1 - 20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 2014/0280016) in view of Saxena (US 2024/0330579)
Claim 1, 11,19: Williams discloses a method, comprising:
accessing a database comprising query autosuggestion profiles to identify a set of query autosuggestion profiles matching the query, wherein the set of query autosuggestion profiles comprise (i) a first query autosuggestion profile generated based upon a first automatic query autosuggestion request to advertise in association with a first entity and (ii) a second query autosuggestion profile generated based upon a second automatic query autosuggestion request to advertise in association with a second entity, wherein the first query autosuggestion profile comprises at least one of a first query matching configuration, a first query autosuggestion configuration, a first bidding configuration or a first content configuration, wherein the second query autosuggestion profile comprises at least one of a second query matching configuration, a second query autosuggestion configuration, a second bidding configuration or a second content configuration;;( [0046], Autocomplete advertising module 234 can be configured to receive the user-entered text 420 in the search field 420, and to perform an autocomplete function for the user-entered text 410. Autocomplete is a feature that automatically predicts remaining characters of a word or phrase based on what has been input or typed so far. Autocomplete advertising module 234 can perform autocomplete on the user-entered text 410 to determine one or more predicted queries 430 (e.g., "samsonite", "samsung", and "sam's club" in FIG. 4) based on the user-entered text 410. [0048], determination of the predicted queries 430 can be further based on any combination of one or more of a variety of different signals. These signals can be obtained from the database(s) 126 in FIG. 1. However, it is contemplated that other sources of the signals are also within the scope of the present disclosure. Also see [0061], autocomplete module includes bidding information. Also see [0052], The autocomplete advertising module 234 can be configured to determine one or more advertisements 450 based on the one or more predicted queries 430. Each advertisement 450 can be for an item being offered for sale. and [0053], if the user has a history of purchasing more Samsonite items than Samsung items, then the autocomplete advertising module 234 can cause an advertisement 450 for a Samsonite item to be displayed in a more prominent position (e.g., higher up on the search page 400) than an advertisement 450 for a Samsung item.))
generating, based upon the query and the set of query autosuggestion profiles, a set of query autosuggestions comprising a first query autosuggestion associated with the first entity and a second query autosuggestion associated with the second entity;([0013, 0046, 0063] Fig. 4, Search page 400 can comprise a search field 420 within which user-entered text 410 (e.g., "sam" in FIG. 4) can be received. Autocomplete advertising module 234 can be configured to receive the user-entered text 420 in the search field 420, and to perform an autocomplete function for the user-entered text 410. Autocomplete is a feature that automatically predicts remaining characters of a word or phrase based on what has been input or typed so far. Autocomplete advertising module 234 can perform autocomplete on the user-entered text 410 to determine one or more predicted queries 430 (e.g., "samsonite", "samsung", and "sam's club" in FIG. 4) based on the user-entered text 410. The predicted queries 430 can comprise at least a portion of the user-entered text 410, as well as predicted text 435. The predicted queries 430 shown in FIG. 4 each comprise the user-entered text 410 "sam", as well as predicted text 435, such as "sonite" for "samsonite", "sung" for "samsung", and "'s club" for "sam's club.")
