DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are currently pending and under examination.
This Application is a Divisional of U.S. Application No. 16/77800, filed January 29, 2020, which claims priority to Korean patent document No. KR10-2019-0012159, filed January 30, 2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “upper side” and “lower side” in claim 1, step (b) are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “upper” and “lower” with regard to an upper side of the acoustic wave device and a lower side of the hydrogel accommodating structure, are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The metes and bounds of these limitations are indefinite, because it is unclear what locations are intended to be encompassed within, or excluded from, the locations on an “upper” and “lower” side.
Claims 2-6 are included in this rejection, as these claims depend from above rejected claim 1, and fail to remedy the noted deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (IDS; KR10-2017-0100314; Published 2017 – English translation provided and referred to hereafter).
With regard to claim 1, Lee et al. teach a method for three-dimensionally patterning particles, including cells, in a hydrogel, which is manufacturing an artificial tissue (claim 1, p.2, Description, Para. 1). The method includes: (a) preparing a hydrogel accommodating structure comprising a bottom plate, a container and a cover, an acoustic wave device, a hydrogel solution including cells, and an acoustic coupling medium (claims 1-3; p.2, Description, Para. 1, last para-p. 3, para. 1; Fig.); (b) combining the acoustic wave device, the hydrogel accommodating structure, the acoustic coupling medium and the hydrogel solution while injecting the acoustic coupling medium into a space located at an upper side of the acoustic wave device and a lower side of the hydrogel accommodating structure, and injecting the hydrogel solution into the hydrogel accommodating structure (p. 3, para. 10-20; Fig. 3-5); and (c) applying acoustic waves to the hydrogel solution and gelling the hydrogel solution after setting acoustic wave applying conditions (Fig. 3-5, 8, 9; p. 4, Para. 13-14).
As the method produces a manufactured artificial tissue, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the thus manufactured artificial tissue is necessarily removed from its production system after completion of the process. As such, the steps of (d) detaching the hydrogel accommodating structure from the acoustic wave device after completing gelation of the hydrogel solution; (e) disassembling the bottom plate, the cover and the container of the hydrogel accommodating structure; and (f) extracting the manufactured artificial tissue, would have to be performed to turn off the manufacturing system and remove the finished tissue for use as desired.
With regard to claim 2, Lee et al. teach that the acoustic waves are applied, which causes gelation of the hydrogel (Fig. 7-8). Thus, applying the acoustic waves and the gelling of the hydrogel are carried out simultaneously.
With regard to claim 3, Lee et al. teach that the container is made of PDMS (polydimethylsiloxane) (p. 3, Para. 9), which Application indicates is a material usable in the claimed method (see Spec., p. 12, line 8-11). Thus, an attenuation coefficient of the container and a reflection coefficient of the cover are set according to conditions of aligning cells in the hydrogel in the beginning step, and the cells in the hydrogel are aligned by adding a standing wave, and the positions of the cells in the hydrogel are controlled 3-dimensionally by adjusting the attenuation coefficient of the container and the reflection coefficient of the cover (Fig. 8-9; p. 3, para. 2-7; p. 4, para. 13-14).
With regard to claim 4, Lee et al. teach that the acoustic wave device comprises at least one pair of IDT electrodes; where the pair of IDT electrodes are aligned in desired directions according to the cells/conditions in the hydrogel at the start of the method (Fig. 8-9; p. 3, Para. 5-17).
With regard to claims 5-6, as Lee et al. teach a container including a cover as claimed, including where the container is made of PDMS (polydimethylsiloxane) (p. 3, Para. 9), which is a material used by Applicant (see Spec., p. 12, line 8-11), the coefficient of the cover is necessarily calculated as recited in claim 5, and is necessarily capable of providing the result of a vertical pattern forming in case the reflection coefficient of the cover is 0.15 or more.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/JENNIFER M.H. TICHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653