DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response and amendment dated 12/3/25 are acknowledged and entered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-6 and 11-20 are withdrawn from consideration.1 Claims 7-10 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAllister (US 2017/0185954, previously cited)2 in view of Cramer, et al. (US 2013/0201470, herein Cramer).3 Regarding claim 7, McAllister teaches a radio frequency identification (RFID) scanning system, comprising: a RFID reader (paragraph 0040); a camera (paragraph 0085); and a gimbal connecting the RFID reader to the camera to stabilize the camera irrespective of movement of the RFID reader about one or more axes (paragraph 0087). McAllister does not explicitly teach maintaining a relative orientation of an optical axis of the camera to a scanning plane of the RFID reader. Cramer teaches maintaining a relative orientation of an optical axis of the camera to a scanning plane of the RFID reader (paragraph 0084). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of McAllister and Cramer, because such a combination prevents errors in the reading (paragraph 0009 of Cramer). Regarding claim 8, McAllister further teaches the RFID reader includes a linear polarized RFID antenna to emit a scanning beam in a scanning plane (paragraph 0040). Regarding claim 9, McAllister further teaches the gimbal extends from the RFID reader along a gimbal axis to offset the camera from the scanning plane (see Fig. 8). Regarding claim 10, McAllister further teaches an optical axis of the camera is parallel to the scanning plane (see Fig. 8). McAllister does not explicitly teach maintaining an optical axis when the RFID reader moves from a first rotational orientation to a second rotational orientation. Cramer teaches maintaining an optical axis when the RFID reader moves from a first rotational orientation to a second rotational orientation (paragraph 0084). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of McAllister and Cramer, because such a combination prevents errors in the reading (paragraph 0009 of Cramer).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New reference Cramer has been used to teach the newly added limitations. See above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 Applicant is reminded of rejoinder procedure as outlined in MPEP § 821.04. Rejoinder will be considered when appropriate.
2 This reference was erroneously referred to as “Clarke” in the previous Office Action.
3 In addition to the cited portions of each reference, please see also the associated figures.
4 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.