in response to receiving a selection of the first query autosuggestion of the set of query autosuggestions via the autosuggestion interface, [0046, 0052, 0064]
providing, on the client device, an autosuggestion interface indicative of the set of query autosuggestions; ([0046 and 0047] Autocomplete advertising module 234 can be configured to determine and display the predicted queries 430 in an autocomplete user interface element 440 for the search field 420 prior to any user-instructed submission to the search engine, such as the user selecting (e.g., clicking or tapping) a selectable "Search" button 425 or providing input corresponding to an enter/return command. The user can provide an instruction for submitting the user-entered text 410 for search)
; and providing the first content item for presentation on the client device. ([0057], the autocomplete advertising module 234 is configured to cause the determined advertisement(s) 450 to be displayed to the user concurrently with the predicted queries 430 being displayed in the autocomplete user interface element 440 for the search field 420 prior to the user providing any instruction for submission of the user-entered text 410 or any of the predicted queries) but does not explicitly disclose receiving, from a client device, a query for a generative artificial intelligence (AI) tool; using the generative AI tool to generate a first content item associated with the first entity based upon the first query autosuggestion However Saxena discloses disclose receiving, from a client device, a query for a generative artificial intelligence (AI) tool; ([0021], using the website data or user input, generates a prompt 125 to a large language model (LLM) 130.) using the generative AI tool to generate a first content item associated with the first entity based upon the first query autosuggestion ([0034, 0035, and 0040], a parameter in the selected prompt template is a brand name of an entity associated with the webpage or a product or service offered by the entity. A user may have provided the brand name for another section on the website or when the user created an account to use the website development tool 205. Accordingly, the parameter analysis module 225 can query the website data or user account data to retrieve the brand name when required by a prompt template.[0040], The prompt generator 230 uses the prompt template and any parameters determined by the parameter analysis module 225 or received from a user to generate a prompt to the LLM Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify, Williams to receiving, from a client device, a query for a generative artificial intelligence (AI) tool; using the generative AI tool to generate a first content item associated with the first entity based upon the first query autosuggestion, in order provide relevant information from the received communication.
Claim 2, 12, 20: Williams discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the first content item comprises:
generating an updated query based upon the first query autosuggestion and the query; [0016]
analyzing the second content item to identify a portion, of the second content item, relevant to a first entity associated with the first query autosuggestion; [0015 and 0016] and
modifying, based upon the portion of the second content item and a first query autosuggestion profile associated with the first query autosuggestion, the second content item to generate the first content item.[0046] But does not explicitly disclose submitting, to the generative Al tool, the updated query to generate a second content item; However Saxena discloses submitting, to the generative Al tool, the updated query to generate a second content item; [0034, 0035, and 0040] Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify, Williams to include submitting, to the generative Al tool, the updated query to generate a second content item, in order provide relevant information from the received communication.
Claim 3,13: Williams discloses the method of claim 2, wherein modifying the second content item to generate the first content item comprises supplementing the second content item with a supplemental content item indicated by the first query autosuggestion profile to generate the first content item, the method comprising: [0046]receiving, from the client device, a selection of the supplemental content item; [0046]and in response to the selection of the supplemental content item, directing the client device to an internet resource associated with the first entity. [0052]
Claim 4, 14: Williams discloses the method of claim 2, wherein:
modifying the second content item to generate the first content item comprises supplementing the second content item with a supplemental content item indicated by the first query autosuggestion profile to generate the first content item; [0046] and
the supplemental content item comprises a link to an internet resource associated with the first entity. [0055]
Claim 5, 15: Williams discloses the method of claim 2, comprising:
prior to receiving the query, receiving an automatic query autosuggestion request from the first entity; [0046]and
storing the first query autosuggestion profile in the database in response to the automatic query autosuggestion request, wherein the first query autosuggestion profile is based upon the automatic query autosuggestion request. [0048 and 0052]
Claim 6, 16: Williams discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first query autosuggestion profile comprises the first query matching configuration, the first query matching configuration comprising a first program comprising instructions that, when executed, perform operations that determine whether the query matches the first query autosuggestion profile [0046]
Claim 9: Williams discloses the method of claim 8, comprising: the first query autosuggestion profile comprises the first query matching configuration, the first query matching configuration comprising a first program comprising instructions that, when executed, perform operations that determine whether the query matches the first query autosuggestion profile; and the second query autosuggestion profile comprises the second query matching configuration, the second query matching configuration comprising a second program comprising instructions that, when executed, perform operations that determine whether the query matches the second query autosuggestion profile. [0046, 0050, 0051]
Claim 10: Williams discloses the method of claim 2, comprising: identifying the set of query autosuggestion profiles comprises identifying the first query autosuggestion profile based upon determination, by the first program, that the query matches the first query autosuggestion profile and identifying the second query autosuggestion profile based upon determination, by the second program, that the query matches the second query autosuggestion profile
[0046]
