DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on June 05, 2025 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Eight Two (82) sheets of drawings were filed on July 22, 2024.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become
aware in the specification.
Inventorship
the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is
advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of
each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in
order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35
U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paré et al. (US10162107B2), hereafter Paré.
Regarding claim 1, Paré discloses a fiber-optic bi-directional interface device (FIGs. 1-3 4A-4D, 14- 17. Column 9 lines 24-28 and Column 10 lines 35-39), comprising a multi-core optical fiber (FIG. 1. Abstract) comprising a plurality of light-guiding cores (Cores 26a to 26d. Column 6 lines 35-37), each light- guiding core comprising opposed proximal and distal ends (see annotated FIG. 2), the proximal end configured to receive light from a light source (FIGs. 14 and 16. Light source module 104) , wherein: a.) a first portion of the plurality of light-guiding cores (FIG. 16 cores 26a and 26b) further comprises light emission modifications (coupling zone 28a and 28b) configured to direct light propagating distally along the light-guiding cores (Column 19 lines 39-42) in a laterally outward or sideways direction (Out-coupled light 70. FIG 16) relative to the propagation axis (axis 22. FIG. ) of the light-guiding core; and, b.) a second portion of the plurality of light-guiding cores (FIG. 16. Cores 26c and 26d) further comprises light collection modifications (coupling zone 28c and 28d) configured to receive light (Column 19 lines 39-43) produced by a source (Probed region 200) positioned laterally outwards or sideways (Incoming light 72. FIG. 16) relative to the propagation axis of the light-guiding core and direct the received light proximally (FIG. 16) .
Regarding claim 2, Paré discloses the device of claim 1. Paré further discloses the light emission modifications and the light collection modifications (coupling zones 28a-28d) are distributed along an emission/collection span extending a predetermined proximal-distal distance along the light-guiding cores (Cores 26a-26d. FIG. 7. Column 2 lines 44-49 and Column 11 lines 20-27).
Regarding claim 3, Paré discloses the device of claim 1. Paré further discloses the light emission modifications (FIG. 12 coupling zone 28. Light deflector 88) are selected from the group consisting of photonic crystals, fiber Bragg gratings (FNGs), and any combination thereof (Column 15 lines 35-39: fiber Bragg gratings and embedded photonic crystal structures).
Regarding claim 4, Paré discloses the device of claim 1. Paré further discloses the light collection modifications (FIG. 10 coupling zone 28) are selected from the group consisting of total internal reflection (TIR) mirrors (Column 14 lines 27-31), multi-layer gradient filters, and any combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paré et al. (US10162107B2), hereafter Paré as applied to claim 1 above, and view of Fitch et al. (US6575965 B1), hereafter Fitch.
Regarding claim 5, Paré discloses the device of claim 1. Paré fails to discloses a light trap positioned at the distal ends of the plurality of light-guiding cores.
Fitch teaches a light trap (light trap 21) positioned at the distal end of the light guide core (optical fiber 26. FIG. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify the device of Paré to include the light trap of Fitch to absorb excess light to prevent backscattering of light (Fitch: Column 3 line 9-11).
Claims 6-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paré et al. (US10162107B2) , and in view of Swanson et al. (US20190212761A1), hereafter Swanson.
