DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to continuation application filed July 22, 2024. Claims 1-20, are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Laird et al (hereinafter Laird) (US 2005/0075116).
Regarding claim 1, Laird discloses a method (system) comprising:
receiving user identity and location coordinates from a mobile device by one or more servers, in response to user input to the mobile device (application program can detect the emergency call attempt by monitoring key presses on the keypad 200 or by acquiring call status information through telephony software running on the handset. Alternatively, the application program can register with the operating system of the handset 100 for notification of call attempts) (paras. 0035, 0036);
sending the user identity (sending handset or an identity of the user) and location coordinates (the server obtains location information about the handset) to a dispatcher terminal from the one or more servers (the handset 100 include an identifier of the sending handset or an identity of the user. This information is used to locate the user's record in the database 130. For example, the database 130 can contain records that associate handset identifiers with users. When the campus security management server 114 displays information about an emergency call attempt, the server can automatically display some or all of the information in the database 130 about the handset 100 and the user) (paras. 0060, 0063); and
displaying the location coordinates on a map of the dispatcher terminal (server 114 displays coordinate information from the database 130 on dispatcher screen in response to requests from the dispatcher. The displayed information can include a map 300 of the campus) (paras. 0060, 0063, 0114). Laird further discloses a system comprising one or more servers (server 114), operatively coupled to a network and to one or more dispatch terminals (element 128), each of the one or more servers comprising one or more processors, see fig. 1.
Regarding claims 2, 12, Laird discloses
determining a dispatcher location based on the location coordinates (the coordinates of any secure locations are stored at the campus security management server 114 and stored encrypted in the handset. The campus security management server 114 by selecting the destination from a menu or by typing the destination's name or other identifier on the keypad of the handset 100. The menu can be text-based or it can be graphical. The menu can contain fragments of maps of the campus, landmarks, coordinates, etc. A graphical selection mechanism can be displayed on a screen of the handset 100 by the application program executing within the handset) (paras. 0114, 0192); and
sending the user identity and location coordinates to the dispatcher terminal at the dispatcher location (messages from the handset 100 include an identifier of the sending handset or an identity of the user to dispatcher) (para. 0060, 0061).
Regarding claims 3, 13, Laird discloses receiving the user identity and the location coordinates from the mobile device by the one or more servers, prior to initiation of an emergency call by the mobile device (when the campus security management server 114 (or another such server (not shown)) receives a message from the handset 100 indicating that the user or the handset attempted to place an emergency call, the server obtains location information about the handset) (para. 0062).
Regarding claims 4, 14, Laird discloses receiving the user identity and the location coordinates from the mobile device by the one or more servers, prior to receipt of an emergency call at the dispatcher location from the mobile device (campus security management server 114 displays information about an emergency call attempt, the server can automatically display some or all of the information in the database 130 about the handset 100 and the user. Alternatively, the campus security management server 114 displays information from the database 130 in response to requests from the dispatcher) (para. 0060).
Regarding claims 5, 15, Laird discloses sending the user identity and the location coordinates to the dispatcher terminal from the one or more servers, prior to initiation of an emergency call by the mobile device (server 114 displays information about an emergency call attempt, the server can automatically display some or all of the information in the database 130 about the handset 100 and the user. Alternatively, the campus security management server 114 displays information from the database 130 in response to (that is, prior to receive of information) requests from the dispatcher) (para. 0060).
Regarding claims 6, 16, Laird discloses sending the user identity and the location coordinates to the dispatcher terminal from the one or more servers, prior to receipt of an emergency call at the dispatcher location from the mobile device (when the handset 100 detects an emergency or an attempt to place an emergency call, the handset sends messages to one or more predetermined destinations. These messages can be sent sequentially or in parallel. The destination(s) can be selected based on information available at the time of the emergency or call attempt or on information that subsequently becomes available) (para. 0061).
Regarding claims 7, 17, Laird discloses displaying the location coordinates on the map of the dispatcher terminal, prior to initiation of an emergency call by the mobile device (for instance, when the campus security management server 114 displays information about an emergency call attempt, the server can automatically display some or all of the information in the database 130 about the handset 100 and the user. Alternatively, the campus security management server 114 displays information from the database 130 in response to requests from the dispatcher) (para.0060).
Regarding claims 8, 18, Laird discloses displaying the location coordinates on the map of the dispatcher terminal, prior to receipt of an emergency call at the dispatcher location from the mobile device (the handset attempts to ascertain the user's wellbeing, warns the user to return to the prescribed route and begins sending the handset's location to a server, which displays the information to a dispatcher who dispatches safety or security personnel to the user's location. Messages can be sent sequentially or in parallel. The destination(s) can be selected based on information available at the time of the emergency or call attempt or on information that subsequently becomes available, either locally or as a result of communications sent to the handset) (abstract; para. 0061).
Regarding claims 9, 19, Laird discloses enhancing the location coordinates, prior to sending the user identity and location coordinates to the dispatcher terminal at the dispatcher location (the systems according to the present disclosure have the ability to use some or all of the available location data, including WAAS, GPS and WLAN-based data, to achieve the most precise possible automated determination of the location of a handset, all location information, even corrected location information, has some inherent uncertainty. Information provided to the dispatcher via the dispatcher workstation 128 reflects the extent of this uncertainty, which, when overlaid on a map, assists the dispatchers and responders in determining an optimal search approach) (para. 0066).
Regarding claims 10, 20, Laird discloses sending a message to the dispatcher terminal from the one or more servers, the message comprising the user identity and the location coordinates (messages from the handset 100 include an identifier of the sending handset or an identity of the user to dispatcher. Server notifies a dispatcher when needed. For example, the system can display information about the user and the situation (such as the user's location, intended route, restriction, nature of the deviation, sensor data, etc.) to the dispatcher, so the dispatcher can evaluate the situation ) (paras. 0007, 0060, 0061). .
Conclusion
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.