Claim 17: identifying the set of query autosuggestion profiles comprises identifying the first query autosuggestion profile based upon determination, by the first program, that the query matches the first query autosuggestion profile. [0046]
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 2014/0280016) in view of Saxena (US 2024/0330579) and in further view of Ruiz et al. (US 2015/0006280)
Claim 7: Williams discloses the method of claim 1,
displaying, via the autosuggestion interface, autosuggestion items corresponding to the set of query autosuggestions, wherein the autosuggestion items are arranged based upon the rankings. [0032] but does not explicitly disclose determining a first score associated with the first query autosuggestion profile based upon a first bid associated with the first query autosuggestion profile; determining a second score associated with a second query autosuggestion profile of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon a second bid associated with the second query autosuggestion profile; determining rankings of query autosuggestion profiles of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon scores comprising the first score and the second score; and However Ruiz discloses determining a first score associated with the first query autosuggestion profile based upon a first bid associated with the first query autosuggestion profile; [0051]
determining a second score associated with a second query autosuggestion profile of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon a second bid associated with the second query autosuggestion profile; [0095]
determining rankings of query autosuggestion profiles of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon scores comprising the first score and the second score;[0051, 0095] and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify, Williams and Saxena to include determining a first score associated with the first query autosuggestion profile based upon a first bid associated with the first query autosuggestion profile; determining a second score associated with a second query autosuggestion profile of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon a second bid associated with the second query autosuggestion profile; determining rankings of query autosuggestion profiles of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon scores comprising the first score and the second score, in order to provide competition for the attention of users. ([0008], Ruiz)
Claim 8, 18. Williams discloses the method of claim 1, [0078, 0093]
displaying, via the autosuggestion interface, autosuggestion items corresponding to the set of query autosuggestions, wherein the autosuggestion items are arranged based upon the rankings, [0032] but does not explicitly disclose determining a first score associated with the first query autosuggestion profile based upon at least one of:
a first bid associated with the first query autosuggestion profile; a first matching score associated with a relevance of the first query autosuggestion profile to the query; a first predicted user experience impact associated with including the first query autosuggestion in the autosuggestion interface; or a first user response score associated with the first query autosuggestion; determining a second score associated with a second query autosuggestion profile of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon at least one of:
a second bid associated with the second query autosuggestion profile; a second matching score associated with a relevance of the second query autosuggestion profile to the query; a second predicted user experience impact associated with including the second query autosuggestion in the autosuggestion interface; or a second user response score associated with the second query autosuggestion; determining rankings of query autosuggestion profiles of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon scores comprising the first score and the second score;
However Ruiz discloses determining a first score associated with the first query autosuggestion profile based upon at least one of:
a first bid associated with the first query autosuggestion profile; [0042]
a first matching score associated with a relevance of the first query autosuggestion profile to the query;
a first predicted user experience impact associated with including the first query autosuggestion in the autosuggestion interface; or
a first user response score associated with the first query autosuggestion;
determining a second score associated with a second query autosuggestion profile of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon at least one of:
a second bid associated with the second query autosuggestion profile; [0095]
a second matching score associated with a relevance of the second query autosuggestion profile to the query;
a second predicted user experience impact associated with including the second query autosuggestion in the autosuggestion interface; or a second user response score associated with the second query autosuggestion;
determining rankings of query autosuggestion profiles of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon scores comprising the first score and the second score; [0051] and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify, Williams and Saxena to include disclose determining a first score associated with the first query autosuggestion profile based upon at least one of: first bid associated with the first query autosuggestion profile; a first matching score associated with a relevance of the first query autosuggestion profile to the query; a first predicted user experience impact associated with including the first query autosuggestion in the autosuggestion interface; or a first user response score associated with the first query autosuggestion; determining a second score associated with a second query autosuggestion profile of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon at least one of:
a second bid associated with the second query autosuggestion profile; a second matching score associated with a relevance of the second query autosuggestion profile to the query; a second predicted user experience impact associated with including the second query autosuggestion in the autosuggestion interface; or a second user response score associated with the second query autosuggestion; determining rankings of query autosuggestion profiles of the set of query autosuggestion profiles based upon scores comprising the first score and the second score, in order for content items to have an associate bid amount which is used for ranking or positioning the content items to be presented to a user device. ([0049], Ruiz)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 08, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues the 101 rejection regarding a mental process, this argument is moot due to the updated rejection above.