Regarding claim 6, Paré discloses a system to conduct a light-based procedure (Optical probing system 100 FIG. 14 - 16), the system comprising a fiber-optic bi-directional interface device (Multicore Optical fiber 20) optically coupled to an interrogation assembly (light injection assembly 102 and light detection assembly 112), wherein: a.) a fiber-optic bi-directional interface device(FIGs. 1-3 4A-4D, 14- 17. Column 9 lines 24-28 and Column 10 lines 35-39), comprising a multi-core optical fiber (FIG. 1. Abstract) comprising a plurality of light-guiding cores (Cores 26a to 26d. Column 6 lines 35-37), each light- guiding core comprising opposed proximal and distal ends (see annotated FIG. 2), the proximal end configured to receive light from a light source(FIGs. 14 and 16. Light source module 104) , wherein: i.) a first portion of the plurality of light-guiding cores (FIG. 16 cores 26a and 26b) further comprises light emission modifications (coupling zone 28a and 28b) configured to direct light propagating distally along the light-guiding cores (Column 19 lines 39-42) in a laterally outward or sideways direction (Out-coupled light 70. FIG 16) relative to the propagation axis (axis 22. FIG. ) of the light-guiding core; and, ii.) a second portion of the plurality of light-guiding cores (FIG. 16. Cores 26c and 26d) further comprises light collection modifications (coupling zone 28c and 28d) configured to receive light (Column 19 lines 39-43) produced by a source (Probed region 200) positioned laterally outwards or sideways (Incoming light 72. FIG. 16) relative to the propagation axis of the light-guiding core and direct the received light proximally (FIG. 16) .; and b.) the interrogation assembly comprises: i.) the light source (light source module 104) optically coupled to the proximal ends of the plurality of light-guiding cores (Cores 26a-26d FIG. 15. Column 18 lines 50-52) ), wherein the light source is configured to produce and direct light selectively into the proximal end of one or more light- guiding cores from the first plurality (Cores 26a and 26d); ii.) a light detector (Optical detector 114) optically coupled to the proximal ends of the plurality of light-guiding cores (FIG. 14 and 16. Column 18 lines 63-65), wherein the light detector is configured to receive and detect light propagating from the proximal end of one or more light- guiding cores from the second plurality (Cores 26c and 26d. FIG. 16). Paré fails to disclose the light source emits light in a pre-determined pattern.
Swanson teaches a light source (laser source 402) projecting predetermined patterned light (Par. [0054]: Scanning optical properties and [0062]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to A person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Paré with the light source of Swanson in order to acquire information about the sample's optical and/or physical properties (Swanson: Par. [0062]). This modification yields predictable, additive results: high-resolution spatial mapping of optical scattering, absorption coefficients, and localized physical topography.
Regarding claim 7, Paré/Swanson discloses the systems of claim 6. Paré further discloses the light emission modifications and the light collection modifications (coupling zones 28a-28d) are distributed along an emission/collection span extending a predetermined proximal-distal distance along the light-guiding cores (Cores 26a-26d. FIG. 7. Column 2 lines 44-49 and Column 11 lines 20-27).
Regarding claim 8, Paré/Swanson discloses the systems of claim 6. Paré further discloses the light emission modifications (FIG. 12 coupling zone 28. Light deflector 88) are selected from the group consisting of photonic crystals, fiber Bragg gratings (FNGs), and any combination thereof (Column 15 lines 35-39: fiber Bragg gratings and embedded photonic crystal structures).
Regarding claim 9, Paré/Swanson discloses the systems of claim 6. Paré further discloses the light collection modifications (FIG. 10 coupling zone 28) are selected from the group consisting of total internal reflection (TIR) mirrors (Column 14 lines 27-31), multi-layer gradient filters, and any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 11, Paré/Swanson discloses the systems of claim 6, but fails to disclose a launching element configured to selectively transmit a portion of light produced by the light source into the proximal ends of one or more light-guiding cores in the predetermined pattern, wherein the launching element comprises one of: a. a spatial light modulator optically coupled between the light source and the proximal ends of the plurality of light-guiding cores; b. a digital mirror device (DMD) optically coupled between the light source and the proximal ends of the plurality of light-guiding cores; c. a galvo scanner operatively coupled to the light source to scan the light source point by point to the one or more light-guiding core; or d. a MEMs mirror optically coupled between the light source and the proximal ends of the plurality of light-guiding cores.
Swanson teaches a launching element (spatial light modulator 412) configured to selectively transmit a portion of light (Par. [0057]: Ability to excite many or all the modes of 406….individually or in combinations) produced by the light source (laser source 402) into the proximal ends (fiber input facet 414) of one or more light-guiding cores in the predetermined pattern (Par. [0062]), wherein the launching element comprises a spatial light modulator (spatial light modulator 412) optically coupled between the light source and the proximal ends of the plurality of light-guiding cores (FIG. 4. waveguide 406. Par. [0057]: 406 can be a multicore fiber).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify the device of Paré to include a light launching elements with a spatial light modulators emitting light in predetermined patterns to acquire information about the sample's optical and/or physical properties (Swanson: Par. [0062]). This modification yields predictable, additive results: high-resolution spatial mapping of optical scattering, absorption coefficients, and localized physical topography.
Regarding claim 12, Paré/Swanson discloses the systems of claim 6. Paré further discloses depth depended analysis of tissue (Column 5 lines 29-31). Paré fails to disclose the pre-determined pattern is selected from a depth-selective light pattern, a spatially patterned light pattern, a large-volume illumination light pattern, and any combination thereof.
Swanson teaches the pre-determined pattern is selected from a large volume illumination pattern (Light designed to fill and light up a big 3D space. FIG. 3. Par. [0062]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify the device of Paré with the pre-determined pattern of Swanson in order to fill and light up a three dimensional spaces and to acquire information about the sample's optical and/or physical properties (Swanson: Par. [0062]).
Regarding claim 13, Paré/Swanson discloses the systems of claim 6. Paré further discloses the light-based procedure selected from the optogenetic stimulation (Column 5 lines 29-31).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paré et al. (US10162107B2) , and in view of Swanson et al. (US20190212761A1), hereafter Swanson, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Fitch et al. (US6575965 B1), hereafter Fitch.
Regarding claim 10, Paré/Swanson discloses the systems of claim 6 as discussed above, but fails to discloses a light trap positioned at the distal ends of the plurality of light-guiding cores.
Fitch teaches a light trap (light trap 21) positioned at the distal end of the light guide core (optical fiber 26. FIG. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify the device of Paré/Swanson to include the light trap of Fitch to absorb excess light to prevent backscattering of light (Column 3 line 9-11).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paré et al. (US10162107B2), here after Paré.
Regarding claim 14, Paré discloses a method of producing a fiber-optic bi-directional interface device (FIGs. 1-3 4A-4D, 14- 17. Column 9 lines 24-28 and Column 10 lines 35-39), configured to transmit and receive light oriented perpendicular to a device light propagation axis (Out-coupled light 70 and incoming 72. FIG 16) , the method comprising:
a.) providing a multi-core optical fiber (FIG. 1. Abstract) comprising a plurality of light- guiding cores (Cores 26a to 26d. Column 6 lines 35-37), each light-guiding core comprising opposed proximal and distal ends (see annotated FIG. 2);
b.) for a first portion of the light-guiding cores (FIG. 16 cores 26a and 26b), delivering a series of slit-shaped laser pulses from a femto laser (Column 12 lines 55-61) to a selected interior region of the light-guiding core to produce a series of cavities (cavity 50) within a proximal-distal section of the light-guiding core to form a fiber grating within the fiber (Column 15 lines 35-39: fiber Bragg gratings and embedded photonic crystal structures), wherein the fiber grating is configured to direct light propagating distally along the light- guiding cores (cores 26a and 26b) in a laterally outward or sideways direction relative to the propagation axis of the light-guiding core (FIG. 8); and
c.) for a second portion of the plurality of light-guiding cores (FIG. cores 26c and 26d), delivering a series of laser pulses from a femto laser (Column 12 lines 55-61) to a selected interior region of the light-guiding core to produce a rectangular-shaped cavity (cavity 50 openings are rectangular as shown in FIGs. 1-2, 4A-4C, and 5-7 ) within a proximal-distal section of the light-guiding core to form a total internal reflection (TIR) mirror (FIG. 10 cavity 50) configured to receive light produced by a source positioned laterally outwards or sideways relative to the propagation axis of the light-guiding core and direct the received light proximally along the light-guiding core (FIG 10). Paré fails to disclose the laser pulses are slit-shaped.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize slip shaped laser pulses to achieved the desired rectangular shaped cavities because adjusting spatial beam profiles (slit-shaping) to yield specific cross-sectional cavity shapes (rectangular) yields predictable, expected structural results. Modifying Paré's method to use slit-shaped pulses is a matter of routine optimization of cavity dimensions rather than an unpredictable modification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Segev et al. (US-20170106204-A1) see entire disclosure.
Leo et al. (US 20210138198 A1) see entire disclosure.
Childers et al. (US 7781724 B2) see entire disclosure.
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874