The applicant argues the 101 rejection by stating that the claims address unnecessary generative processing and associated computer resource usage and the applicant cites the specification paragraphs [0046-0050,0069-0079,00132] and fig 5c 05f., the Examiner respectfully disagrees the cited paragraphs lacks specific details how computing resource usages is improved. The limitations do not appear to specify an operation that controls generative processing or computing resource consumption. It merely recites choosing the desired advertising related input for the AI tool rather than a particular improvement in how the system performs generative processing. For example in [0077] the asserted improvement is fewer repeat generation request, however this is merely because the user chooses the desired query first and not that there is technical mechanism that makes each AI generation operation itself more efficient. The applicant further argues the 101 rejection via Enfish and McRO, the Examiner respectfully disagrees for example In Enfish, the court evaluated the patent eligibility of claims related to a self-referential database. Id. The court concluded the claims were not directed to an abstract idea, but rather an improvement to computer functionality. Id. It was the specification’s discussion of the prior art and how the invention improved the way the computer stores and retrieves data in memory in combination with the specific data structure recited in the claims that demonstrated eligibility. 822 F.3d at 1339, 118 USPQ2d at 1691 (MPEP 2106.05(a)) In Enfish, in particular, they enabled the claimed table to achieve benefits over conventional databases, such as increased flexibility, faster search times, and smaller memory requirements. Thus, it was an improvement in computer functionality itself, whereas the applicant’s claims do appear to improve the functioning of the computer, any other technology or technical field. The applicant further argues the 101 rejection via BASCOM, the Examiner respectfully disagrees in BASCOM there was a technology based solution of filtering content on the Internet that overcame the disadvantages of prior art filtering systems and that amounted to significantly more than the recited abstract idea, whereas the applicant’s cited paragraphs have not presented a technology based solution that overcame disadvantages of prior art. The asserted resource savings appear to come from obtaining content based on user selection rather than a specifically claimed improvement in the operation of the generative processing system. The present claim does not appear to show a technological arrangement analogous to the inventive combination of BASCOM.
For example, in McRO, the court relied on the specification’s explanation of how the particular rules recited in the claim enabled the automation of specific animation tasks that previously could only be performed subjectively by humans, when determining that the claims were directed to improvements in computer animation instead of an abstract idea. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1313-14, 120 USPQ2d at 1100-01. In contrast, the court in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC relied on the specification’s failure to provide details regarding the manner in which the invention accomplished the alleged improvement when holding the claimed methods of delivering broadcast content to cellphones ineligible. 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
Limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
The applicant’s claims do not appear to have any limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application. Therefore the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection is maintained.
After further review of the current prior art, the reference of Williams is substantially equivalent to the applicant’s amendment. Prior art only is required to correspond to only of the at least one of the alternatives of query matching configuration, bidding configuration or a first content configuration. However, the reference of Williams at [0046] discloses autocomplete module an autosuggestion configuration. Also, Williams discloses at [0061] autocomplete module also includes bidding information.
Conclusion
/D.A.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3622
/ILANA L SPAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3622